Job Desciption : project engineer
Years spent in company : 1 yr +
Exp before joining : 3.5 yrs
Company : MNC
Industry : Oil & Gas
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : hard to explain but i guess is low
salary : RM 6k+
working hrs : average 11 hrs per day (worst hrs ever for me)
benefits: medical, nothing special
increments : less than 5% (^$%*@#) the company said i have high salary to begin with and i said wtf (in my heart)...
standard bonus - 1 to 2 mths

I'm thinking about finding other job.. wondering whether i should clock in some more time..
anyone has any job offers can let me know ...
lock_82
post Mar 9 2011, 09:01 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(marzhooc @ Mar 9 2011, 09:55 AM)
3.5 years of exp with RM 6k++??? wow!!!!! mind telling me which company u r working rite now? :-) I'm alos in a same industry with a same exp.. work in MNC company (see my provious post in thread V3) but only got 4.2k...T_T so sad...
Nolah I'm close to 5 yrs exp now...
my company would be worst place to go amongst the operator...
try Shell.. definitely more than this...
lock_82
post Mar 28 2011, 09:55 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(BoT@k @ Mar 28 2011, 04:42 PM)
There'll be risk that all those pretty girls around you are eyeing on your $$ only. So after finish spending, will have to go for another 3 years.
but still better than no money n no girls eyeing lor...
lock_82
post Apr 11 2011, 07:34 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(zhenye89 @ Apr 7 2011, 01:40 AM)
hello all, i will be graduate soon so hope there's any one can tell me what to do

1. Im a software engineering student (degree)
2. Fresh grad at all~
3. not interested to the programming site even i knew some language cause i heard my fren said it was hard and sometimes u may "unlucky" get low pay
4. interested in testing side because my lecture said it was easier and can make good money but need to take another 2 certificate for testing site(btw, i forgot what the name cert he mention =.=, if u know it, tell me pls~)
5. How to get a job from sg if i have no one there...? (im frm kl)

so.... guys, what should i do? go for the testing side and take another 2 cert or just go in the network side....? thx....

AND remember to ask for CONSULTING

lock_82
post May 4 2011, 02:51 PM

535 posts

Engineering really pay peanuts most of the time..
lock_82
post May 26 2011, 07:40 AM

535 posts

R&D? Heard QA/QC quite boring..
lock_82
post May 26 2011, 10:50 AM

535 posts

Hawarizmi - RM 3.3K for 3.5yrs of experience would be on the low side... hard to survive in KL.. especially with bb

I'm pretty sure many companies would pay better for people who work more than 12 hrs a day..
lock_82
post Jun 7 2011, 12:37 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Jun 4 2011, 09:44 AM)
Title :Project Engineer
Job Description : Prepare quotation, liaise with client, hands on equip. work like a technician, be a driver for equipment to site, do whatever my boss ask me
Qualification: Degree in Mechanical
Years spent in company : 3.5 months
Industry : Oil & Gas, plant maintenance
Company: Singapore HQ, working KL branch
Tenure : Permanent
Experience before joining : 3 months as design engineer (previous MNC company paid RM2.6k)
Salary : RM1.8k basic + 320 car allowance + Petrol claim based on receipt (20% of it bear by employee) + toll claim
Medical benefit: Dental RM60 + Medical RM450
Working Hours: Office 8.30am~6pm, On-site (depend, even 24hr)
Perks: AL 8days, OT x1.5 after working hr, OT x2 after 12am (OT calculation taken from basic RM1500)

My car work as a pickup, deliver machine to site. Boss request all engineers to learn hands on so that he can save up $$ hiring technician. I am the engineer in office & technician on site. Working in such dangerous environment & get peanut pay  cry.gif

I am extremely underpaid for an O&G company  doh.gif
I'm pretty sure you're on the right path.. being in O&G.. your pay will raise exponentially with exp...
lock_82
post Jul 13 2011, 09:45 PM

535 posts

I'm like the lowest level kuli.. in company... do all sort of shits... but pay okie okie... smile.gif

so it depends on industry...
typically guys with 13yrs in my company will get at least 15k... contract staff probably 20k++...

lock_82
post Jul 14 2011, 07:07 AM

535 posts

I'm in O&G... recently a lot of projects.. so high over and people hopping ships like nobody business...
but I just have 5yrs exp... so can't get much advantage out of it yet as they normally pay well for those people with 8yrs n above...
lock_82
post Aug 12 2011, 01:57 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Aug 10 2011, 10:06 PM)
wow 22 days AL for the first year is amazing
Sounds like OYL or Acson or York company... hehe

0.0613sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:45 AM