Travel South Korea V2

divasweet_77
post Jul 21 2011, 09:29 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(NSMLady @ Jul 21 2011, 12:36 AM)
I see. Looks like Halal food is scarce in Korea, wanting to bring Maggi or sth..haha~ Thanks smile.gif
not as scarce as a few years back.. but you can always opt for bibimbap or heamuldokkjim (seafood) which look a bit like tom yam or cholpan poggembab a.k.a. nasi goreng..
some shop will sprinkle a bit of bacon on the bibimbap or the soup is a meat base soup..
if you cannot speak korean like me the trick is to ask the guesthouse to write down for you. for example; bibimbap with no meat, etc..
if you're particular about eating then you have to bring meggi lor..

Added on July 21, 2011, 9:35 am
QUOTE(Listiani @ Jul 21 2011, 09:24 AM)
7th trip????????????????Godnesss gracious. You must love Korea very much  biggrin.gif

Are u doing business there??
not so much of business but my fren paid for my tic to accompany her and her mother.. biggrin.gif
but got a bit of business la.. sambil menyelam sambil minum air.. tongue.gif
most of my geng went to korea more than me..
my partner for koreancrazed.blogspot went there twice this year and will be going there again in Oct.. which will be her 9th or 10th times or is it 11th??.. hehe

but truthfully.. like you.. i had been abroad quite a bit like Europe and Asia but still I love Seoul very much.. It's the only city that i do not mind going there again and again

This post has been edited by divasweet_77: Jul 21 2011, 09:40 AM
divasweet_77
post Jul 21 2011, 05:20 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Jul 21 2011, 09:47 AM)
Oh!! ok. I have friends who also crazy about Korea. This Sept going to ber her 6th trip since last year.  shocking.gif

Well, I hope that I am not lovesick like dat otherwise I have to take leave very often from the office  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
But who knows, huh?? I might becoming like u guys.  biggrin.gif
haha.. most of my freinds are koreancrazed..
even though I sell korean CDs, I'm not fanatic about artist or what so ever,
I've never been to KBS, MBC or concert.. but my fren does..
i went to simply korea because i like the city very much..

Added on July 21, 2011, 5:23 pm
QUOTE(rsralf @ Jul 21 2011, 01:58 PM)
ahah! i too left the unopened one at the guesthouse tongue.gif

january will be cold.. my friend went in february & it's still freezing..
as for me, i will definitely avoid winter.. i'm eyeing the tix for my 2nd trip --> should be in Autumn 2012 
hopefully my korean will have a lot of improvement by that time..
yup.. I've been to Seoul in Feb 2009. It was so cold.. cannot even feel my nose.. but i like it.. I like the cold.. biggrin.gif
If it's to cold and my friend don't wanna go out.. I can always walk alone.. hehehe rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by divasweet_77: Jul 21 2011, 05:23 PM
divasweet_77
post Jul 22 2011, 12:10 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ Jul 21 2011, 10:04 PM)
is it suppose to start around mid Oct? Aug,Sept autumn d?
September still hot..the best would be around October.. i think..
divasweet_77
post Jul 23 2011, 12:09 AM

55 posts

now the season's lari a bit.. when I went around 20 Nov 2005.. it was already early winter.
divasweet_77
post Jul 23 2011, 06:47 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ Jul 23 2011, 03:46 PM)
all trees botak d? or still in golden colour?  hmm.gif
all trees botak already.. and it was very cold..
divasweet_77
post Jul 27 2011, 12:01 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Jul 26 2011, 11:03 PM)
Recommend Zaza Backpackers, very nice clean big n spacious room.
I stayed @single ensuite but was given room with 2bunk beds. A roof top room too

Zaza backpackers is right smack @Myeongdong. & 10mins walk uphill to Namsam cable car.

One thing I really liked; is it's electronic door lock. Set ur own pin number n u r good to go. No worries of loosing room key.
finally a review on zaza backpackers.. I think overall review for seoul backpackers group are quite good.. i stayed in Namdaemun, and it was great too..
divasweet_77
post Jul 31 2011, 09:17 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(miyoko @ Jul 31 2011, 03:07 PM)
Hello, I hope you guys can help me out with these:

1) have anyone stay in Pencil Guesthouse and Seoul Backpackers? I'm deciding between these two, so would like to hear your opinions.
2) Can iPhone 3GS, HTC Diamond 2 and Samsung Galaxy tab roam in Korea? I understand that as long as has 3G, then we can roam there?
3) How is the power plug in Korea? Is it use universal power adapter would do? Or need any converter?

I understand that these information should have been mentioned before in this thread, but there's a lot of pages, and I apologize for not having enough time to read. I'm traveling there on next Thursday and would need urgent information. This thread is very useful and helpful in guiding me to have arough idea of where to go, what to do, what to eat and etc. I will definitely visit this thread still when I'm in Korea and keep you guys posted :-)
1) I never heard of pencil guesthouse but I would highly recommend Seoul backpackers. There are 3 guesthouse under seoul backpacker i.e; seoul backpacker namdaemun, seoul backpacker myeondong and zaza backpackers. usually, u need to book a few weeks in advanced, coz they're quite popular but you can try and contact them.
2) As far as I know, yes to all.
3) they use 2 pin and a normal universal adapter will do.
divasweet_77
post Aug 4 2011, 07:44 PM

55 posts

errmmm Seoul Backpacker full... sleep @ subway lorr
divasweet_77
post Aug 5 2011, 11:46 AM

55 posts

Seoul Backpackers has introduced a Hanok style accommodation called Do Backpackers.

• Single room is 55,000 KRW (1 person / per night)
• Double room is 90,000 KRW (2 person / per night)
• Family is room is 120,000 KRW (4 person / per night)
• Special room is 160,000 KRW (8 person / per night)

More info in their website Do Backpackers
divasweet_77
post Aug 9 2011, 01:05 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(pchan @ Aug 7 2011, 02:54 PM)

also, is the subway convenient for heavy luggage traveler?Well just in case if certain subways have no escalators.I just need confirmation as i hv to change hotels in between trip.Cab would be pricey so my alt would be buss or subway only tongue.gif  blush.gif

Please advise.Kamsamida ~
Usually, the first layer subway got no escalator, so, maybe suffer a bit if you have very heavy luggage but as long as you don't hotel hopping, it should be ok.

you can always take taxi from Incheon Airport or just arrange for hotel pick up. for Seoul backpackers, they charge about KRW75,000 for 4-5 ppl.
divasweet_77
post Aug 15 2011, 04:39 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Aug 15 2011, 04:31 PM)
Yup, but basically it's that price if you choose the discount price. My friend book for June next year same price as well.

How much you bought your ticket? Too bad I still think it's slightly expensive, haha.

How much you got yours?
i got mine for RM624 after include baggage and makan2. Bought early this year n the trip is on M'sia day. Need to upgrade baggage to max though. I wanna buy lighstick for the upcoming 2PM concert in KL.
divasweet_77
post Aug 15 2011, 05:17 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(rsralf @ Aug 15 2011, 05:08 PM)
Oh previously I bought AAX flight during the promo for 1st launch, so manage to get a return fare of RM444 (exclude baggage n food)... of course, that is different scenario. Afterwards, unable to get that kind of price. the ticket price is always more than RM800.. I just check the fare for Sept next year is about RM900 too..

Nowadays, the normal fare for AAX would be about RM700 - RM1,000.. Below RM700, can consider cheap already..
my friend managed to get RM250 for 1st launched. Lucky for them.

Last time, the cheapest MAS tix i can get aroud RM1.2k. Now the cheapest is RM2k++. And some more i check for my Jan trip RM3k++.. Now if you want cheap have to take AA.
divasweet_77
post Aug 26 2011, 12:41 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(raige23 @ Aug 25 2011, 04:11 PM)
May i know tat amount of money does it incl airflight? sorry for the noob ques as i'm nt sure of all these.
May i know the lodging place u stay is at a hotel/motel or a backpack place? mind to recommend?

the transportation ter is exp?

Thanks. =)
My trip in Sept cost around RM2,500
AA i got for RM624, Air Busan I got RM266
Accommodation Zaza BP Seoul, Hanok Style GH, Jeju hiking Inn and Incheon GH around RM560 (7Nights)
can get cheaper, but my friends wants to stay at Zaza
Makan not so fussy, usually breakfast and 1 big meal only. I budgeted around RM350, yup muslim food is expensive, I opt for veggie and seafood.
RM300 for entrance fee, RM200 for transport and Misc RM200.
Usually still got balance coz I'm not a shopaholic

How much depends on your choices
my friend got Korean Airlines for RM1,700++ while I got AA for RM624
Accommodation, motel might be around KRW40,000 per room per night,
Guesthouse between KRW50,000 - KRW60,000
Hostel not sure but it will be cheaper.
If you opt to go outside Seoul, the cost will be higher
if you want to go all theme parks, palaces and all those tourist attractions, it will cost you more.
divasweet_77
post Sep 6 2011, 10:58 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Jacelyn985 @ Sep 6 2011, 11:31 AM)
15-Sep-11 Thu
6.20 am reach Incheon International Airport DongDaeMun
Buy Nami Island voucher
Check-in DO guesthouse.
Insadong-Namsan-Dongdaemun

16-Sep-11 Fri
Myeongdong-Namdaemun-Nanta Theater-Sinchon Ewha-Hongik-Hangang

17-Sep-11 Sat
Chuncheon-Nami Island
Namdaemun-Dongdaemun

18-Sep-11 Sun
Check-out DO guesthouse in SEOUL
Depart Gimpo 9:55 Arrive Jeju 11:00
Check-in Island guesthouse

19-Sep-11 Mon
Depart Jeju 20:10 Arrive Gimpo 21:15
Check-in guesthouse

20-Sep-11 Tue
Check-out guesthouse
Apgujeong-COEX-Olympic Park-Lotte World

21-Sep-11 Wed
12.20 am depart from Incheon International Airport
6.05 am reach LCCT

Need you guys' kind advice. Do I have any nice place missed out? Thanks!
waa.. I'll be going to Jeju on the 18 too but I bought AirBusan so the flight around 7.25 am..
divasweet_77
post Sep 7 2011, 07:14 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(maylin_90 @ Sep 7 2011, 02:53 PM)
anyone knows how can I get tickets for 2011 Hallyu Dream Concert?
you mean the one in KL? you can buy from Glaxy office in Mid Valley and Sg Wang as well as www.ticketcharge.com.my
divasweet_77
post Sep 9 2011, 03:39 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ Sep 7 2011, 08:59 PM)
erm.. Namdaemun outlets open from 10-5pm then wholesaler start from 12am till early morning.. how bout 5pm-12am? empty?
last time got street vendor selling clothes as well as stalls those that you see in k-drama selling food and liquor. I bought one winter jacket @ KRW10k once. tongue.gif
divasweet_77
post Sep 15 2011, 04:56 PM

55 posts

Going 2moro. Weather very da hot.. Huhu..
divasweet_77
post Sep 22 2011, 10:16 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Sep 20 2011, 12:32 PM)
Thanks, overlooked the popup; was using my tablet

Added on September 20, 2011, 12:44 pmairbusan came up to about 150,000KW, roughly 400rm

U guys paying roughly that? or is there other cheaper option?

How about taking overnight ferry? recommended? to save a nite accomodation
that's a bit expensive, i got my air busan around RM266 two ways.

Added on September 22, 2011, 10:21 pm
QUOTE(pchan @ Sep 20 2011, 04:56 PM)
@divasweet_77 already autumn there. Breezy now la. biggrin.gif
1st day very hottt!! But lots of leng chai.. Hehe. 2nd day went to Jeju worst than Seoul, 3rd day rain and windy.. Really really really windy.. The wind can knock u out of your feet.. The sea also looks rough.. Now the weather just nice but the leaves still green.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by divasweet_77: Sep 22 2011, 10:21 PM
divasweet_77
post Sep 30 2011, 01:10 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(pchan @ Sep 21 2011, 11:32 AM)
well..i'm one of passenger lor ! Really drama that night ...sigh* talk about bad luck.Oh I remember MR Chew.He was the guy who walked over and said " WHAT a joke ! No pilot and crews now ! ". I really lost my patience at that moment and said loudly ' WHAT THE HELL?' ..

So guys...travel AA @ ur own risks sweat.gif Hopefully not 'sueh' like me...
waa.. a 10hrs delay.. that sucks!!

my trip in 2009 also got delay. I took MAS and the flight was suppose to be at 11am from Incheon. Since it was on Wednesday the MAS flight will stopover at KK and then to KL. a lot of Korean went on golf tour to KK. the 1st announcement - delay to 2PM. MAS gave us meal coupon and then they said delayed till 1AM. the korean stated creating havoc at the boarding gate. lots of shouting and looked like one of their parliament session.. hehe.. anyway, security guards were called and unlike our police, their security guard were built up like bouncers.. they didn't do anything, just line up only but the korean immediately tone down their voices. luckily, they gave us hotel to rest.

but one thing I learnt about frequently flying with AA is not to expect anything except for the cheap ticket or else i ended makan hati.. If you got extra budget, do check other airlines, if budget ciput like me, AA is the only one.

Anybody try Asiana from KK?

Air Busan seats way much better than AAX
divasweet_77
post Oct 8 2011, 08:14 PM

55 posts

Gimhae is in Busan but can also take flight from there to Jeju

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0594sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled