Nak Buka Kedai Nasi Ayam

TSeddlyna
post Mar 4 2011, 01:32 AM, updated 15y ago

Hi.. i am thinking to open Nasi Ayam tapi tak tahu la.. either in Restaurant or Gerai. I am staying in jalan Kuching, i hope i can find any biz spot nearby my place.. anyone can give me advice on this? about modal, kedai, promotion or licence.... pls help me. biggrin.gif
alwiser
post Mar 4 2011, 06:03 AM

735 posts

Sure,

1. Don't ask broad questions.
2. Don't expect to be spoon-fed.
3. Do your own research first, before asking questions.

See you in a few more days.
am_eniey
post Mar 4 2011, 09:54 AM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

Look for location which has ample parking space and must be nearby attraction like banks, post office, mosque. Look for chicken, vegetable, gas and rice supplier where you can deal with special price if you are willing to buy in bulk quantity.
rayfoo
post Mar 4 2011, 10:36 AM

2,564 posts

you wanna try prima seri gombak? good location
DarkNite
post Mar 4 2011, 11:29 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(eddlyna @ Mar 4 2011, 01:32 AM)
Hi.. i am thinking to open Nasi Ayam tapi tak tahu la.. either in Restaurant or Gerai. I am staying in jalan Kuching, i hope i can find any biz spot nearby my place.. anyone can give me advice on this? about modal, kedai, promotion or licence.... pls help me. biggrin.gif
Who is doing the cooking?
JackX
post Mar 4 2011, 01:52 PM

2,732 posts

Do you even know how to cook chicken rice?

For business licence, you have to register at Suruhanjaya Syarikat Malaysia. For setting up the chicken rice stall at your area, you need municipal licence. For modal, the shop rental and down payment. Of course you need enough money to buy the chicken, rice, sauces and so on.

By the way, PLEASE save enough money to sustain the shop for at least a few months! You won't be making money immediately, you might lose money for a few months before people take notice of your shop and start generating profit.

For modal,
licences RM1,000,
shop equipment RM3,000,
supplies RM1,000,
rental (Assuming rm500 rental) RM1,500,
cash reserve RM5,000

Total RM11,500.

If you want to hire someone to help, you can do the calculation yourself. Also save reserve for the person's salary for a few months for contingency plans. smile.gif

aeronic
post Mar 4 2011, 03:04 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

dear TS, can you jaga the kedai and manage the staff?
if you're intersted in partnerships please drop me a pm
i have several F&B joint ventures, i can even handle the licensing part
but i need to know if you have sound capabilities managing it

MilesAndMore
post Mar 4 2011, 03:40 PM

9,301 posts

The most important is that you really can cook a delicious chicken rice. Location is important too of course but that is the second thing you need to worry about biggrin.gif
lun_issac
post Mar 4 2011, 04:01 PM

45 posts

Another thing to consider, the workers.
koh_424
post Mar 4 2011, 04:11 PM

♀ Luv is in the air ♂
1,487 posts

I believe TS not yet done any research for his ownself.

Try to do sum home work 1st. There r many SIFUs here can help u to solve ur question anytime.

But wat u need is the register a license 1st. Tis is the 1st step as u need to do.
edyek
post Mar 4 2011, 04:15 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

Lu nampak macam apa pun tidak tahu. Apa macam mahu buka Kedai Nasi Ayam?

You haven't make up your mind to do this business and you hope to have someone here to encourage you to go and do it.

Modal = tidak tahu mahu berapa banyak. You have not made up your mind and how much or how you want to invest in it, of course you don't know how much you need?
Kedai = Still don't know want to use gerai or restaurant.
Location = Hope to find nearby only. Why must nearby? Only Jalan Kuching can do business? What if Jln Kuching no ppl eat chicken rice or too many chicken rice shop, would you consider to change your location?
Promotion = Chicken rice need promotion? If sedap, memang orang will come back to eat your chicken rice over and over again.

Bonescythe
post Mar 4 2011, 05:36 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

Try to cook / serve your home made chicken rice to your family first.

If your family member don't even buy, what you expect us to do?
KIM84
post Mar 4 2011, 06:17 PM

27 posts

Can I ask you race?
U 1 2 do HALAL?

TSeddlyna
post Mar 15 2011, 05:13 PM

Hi all.. thanks for the response.. i hope u all wont make a quick judgement..basically..i do make a research a little.. but need more opinion n words.. what people say, jangan tunjuk pandai.. i just want to start a new business.. so, would need as many advice from the experienced.. nv mind.. thank you very much.. biggrin.gif

For all of you information, my mom will be the cook, when we stay in muar johor few years back, we did open a Nasi Ayam n Laksa stall, we rented the business lot.. we been in the business about 1 year when the business lot owner want to start his own business. Actually last time we sell Nasi Ayam & Laksa, and the owner sell drinks. everyday there will be more n more people came and maybe thats why the owner want to set up his own.

BTW, its HALAL and i am MALAY.

rubrubrub
post Mar 15 2011, 05:24 PM

senor
1,793 posts

ah... so i'm guessing you know how to start business already. did a lot of ppl eat? as i know, HALAL chicken rice isn't as popular due to the conception that chinese cooks better chicken rice (just stating the fact) .
etigge
post Mar 15 2011, 05:34 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(rubrubrub @ Mar 15 2011, 05:24 PM)
ah... so i'm guessing you know how to start business already. did a lot of ppl eat? as i know, HALAL chicken rice isn't as popular due to the conception that chinese cooks better chicken rice (just stating the fact) .
Actually Malays have their own style of 'nasi ayam'. They are deep fried rather than boiled or steamed. Their sauce is more of kicap pekat and their rice is more aromatic ( alot of cloves, cinammon etc.). You can't judge popularity as such. In Langkawi, there's a 'Pak Ya Nasi Ayam' and is selling over 70 chickens a day. For a total population of 60,000 that is actually very good. thumbup.gif

Then again nowadays, the line between chinese cooking and malay cooking is getting blurry. There are halal hainanese chicken rice. They are prepared mostly by converted muslims through mixed marriages. Although the quality or taste is not exactly the same but getting nearer. I am Hainanese and in actual after thinking about it, Hainanese chicken rice has not a single trace of non halal ingredients, maybe except for the chicken itself. If you use those supplied by our hypermarkets then it is totally halal in concept but still not halal because of the certification.

There's one in D'sara Uptown beside Starbucks which is halal and it is doing well. biggrin.gif
nshady
post Mar 15 2011, 05:40 PM

354 posts

Chicken rice is a very profitable business, just have a look at halal chicken rice stall at the highest floor food court in midvalley. They can sell up 1,000 plates of chicken rice per day(halal). Chicken rice is among the favourite food in malaysia during lunch and dinner. First, you'll have to start a stall and estimate how many chickens you'll need to cook per day, white chickens cannot stay overnight right? Roasted chicken should be alright. Each chicken(around 2KG) can make around 10 - 14 plates portion of chicken rice.
koh_424
post Mar 15 2011, 07:11 PM

♀ Luv is in the air ♂
1,487 posts

QUOTE(eddlyna @ Mar 15 2011, 05:13 PM)
Hi all.. thanks for the response.. i hope u all wont make a quick judgement..basically..i do make a research a little.. but need more opinion n words.. what people say, jangan tunjuk pandai.. i just want to start a new business.. so, would need as many advice from the experienced.. nv mind.. thank you very much..  biggrin.gif

For all of you information, my mom will be the cook, when we stay in muar johor few years back, we did open a Nasi Ayam n Laksa stall, we rented the business lot.. we been in the business about 1 year when the business lot owner want to start his own business. Actually last time we sell Nasi Ayam & Laksa, and the owner sell drinks.  everyday there will be more n more people came and maybe thats why the owner want to set up his own.

BTW, its HALAL and i am MALAY.
Haha..actually we only judging from the info where u posted in the 1st place. Lack of information u gave is hard to get further info u need.

Now u might need to apply for license..register shop name..find shop lot or gerai..more manpower & etc.

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

am_eniey
post Mar 15 2011, 07:56 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

What's your progress now TS ?

This post has been edited by am_eniey: Mar 15 2011, 07:56 PM
etigge
post Mar 15 2011, 09:29 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(nshady @ Mar 15 2011, 05:40 PM)
Chicken rice is a very profitable business, just have a look at halal chicken rice stall at the highest floor food court in midvalley. They can sell up 1,000 plates of chicken rice per day(halal). Chicken rice is among the favourite food in malaysia during lunch and dinner. First, you'll have to start a stall and estimate how many chickens you'll need to cook per day, white chickens cannot stay overnight right? Roasted chicken should be alright. Each chicken(around 2KG) can make around 10 - 14 plates portion of chicken rice.
smile.gif Ideally, a chicken of 2kg. can be divided into 13 plates. The drumstick and the thigh off course will fetch a higher price. Cutting of a chicken will also determine your profits and if you don't cut it well, you can lose money. A quality chicken is about RM15.00 per bird. I don't know how you prepare but usually a bird can generate about RM50.00 if you sell normal (not thigh and drumstick) at RM4.00. This also includes everything, the rice, chilly sauce, sauce, garnishing soup. White chicken (boiled chicken) must be used the same day and roasted ones, can only be kept a day if it is still uncut. Once halved, you can't really keep overnight but if you still insists on selling the next day, you will lose customers.

If you prepare chicken less than 2kg. you will loose more turnover as they can't be divided into the 13 plates. If you sell 4 chickens a day, it just breaking even and anything less than that, you can forget about it unless you have other food to sell. Chinese has others like 'char siew' and roasted pork but malay only sells chicken. Say, anyone want to learn chicken rice, I can teach for a small fee. tongue.gif
nshady
post Mar 15 2011, 09:40 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 15 2011, 09:29 PM)
smile.gif  Ideally, a chicken of 2kg. can be divided into 13 plates. The drumstick and the thigh off course will fetch a higher price. Cutting of a chicken will also determine your profits and if you don't cut it well, you can lose money. A quality chicken is about RM15.00 per bird. I don't know how you prepare but usually a bird can generate about RM50.00 if you sell normal (not thigh and drumstick) at RM4.00. This also includes everything, the rice, chilly sauce, sauce, garnishing soup. White chicken (boiled chicken) must be used the same day and roasted ones, can only be kept a day if it is still uncut. Once halved, you can't really keep overnight but if you still insists on selling the next day, you will lose customers.

If you prepare chicken less than 2kg. you will loose more turnover as they can't be divided into the 13 plates. If you sell 4 chickens a day, it just breaking even and anything less than that, you can forget about it unless you have other food to sell. Chinese has others like 'char siew' and roasted pork but malay only sells chicken. Say, anyone want to learn chicken rice, I can teach for a small fee. tongue.gif
You sound very experience to me. Have you tried out chicken rice biz before?
etigge
post Mar 15 2011, 11:19 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(nshady @ Mar 15 2011, 09:40 PM)
You sound very experience to me. Have you tried out chicken rice biz before?
Yes, I have but wherever you go, thee's always another few who will start doing near you. tongue.gif That's KL. Once chicken was only RM4.50 a kilo and that time chicken rice was selling for RM3.00 a plate. The last time I operated, the chicken costs fluctuate between RM6.50 to RM7.20 a kilo. Selling price per plate RM3.30 and then cannot tahan RM3.80. Then my car, a Tiara kaputted blush.gif . Not worthwhile to repair and was hard doing chicken rice without a car so finally gave up. Business, so so only. In my area there are 2 others operated by Myanmarese and another two locals with one speciality store (meaning only chicken rice). People tend to eat there. Myanmarese can survive with RM30.00 profit a day but me and wife definately cannot. LOL. Susah larr. tongue.gif
TSeddlyna
post Mar 16 2011, 12:16 AM

QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 15 2011, 11:19 PM)
Yes, I have but wherever you go, thee's always another few who will start doing near you. tongue.gif  That's KL. Once chicken was only RM4.50 a kilo and that time chicken rice was selling for RM3.00 a plate. The last time I operated, the chicken costs fluctuate between RM6.50 to RM7.20 a kilo. Selling price per plate RM3.30 and then cannot tahan RM3.80. Then my car, a Tiara kaputted blush.gif . Not worthwhile to repair and was hard doing chicken rice without a car so finally gave up. Business, so so only. In my area there are 2 others operated by Myanmarese and another two locals with one speciality store (meaning only chicken rice). People tend to eat there. Myanmarese can survive with RM30.00 profit a day but me and wife definately cannot. LOL. Susah larr. tongue.gif
Wah RM30 only profit a day.. i should make alot of homework before start this biz, btw, my mil friend offer me a shop nearby puduraya.. but i havent check it out yet, we will be discussing on it and survey the place by this weekend.. btw, my friend said, if u want to put up a resaturant, u must have.. don't know whether sijil kesihatan or kebersihan.. is it tru? she said i have to attend a course for the cert? hmm.gif
etigge
post Mar 16 2011, 11:11 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(eddlyna @ Mar 16 2011, 12:16 AM)
Wah RM30 only profit a day.. i should make alot of homework before start this biz, btw, my mil friend offer me a shop nearby puduraya.. but i havent check it out yet, we will be discussing on it and survey the place by this weekend.. btw, my friend said, if u want to put up a resaturant, u must have.. don't know whether sijil kesihatan or kebersihan.. is it tru? she said i have to attend a course for the cert? hmm.gif
Wah!Puduraya or near Puduraya is high traffic area. thumbup.gif Don't worry about the sijil kesihatan or kebersihan. It will come later. If you want to get prepared just go down to DBKL in Cheras 2 1/2 mile. Get yourself innoculated and then they will issue a card. Remember to bring 2 passport size photos. This last for 3 years. There's another kursus makanan (Food handling course). If you have many who are getting, they can come to your place to lecture you. They don't force you to listen or make sure you know about what the hell they are talking about. Just your attendance and then they issue you the cert. They are more interested in your RM80 per person. Why the hell did our local government insists on doing this, I don't really know. blush.gif It's just another form of corruption when the idea is good but the person given the task is more interested in other gains.

PS/ Don't worry about the RM30.00 a day profit, I am talking just matter a factly comparing Myanmarese operators and local operators. Our expectations are higher than theirs.

This post has been edited by etigge: Mar 16 2011, 11:13 AM
bob
post Mar 16 2011, 06:04 PM

* hari2mau *
1,707 posts

QUOTE(alwiser @ Mar 4 2011, 06:03 AM)
Sure,

1. Don't ask broad questions.
2. Don't expect to be spoon-fed.
3. Do your own research first, before asking questions.

See you in a few more days.
agree ... rolleyes.gif

base on ur question ... u're far from ready to start nasi ayam biz.
maybe can try to get 'hands-on' experience in f&b biz ...

but anyway .. hope u can get some idea from other replied ..
whizzkid
post Mar 16 2011, 06:10 PM

96 posts

Yang penting mesti sedap! Mostly nasik ayam kat kedai2 rasa same jer semuanya.. Biase jer.. Even yg masuk dalam jalan2 cari makan pun biase jer.. Well, for TT, do something new & different!
AzahirZolkepli
post Oct 28 2018, 02:03 PM

Try search google.. Ebook Resepi Rahsia Nasi Ayam Hainan.. My friend bought that ebook and now he selling nasi ayam hainan.. Very sedap..
SUSRyuGW90
post Oct 28 2018, 10:25 PM

576 posts

QUOTE(AzahirZolkepli @ Oct 28 2018, 02:03 PM)
Try search google.. Ebook Resepi Rahsia Nasi Ayam Hainan.. My friend bought that ebook and now he selling nasi ayam hainan.. Very sedap..
It's been 7 years since TS asked the question

0.0229sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:41 AM