TSbb100
post Mar 2 2011, 09:37 PM, updated 15y ago

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

Hi there everyone.

I am facing a problem with Chemistry.

Here is the situation:

I have 1.5 cubic decimetres of sulphuric acid. There is nothing written on the label, except for the name of the acid and 98 g/mol.

With those given information, can I find out the molarity/concentration of the acid?

Your help is very much appreciated!

Thank you...
Angel01
post Mar 2 2011, 09:39 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

number of mole= mv/1000

u Got number of mole, u got volume.

This post has been edited by Angel01: Mar 2 2011, 09:44 PM
TSbb100
post Mar 2 2011, 09:55 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

Do MOLAR MASS and NUMBER OF MOLES mean the same thing???

Added on March 2, 2011, 9:58 pm
QUOTE(Angel01 @ Mar 2 2011, 09:39 PM)
number of mole= mv/1000

u Got number of mole, u got volume.
What I have is molar mass (g/mol) and not number of moles...

The formula mv/1000 will give the answer in mol and not g/mol.

Omg...pening pening... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by bb100: Mar 2 2011, 09:58 PM
iAdor3 Naz
post Mar 2 2011, 09:59 PM

769 posts

check out the Form 4 Chapter 7 Text Book smile.gif
=].. There's a formula on how to change g/mol to no of mole ( if im not wrong )..

Angel01
post Mar 2 2011, 10:01 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

no.... LOL

Courtesy of my fiancee,
Volume = 1.5 dm^3
number of mole change from the 98 g/mol...

then u need find m from the formula mv/1000.

TSbb100
post Mar 2 2011, 10:07 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Angel01 @ Mar 2 2011, 10:01 PM)
no.... LOL

Courtesy of my fiancee,
Volume = 1.5 dm^3
number of mole change from the 98 g/mol...

then u need find m from the formula mv/1000.
Sorry...but I do not understand your explanations.

Can you please provide an example?

Thank you...
Angel01
post Mar 2 2011, 10:18 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

subtitute using the equation only...
TSbb100
post Mar 2 2011, 10:28 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

Please verify if this is correct...

Num of mole = 98, volume = 1.5 dm3.

So molarity = mol/v = 65.333 mol/dm3.

This post has been edited by bb100: Mar 2 2011, 10:29 PM
Angel01
post Mar 2 2011, 10:32 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

lol... mol is not 98....

use the value of 98 to change to mol....
TSbb100
post Mar 2 2011, 10:39 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

Ohh....

How to change it to mol?
SUSslimey
post Mar 2 2011, 10:52 PM

6,914 posts

insufficient information......
need to know the density of the solution or the mass of the solution
k-bkeat
post Mar 2 2011, 10:55 PM

2,201 posts

omg. this is very simple.

I suggest u get a reference book like sasbadi/success/focus.

Those are good at my times.
LightningFist
post Mar 2 2011, 10:56 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Formula, Molarity = Concentration/Volume (in dm^3)

TSbb100
post Mar 2 2011, 10:59 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Mar 2 2011, 10:55 PM)
omg. this is very simple.

I suggest u get a reference book like sasbadi/success/focus.

Those are good at my times.
I know it is simple...

That's Form 4 Chemistry, for god's sake...
cyewe
post Mar 2 2011, 11:03 PM

kalau tak ada sungai, kita bina sungai
1,100 posts

just need the mass of the solution. coz u take the mass/molar mass(96g) = mole then u take the mole/volume(1.5dm^3)
or just take the mass/volume(1.5dm^3)

This post has been edited by cyewe: Mar 2 2011, 11:05 PM
TSbb100
post Mar 2 2011, 11:05 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(cyewe @ Mar 2 2011, 11:03 PM)
just need the mass of the solution. coz u take the mass/molar mass(96g) = mole  then u take the mole/volume(1.5dm^3)
or just take the mass/volume(1.5dm^3)
Thanks a lot!!! thumbup.gif

0.0136sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:36 AM