QUOTE(aiyish @ Mar 28 2011, 08:41 PM)
Yup, numbers, football tables (goddamn u Man U), ticket sales don't lie, but that's the beauty of movies. Eventhough the number say otherwise, there are still some people who enjoy stupid, unlogical, no storyline movies. have you watch Norwegian wood? It got good reviews but hell its boring like the book. Heck, some people enjoy watching the stinkest film of all time, "The Room". Go watch it and have a laugh.
Its also like record sales, why Gaga's numbers are much more higher than Radiohead eventhough Radiohead's music is waaaayyy more better than Gaga's.A lot of reviews are harping over her music, giving high scores.The general public are buying them, hence the high numbers for Gaga. Yet, does that makes it a better record than Radiohead? Is Halo 3 really that good eventhough reviews are praising and its selling like hotcakes?
So, the general consensus alone can't determined weather its good or bad. It may influenced others but not me. An Aesthetic of ones art is a subjective matter. Its a beautiful beast. Dada-ism design is famous in the 80's but does make the design nice, for me it looks really ugly and monotone. The general consensus thought it was the breakthrough in design, but hell its ugly for me personally.
So, you may give it a 6.5, but I'll give SP a 9/10 for being an eyecandy. Oh, the camera works in SP reminds me alot of Michel Gondry, the master of cheap camera tricks
Added on March 28, 2011, 8:48 pm
hantu Mak limah balik kampung or Zombie Kampung Pisang is the best malay movie
Agree to disagree then? I can't shake this feeling that everytime I go look at Metacritic and Rottentomatoes that there's more folks of the likes of me, of the same consensus as I do, than the niche fan of this movie. I'd find it easier to stomach if there is some admittance that the movie is diverting itself away from what a movie should be, rather than claiming individual/personal preference as a copout. Its also like record sales, why Gaga's numbers are much more higher than Radiohead eventhough Radiohead's music is waaaayyy more better than Gaga's.A lot of reviews are harping over her music, giving high scores.The general public are buying them, hence the high numbers for Gaga. Yet, does that makes it a better record than Radiohead? Is Halo 3 really that good eventhough reviews are praising and its selling like hotcakes?
So, the general consensus alone can't determined weather its good or bad. It may influenced others but not me. An Aesthetic of ones art is a subjective matter. Its a beautiful beast. Dada-ism design is famous in the 80's but does make the design nice, for me it looks really ugly and monotone. The general consensus thought it was the breakthrough in design, but hell its ugly for me personally.
So, you may give it a 6.5, but I'll give SP a 9/10 for being an eyecandy. Oh, the camera works in SP reminds me alot of Michel Gondry, the master of cheap camera tricks
Added on March 28, 2011, 8:48 pm
hantu Mak limah balik kampung or Zombie Kampung Pisang is the best malay movie
Easier way to put it, majority of the people who had watched the movie, including those who take movie as seriously (movie critics) one who made bread and butter out of their daily lives, had opinionated that it is a failure. Select few may enjoy it for its other embellished aesthetics, but not enough to sway the general consensus that it fail to operate as a movie in a the story-telling department. Can we at least agree on that? I agree 100% that it get perfect scores 10/10 if a movie is graded based solely on visuals/eyecandy/cameraworks, hence why I labeled it as such, a visual orgasm, with no tangible core. Sure you get your fix, but it's short-lived, and you start craving more. When does the movie now stop being a movie, than just visual satisfaction? The closest I can relate to this is a tech-demo, or a music video of fat-bottomed ladies gyrating to rap music.
Movie=moving pictures, moving pictures needs a plot, at least a plot tangible enough to keep the audience emotionally invested well after the visual assaults numbed their eyeballs. After all you can only stomach so much of one thing before you start craving something more substantial. Like porn, everyone likes them, but after a while, you've seen them all in all manners of positions, genres, etc. I mean, how many times can one stomach Baby Doll swaying before starting to question if every other target they're trying to pickpocket of at the asylum is either depraved of sex, or mentally deficient?
Two dimensional characters, no matter how much you try to make them look beautiful, can only go so much. Like polishing a turd, no matter how shiny the turd gets, it is still a turd. Granted it's shiny, but it still stinks.
One saving grace of this movie, is the music. I already cant get enough of Emily Browning's rendition of "Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)" and Queen's mashup of "I Want It All/We Will Rock You". But that further strengthen my opinion that it's a demonstration of this movie's strengths in the wrong places: music and visual, when it's the plot that needs help. It's like they're trying to pad the weaknesses in the movie's plotline by assaulting you with visuals (flashy SFX, fastcuts and crazy camera sweeps, naked ladies), and music. Starting to sound like a music video now, isn't it?
But hey, just my two cents. I understand your affiliation and fondness in this since you're in the business of visuals/graphics yourself, so I'm trying to put myself in your shoes now. But I still cant shake this feeling of "polished turd, no matter how shiny it is, still smells". No hard feelings.
Mar 29 2011, 03:49 AM

0.0253sec