127 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

The Sony Alpha Thread V51!, The Orange Legion

hazril
post Mar 1 2011, 04:19 PM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(empty-ball @ Mar 1 2011, 03:05 PM)
hey bro , got any in shooting potrait ?? like angle n others...
need guides seriously....^^
here's a sample of my unskilled picture...

The Look by NinjaKlickZ, on Flickr
azamunekurone
post Mar 1 2011, 04:29 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(ikus @ Mar 1 2011, 03:35 PM)
user posted image sorry for the phtomatix watermark...
where is it my friend?looks like gunung lang,ipoh blush.gif
lwliam
post Mar 1 2011, 04:36 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

Camera Sony DSLR-A700
Exposure 0.003 sec (1/320)
Aperture f/2.8
Focal Length 135 mm
ISO Speed 800
Exposure Bias +1.3 EV
Flash Off, Did not fire
empty-ball
post Mar 1 2011, 04:39 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Mar 1 2011, 03:55 PM)
jonlee : Thanks!

empty-ball : When shooting portraits it's mostly trial and error. It would be easier if you have an idea of what kinda picture you want before clicking the shutter.

If you want a full face shot only then get close and make sure the face fill the frame and the eyes are in the upper one third of the frame (general rules of third). If you want a full body shot then make sure you get everything in.

Things to consider :

1. Background. Choose a decent background for your shot.
2. Eye contact or no eye contact. Sometimes no eye contact also nice.
3. Tilt or no tilt. Up to you but like I said it's mostly trial and error.
4. Lighting. How and where you want the light to hit on your subject.

Hope this helps.
ok, thx a lot, the tips do help me...sometimes i wan to shoot that kind of feeling but cnt get the result, terbaliknya suck...like half this half dat...
lightning is hard, , i try to fill the shadow wif the flash but reli hard, sometime subject over expose while taking nearest pic to get bokeh...

Added on March 1, 2011, 4:42 pm
QUOTE(hazril @ Mar 1 2011, 04:19 PM)
here's a sample of my unskilled picture...

The Look by NinjaKlickZ, on Flickr
\\nice.....angle ....photo is sharp sometimes i shoot,even whn the shutter speed iisfas, but i get some aboit blur oso, cnt sharp 100%, take around 10 pic of the same thing mayb 1 or 2 can be use sometimes 10 pic all cnt use...haiz...any idea ? instead of using tripod...coz i m trying to get bokeh result...

This post has been edited by empty-ball: Mar 1 2011, 04:42 PM
lwliam
post Mar 1 2011, 04:45 PM

6,075 posts

QUOTE(empty-ball @ Mar 1 2011, 04:39 PM)
ok, thx a lot, the tips do help me...sometimes i wan to shoot that kind of feeling but cnt get the result, terbaliknya suck...like half this half dat...
lightning is hard, , i try to fill the shadow wif the flash but reli hard, sometime subject over expose while taking nearest pic to get bokeh...

\\nice.....angle ....photo is sharp sometimes i shoot,even whn the shutter speed iisfas, but i get some aboit blur oso, cnt sharp 100%, take around 10 pic of the same thing mayb 1 or 2 can be use sometimes 10 pic all cnt use...haiz...any idea ? instead of using tripod...coz i m trying to get bokeh result...
understand how is 'bokeh' generated. set up the situation so that it will easily be recreated. easiest way is to have a far away background.
when you're near to your subject, you dont really have to use flash. is there any nearby source of light you can use? move the subject around so that the light falls on the subject's face, that way, you dont have to use flash and spoil your image. experiment more, then you will know what can and cannot be done thumbup.gif
empty-ball
post Mar 1 2011, 04:49 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Mar 1 2011, 04:03 PM)
most importantly, try to have eye contact with the subject. having a strong eye contact gives the image more substance. shots without eye contact lacks intimacy with the subject. its the same with pet's portraiture as well. it is also important to have the focus on the eyes decently sharp. of course, the sharper the better (but do not photoshop the sharpness in, it WILL look fake)

apart from that, be careful not to crop into the model's ears, or other body parts unless for specific framing purposes. try not to 'cut' away a model's arm at the joints (elbows, wrists, knees and ankle), it will leave the image looking as though you're taking a picture of an amputee - not at all flattering. try not to leave too much negative space around the subject as well. crop in tight to fill the shot with your subject. it will make your model  the main subject instead of the cluttered background, no matter how 'bokeh-ed' or creamy it is..

start with the above 1st.

further down the road, you'll need to learn about lighting - on how not to overblow the highlights or drowning the shadows. also on, directional lighting vs soft lighting vs backlighting.

deeper into portrait shooting, there is keylight, hair light and backlight..

start with the basics 1st. start slow, and learn the foundations, then only build your skills on a strong foundation and understanding of how to utilize light to work for you, instead of having light restricting on what you can do. ask "with this light, what can i do to incorporate it into my image" instead of, "this is bad light, i can't take a good image with this light"
whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif

Added on March 1, 2011, 4:10 pm

Y U NO like wide lenses?

ok, understand wat u mean, i din crop the pic, i take the pic while decide hw do i frame my subject i will take different kind of same thing.
i found some prbm is i will get blur on the object, while i m trying to get bokeh result...take 10 pic mayb 1 or 2 cn use, sometimes all cnt use...
instead of using tripod any idea hw ??
sometimes could not sharp enuf, even i use fas shutter speed...
my setting like f 4, 1/30....
or not is f5.6, 1/40
or f4,1/5 or 1/8...

setting s prbm , or hand problem...

but i had no prbm while shooting near subject...
but while shoot far or whole body pic...it will blur sometimes....i alwasy change shutter speed, n iso to manage the expose and try to make sure better thn previously pic that blur on the sub( which i dun wan)....

Added on March 1, 2011, 4:52 pm
QUOTE(lwliam @ Mar 1 2011, 04:45 PM)
understand how is 'bokeh' generated. set up the situation so that it will easily be recreated. easiest way is to have a far away background.
when you're near to your subject, you dont really have to use flash. is there any nearby source of light you can use? move the subject around so that the light falls on the subject's face, that way, you dont have to use flash and spoil your image. experiment more, then you will know what can and cannot be done  thumbup.gif
ok, whn too near, flash make the sub relect and like very oily..so cnt use.. i try some way to use the flash on my cam , coz i dun hav external flash or others...
sometimes oni found out whn open flash and combine wif outdoors sun light or others will make it better but not all...

indoors...tak boleh pergi langsung...haha

This post has been edited by empty-ball: Mar 1 2011, 04:52 PM
hazril
post Mar 1 2011, 04:57 PM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(empty-ball @ Mar 1 2011, 04:39 PM)

do share your pics and maybe we can troubleshoot your problem...my pic was taken using natural light with my 50mm...here's another sample of BG bokeh...

Melv
post Mar 1 2011, 04:59 PM

149 posts

Aaaaaaaa...........kena poison UWA lens from kysham and william....... cry.gif *Runs away* better still, before i run can i burn u guys? brows.gif

icon_idea.gif

*Now Runs Away*

shootkk
post Mar 1 2011, 05:22 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Some portraits with no eye contact

First pic taken with A100. Second pic taken with A850

Melv : Burn you back! Haha!

empty-ball
post Mar 1 2011, 05:42 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Mar 1 2011, 04:57 PM)
do share your pics and maybe we can troubleshoot your problem...my pic was taken using natural light with my 50mm...here's another sample of BG bokeh...

ok, haha, uploading nw....wait...

Added on March 1, 2011, 5:51 pmuser posted image

1st pic,

2nd pic...

nid comment to improve...
I knw some prbm is....
1,ISO , i forget to set it bek...after whn i view on comthn oni knw...
2, not sharp enuf right ?? this is the prbm i m facing....

This post has been edited by empty-ball: Mar 1 2011, 06:05 PM
Melv
post Mar 1 2011, 06:35 PM

149 posts

Alamak....hangus sial! Damn....dont play play with me kay....ayam blood thirsty!

shocking.gif

shootkk
post Mar 1 2011, 06:39 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

empty-ball : Just my 2 cents.

1st pic
- lighting issue. You need to get more light onto your subject's face.
- cropping. Like what lwliam said - try not to crop out hands/limbs or legs that look like they were amputated. Her hand is cut off right about the wrist. Makes for a not-so-nice look. You could also move the subject more to the left side of the frame so that her arm on the right side will not be half cropped and her buttocks can be whole again.

2nd pic
- a bit soft. How's your shutter speed? Where did you focus on? Did you recompose?

empty-ball
post Mar 1 2011, 06:48 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Mar 1 2011, 06:39 PM)

1st pic
- cropping. Like what lwliam said - try not to crop out hands/limbs or legs that look like they were amputated. Her hand is cut off right about the wrist. Makes for a not-so-nice look. You could also move the subject more to the left side of the frame so that her arm on the right side will not be half cropped and her buttocks can be whole again.

2nd pic
- a bit soft. How's your shutter speed? Where did you focus on? Did you recompose?
1st pic i din crop, din edit or anything...mean framing no good...haha
2nd pic, shutter speed 1/4, f5.6,iso 3200 ( forget to set it bek to 800 ) haiz...
focus on sub face lo...a bit blur ...

wat u means recompose ??

Added on March 1, 2011, 6:49 pm
QUOTE(shootkk @ Mar 1 2011, 06:39 PM)

1st pic

2nd pic
if i use my built flash to shoot, the sub face very bright, and refelct..sometimes...not nice...and i duno hw to use well for my flash...

This post has been edited by empty-ball: Mar 1 2011, 06:49 PM
cassplayer
post Mar 1 2011, 06:53 PM

FFFUUUU
3,375 posts

Here's one from me biggrin.gif

lwliam
post Mar 1 2011, 06:54 PM

6,075 posts

iso3200 already 1/4sec, if u set iso800 will be 1sec shutter already, i think its a good move to use iso3200, else u will need to use your pop up flash at rear-sync mode to include the ambient light into the shot.

Added on March 1, 2011, 6:56 pmemptyball, thats why, u in serious need for a TT session, when are u dropping by KL? Tell us in advance, we'll try to arrange one for u. Else, try ask northern alpha legion see if they can arrange a TT or not..

Added on March 1, 2011, 6:57 pmcassplayer, do post more biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by lwliam: Mar 1 2011, 06:57 PM
empty-ball
post Mar 1 2011, 07:00 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Mar 1 2011, 06:54 PM)
iso3200 already 1/4sec, if u set iso800 will be 1sec shutter already, i think its a good move to use iso3200, else u will need to use your pop up flash at rear-sync mode to include the ambient light into the shot.

Added on March 1, 2011, 6:56 pmemptyball, thats why, u in serious need for a TT session, when are u dropping by KL? Tell us in advance, we'll try to arrange one for u. Else, try ask northern alpha legion see if they can arrange a TT or not..

oic,i still duno hw use the iso correctly and the flash oso, duno wat different the two setting of flash ....can giv some tips.. ==

Added on March 1, 2011, 7:07 pm
QUOTE(lwliam @ Mar 1 2011, 06:54 PM)

wat TT means ??
northen legion i duno leh, coz i no much fren plying slr....somemore sony...susah nak cari....
i m planning goin down kl but jz duno whn...yt...

This post has been edited by empty-ball: Mar 1 2011, 07:07 PM
lwliam
post Mar 1 2011, 07:08 PM

6,075 posts

on your alpha, there's typically 3 flash mode.

Normal, fill-flash
rear-sync
and WL mode (wireless)

normal mode is as usual. A blast of light to light up your subject, normally leaves the background all dark and lifeless. Rear-sync, the blast of light will be at the end of the shutter click opposed to the nromal mode where its at the beginning. Rear-sync mode will tell your camera by default to use a setting which will let in more background ambient light into your pic, making it looks more 'alive' rather than a black background.

WL mode is used to trigger a wireless flash held off-camera. More on that in the future when u have ur own f42/f58 flash
8tvt
post Mar 1 2011, 07:10 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

i also want to try la..

photog in the making...
empty-ball
post Mar 1 2011, 07:14 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Mar 1 2011, 07:08 PM)
on your alpha, there's typically 3 flash mode.

Normal, fill-flash
rear-sync
and WL mode (wireless)

normal mode is as usual. A blast of light to light up your subject, normally leaves the background all dark and lifeless. Rear-sync, the blast of light will be at the end of the shutter click opposed to the nromal mode where its at the beginning. Rear-sync mode will tell your camera by default to use a setting which will let in more background ambient light into your pic, making it looks more 'alive' rather than a black background.

WL mode is used to trigger a wireless flash held off-camera. More on that in the future when u have ur own f42/f58 flash
oic, so it is better to use rear flash instead of the normal fill flash ??
i saw 1 more flash mode is slow syn , it say slow shutter speed , it can hav a clear image of background n sub ?/ or i m wrong ??
lwliam
post Mar 1 2011, 07:16 PM

6,075 posts

TT have multiple versions, all leading to one final outcome: poisoned kao kao knowledge gained..

TT session: Teh Tarik session, Technology Transfer session or Self-poison session..

This post has been edited by lwliam: Mar 1 2011, 07:18 PM

127 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:52 PM