AUCTION PROPERTY- NEED ADVICE

michaellee
post Apr 29 2012, 12:57 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Apr 28 2012, 04:31 PM)
why title search not necessary for high court case? some of high court case got caveat. from my understanding it takes more time to remove the caveat than the given time to settle the payment to bank

regarding the title search service, not sure how much the agent charge. anyone can confirm this?
Truth be told, nowadays, properties with caveat, orang mati dalam peti sejuk, left only 4 walls, in front of a sewerage treatment, no. 4, end of T junction, below road level, or whatever disability or bad feng shui, you can be sure there are other bidders. So unless you are keen on that particular property and has the spare cash in case you cannot draw down in 120 days (which can happen even in smooth sailing cases), don't even go if you have other worries like caveat. Which is why I feel a caveat nowadays is meaningless. No one is scared of it.
michaellee
post May 2 2012, 09:51 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(clanzkiller @ Apr 30 2012, 12:05 AM)
Before the auction with private caveat is normal I guess. Free from encumbrances only apply after the auction where the bank will help to remove it by their own cost. Correct me if I'm wrong smile.gif. In the mid on learning.
Bank will not pay a cent to remove any caveat whether before or after the auction. You are on your own. But high court overrules everything. If anyone else dares to enter a caveat after the auction, then they need to prove caveatable interest. The only unfortunate thing is that in Malaysia's Land office, apa apa pun boleh jadi.
michaellee
post May 7 2012, 10:41 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(kimi2006 @ May 6 2012, 08:14 PM)
hi, need some help here.

I ask my agent about a auction house that i plan to go, he say its freehold and not bumi or malay reserved land. but when i read the POS it states 'Sekatan Kepentingan: Tanah yang diberimilik ini tidak boleh dipindahmilik, dipajak, digadai melainkan
dengan kebenaran bertulis daripada pihak berkuasa negeri. Pegangan: Selama- lamanya' It sounds like a bumi/malay reserved lot. Is my agent trying to scam me?? btw its a high court auction.
Is this a low or medium cost house? I don't think your agent is trying to scam you as it is a freehold and not bumi/malay reserve. And the fact that it is a high court auction, transferring to your name should be okay.
michaellee
post May 11 2012, 04:16 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(samchloe @ May 11 2012, 01:09 AM)
Michael, i am aiming for a low-medium house, leasehold. Defendant is an indian. Apparently not bumi lot. But, my lawyer said she handled a case in which an auction property from a non bumi lot, suddenly had to be transferred tobe a bumi lot. So the unfortunate non-bumi purchaser got into trouble with the deposit.

michael, is there a way i can get back my deposit if the title suddenly become under bumi quota for that Taman?

how long does it take for the transfer of the title for a leasehold property from one owner to another? 120 days enough or not?

thanks a lot. i learn things from you. done lot of homework past few days.
Your friend's lawyer's story a bit weird. I can only construe that it might have been a LACA case where the bidder failed to check the status of the land. And it is a bumi lot hence non transferrable to non-bumis. So I don't think a non-bumi lot can suddenly be changed to a bumi lot unless in between a bumi bought it.

I think 120 days not enough.

No problem. Always happy to share whatever little i know. Good luck in your auction quest. smile.gif
michaellee
post Jun 2 2012, 01:42 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(dream.angels @ Jun 1 2012, 07:40 PM)
can anyone confirm whether caveat expires in 3 years or 6 years?

thanks...
6 years.
michaellee
post Apr 1 2013, 07:50 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Apr 1 2013, 06:49 PM)
michaellee still active?
Yes, still alive but in Kopitiam@lowyat reading through silly postings to pass time. Do go to propertywtf.com.my sometimes too as the admins there are more professional when it comes to property matters. But decided to refrain from giving public advices here since moderators are not appreciative of quality info and would allow IMHO very bad infos to be passed on (read jalsrix case). I come online on a voluntary basis to pass on my best of experiences but since it was not appreciated, why should i make this forum viable? I am still contactable by private message and still offer advices there. smile.gif

Just a short update, did not buy any auction properties in the last 24 months. Mainly into commercial land at the moment. Not interested in industrial, residential or agri land. Been selling more than buying as I personally believe that the property market should see some correction in the next 36 months. Next phase of growth should be KV properties but let Iskandar have its day first before proceeding to KV. Don't over commit in Iskandar or it may be your Waterloo. Cheers all!
michaellee
post May 4 2017, 04:45 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(Capitalist3 @ May 11 2014, 02:35 PM)
Hi All,

I'm newbie in LYN here. I actually following Pai posts and it brought me to Michaellee here.

Micheal, I absolutely believe people can tell who is right & who is wrong. People will hv to use their own head, common senses & their experiences to judge. If they can't, they only left themselves to be blame for. For people like Michael, I do appreciate all those comments left by all the big brothers big sisters here, even many of them were years ago. So I would like to say thank you to Micheallee for your wonderful insights. I hv come to appreciate LYN & people like Micheallee n all other experts here.

Now, I hv some Qs for Micheallee.

Since the prop boom in Msia in 2008, we hv seen surge of buyers came into the scene and it has also crowded the auction props circle. I know u said u hvnt been buying auction for the last 24 mths (apr 2013). I wanna ask for ur advice, what's ur view on auction market from 2014 and forward? Will it be continually be over crowded? What's the best place to start out hunting for auctions props?

Regards.
My deepest apologies for not coming into this thread for 2 years. Never realise I have given up properties that long. Allow me to digress a little. Properties had served me well from 1998 to 2014 when I bought my last commercial land. I have experimented and played with different class of assets in that period. From agricultural plantations to auctions to low costs to apartments to commercial lands. From 2014 onwards decided to pursue pure business and managed to grow it.

Auctions will never return to its previous glory as the entire market is quite liquid. Many are holding or hording cash which made auction less viable as every now and then you will get a spoiler, ie someone who would actually fight until die. So decidedly in the laSt few years I have not touched auctions. My personal take is to refrain from auctions unless u have plenty of time to kill.

Now I am into buying properties in when handing over jittery owners will sell at below their purchase price. But rather than hoping for investment grade or capital appreciation, I am trending on lifestyle investments. That is to buy properties which I can derive fun and then using Airbnb money to pay mortgage. In return hopefully doesn't lose much in cspital. Money cannot buy happiness but I think it can buy you lifestyle. Haha..

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0263sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:18 PM