AUCTION PROPERTY- NEED ADVICE

michaellee
post Apr 9 2012, 11:41 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(clanzkiller @ Apr 7 2012, 11:32 PM)
Assuming I obtain and got approved by bank 'ABC', so I will need to find a lawyer which is the panel of 'ABC' and ask that particular lawyer to handle both transfer and loan agreement, right?
Ok understood! Ya true also, they wil rather lose 1 client like us than the entire bank community! Business opportunity, can't fully blame them also smile.gif.

Added on April 7, 2012, 11:37 pm

You need at least the Proclaimation of Sale before u do the search to get full information about that particular property such as lot number, mukim/daerah etc.
Land search can be done publicly in land office followed by state. If under selangor, you need to go shah alam land office, if in KL, then u need to go KL land office. Rm50 per official search. For shah Alan land office, it close at 3.30pm so best to go before that.
Just to add on, personally I do not do searches anymore as they are not nearly as useful. High court auction normally clears everything and those with caveats, I noticed nowadays all POS actually puts it down in writing under endorsements. Given the number of auctions I go to, it is quite a significant savings. And if you know the auctioneer well, just call and ask them if they noticed anything in their land search. They need to do a search just before an auction.
michaellee
post Apr 14 2012, 09:45 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Apr 14 2012, 05:52 PM)
1. I mean can they pay their own people to act as fake bidders to artificially inflate the auction price ?

2. It is condo and more than 10 years, so cannot find in website.
1. I remembered you are happy to register despite me advising not to, to prevent others kacau-ing. But now you are afraid of artificial bidders? why should they do that? If they end up taking the properties, then they had to pay for it.
michaellee
post Apr 16 2012, 12:21 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Apr 15 2012, 08:45 PM)
Very simple asnwer.
Because the Bank Lelong it on the condition of "as is, when is"
Meaning you buy it as it is when it is. Any amount owing (whether unpaid TNB bills, sinking fund, etc) all will be paid by the new owner. That's why the bank sell you cheaper at lelong prices. The Bank and the ex-owner are absolved of all responsibilities. Remember this is lelong and not new property.That is the rule if you want to play the game.
Yes you can immediately shift into the house upon signing the S&P.
The condition is as is where is, correct. But most POS nowadays for high court actually reads that the bank will absorb most of the outstandings, inclusive of utilities (this was the case 1 year plus ago). I won't go into the very detail of the law, but if you have a good lawyer, there is a limit to what you need to pay to the management if there is outstandings and the POS clearly states that the bank will not pay for it.

There is no S&P in auction. It is called a memorandum of contract. You cannot move in straight away even though you are the beneficial owner. You are not the registered owner as the registered owner is still in the borrower's name. The bank has been assigned the rights to auction off the property but as the succesful bidder you are not given the same rights. If you choose to break and enter, you will do so at your own risks.

Added on April 16, 2012, 12:25 am
QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Apr 15 2012, 10:24 PM)
michaellee is giving a good advice regarding the registering before auction date. no benefit of doing registration before auction.

I have some doubt about auction sale also. Is there difference between high court and land office auction ? what is the reason behind the auction sale by high court and land office?
The power vested in both high court and land office are similar though most prefers to go through high court. I guess perhaps for some locations without a high court, the bank may choose land office over high court.

Added on April 16, 2012, 12:34 am
QUOTE(jalsrix @ Apr 15 2012, 11:19 PM)
More questions:

1. What are some of the reasons auctioneer withdraw auction at the last moment ? (other than owner paid up at last moment)
2. How easy is it to remove any caveat other than the bank caveat ?

ie. S&P was signed with another buyer and bankrupt owner AFTER bank put it on auction
3. Can caveat be put in if bank already put a caveat there ? ie. can there be more than one caveat ?

1. Auctioneer cannot withdraw an auction. They need to apply to court to withdraw the auction.

2. The bank would not have caveat. They have charges. The property is charged to the bank. The bank need to remove their own caveat just before they want to charge the property. Without the caveat removal, they cannot charge the property.

3. They can be more than 1 caveats. But "priority" will be given to the caveatable interests and the earliest caveats. Whoever puts in first will have more interests than the next person. Bank will never have caveats unless it is in the midst of charging the property. Banks have charges.

This post has been edited by michaellee: Apr 16 2012, 12:34 AM
michaellee
post Apr 17 2012, 08:07 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(golfphunk @ Apr 16 2012, 03:42 AM)
last but not least, i cant speak for other agents out there... but the reason why some bidders have to pay 1% commission to agents is because there are some auction property that the banks dont pay us any professional fees... agents are humans & have the same commitments like everyone else...we need to bring food to the table too =)
anyway keep up this good healthy discussion... i've already achieved 1.2mil in good debt...aiming for at least another minimum 3mil-5mil in loan..

Added on April 16, 2012, 3:47 ami've already on my 2nd property on loan...if any of u out there has some advice on how to go around the system for buying the 3rd property without the hefty 30% downpayment...i would love to hear & learn from your experience.

cracking my head now on how to buy 3rd property
Hi, thank you for your support. Just one point to note, as with all my other advices, this is not the season to build up debts. If you asked me 3 years ago, I believe the challenge would be to see who has the highest debt (ie, will make more money). In a cloudy environment like the one we are facing right now, it is good to make sure you have enough savings to see you through at least 6 months of bank repayments. Cheers!

Added on April 17, 2012, 8:09 am
QUOTE(jalsrix @ Apr 16 2012, 09:10 AM)
how will the bank know if somebody avoid income tax ? do they phone up income tax to check our files ?
It is not the bank job to check if someone has avoided income tax. In fact, if any, your friendly local banker will offer you advices on how to get loan if you have evaded or under declare your income.

Added on April 17, 2012, 8:11 am
QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Apr 16 2012, 09:30 AM)
regarding the caveat and title or official search, i think the search is really troublesome as to when the auction is called off, the search will just be a waste. Usually auction will be called of the very day on the auction date. Any way to get this for free?  thumbup.gif
I don't do searches anymore though I do not recommend this to new investors. The reason for me is simple. Caveat can be remove, but it does take time, so be prepared to pay 100% but having said that if you have paid for it 100% then to get refinancing, then your interests are not tax deductible. But you do need to look out for government caveats and normally agents who wish to do my business will warn me enough without having me to go do a search.

Added on April 17, 2012, 8:12 am
QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Apr 16 2012, 10:13 AM)
from what I know called off because the owner paid or settle the unpaid monthly installment. maybe there are more reasons for the called off. maybe someone more experience can share with you.

If say I win any auction and pay by cash, how long will it takes for all the paperwork or procedure finish and the house is legally mine?
The only factor in delaying a high court auction is the auctioning bank and their failure to give proper and relevant documents on time. All others are standard and should be done quite quickly by your lawyer.

Added on April 17, 2012, 8:36 am
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Apr 16 2012, 10:27 AM)
Hi Michaellee, thanks for clarifying.
But since the bank holds the title to the property and a copy of the s&p and the current owner defaults on its payments, couldn't the bank declare the owners copy of S&P null and void? reason being he/she defaulted on payments and get a court order to "seize" the property for auction? i tot this was the way the banks do it?no?
The bank holds the title and a copy of the FACILITIES AGREEMENT. SPA has nothing to do with the bank. In the facilities agreement which you have signed (obviously favouring banks), if you default, the bank has a right to increase interests. And ultimately in some cases, these interests compound and makes it impossible for some to pay. Once the property goes into NPL, then the bank will need to apply to court via their solicitors (not necessary the lawyer that prepared the facilities agreement) to auction off the property. Only the court can grant the bank the right to auction and also only the court can call off an auction. No one else can.

Added on April 17, 2012, 8:42 am
QUOTE(beandk @ Apr 16 2012, 02:49 PM)
Hi Micheal, great advices that you are giving here. Keep it up.
QUOTE(Glcotan @ Apr 16 2012, 03:31 PM)
just wanted to say thank you to michael for his valuable advices...
QUOTE(etsy3699 @ Apr 17 2012, 12:06 AM)
Yup, agree with you that Michaelle has been very helpful with his tips. Read all the posts from Page 1 up to your post and kinda felt it is unfair someone is p*ssed at his tactful reply. Oh well.

We are cracking our head on how to buy a 3rd property without paying the 30% downpayment too!

Appreciate any advice/tip, it goes without saying cash is always king, just wondering if there are any leeway in this!
Thank you all for your kind remarks.

When bank negara places LTV of 70% it means that there is something really wrong with our property market and hence the need for a cooldown. My personal believe has always been that there will be a need for some correction as the property market is no longer serving the mass market. The majority of the salary earners cannot afford a simple roof over their heads. Hence the need for the government to come up with some radical policies. For most of us who has not witness the 97 crisis, should speak to someone who had invested prior to that crisis and get a feel of what had happened. What is happening now seemed to be mimical to what has happened then. In summary, my advice is not too be too "greedy" and overcommit in such market. I do know the ways to play around but yet for all the loans I have signed up last year and this year are all in the 70% (and more recently 60% for company loans). Alternatively, you can move to commercial properties for higher margins.

Added on April 17, 2012, 8:45 am
QUOTE(golfphunk @ Apr 17 2012, 01:11 AM)
haha..read from page 1 until the last page buddy =)

out of 10 auction maybe 1 may be worth bidding... its a number's game..

Michaellee... when can i buy you a meal? it would be my pleasure to get to know u as a friend and learn from you abit on property investments.. =)
For the current market, the best properties worth bidding are not those that are 30% below market value. Try to get those which are around 10% below market value as they offer no competition and you actually get something cheap. For those 30% ones, you attract the whole china into the auctioning room and with emotion very often it is pushed above market value. I have given up on hot properties except those in 7 figures as there are ways to make money as long as there are santa clauses. And yes I do believe they exist. smile.gif

This post has been edited by michaellee: Apr 17 2012, 08:45 AM
michaellee
post Apr 17 2012, 09:38 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Apr 17 2012, 09:12 AM)
If you can pay cash, then why would govt caveat bother you ? Govt caveat takes a longer time to remove but eventually it will be removed.

As long as you pay cash, you can move in already. So what's the problem here ?
Government caveat is a different ball game and only the government can remove the caveat. Having paid cash like I mentioned above would not mean you are already the registered owner. You need the property to be transferred to your name before you can rightfully and legally move in.
michaellee
post Apr 17 2012, 11:51 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(baharinsav62 @ Apr 17 2012, 10:42 AM)
I'm a newbie as far as property auction goes and have 1 nibbling question :

Say I'm not able to service my housing loan and the bank decides to auction off the property. If the outstanding balance on the loan is less than the auctioned price, will I get back the difference between the loan outstanding balance and the auction price (after deducting auction/bank expenses)?
Yes. You will get the balance back. But bear in mind, there are a lot of expenses incurred in auctioning off a property so please do not be too optimistic.
michaellee
post Apr 17 2012, 02:25 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(golfphunk @ Apr 17 2012, 01:26 PM)
i agree that 3 years ball game vs current market is always different.. we always say its expensive..but due to the RM500k minimum cap for foreigner to purchase a property here...a singaporean client of mine bought a unit in KLCC area for 1mil last year...and he says he can only buy a HDB flat in singapore after conversion.. and many people with cash buy because of lifestyle..its not an issue for them

but its always running in my mind..to either invest for passive income on rental..or cash out out for capital gain and reinvest again..i guess im not that high risk taker for the latter option.

commercial is always nice to go in..but high risk high profit.. 1 time burn will probably cost me bankruptcy.  tongue.gif

Michaellee, what's your take on the upcoming GE? if BN stays or opposition rule...what u think could happen to our real estate sector? certainly i was too young to even know about investment during 1997..
I do not really comment about politics as lowyat has some really tight assed people who loves to discuss politics as if they are Najib's personal aide. So will be refraining political talks for the moment. Cheers!
michaellee
post Apr 17 2012, 02:38 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(golfphunk @ Apr 17 2012, 02:27 PM)
big brother is watching  rclxms.gif
Hahaha, I am not that afraid of big brothers la. Semua boleh diselesaikan. It is the herd mentality (especially those working in singapore) forumers that are beyond discussions. Everything about Malaysia is bad. Everything about BN is bad. Everything about Singapore is good. Everything about PAP is good. Personally, my believes are simple. My one (two if you consider state assemblies a different thing) vote will go to whoever I feel at CURRENT situation best serve my interests. I can be a greedy businessman, but I look after myself first.

If you look at DAP's Penang, is that the model we want? What about PAS's Kelantan and Kedah? Would you be happy under that system? And PKR's Selangor? What about BN's Malaysia? If you asked me seriously, malaysia's fundamental political system is very flawed as legislators and executioners and enforcers are all bundled into one. If you have good separation, it will be good for all. Having said that, though politics play a role in property prices, I believe our current situation, it is more of a global effects and government policies of a free system that would have the greatest impact on properties.
michaellee
post Apr 20 2012, 12:29 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(jalsrix @ Apr 19 2012, 08:29 PM)
Why so secretive ?  whistling.gif

This is not political so it can be discussed in open forum .
To be honest, it is OPTIONAL for us to share our experiences. And OPTIONAL for us to share with those that we wish to share it with. The way you have asked me both in private message and on open forum is as if I owe my living to you and unfortunately that's not the case. Especially even after giving you GOOD advices, you questioned as if you must know the reasons behind even though we have decided to stop sharing. Remember, it is OPTIONAL for us to share not compulsory and I am pretty sure I have provided enough lead for people to google and read up further to decide. You, on the other hand, refuses to read up and learn. Cheers.
michaellee
post Apr 20 2012, 11:12 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(clanzkiller @ Apr 20 2012, 07:10 PM)
michaellee,

Ok, i've attended an auction few days ago at Shah Alam High Court.
Unfortunately, i'm late for the registration which is at 9.30am. I reached at 9.36am. So we went to the auction room and meet the bailiff who are still in the mid of sorting the cases. And no matter what reason we use, the bailiff do not allow us to register. So nvm lo.

Under the POS, it written the auction supposed to start at 10.30am. But we wait and wait and wait, and the auction start at 11.42am. The reason we waited is because to see what's the final price for the property i'm bidding.

Few question before i continue:
1. under the POS terms and condition, it stated that if the registration is after 9.30am, it will be have to depends on the bailiff decision. We've shown this terms to him, he just simply say, ' i cakap x blh, x blh laaa'. without any valid reason given.
2. The bailiff are so concerned on the registration time, but do not concerned on the auction time which is late for 1 hour+. Malaysia Boleh

I fully understand is my fault that i'm late and if they simply let me register, then everyone will do the same. But why do they written the clause like that, and why even the bailiff closed the registration at 9.30, the auction will also be late??

Ok continue with the story..
bla bla bla, alot of auction, until the property that we're bidding, which is at 1.23pm. total 13 bidders inside the auction room.
What happened was, before the property that we're bidding, all others property before that, the reserved price let's say RM 200,000. But the auctioneer will announced the price will start at RM 220,000 even before anyone rise their hand and bid for it. Is that common practice in KL??

And, for the bid increment, let's say RM 200k, is there any standard guideline for the increment or decided by the auctioneer? Is a RM20k increment of every single bid is common as well in KL??

Waiting for your kind reply, thanks..
Sad to say in Malaysia in the last 1 year or so has been practising the same procedures which I think has more good than bad. In the ever challenging auction landscape, rules are ever changing. Personally I would have went for registration at 9am. I think in the POS it does mention that you need to register before 9.30am. Just need to read it again, i supposed. Auction starting time is dependable on the registrar. And the amount of auctions for that day. Auction is said to start at 10.30am. It will start anytime from 10.30 onwards. Unfortunately you live by their rules. I have seen a lot of time wasting. But unfortunately there is nothing much you can do. I will check in at 9am and go for a quick meeting and back before 10.30 to save time. I had to wait a bit after 12pm the longest so far.

This practise of increasing the reserve price has been happening since 1 year ago when they sort of reform the entire country's high court auction system. POS seemed to be standardised and if you read carefully, it says that if there are more than 2 bidders, they will raise the reserve price. Do blame the auction snakes who had been out there trying to outsmart the system. Unfortunately for genuine bidders, it will prove to be a hassle. One final word of advice, do learn to play by their rules. Otherwise your only other option is NOT to bid at all. Cheers and good luck.

Added on April 20, 2012, 11:13 pm
QUOTE(zenwell @ Apr 20 2012, 05:36 PM)
Hi michaellee,

is there any book/blog or anything that talks about property auction activities in malaysia? the do's and don'ts expecially. thanks!
Not too sure on that, perhaps someone else can help. My stories are all from personal experiences. Cheers.

Added on April 20, 2012, 11:14 pm
QUOTE(clanzkiller @ Apr 20 2012, 08:37 PM)
Sorry bro but i don't think there is any help even i posted the final price xD...
I dunno...Even for single bidder, the single bidder have to pay few thousand higher than the reserved price. It is not a proper way of doing it in east Malaysia, claimed by an auctioneer from east malaysia who accompany his friend to bid for a property. And i think he going to rise the issue when he go back to east malaysia cause he seems very unhappy and angry about what is going on here..(personal judged from his emotion and expression before he leave the court, lol...)

And, same goes to the property i'm bidding for it. One of my friend's friend managed to register and went into the auction room. Surprisingly, she said the auction start 20k higher than the reserved price, and the bid increment is 20k per bid...
For the first story, it is impossible and I don't think the court registrar would want to risk his or her job by increasing the price if there is ONLY ONE bidder. However, if there are more than one bidder, then it is stated quite clearly in the POS, that the court has the power to increase the first bidding price.

This post has been edited by michaellee: Apr 20 2012, 11:14 PM
michaellee
post Apr 22 2012, 12:51 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(BBB Project @ Apr 21 2012, 10:08 PM)
Normally no, because the judge don wan to end up with no bidding also. wink.gif
Not true for high court cases. Unfortunately some would actually blacklist the bidders if they refuse to bid at the increased price. I know it had been done before and seriously there is nothing you can do about it. Afterall, if you want to go auction, then you have to follow the high court rules.

Added on April 22, 2012, 12:53 am
QUOTE(clanzkiller @ Apr 21 2012, 12:58 AM)
Ya it is my bad for being late, i would not blame them for that. But the bailiff or registrar are being very very unfriendly and rude. Besides, i've seen one people register at 10.12am, but for another case, which i remember that guy and he won a single bidding. Maybe because that property has no one register that day that's why the bailiff allow him to do so.

I've to double check the clause that if more than 2 bidders, the reserved price will be increase. i remember i didn't read about something like that, or maybe i mis-read or something, let me double confirm...

I heard the east malaysia old man like very angry talking with a group of people, so i also curi2 sneak beside them and hear the story. He is very unsatisfied with the system here, and he also mentioned about the previous single bidder, he questioned the group of people if that is common in west malaysia for that the reserved price can be increase regardless of how many ppl are bidding for it. And seems like no one answering his question.

The single bidder case was before that east malaysia guy...so that time the east malaysia guy is inside the room..i viewed the entire auction at the side from the glass there only..and i noticed he sat down there alone quietly for 5 cases already. And then after the single bidder case, suddenly someone go and talk to him. And i supposed is his friend cause after that he stood up and stood behind the guy who talked to him when the auction start. there are 3 bidders.
Then after the auction, he and his friend walked out the door. And started to talk loudly, like dissatisfaction.

And micheal, how about the price increment? can they increase the price at any amount they like as well? like the property i'm bidding for, 20k increment was huge, given that the reserved price is +-RM250k only...
They can set the increment level they want and there is really nothing you can do about it. In fact that system does weed out the non-serious bidder, sad to say.

Added on April 22, 2012, 12:55 am
QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Apr 21 2012, 03:22 PM)
what if both the bidder do not suscpect that the reserve price at the high court auction will be increased, so both do not bid. Will their deposit get forfeited? because in cos, it stated that if any person deposit but do not bid, their deposit will be forfeited. Is this for single bidder only or apply to all?

Anyone can PM me where to check for good auction listing web or sources? thank you
Deposits will not be forfeited but unfortunately for some high courts, they will ban you and blacklist you for a duration of time. If it is a single bidder then that person would have won the auction at the reserve price and would need to pay the balance within the 120 days stipulated time.

I find it interesting that up until now, there are still some people who cannot tell the differences between high court/land office auction and LACA. There are two entirely different types of auctions and have different rights to the bidders.

This post has been edited by michaellee: Apr 22 2012, 12:55 AM
michaellee
post Apr 22 2012, 11:33 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Apr 22 2012, 11:32 AM)
for laca, usually it will be at rounding up to the thousand if the reserve price is not rounded to the thousand. and increase will be per 1k
LACA is a different ball game and the reason is because the rights to bidder is definitely not as strong as those given in high court. Some banks for LACA even offered 5% downpayment.
michaellee
post Apr 22 2012, 07:21 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(clanzkiller @ Apr 22 2012, 02:11 PM)
I probably understand the pros and cons of increasing the reserved price if there are more bidders. In fact, i just wanted to know if this is a norm, or it is flexible for the bailiff to decide during the auction. Since many experienced bidder has said it is a normal practice, i supposed that it is.
I dunno but claimed by the man, even single bidder, the reserved price is slightly increase a little bit. Let's say like RM100k, it will start at RM 102k or something..Just a little bit..To cover the cost maybe? lol..
Already did the best but that bailiff doesn't seems friendly to us...
Heheh got it, first time, and i do not expect 2 hours from cheras - shah alam also can be late.. Actually i already asked my agent to inform the bailiff that we will be late for 5-10 minutes, he just answer 'x blh'. And we actually reached at 9.36 at the auction room. We also tried to show sympathy while taking a high breath cause i ran all the way from the outside road, climb the staircase, and into the auction room. He just don't allow us. By fate..hahaha
What i've heard that day, even single, or 2 bidders, or 3, or 4, they also increase the reserved price.
Thanks Michael. Do you have any idea that auction law is under which enactment? Does it falls under National Land Code? Maybe is time for me to learn some law smile.gif.
It wasn't the norm some 1 year ago. It became a norm when the snakes are plying their businesses like nobody's business. These measures are supposed to be there to protect genuine bidders and to prevent hanky panky. AFAIK, the POS has spoken quite clearly about it.

Yeah it is under the National Land Code, but you can be certain that sometimes NLC is not being followed. I had once went to an auction where there were more than 200 bidders and increasing as there is a Maybank branch beside the land office, so people were asking their relatives to go to the bank and buy bank drafts (so that they can share the presents santa clause has brought) until ADO came out and said the auction is off due to irregularities. He does have the power to do so given and his reasons were that he was afraid there may be a riot later. There is also this other land office case where the auction was called off after registration close which was against NLC given that there were no irregularities and plenty of genuine bidders. A few gungho people wanted to challenge the ADO with police called in by many "strongly connected" individuals and press. But yet land office rules. Would anyone actually troubled themselves to sue the land office?

Added on April 22, 2012, 7:23 pm
QUOTE(clanzkiller @ Apr 22 2012, 03:10 PM)
cannot bro cause the bailiff said he need the original IC and bank draft in order to register....
Not true. You can always give a certified copy of your IC to your agent and let them register. I don't know who you can complain if the high court dares to reject your agent. Fact is, they don't even know if it was your agent that inserted the bank draft. Normally for high court, you need to deposit your things into a box.

This post has been edited by michaellee: Apr 22 2012, 07:23 PM
michaellee
post Apr 23 2012, 10:43 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(clanzkiller @ Apr 22 2012, 11:19 PM)
Yalo what to do lol. I hardly travel from cheras to shah alam during morning time. Now I learned my lesson.

Added on April 22, 2012, 11:28 pm

Wow, even high court can play around with the law. No wonder most of the Malaysian like to do things against the law..hahahah

No bro, my agent even filled the entire information with bank draft number. But the bailiff do not accept it at any cost. The bank draft is with me and my agent need to insert the bank draft and photocopied ic into the box. With either 1 item missing, means no by the bailiff that day.

Added on April 22, 2012, 11:34 pm

Yup ultimate said is by the judge cause he is the house boss! But the judge is more keng then governant bodies where even if they create or amend an emergency ordinance, it has to be agreed by certain parties, but not a single person.. Salute..
Yeah, I've learned alot from that day and not to say, give a full credit to Michael. He helped to answer most of my question where I couldn't 'rise an objection' that day.. Hahah
The final price is only 10k higher than my budget... sad.gif
To be honest, if you have not given your bank draft to your agent then I supposed the bailiff is right in rejecting. If it was an auction I am going for, and there is someone who is late, I would raise my objections as well. But I supposed with this experience, in future you will be more aware of timing issues. Good luck.

Added on April 23, 2012, 10:45 am
QUOTE(beandk @ Apr 23 2012, 12:24 AM)
Well, 10k is quite a bit for a 200k prop. Just out of curiosity, would you ever consider going over your budget?
There is a couple of time, when I realised that there is no subsale in that region and I die die want to have the location, I am happy to pay a slightly above market premium in auction. The beauty of auction if you are a snaky person, is you can reap a lot of benefits post auction.

This post has been edited by michaellee: Apr 23 2012, 10:45 AM
michaellee
post Apr 23 2012, 03:14 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(beandk @ Apr 23 2012, 02:27 PM)
Well, the 'die die' says it all...must come with a premium. For me, I do not have to balls to do so as I always need a margin of safety for the unexpected. Have to be pretty cash rich as well. Salute!

Hehe..... didn't know you can be snaky post auction. I thought pre auction? Maybe taikor here can teach a bit of your kung fu?

Post auction for me is always a bunch of headache. Chasing for draw down to meet deadline, chasing owner to move, chasing the auction bankers to pay up their court fees....
In fact post auction is where the actions are. When do you move in? When do you renovate? When do you chase the inhabitants out? How do you chase the inhabitants? Who are the people you use for your work done? Etc. I have a few advantages as I have a team which had been doing all these for me. Like the bankers who would approve the loan quickly so that the lawyer who would make sure my loans are drawn on time, then having the necessary people to make the appropriate police reports, breaking into the house via a various numbers of means (tailored to individual inhabitant), to schedule workmen to work. These are the exciting part of auction. To share my latest experience. I bought this run down house from auction in the second week of April at RM230k. Managed to convince one of my tenants to take the place at RM3,500 per month with the condition I can settle them in before the end of this month with the rental to start in May. Managed to get bank loan in third week of April with lawyers preparing drawing down this week. Work began last thursday with nearly 15 workmen and will be done by today. Furnitures will come in wednesday, electrical fridge, tv, washing machines on thursday. Tenant will move in friday. All in all precise clockwork. It can be done if you have the experiences and the team which has been following you. My workers have been with me for more than 8 years.

Added on April 23, 2012, 3:16 pm
QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Apr 23 2012, 03:04 PM)
hmm, nowadays auction final price is close or higher than the market price. therefore, any advantage of choosing to buy at auction ?

i have lose interest in auction after knowing all this info ..... sigh
As per my above post, the biggest advantage with auction is that I could use the property straight away. Of course this is if you know how to do the right things and pull the right lever. The thing is, if you have known me in real life, I bet 50% of your purchases will be from auctions, with the occasional "don't mind the above market price premium" paid. I could probably get back some of these premiums from the 120 days draw down period.

This post has been edited by michaellee: Apr 23 2012, 03:16 PM
michaellee
post Apr 23 2012, 11:19 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(beandk @ Apr 23 2012, 09:23 PM)
RM230k sounds like reserve price to me  brows.gif Anyway, the point is, you managed to do all those things within a month itself. Very commendable! This one requires strong cables and relationship building over time. The best thing is you already have an existing tenant willing to rent the place without even looking at it.  notworthy.gif  This is one must learn kung fu......

Question: At what stage do you send out your letter of demand should there be occasions that requires so? After draw down or before? Thank you.
Honestly, i have yet to used the legal methods of getting the inhabitants out. Perhaps I have been lucky. One thing I always do is to pay the inhabitant a visit prior to the auction and explain my situation to them. And tell them that I am a better "winning bid" compared with others as at least I am more compassionate and willing to negotiate when they need to go. Once I even offered to pay for the lorry to bring their stuffs to the new place.
michaellee
post Apr 24 2012, 04:16 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(beandk @ Apr 24 2012, 01:30 PM)
Have not really encountered this problem as well but have a near litigation experience. However, it does limit some of my choices as I tend to avoid the hostile ones and certain races.
You bought and kena litigation?
michaellee
post Apr 24 2012, 08:40 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(beandk @ Apr 24 2012, 04:59 PM)
This one more of a tenancy case. Who would've thought a so call Datuk would default on payment? Sent a letter out, after that settled amicably.

Nowadays, very cautious about profiling. If I don't feel confident that I can get them off, I dare not touch. But I do like to explore other options. Then I can die die have that unit and have it 'working' as fast as possible. Speed is everything.
There are plenty of fake datuks around. smile.gif
michaellee
post Apr 26 2012, 08:23 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(yankicip @ Apr 25 2012, 02:15 PM)
I am in the opinon that many road side hand written auction notice or the iproperty.com.my auction listing continues listed by different person / agents intention is.

example

2200 fts 2/sty auction 300K
tel 01x xxxxxxx
1) The make the onwer  feel uneasy with their porperty
2) The lower down the market value of that areas particular property value
3) They are a group of people have some kind of other intention
Because the value auction is far too low and its sometime almost 50% only and we uncounter more and more such hand writen board

Anyone feel the same?
Not true la. These people are out to make money. If you contact them, they will give you info on the auction which they can either claim commission from you or from the bank or some even worse, claiming from both. I don't think it will reduce the property price as most people nowadays are not that dumb. They would do their homework and ask around before selling their house.
michaellee
post Apr 26 2012, 12:48 PM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(yankicip @ Apr 26 2012, 08:34 AM)
Oh.... hope what you said is true la.

My wife did complaint to me why our areas D/S value is getting lower and lower after seeing all those never ending "auction advertisement"

& it is rather depress when you check the iproperty and see the same and what worst is so many of them. You start to having this doubts that my house value maybe not that high.

& I my in law started to make comment like :  " You areas is not good, you see so many auction, why so many poor people ".
What your in law said is reasonable. A place filled with auction usually means people with poor credit credibility have bought. Either you have confidence that the place will be bought by people with good credit and will build up the place, otherwise the auction will be a perpetual problem.

Sorry I should add on, I hope your place will turn for the better.

This post has been edited by michaellee: Apr 26 2012, 12:50 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0335sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:33 PM