The Raw Selvedge Denim Thread, Version 4

Harvey_7
post Sep 22 2011, 10:47 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(treflip @ Sep 22 2011, 09:00 AM)
There is a so called hierarchy when comparing superiority and quality of current denims. The highest ranks includes those like current Japanese super denim like momotaro, eternal, samurai, the flat head, pure blue japan, denime, studio d'artisan, fullcount, somet, sugar cane, etc. These denim are expensive and i mean  can be super expensive not becoz of the brand, but purely for it's craftsmanship and nice cuts. Some of these brands might be unheard of but for denim enthusiast they are much more known compared to brands such as true religion etc. Call these Japanese denim as the Aston Martin, or the Bentley, or the Ferrari of denim.

Then there are Nudie, APC, Naked & Famous, Imperial, Edwin SEN Japan, etc which would be in the second ranking of denim hierarchy. These are good quality denim superior to other denims in the market as we know it today but not as good as the japanese ones i have just mentioned earlier. These brands, especially Nudie and APC are famous and picking up in popularity is due to it being worn by celebrities. These denim brand can be categorized as the Audi or the Mercedes of denim.

Then you have the other brands like Topman, Gap, Unqlo, etc etc. These jeans has a decent quality to it and also has a decent price. The price is parallel to it's quality.

Then comes lowest of all ranks of denim. These includes True Religion, 7 for all mankind, diesel, Ed Hardy, and other designer brand denims. These denims are, should i say, hideous in design and cuts, for example, Ed Hardy. In this denim category the quality and cut and craftsmanship are poor and hideous. But that is not the reason why it is being categorized so low. The reason being, is, that the price of these denims are ridiculously expensive with the kind of quality they offer. I.E the quality doesn't go with the price. They are as expensive as the superior Japanese denim but the craftsmanship arent comparable at all. So these brands tries to rip consumers off. These are expensive becoz of its brand, not quality, unlike the Japanese premium denim.

Then comes the odd one, the Dior Homme 19cm and 21 cm denim. This odd onei shall put it somewhere in between the 1st and the 2nd rank of the hierarchy. This is so becoz the quality and the build of the denim is as good as and on par as Nudie, APC and such or even much more and somewhat, slightly below the Japanese denim brands. But the price of Dior Homme Raw Denim is as expensive as those Japanese denim. But i find this as ok coz you are paying for its quality and also brand in the same time.
well said bro
almari2010
post Sep 22 2011, 09:39 PM

410 posts

momotaro or iron heart?

kotmj
post Sep 22 2011, 10:20 PM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

QUOTE(Mihawk7 @ Sep 21 2011, 09:45 PM)
I think it would help if u specify what kind of stain are u referring to bro!! different stain needs different treatment! im sure the sifus in this thread will be able to help you! btw, is its food stain which contains oil, what i did was suck the stain using my mouth. The saliva in the mouth would be able to resolve the food material from the denim. Just my 2cents
You f***ing put your stinking jeans which has not been washed in months in your mouth?!!!
treflip
post Sep 23 2011, 02:23 AM

712 posts

QUOTE(almari2010 @ Sep 22 2011, 09:39 PM)
momotaro or iron heart?
Momotaro FTW!!! hehehehe
almari2010
post Sep 23 2011, 06:55 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(treflip @ Sep 23 2011, 02:23 AM)
Momotaro FTW!!! hehehehe
huhuh.. do i need to size down if i choose momotaro? with nudie i'm 34.
Loej
post Sep 23 2011, 03:39 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 22 2011, 10:20 PM)
You f***ing put your stinking jeans which has not been washed in months in your mouth?!!!
my thoughts exactly. so how. can't seem to get the stain off.
any enzymes in the market that will do the trick?

Added on September 23, 2011, 3:40 pmand i wouldnt want my jeans to have the same foul smell of my mouth haha

This post has been edited by Loej: Sep 23 2011, 03:40 PM
h11g
post Sep 23 2011, 07:13 PM

2,114 posts

guys im moving to bangkok soon, is there more choices for selvedge jeans there? where should i look?
hgaxxx
post Sep 23 2011, 09:40 PM

29 posts

there's take 5 in bangkok
h11g
post Sep 23 2011, 09:51 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(hgaxxx @ Sep 23 2011, 09:40 PM)
there's take 5 in bangkok
thanks just did some searching there is pronto, take 5 and adjective. but the prices is slightly high for nudie.
hgaxxx
post Sep 23 2011, 09:55 PM

29 posts

u can try other brands but the prices for other jeans is high as well...
h11g
post Sep 23 2011, 10:53 PM

2,114 posts

But the good thing is get to try out there. So after reading the while thread, for raw selvedge I should go down 2 sizes right?
elainor
post Sep 24 2011, 02:28 AM

Snap snap snap
1,095 posts

http://www.ironheart.co.uk/index.php?main_...3ad2e5009eada58

Just ordered this at size 29... usually i wear 31 so i decided to size down 2... or should i size down more?
khchong81
post Sep 24 2011, 03:12 AM

443 posts

There is a so called hierarchy when comparing superiority and quality of current denims. The highest ranks includes those like current Japanese super denim like momotaro, eternal, samurai, the flat head, pure blue japan, denime, studio d'artisan, fullcount, somet, sugar cane, etc. These denim are expensive and i mean  can be super expensive not becoz of the brand, but purely for it's craftsmanship and nice cuts. Some of these brands might be unheard of but for denim enthusiast they are much more known compared to brands such as true religion etc. Call these Japanese denim as the Aston Martin, or the Bentley, or the Ferrari of denim.

Then there are Nudie, APC, Naked & Famous, Imperial, Edwin SEN Japan, etc which would be in the second ranking of denim hierarchy. These are good quality denim superior to other denims in the market as we know it today but not as good as the japanese ones i have just mentioned earlier. These brands, especially Nudie and APC are famous and picking up in popularity is due to it being worn by celebrities. These denim brand can be categorized as the Audi or the Mercedes of denim.

Then you have the other brands like Topman, Gap, Unqlo, etc etc. These jeans has a decent quality to it and also has a decent price. The price is parallel to it's quality.

Then comes lowest of all ranks of denim. These includes True Religion, 7 for all mankind, diesel, Ed Hardy, and other designer brand denims. These denims are, should i say, hideous in design and cuts, for example, Ed Hardy. In this denim category the quality and cut and craftsmanship are poor and hideous. But that is not the reason why it is being categorized so low. The reason being, is, that the price of these denims are ridiculously expensive with the kind of quality they offer. I.E the quality doesn't go with the price. They are as expensive as the superior Japanese denim but the craftsmanship arent comparable at all. So these brands tries to rip consumers off. These are expensive becoz of its brand, not quality, unlike the Japanese premium denim.

Then comes the odd one, the Dior Homme 19cm and 21 cm denim. This odd onei shall put it somewhere in between the 1st and the 2nd rank of the hierarchy. This is so becoz the quality and the build of the denim is as good as and on par as Nudie, APC and such or even much more and somewhat, slightly below the Japanese denim brands. But the price of Dior Homme Raw Denim is as expensive as those Japanese denim. But i find this as ok coz you are paying for its quality and also brand in the same time.
How about Evisu? I owned 3 pairs of it...Planning to get their 20th Anniversary soon.
new[x]
post Sep 24 2011, 11:48 AM

411 posts

Good sharing bro. thumbup.gif

May I know where these jeans are being sold?
- Nudie, APC, Naked & Famous, Imperial, Edwin SEN Japan,
- Dior Homme?

Are they available at The Gardens @ Pavillion??

Thanks!
jhchong
post Sep 24 2011, 02:50 PM

397 posts

@elainor,

im not sure if you're screwed, but people go TTS for the devil's fit. but good thing is if you are skinny and have small thighs, then you can fit in it. but if you're true waist is 31, then i doubt you can fit.

and.. 26oz? seriously hope you're not in malaysia now lol.
treflip
post Sep 24 2011, 03:05 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Sep 23 2011, 07:13 PM)
guys im moving to bangkok soon, is there more choices for selvedge jeans there? where should i look?
there is another shop in siam square name pronto which carries somet, naked and famous, nudia, pure blue japan, imperial, the flat head etc etc

Added on September 24, 2011, 3:08 pm
QUOTE(newx @ Sep 24 2011, 11:48 AM)
Good sharing bro. thumbup.gif

May I know where these jeans are being sold?
- Nudie, APC, Naked & Famous, Imperial, Edwin SEN Japan,
- Dior Homme?

Are they available at The Gardens @ Pavillion??

Thanks!
naa all the denim u mentioned are not available in malaysia...for now hehehe

Added on September 24, 2011, 3:09 pm
QUOTE(almari2010 @ Sep 23 2011, 06:55 AM)
huhuh.. do i need to size down if i choose momotaro? with nudie i'm 34.
it depends bro..unless if u buy the one wash model then u can size down but if u buy the raw unsanforized ones which u need to soak before wearing then u need to go true to size or up size one..depending on ur body type or the overall fit ure going for

Added on September 24, 2011, 3:11 pm
QUOTE(khchong81 @ Sep 24 2011, 03:12 AM)
How about Evisu? I owned 3 pairs of it...Planning to get their 20th Anniversary soon.
it depends on which evisu..the made in japan evisu's are surely in the top rank but the other made in maccau ones can be placed in the 2nd rank..and the evisu EU ill put it in the bottom step hehehe

This post has been edited by treflip: Sep 24 2011, 03:11 PM
elainor
post Sep 24 2011, 03:33 PM

Snap snap snap
1,095 posts

QUOTE(jhchong @ Sep 24 2011, 02:50 PM)
@elainor,

im not sure if you're screwed, but people go TTS for the devil's fit. but good thing is if you are skinny and have small thighs, then you can fit in it. but if you're true waist is 31, then i doubt you can fit.

and.. 26oz? seriously hope you're not in malaysia now lol.
hey jhchong, yea im not at mas now but i will be back to mas for summer break this coming dec. Im new to selvedge raw world as i only own a pair of g star selvedge. So now im deciding to get another pair slim straight/ fit and happened to saw this 25oz iron heart. So for the budget around 1.5k-2k what will you recommend me to get? Samurai? 15-18oz?
new[x]
post Sep 24 2011, 03:42 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(treflip @ Sep 24 2011, 03:05 PM)

Added on September 24, 2011, 3:08 pm

naa all the denim u mentioned are not available in malaysia...for now  hehehe

Oh no wonder.
Where would you go to buy those jeans?

Need to go to Singapore? Would you mind sharing the specific shopping malls.

Many thanks!!! notworthy.gif
alzaim
post Sep 24 2011, 04:33 PM

429 posts

yess...im going singapore for some naked and famous denim hunt..
i did a google search..they say tangs on orchard road sells N&F
jhchong
post Sep 24 2011, 04:48 PM

397 posts

@Alzaim,

The naked and famous section at Tang's plaza have shifted back to their main HQ store at Haji Lane near Bugis Junction. do your map homework to find the store called Know It Nothing.

@Elainor,

if you haven buy the Ih 666 at size 29, then do some research on sizing beforehand. erm your budget is a lot, pretty much can buy any denim you want. Its all down to your preferences , not my recommendation. But its a good start since you know you want a slim straight look. If you dont mind, you can get something not as heavy as IH since you're new to this raw thing, and can slowly wear them in Malaysia.

169 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:22 AM