The Raw Selvedge Denim Thread, Version 4

chazychaz
post Feb 19 2012, 08:18 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Feb 19 2012, 07:53 PM)
Guys I have a question, the momotaro with white leather patch, is cooperation with Japan blue right?
It's going to battle series..both Japan Blue x Momotaro and Momotaro itself have this series..both manufactured under same company Japan Blue Group or Rampuya(in Japanese)

Added on February 19, 2012, 8:38 pmBy the way, for those who too skinny or too fat, pls break ur piggy bank and buy this limited edition 21oz black pig

http://blueingreensoho.com/site/index.php?...emart&Itemid=62

This post has been edited by chazychaz: Feb 19 2012, 08:38 PM
chazychaz
post Feb 20 2012, 09:23 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Feb 20 2012, 12:49 AM)
Ohhh, thanks , I saw them in pronto and they were going for about 6500++ baht per pair. Am surprised they aren't selvedge though.

Are u referring to japan blue x momotaro?off course it's a selvage denim..the only difference is japan blue x momotaro made from texas cotton while momotaro from zimbabwe cotton..
chazychaz
post Feb 21 2012, 07:29 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(KahVII @ Feb 21 2012, 01:19 AM)
Besides the cotton, are there any other significant differences between these 2? http://blueowl.us/scripts/psp/VB_Bridge3.d...000&LANGUAGE=US and http://www.blueowl.us/scripts/psp/VB_Bridg...ail&SKU=7992000?
The one that has the Japan Blue collab is almost $100 cheaper and that's really tempting. What's so good about the standalone Momotaro one instead? Fading breaks easier? More comfy?

I'm ready for my first official raw denim now just deciding which to take. Thanks smile.gif
The cotton itself very much different..but again it's up to ur liking and affordability..japan blue denim made to cater for starters..

http://blueowlworkshop.blogspot.com/2011/0...cotton.html?m=1
chazychaz
post Feb 21 2012, 11:32 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(junky_man @ Feb 21 2012, 08:47 AM)
From what i understand, the main difference are:
1. Cotton used: JB x momo uses texas cotton whereas Momo uses Zimbabwe cotton. Chazy already gave a link to describe the difference between the two
2. JB x momo uses cow/calf leather patch whereas Momo uses deer leather patch
3. JB x momo has red selvedge with pink inseam stich whereas Momo has pink selvedge
4. JB x Momo cutting is a bit different from Momo. Correct me on this.(my point of view it's almost the same, still have tight straight n skinny straight cut)
5. jb x momo is 14.8oz plus whereas momo is 15.7oz plus

I believe the JB x Momo collab is a good jeans to start off with for your first raw denim. You'll learn to appreciate the difference between this and the normal Levi's jeans you get here locally.

Edited
chazychaz
post Feb 21 2012, 02:35 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(KahVII @ Feb 21 2012, 12:54 PM)
Thanks for the thoughts chaz and junky! Now I'm considering between the tight straight and skinny straight. I was going for tight straight at first because it would fit like a regular slim fit but after reading lots from the previous pages, many saId that the denims stretches like crazy after constant wears. I'm afraid it'll be loose and baggy in the future. Is it safe to go for the skinny cut instead if that's the case?
Jbxmomo sizing:
Skinny type-off course for skinny guy..dont play around with the this cutting if u have big hip and bum

Tight straight-safe to downsize one inch..ask junkyman for reference
chazychaz
post Feb 22 2012, 11:23 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(swks26 @ Feb 22 2012, 10:28 AM)
Was just wondering about the difference in room for the thighs and knee down for the said jeans.
Just a friendly reminder..dont keep asking but do ur own homework before start posting here..make use of google search button..u also may look in mynudies, superfuture and styleforum for further info
chazychaz
post Feb 22 2012, 08:11 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(soulquarianz @ Feb 22 2012, 07:10 PM)
Momotaro replacement 0705SP landed via Fedex today (shipped out on Monday afternoon) ! Momotaro "Going To Battle" 1005SP W34. perfect fit on me....infact cutting quiet close with my Iron Heart 634S....

lucky me that guy still have stock for 2012 Dragon Calendar (Gold Color - Japan) but not selvage one (already finish sad.gif ) just a normal one (its ok coz anything dragon is highly sought by me coz i was born in Dragon year hehehe), it also comes with Momotaro Mini Collection Guide Booklet

Hail the dragon..haha..
chazychaz
post Feb 23 2012, 11:48 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(soulquarianz @ Feb 23 2012, 06:21 AM)
i c...i never really soak mine if its a washed or sanforized. I only soak it if its raw and stf type.......

Added on February 23, 2012, 6:22 am

hehe at least u got 3....yours is Green colored selvage right? the first MOMO i bought got no stock at all.....
Haha...too much calendar already now consider giving it out to regular customer
chazychaz
post Feb 24 2012, 11:02 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(nekonano @ Feb 24 2012, 10:25 AM)
shocking.gif  $725 ..WTH !!
I dont see anything special about this nudie lab series..even limited edition samurai cost around 400usd
chazychaz
post Feb 24 2012, 08:21 PM

672 posts

My personal opinion

Nudie-long time ago already gone mainstream..since zac efron and jay z days..but cheap denim and their fabric quality is different from others..a must have denim in the closet..even after turn to japanese denim, would try to fit into nudie back

Nakedandfamous-for denim starter..cheap and denim quality is good if over 15oz..below than that feels nothing much different compared to normal raw nudie

Unbranded-I never goes near this denim but from what i learn..quality never even near nakedandfamous..just their gimmick to make people think it's naked and famous without branding..but it's not..

This post has been edited by chazychaz: Feb 24 2012, 10:13 PM
chazychaz
post Feb 25 2012, 09:23 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(jhchong @ Feb 24 2012, 09:32 PM)
totally wrong about your perception on unbranded.. hv you seen their fades and a beaten up pair before? and not a gimmick like what you said.

n&f definitely have an edge over nudie due to various models available. nudie is made in italy , with italian labour= higher cost=more expensive denim
As i said mate..my personal opinion, i might be wrong about unbranded though..but i never say nudie is better than n&f, or n&f better than nudie..
chazychaz
post Feb 26 2012, 08:31 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Feb 26 2012, 01:39 PM)
I have LVC 505s and a regular washed Levis 511. I've tried on 501s, but its not my thing.

Btw, Imperials MIJ now available in all SelfEdge stores. According to kiya, now they are no longer made in Australia, but made in Japan. Also, shorter inseam, and are chainstitched.
too bad then..no more imperial from kangarooland like this one..

chazychaz
post Mar 3 2012, 08:28 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(apsidewatch @ Mar 2 2012, 07:43 PM)

Just that as of now, the new batch which is made in japan. Chainstitch hem, back rise, around the waist, inseam, along the belt loop. Can't wait to see wether  the roping effect will appear

So chainstitch is good for the fades and stronger, but I heard it can easily unravel, or no?

The feel is more rigid and does not feel cheap, like nudies(perhaps bcus of the weight?) Or my current n&f skinny guy.

The size is 29, feels a bit loose. Easily button up. Asked kiya and he suggest never go below my tts. Will hot soak help much? It is sanforized
Cool stuff bro..any differences compared to made in australia one?
chazychaz
post Mar 7 2012, 04:24 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(Jenglot @ Mar 7 2012, 02:09 PM)
Finally. item arrive safely... rclxms.gif

Left to right
1) Levi´s® Vintage Clothing 1947 501 Jeans Rigid
2) LEE 101 Z The Original Zip Fly Jean 13 3/4oz DRY LH
3) Momotaro Jeans 0805SP
Nice haul mate..
chazychaz
post Mar 12 2012, 12:26 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(apsidewatch @ Mar 11 2012, 09:55 PM)
Story of 3 months of my life on a pair of raw denim. Colours are true as in the pictures.

Now i know why people choose n&f..my evisu cannot achieve that in 3 months duration..
chazychaz
post Mar 22 2012, 05:52 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(soulquarianz @ Mar 22 2012, 10:55 AM)
LL awesome man...the heaviest i got is IH 21oz and soon another famous Japs brand with 21 oz denim to follow - still finalizing the arrangement (but i heard after soaking becoming 24/25 oz).....

Wow got sammy huh..
chazychaz
post Mar 23 2012, 12:05 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(soulquarianz @ Mar 22 2012, 10:48 PM)
u not getting 1 also?  i thought u been wanting to have 1 tongue.gif

i'm getting their flagship model S510XX 21 oz.....

actually wanted to have S5000VX 21 oz but because thigh measurement i dont want to take the risk like i did when buying momotaro 0705SP hehe....
I am looking at 24oz one..still raising fund though..i am not lucky as you bro got redmoon wallet for free..haha
chazychaz
post Mar 26 2012, 11:31 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(gwsa @ Mar 26 2012, 03:25 AM)
Any sifus can teach me how to check whether the jeans is raw or not? I'm using this method (wet a cloth and slightly rub at the jeans and there's blue colour on the cloth) on my uniqlo skinny tapered jeans that bought at RM169 iinm and have no idea back then and I remember I'd wash them like normal. And I've been wearing the jeans for 2months+ without washing. There's obvious whiskers and honeycomb there but there's no fades. So is it raw or normal jeans? Thanks

Edit : And also my white colour chair have a lil bleed on it.  unsure.gif
        This is the one I'm having http://shop.uniqlo.com/uk/goods/070986
Washed one..period
chazychaz
post Mar 27 2012, 04:54 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(kevin190791 @ Mar 26 2012, 09:33 PM)
i think it was mistyped ==> washed once
the denim is rinsed, to prevent shrinkage
some denim can still fade although they are one-washed, like Tight long john denim stretch for example
the thing about uniqlo denim is that it is not meant to be fade,
they have this colour lock technology on the jeans to prevent fade although it was washed for many times
creases still can be made through rough activities though
cmiiw
Yes make it simpler by categorizing into 2.. Raw or washed..

Added on March 27, 2012, 4:55 am
QUOTE(gwsa @ Mar 26 2012, 09:23 PM)
Sorry chazy, still don't get it. Noob here  blush.gif
Google or read from 1st post

This post has been edited by chazychaz: Mar 27 2012, 04:55 AM
chazychaz
post Mar 27 2012, 08:59 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(soulquarianz @ Mar 27 2012, 07:51 PM)
New 2012 Product lot...lot 15

[attachmentid=2759899]

and comes with New 2012 Samurai Catalog to poison me even more....

[attachmentid=2759863]

awesome stuff....should shrink and fit me well when i hot soak it...right now kinda baggy like my EVISU W34 and super long

tagged W34 L36 but i think actual is W35.5 and L38....
Nice haul bro..

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0530sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:38 AM