Any rear wheel drive car available in Malaysia?, preferably the price below rm150k

TSfenrir0402
post Feb 23 2011, 11:26 AM, updated 15y ago

195 posts

is there any rear wheel drive saloon car that we can buy(other than sports car) in malaysia? 1st hand car, japanese or american made...
ericmaxman
post Feb 23 2011, 11:29 AM

-
7,951 posts

old E39
alpha0201
post Feb 23 2011, 11:32 AM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

brand new?

on top of my head...Avanza, Rush, Hilux, Ranger, Triton, Navara...is there any more rwd for less than that?

saloon? i don't recall there's one for that price bracket.

This post has been edited by alpha0201: Feb 23 2011, 11:34 AM
TSfenrir0402
post Feb 23 2011, 11:40 AM

195 posts

nope aint old, and aint other than saloon/sedan car, on top of that, manual transmission is a must too:)

oh ya, toyota FT-86 is still concept right? meaning it could take 3-5 years for us to actually see the real car right? hmm, if it came out i wanna buy that car smile.gif
turbocharged
post Feb 23 2011, 11:43 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Feb 23 2011, 11:40 AM)
nope aint old, and aint other than saloon/sedan car, on top of that, manual transmission is a must too:)

oh ya, toyota FT-86 is still concept right? meaning it could take 3-5 years for us to actually see the real car right? hmm, if it came out i wanna buy that car smile.gif
your RM150k not enough.

but for downpayment ok la.

FW,New,Saloon? lol. In other country can, here dont have. Cheapest is BMW/Merc entry level car.

wait......BMW 1 series? 116

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Feb 23 2011, 11:43 AM
alpha0201
post Feb 23 2011, 11:45 AM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 23 2011, 11:43 AM)
your RM150k not enough.

but for downpayment ok la.

FW,New,Saloon? lol. In other country can, here dont have. Cheapest is BMW/Merc entry level car.

wait......BMW 1 series? 116
116i still need to top up 30k.

The only way to get that price bracket is a recond unit or if you are a good friend with AP holder.

This post has been edited by alpha0201: Feb 23 2011, 11:47 AM
TSfenrir0402
post Feb 23 2011, 11:54 AM

195 posts

wth, really... i better wait a few more years, besides, i already owned proton persona, i really like that car, hehehe...

um, i still prefer japanese car la, bmw 1 series, out of my budget, i'm not datuk's son, not ceo's son, i'm just an ordinary white collar, hahaha
KeV
post Feb 23 2011, 11:58 AM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

toyota mark x

http://www.mudah.my/Toyota+Mark+X+2+5+unreg-8649864.htm
alpha0201
post Feb 23 2011, 12:04 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Feb 23 2011, 11:58 AM)
Wow. low mileage 05 mark x.
MeToo
post Feb 23 2011, 12:15 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Feb 23 2011, 12:04 PM)
Wow. low mileage 05 mark x.
IF you trust the meter..... i bet you the salesman will tell you not to trust it also..
alpha0201
post Feb 23 2011, 12:25 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 23 2011, 12:15 PM)
IF you trust the meter..... i bet you the salesman will tell you not to trust it also..
there's no such honesty in reconditioned car. that's why I'm surprised why they " whistling.gif set or not set" the mileage so low.

This post has been edited by alpha0201: Feb 23 2011, 12:25 PM
jusTinMM
post Feb 23 2011, 12:29 PM

523 posts

what is the different between front wheel drive and rear wheel drive?? rear wheel drive more powerful???
TSfenrir0402
post Feb 23 2011, 12:30 PM

195 posts

that car isnt manual, and i really dont like the looks of it, strange, i tot rwd car market is bigger? nan dao i go get ford mustang meh?
nick0tyne
post Feb 23 2011, 12:33 PM

bmw's, toyota altezza, honda s2k
MeToo
post Feb 23 2011, 12:37 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Feb 23 2011, 12:30 PM)
that car isnt manual, and i really dont like the looks of it, strange, i tot rwd car market is bigger? nan dao i go get ford mustang meh?
RWD car market much bigger.... but your budget and "new" requirement just cut out 95% of the market smile.gif
kevin613
post Feb 23 2011, 12:40 PM

2,236 posts

RWD saloons/sedans are mostly reserved for sports or luxury models..
accept the fact that these brand new cars are out of reach in malaysia, unless if u're rich, or just accept a used car..
turbocharged
post Feb 23 2011, 01:01 PM

250 posts

mustang? road tax is like rm4000 above, cos its 3.7 liter above.

and petrol...well, if your budget is a tiny rm150k, muscle car is out of your league.

just get a vios la, and put in turbo if you're a speedster

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Feb 23 2011, 01:02 PM
TSfenrir0402
post Feb 23 2011, 01:01 PM

195 posts

oh, how to buy a brand new honda s2k? janji new, manual can d
turbocharged
post Feb 23 2011, 01:05 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Feb 23 2011, 01:01 PM)
oh, how to buy a brand new honda s2k? janji new, manual can d
er....s2k, 2k=2000 year = its now 2011, so, where got brand new?
TSfenrir0402
post Feb 23 2011, 01:06 PM

195 posts

um, so, bmw 116 is enough d? rwd, manual? how much is the road tax?
nick0tyne
post Feb 23 2011, 01:06 PM

new? ouch~ sorry, i misslook the post, s2k is recon, or used, kinda hard to get a new one, as for the parts... better u survey em first,

TSfenrir0402
post Feb 23 2011, 01:08 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(nick0tyne @ Feb 23 2011, 01:06 PM)
new? ouch~ sorry, i misslook the post, s2k is recon, or used, kinda hard to get a new one, as for the parts... better u survey em first,
oh, actually i like s2k leh, i dont really like 2nd hand car, i rather pay moe.
turbocharged
post Feb 23 2011, 01:08 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Feb 23 2011, 01:06 PM)
um, so, bmw 116 is enough d? rwd, manual? how much is the road tax?
dont waste your money la, u go buy a second hand bmw 320, keep another half of money, and living happily ever after. New car is too expensive.
kevin613
post Feb 23 2011, 01:27 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 23 2011, 01:05 PM)
er....s2k, 2k=2000 year = its now 2011, so, where got brand new?
S2000 is produced from 1999-2009
so though u are unlikely to find a brand new one, you could probably find something that is still in decent shape..
KeV
post Feb 23 2011, 01:36 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

s2k final year is 2009, so maybe u can find some recon ones, but they are hard to find mind u

Added on February 23, 2011, 1:36 pms2k final year is 2009, so maybe u can find some recon ones, but they are hard to find mind u

This post has been edited by KeV: Feb 23 2011, 01:36 PM
Joseph Hahn
post Feb 23 2011, 01:59 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Mark X is nice. I have yet to see any Mark X owner in Malaysia do this kind of mod. tongue.gif
MeToo
post Feb 23 2011, 02:07 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Feb 23 2011, 01:59 PM)
Mark X is nice. I have yet to see any Mark X owner in Malaysia do this kind of mod. tongue.gif
AFter the first speedbump front bumber gone, after a few more, side skirt gone, shoppign complex parking cannot use slope is too high. Tayar 6 months gone, botak 1 side.. need i go on? tongue.gif
cracksys
post Feb 23 2011, 02:32 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Feb 23 2011, 12:29 PM)
what is the different between front wheel drive and rear wheel drive?? rear wheel drive more powerful???

i like being push instead of pulled.
Joseph Hahn
post Feb 23 2011, 04:56 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 23 2011, 02:07 PM)
AFter the first speedbump front bumber gone, after a few more, side skirt gone, shoppign complex parking cannot use slope is too high. Tayar 6 months gone, botak 1 side.. need i go on? tongue.gif
Adjustable suspension from the inside. brows.gif

geforce88
post Feb 23 2011, 05:02 PM

2,841 posts

wow, i thought of this for 2-3 mins, but i really cant think of any brand new rwd sedan below 150k....

if used / recon / old unreg units, then got plenty lah.....
harryfoo
post Feb 23 2011, 05:50 PM

2,296 posts

TS, either you take second hand or recon.
KeV
post Feb 23 2011, 06:23 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

maybe this chevrolet can be interesting, 3.8 v6 FR

http://www.mudah.my/Chevrolet+Lumina+3+8+V...6449.htm?last=1

same as a holden commodore

cracksys
post Feb 23 2011, 06:39 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Feb 23 2011, 06:23 PM)
maybe this chevrolet can be interesting, 3.8 v6 FR

http://www.mudah.my/Chevrolet+Lumina+3+8+V...6449.htm?last=1

pergh, 3.8. sweating pay roadtax.
nick0tyne
post Feb 23 2011, 08:27 PM

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Feb 23 2011, 01:59 PM)
toyota mark X may be the one that around your budget, seems a nice car even tought i had'nt drive em, (sadly, but its reality)
XionCity
post Feb 24 2011, 02:10 AM

171 posts

recond RX8 ???
TSfenrir0402
post Feb 24 2011, 08:42 AM

195 posts

seriously, i really dont see any beauty in mark x, maybe i'm not really fond of the current looks of toyota cars. i still prefers the 2003 look of toyota vios.

if i get recon fairlady 350z, is it possible for me to transfer or reapply plate number?

Added on February 24, 2011, 8:43 amrx8 definitely the car i wanna stay away from, very fuel consuming. i rather take skyline or fairlady

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Feb 24 2011, 08:43 AM
mokh
post Feb 24 2011, 08:52 AM

243 posts

how about 480WHP 1JZ Altezza? and it is manual.

http://www.mudah.my/Toyota+Altezza+1JZ+Tur...VTi-8695349.htm

120k only.
shinjun
post Feb 24 2011, 08:54 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Feb 24 2011, 08:42 AM)
seriously, i really dont see any beauty in mark x, maybe i'm not really fond of the current looks of toyota cars. i still prefers the 2003 look of toyota vios.

if i get recon fairlady 350z, is it possible for me to transfer or reapply plate number?

Added on February 24, 2011, 8:43 amrx8 definitely the car i wanna stay away from, very fuel consuming. i rather take skyline or fairlady
You can get your desired number as long as you are loaded with cash. smile.gif
Cruzz
post Feb 24 2011, 09:18 AM

Cefiro A31 for drifter
MeToo
post Feb 24 2011, 10:31 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Feb 24 2011, 08:42 AM)

You are under the assumption 350Z's fuel consumption is lower then RX8?
cracksys
post Feb 24 2011, 10:44 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 24 2011, 10:31 AM)

you beat me to it.

not to mention, freaking roadtax.

if he's concern about fuel consumption, i'm sure roadtax will kill him before he even start fueling in.
TSfenrir0402
post Feb 24 2011, 11:51 AM

195 posts

fairlady definitely not FC friendly than rx8, but in terms of raw power and satisfaction, rx8 isnt that 'economic' compared to 350z

Added on February 24, 2011, 11:53 am
QUOTE(cracksys @ Feb 24 2011, 10:44 AM)
you beat me to it.

not to mention, freaking roadtax.

if he's concern about fuel consumption, i'm sure roadtax will kill him before he even start fueling in.
i agree, fairlady roadtax will pwn me kaokao. when i become ceo 1st la!

hmm, still my car of choice is honda civic, but no manual except type r, that 1 i dont wanna buy cos i wanna keep low profile and avoid unnecessary attention(civic already got a lot of attention from thieves).
how to get manual 2.0 civic? hmmm, must import sendiri? or cham seong with any honda SA can d?

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Feb 24 2011, 11:53 AM
cracksys
post Feb 24 2011, 12:08 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Feb 24 2011, 11:51 AM)
i agree, fairlady roadtax will pwn me kaokao. when i become ceo 1st la!

hmm, still my car of choice is honda civic, but no manual except type r, that 1 i dont wanna buy cos i wanna keep low profile and avoid unnecessary attention(civic already got a lot of attention from thieves).
how to get manual 2.0 civic? hmmm, must import sendiri? or cham seong with any honda SA can d?

why civic? you can't go wrong with post-2005 E46. RWD as you're asking originally.
alpha0201
post Feb 24 2011, 12:13 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

Haha. Civic Type R is hardly discreet. Championship white paint, white wheels with glaring red brembo brake calipers stands out.

Civic is FF btw so if you want a 2.0/1.8/1.6 manual you can try ask an agent to get it from singapore.

This post has been edited by alpha0201: Feb 24 2011, 12:16 PM
TSfenrir0402
post Feb 24 2011, 12:25 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Feb 24 2011, 12:13 PM)
Haha. Civic Type R is hardly discreet. Championship white paint, white wheels with glaring red brembo brake calipers stands out.

Civic is FF btw so if you want a 2.0/1.8/1.6 manual you can try ask an agent to get it from singapore.
haizzz, i tot so, i'm kinda reluctant to get type r due to tight budget, and i dont wanna spend too much on cars, for me, i rather buy civic hybrid if the cc werent 1.3! but still, i wanna try rwd, not sport car, but saloon/sedan. hmmm
the newest skyline how much? not GTR.

Added on February 24, 2011, 12:28 pm
QUOTE(cracksys @ Feb 24 2011, 12:08 PM)
why civic? you can't go wrong with post-2005 E46. RWD as you're asking originally.
oh, um, cos malaysia car market is really f up imo, not to mention the pricing and taxing. how many rwd cars you can find in here? avanza if you ask me, i rather buy viva.
um, i just bought proton persona, and i really like that car, um, currently other than sport car, none of the japanese saloon car market attracts me, except civic, but when i found that honda cars only import auto cars for the current line, i was like cry.gif

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Feb 24 2011, 12:28 PM
tishaban
post Feb 24 2011, 08:56 PM

3,615 posts

I can understand getting a manual car, it's fun. But what's so great about a RWD car? Aside from drifting of course which I can't afford because tires are way too expensive biggrin.gif

If you're not driving at the limit, will you see much of a difference between a FWD and RWD car?

SUSadvocado
post Feb 24 2011, 09:22 PM

2,948 posts

You can feel the superiority of RWD during parking...

QUOTE(tishaban @ Feb 24 2011, 08:56 PM)
I can understand getting a manual car, it's fun. But what's so great about a RWD car? Aside from drifting of course which I can't afford because tires are way too expensive biggrin.gif

If you're not driving at the limit, will you see much of a difference between a FWD and RWD car?
turbocharged
post Feb 24 2011, 09:26 PM

250 posts

i dunno la, TS, u sure got the money to buy ar? or to blow water?

RWR, suddenly talk about civic.

go buy civic la, sure ok, second hand value no1
masz94
post Feb 24 2011, 11:11 PM

People always talk that RWD is superior than FWD. But one thing that surprise me that the latest Honda Accord can take corners harder than the E60 5 series as said by differencebetween website (IINM) laugh.gif
TSfenrir0402
post Feb 24 2011, 11:57 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Feb 24 2011, 08:56 PM)

let's just say i wanna feel the differences of RWD cars, cos previously i tot of modifying my PE from FWD to RWD smile.gif
um, drifiting is something i wanna try in the future, but not too pro and too addicted into it smile.gif

um, what is the major differences between RWD and FWD?

Added on February 24, 2011, 11:58 pm
QUOTE(advocado @ Feb 24 2011, 09:22 PM)
You can feel the superiority of RWD during parking...
agreed, saw once a mercedes e class swoosh in the parking in 1 clean take at IOI mall

Added on February 24, 2011, 11:59 pm
QUOTE(masz94 @ Feb 24 2011, 11:11 PM)
People always talk that RWD is superior than FWD. But one thing that surprise me that the latest Honda Accord can take corners harder than the E60 5 series as said by differencebetween website (IINM) laugh.gif
honda accord is out of my consideration. honda civic enough for me d, i'm just lower class income fella.

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Feb 24 2011, 11:59 PM
the_catacombs
post Feb 25 2011, 12:31 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(masz94 @ Feb 24 2011, 11:11 PM)
dun compare old and new technology maa... its like comparing new ford focus RS and old KE70 cornering speed... doh.gif
XionCity
post Feb 25 2011, 03:17 AM

171 posts

i think u r wrong, fenrir0402, RX8 FC is much better than skyline n Z....
my fren owns a fully stock RX8 Type S tiptronic 6 spd, and a skyline R35....he said, in term of FC, RX8 is very very very very much better than his R35.....

Added on February 25, 2011, 3:22 amTS wan RWD, why do u all take Civics and Accords?? if wan Honda, go for NSX or S2k la...Toyota, go for supra and altezza lor....

my prefered choice still RX8...next is S2k and altezza...
but i am more into MR than RWD.....like NSX, MR2, MRS.....

here got 1 MR2 fully stock 1995, white auto(shiftronic)...for sale...any1 interested, pls pm me..

This post has been edited by XionCity: Feb 25 2011, 10:09 AM
TSfenrir0402
post Feb 25 2011, 06:11 AM

195 posts

i like MR car too, but auto, nah, i'll pass
turbocharged
post Feb 25 2011, 07:45 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Feb 25 2011, 06:11 AM)
i like MR car too, but auto, nah, i'll pass
u go buy satria neo cps first la, if that cannot satisfy you, then come look for other cars lo.

what car are you driving now?

if from saga direct to rear wheel car, maybe a little dangerous, lol.
cracksys
post Feb 25 2011, 09:17 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 25 2011, 07:45 AM)

my first car after using kancil for test is RWD.

how could it be dangerous?
alpha0201
post Feb 25 2011, 09:25 AM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

dangerous in what way?

i drove my dad's hilux after passing my driving test & didn't crash the thing.
turbocharged
post Feb 25 2011, 10:01 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Feb 25 2011, 09:17 AM)
my first car after using kancil for test is RWD.

how could it be dangerous?
QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Feb 25 2011, 09:25 AM)
dangerous in what way?

i drove my dad's hilux after passing my driving test & didn't crash the thing.
dear all,

i'm talking to TS. Kindly not to interfere.

RWD= THose car that TS mentioned, which is more or less like a sports car. Not the hilux, cari makan kind of car.

hilux? RWD? you dont even know what are you talking about.

No wonder malaysia so many accidents. A lot of ppl are depending on luck, not cautious at all. you hit the pakcik driving motor, ppl die ok.
alpha0201
post Feb 25 2011, 10:12 AM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 25 2011, 10:01 AM)

No wonder malaysia so many accidents. A lot of ppl are depending on luck, not cautious at all. you hit the pakcik driving motor, ppl die ok.
i forgot to mentioned that my dad's hilux is made in 2001 2.8D non-turbo with part-time 4wd as if you know your stuff can be only engage in loose surface where I occasionally engage to 4wd in my late granpa's kebun's muddy terrain, so yes. I do know what I'm talking about.

Besides you're not going to floor a fast RWD car & it doesn't have the pendulum effect like a FF car under hardbraking.

This post has been edited by alpha0201: Feb 25 2011, 10:16 AM
XionCity
post Feb 25 2011, 10:14 AM

171 posts

Hilux is full time 4X4 ald, same goes with other pickup trucks.....

RWD if new/recond, best is getting Altezza, S2k and RX8....
RWD if used, best get A31/KE70/AE86/AE85 heavy drift specs mod, Heavy moded RX7(FB3S to FD3S)
RWD if used for family : Avanza, Innova, Unser and other RWD MPVs

MR u can get MR-2 as I am selling, MR-S, erm, VW Beetle(Antique type biggrin.gif)
cracksys
post Feb 25 2011, 10:15 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

dear all,

RWD= THose car that TS mentioned, which is more or less like a sports car. Not the hilux, cari makan kind of car.

mine E36. does that mean its a shitty car that coincidently built as RWD?

what danger are we talking about?
turbocharged
post Feb 25 2011, 10:22 AM

250 posts

why are you guys so sensitive with the word dangerous?

you are dangerous driver arent you?

isnt it good to be cautious? what kind of attitude is this? lol.
alpha0201
post Feb 25 2011, 10:28 AM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Feb 25 2011, 10:14 AM)
Hilux is full time 4X4 ald, same goes with other pickup trucks.....
No not all. older pickup trucks & suv are either part time 4wd or 2wd.

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 25 2011, 10:22 AM)

well u did put the transitioning between FF & FR seem like a matter life & death. driving either drivetrain is just equally dangerous. But I do find driving a 247hp FF car is much more mindblowing than driving a 300hp Fairlady.
cracksys
post Feb 25 2011, 10:28 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

if it's really dangerous, share your view la. not running away after spouting that.

nobody being defensive here except you.
XionCity
post Feb 25 2011, 10:38 AM

171 posts

FWD, 4X4, 4X2, RWD, MR....all depends on ur driving skills....
every vehicle is a killing weapon...no matter a 30hp cars, to 1 million hp car....they are still capable of killing people if without care....

Any type of car had their own advantage, u can switch 1 type by another type(if u have money), if u wan...the feeling of each type of car is different....but the most of all...SAFETY FIRST...
alpha0201
post Feb 25 2011, 10:42 AM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Feb 25 2011, 10:38 AM)
every vehicle is a killing weapon...no matter a 30hp cars, to 1 million hp car....they are still capable of killing people if without care....

Any type of car had their own advantage, u can switch 1 type by another type(if u have money), if u wan...the feeling of each type of car is different....but the most of all...SAFETY FIRST...
Exactly. thumbup.gif
MeToo
post Feb 25 2011, 12:03 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Feb 24 2011, 11:57 PM)
um, what is the major differences between RWD and FWD?
After reading 4 page.... i feel the TS dont even know what he wants since he claims he want a RWD + Manual BUT he have to ask what is the diff between RWD v FWD.

So... another blow water thread hehe...

This post has been edited by MeToo: Feb 25 2011, 12:07 PM
Cruzz
post Feb 25 2011, 12:29 PM

Find V8. Power is there. No turbo lag.
SUSadvocado
post Feb 25 2011, 01:33 PM

2,948 posts

FR, MR, RR cars are more dangerous than FF for the same driver. Because Rear wheel powered cars tend to oversteer easier and most people don't know how to react during oversteer, because driving school never teach.

Of course FF cars understeer but it's easier to correct than oversteer.
alpha0201
post Feb 25 2011, 01:48 PM

¡¡¡llǝ� ǝuoƃ �ou s,�ɐɥ�
911 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Feb 25 2011, 01:33 PM)
FR, MR, RR cars are more dangerous than FF for the same driver. Because Rear wheel powered cars tend to oversteer easier and most people don't know how to react during oversteer, because driving school never teach.

FF biggest weakness is the rear tyres can break loose under heavy braking during hard cornering resulting weird pendulum effect based on my personal experience.

That happened when I tried to dodge the kapchai who was heading in the wrong direction on a curved flyover, then suddenly the rear of my car suddenly swing left to right violently. Fortunately no one was hurt & my car is still in 1 piece.

Anyhow regardless what car anyone drives, it is best to drive in a civilized manner.

This post has been edited by alpha0201: Feb 25 2011, 01:57 PM
turbocharged
post Feb 25 2011, 02:02 PM

250 posts

+1

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Feb 25 2011, 02:05 PM
turbocharged
post Feb 25 2011, 02:03 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Feb 25 2011, 10:28 AM)
if it's really dangerous, share your view la. not running away after spouting that.

nobody being defensive here except you.
http://www.ridelust.com/driving-101-unders...rsus-oversteer/

i'm sure u understand this driving 101 stuff, since u got RWD.

my View ( as in the article , Vehicle engineers consider understeer more “recoverable” than oversteer.) of cos you have skill, so, i'm not talking to you, i'm talking to TS, who is actually less skillful than you.

Added on February 25, 2011, 2:07 pm
QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Feb 25 2011, 01:48 PM)
FF biggest weakness is the rear tyres can break loose under heavy braking during hard cornering resulting weird pendulum effect based on my personal experience.

That happened when I tried to dodge the kapchai who was heading in the wrong direction on a curved flyover, then suddenly the rear of my car suddenly swing left to right violently. Fortunately no one was hurt & my car is still in 1 piece.

Anyhow regardless what car anyone drives, it is best to drive in a civilized manner.
might be due to your car handling not as good too.

golf FF is different from saga ff. (for example)

generally,

Vehicle engineers consider understeer more “recoverable” than oversteer.

Oversteer (or “loose” in racing terms) refers to the back end of a car coming loose, usually quite suddenly. If corrected poorly, oversteer will most likely result in a spin.

which of cos, you know all this, i'm just sharing to TS.

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Feb 25 2011, 02:07 PM
TSfenrir0402
post Feb 26 2011, 01:14 AM

195 posts

dear all,

um, i hope ppl could participate a healthy discussion. any offensive comments is the last thing i want.
i appreciate your comments, but please, can we have a nice talk?

btw, i'm driving proton persona elegance b line, just bought last december smile.gif
my dad ask me change car after 5 yrs, so i really beh tong, i tell him can you find RWD car, and manual 1 for me?

Added on February 26, 2011, 1:16 am
QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Feb 25 2011, 10:12 AM)
Besides you're not going to floor a fast RWD car & it doesn't have the pendulum effect like a FF car under hardbraking.
hmmm, seems you shared the point why i wouldnt wanna drive FWD cars.

Added on February 26, 2011, 1:17 am
QUOTE(cracksys @ Feb 25 2011, 10:15 AM)
mine E36. does that mean its a shitty car that coincidently built as RWD?

what danger are we talking about?
ahem, pls...i dont want anyone of you argue, sorry was kinda busy cos going to sign offer letter, and teach juniors programming smile.gif

Added on February 26, 2011, 1:19 am
u go buy satria neo cps first la, if that cannot satisfy you, then come look for other cars lo.

what car are you driving now?

satria neo cps is the car i'll donate my money to charity rather than buying it type. so i think you can understand how much i felt disgust abt that car, no offense.

Added on February 26, 2011, 1:22 am

ok i got your point, i believes that most accidents occurs for 2 reasons:
offensive driving - which originates from bad attitude/mindset
bad driving skills - if you think you live in initial d world, pls cornering by 120km/h and go crash yourself, but dont kill innocents bcos of your foolishness

Added on February 26, 2011, 1:25 am
QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Feb 25 2011, 10:28 AM)
No not all. older pickup trucks & suv are either part time 4wd or 2wd.
well u did put the transitioning between FF & FR seem like a matter life & death. driving either drivetrain is just equally dangerous. But I do find driving a 247hp FF car is much more mindblowing than driving a 300hp Fairlady.
hmmm, i really cant tell the differences, but judging from my friends' avanza, the whole car body seems gained additional stability from accelerating and braking, sorry correct me if i'm wrong, not really car enthusiast, bcos i've enlightened that buying expensive cars if you're not a datuk's son, is really foolish.

Added on February 26, 2011, 1:28 am
QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 25 2011, 12:03 PM)
After reading 4 page.... i feel the TS dont even know what he wants since he claims he want a RWD + Manual BUT he have to ask what is the diff between RWD v FWD.

So... another blow water thread hehe...
blow water or not, is my concern and my money, nothing to do with you.
if you felt uneasy to participate in this topic, feel free to leave.
i really enjoy discussing something new that comes to me, for me, it's car, the engine, drivetrain, diffuser, etc.
whether i'll go get a 2nd car after this topic, it's none of your business.

Added on February 26, 2011, 1:32 am
QUOTE(XionCity @ Feb 25 2011, 10:38 AM)

haiz, i tell you, i even thinking of modifying my proton persona's chassis, from FWD to RWD! but the process could kill you, not to mention jpj approval and puspakom inspection.
and i read wikipedia's page regarding RWD, it says RWD now own majority car market. so that's why, i've been keen in searching for RWD 1st hand, manual cars

oh nvm, no need purposely go mudah find for me, save energy, and i can save the hassle of being branded by some jump-to-conclusion type as blow water fella.

i just drive my friend's avanza, hmmm, it really stable compared to my persona, or maybe proton car sucks?

Added on February 26, 2011, 1:36 am
QUOTE(Cruzz @ Feb 25 2011, 12:29 PM)
Find V8. Power is there. No turbo lag.
haha, if you really know me well, i'm very patient in driving, and i wont even whining or ranting when i stuck in traffic jam, cos i really enjoy driving very much, not speeding la, driving, i repeat again smile.gif
i just wanna try RWD, not going for raw power, which i dont really need much. tell me Cruzz, what for we need such high powered engine in malaysia, especially KL and pg? if go alor star, those V8++ cars can push to the maximum la, due to long winding road, but beware, your car might falled to the paddy field if you trying to avoid the mat and minah rempits

Added on February 26, 2011, 1:38 am
QUOTE(alpha0201 @ Feb 25 2011, 01:48 PM)

i understand what is pendulum effect, but is it occurs when you're heading down slope?
well i did experienced it before...

Added on February 26, 2011, 1:58 am
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Feb 25 2011, 02:03 PM)
http://www.ridelust.com/driving-101-unders...rsus-oversteer/

i'm sure u understand this driving 101 stuff, since u got RWD.

my View ( as in the article , Vehicle engineers consider understeer more “recoverable” than oversteer.) of cos you have skill, so, i'm not talking to you, i'm talking to TS, who is actually less skillful than you.

Added on February 25, 2011, 2:07 pm
might be due to your car handling not as good too.

golf FF is different from saga ff. (for example)

generally,

Vehicle engineers consider understeer more “recoverable” than oversteer.

Oversteer (or “loose” in racing terms) refers to the back end of a car coming loose, usually quite suddenly. If corrected poorly, oversteer will most likely result in a spin.
which of cos, you know all this, i'm just sharing to TS.
okok, i really felt grateful for sharing so many good tips here, but i hope everyone would be benefited from it
ouch! i felt that, yeah my driving skills are horrible, but when i get a hold on the steering, i felt alive even though i slept for less than 3hrs.

well, my choice of car must have these:
Saloon(or some cars that have 'tail' or 'round butt', like honda s2k, fairlady, etc)
Manual(i admit it i often stalled engine, but i damn enjoy shifting the gears)
at least 1.6L engine capacity
elegance yet luxurious, something like when you mod your ride, ppl felt it is elegant, rather than you mod the cars as seen in tokyo drift.(this statement is rubbish, i guess this is why i buy persona, Persona Elegance, lol)

i tot chevrolet can help me, but when i opened their company website, i felt my jaw touched my keyboard shocking.gif
just viewed ford website, again i shocking.gif

hmmm, maybe i should modify my chassis?

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Feb 26 2011, 01:58 AM
tishaban
post Feb 26 2011, 04:58 AM

3,615 posts

Driving schools don't teach people how to react to anything to be frank. They just teach you how to pass exams like other schools in Malaysia biggrin.gif

Also majority of FR cars are tuned to understeer as well. This is true of most Merc and BMWs in the past 10 years. Add stability control to the mix if you're getting a 150k car and it's relatively safe. If you're going into MR and RR cars then it's a different matter, as these are mostly sports cars.

I've driven several FR cars including a 340hp BMW Z4 and my daily driver is a FR car. The majority of people can't drive to the limit that will really invoke oversteer on these cars on public roads.

fenrir I enjoy driving too but a RWD car is not a must for me. What's important is a good chassis, nice steering and a responsive engine. A Mini Cooper (which I've driven) or a used Lotus Exige (which I've only touched) is a lot of fun for RM150k but it's not a RWD car and it it's not a saloon (for you) biggrin.gif Have you thought about the Mazda MX5 Miata?

This post has been edited by tishaban: Feb 26 2011, 05:02 AM
Taman Linkin
post Feb 26 2011, 06:04 AM

Bijes
1,657 posts

it is lower. my 6at rx8 6.5km/l average.

This post has been edited by Taman Linkin: Feb 26 2011, 06:04 AM
KeV
post Feb 26 2011, 08:14 AM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

how about this

http://www.mudah.my/Nissan+Skyline+V35+IMP...NIC-7311650.htm

or nissan skyline v35 its a sedan and rwd
SUSadvocado
post Feb 26 2011, 09:35 AM

2,948 posts

Even tuned to understeer it still steers much better than FF, so people get more confident & will start pushing the car during corners and before they know it they are in an oversteer situation.

Also fish tail happens much earlier during wet road conditions.

You don't need to go into a corner fast to experience oversteer, with some itchy throttle leg inside corners you can still get oversteer.

QUOTE(tishaban @ Feb 26 2011, 04:58 AM)
Driving schools don't teach people how to react to anything to be frank. They just teach you how to pass exams like other schools in Malaysia biggrin.gif

Also majority of FR cars are tuned to understeer as well. This is true of most Merc and BMWs in the past 10 years. Add stability control to the mix if you're getting a 150k car and it's relatively safe. If you're going into MR and RR cars then it's a different matter, as these are mostly sports cars.

I've driven several FR cars including a 340hp BMW Z4 and my daily driver is a FR car. The majority of people can't drive to the limit that will really invoke oversteer on these cars on public roads.

fenrir I enjoy driving too but a RWD car is not a must for me. What's important is a good chassis, nice steering and a responsive engine. A Mini Cooper (which I've driven) or a used Lotus Exige (which I've only touched) is a lot of fun for RM150k but it's not a RWD car and it it's not a saloon (for you) biggrin.gif Have you thought about the Mazda MX5 Miata?

Added on February 26, 2011, 9:38 am
QUOTE(KeV @ Feb 26 2011, 08:14 AM)
how about this

http://www.mudah.my/Nissan+Skyline+V35+IMP...NIC-7311650.htm

or nissan skyline v35 its a sedan  and rwd
TS wants Manual + RWD, which is very difficult to find, only cars in the market now all recons, Silvias, Skyline GTT, RX-7, 350Z, 350GT, MR-2, MR-S, TT, or the really old BMWs.

This post has been edited by advocado: Feb 26 2011, 09:38 AM
masz94
post Feb 26 2011, 09:49 AM

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Feb 25 2011, 12:31 AM)
dun compare old and new technology maa... its like comparing new ford focus RS and old KE70 cornering speed...  doh.gif
I was comparing with the previous gen 5 series la... the last 5 series bangle design not that 3rd gen 5series. SO it was quite an achievement for FWD cars to beat RWD cars in corners. By referring to the Accord, i'm not askin' TS to buy Accord, just want to prove nowadays with the tech even FWD cars can beat RWD. drool.gif
XionCity
post Feb 26 2011, 10:06 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Feb 26 2011, 02:14 AM)

Added on February 26, 2011, 1:28 am
blow water or not, is my concern and my money, nothing to do with you.
if you felt uneasy to participate in this topic, feel free to leave.

i really enjoy discussing something new that comes to me, for me, it's car, the engine, drivetrain, diffuser, etc.
whether i'll go get a 2nd car after this topic, it's none of your business.

Added on February 26, 2011, 1:32 am
haiz, i tell you, i even thinking of modifying my proton persona's chassis, from FWD to RWD! but the process could kill you, not to mention jpj approval and puspakom inspection.
and i read wikipedia's page regarding RWD, it says RWD now own majority car market. so that's why, i've been keen in searching for RWD 1st hand, manual cars

oh nvm, no need purposely go mudah find for me, save energy, and i can save the hassle of being branded by some jump-to-conclusion type as blow water fella.

i just drive my friend's avanza, hmmm, it really stable compared to my persona, or maybe proton car sucks?

i wish there are more ppl like that.....hate those stupid basher...esp kevin23 in Forte thread....bash him back kao kao with this statement...biggrin.gif

Well FWD to RWD conversion is illegal, from JPJ and puspakom...that is definitely....if not, i wanna mod to 4WD leh....hehehe

Avanza stable?? that's 1st time i heard...my dad used to owned a 1st gen Avanza 1.3, underpowered, stability is the worse among all the cars, not gd for HW cruise as RPM shoots 3k++ in 100km/h...means makan minyak
but Avanza is tall, makes it nice 2 drive, got RWD feels, cornering(in slow spd) feels gd...coz small turning radius(as bonet very short).., City wise, FC is very good...

Added on February 26, 2011, 10:07 amSince u mentioned 2nd hand car...u interest in RM16.8k Cefiro A31 RWD fully stock?? still in gd condition, except u nid change the audio HU....location : Alor Setar...same goes with the MR2 i am selling

This post has been edited by XionCity: Feb 26 2011, 10:07 AM
MeToo
post Feb 26 2011, 11:04 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Taman Linkin @ Feb 26 2011, 06:04 AM)
it is lower. my 6at rx8 6.5km/l average.
Wah lao bro... your right foot must lighten abit there! I'm getting 7.7~8.2 these days in rush hour traffic and the occasional late night 200+kmh along npe/kesas.

This post has been edited by MeToo: Feb 26 2011, 11:04 AM
Cruzz
post Feb 26 2011, 11:25 AM

I thought you want to join formula D. Friends with Ken Gushi. Mazda RX7/8 nice to have rclxm9.gif
TSfenrir0402
post Feb 26 2011, 11:51 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Feb 26 2011, 04:58 AM)

miata mx5? um, somehow i got a strong distaste for mazda's car, especially rotary based engine smile.gif
but based on the previous threads, i think i can consider getting bmw 1 series, do they have manual transmission?

Added on February 26, 2011, 11:56 am
QUOTE(XionCity @ Feb 26 2011, 10:06 AM)
i wish there are more ppl like that.....hate those stupid basher...esp kevin23 in Forte thread....bash him back kao kao with this statement...biggrin.gif

Well FWD to RWD conversion is illegal, from JPJ and puspakom...that is definitely....if not, i wanna mod to 4WD leh....hehehe

Avanza stable?? that's 1st time i heard...my dad used to owned a 1st gen Avanza 1.3, underpowered, stability is the worse among all the cars, not gd for HW cruise as RPM shoots 3k++ in 100km/h...means makan minyak
but Avanza is tall, makes it nice 2 drive, got RWD feels, cornering(in slow spd) feels gd...coz small turning radius(as bonet very short).., City wise, FC is very good...

Added on February 26, 2011, 10:07 amSince u mentioned 2nd hand car...u interest in RM16.8k Cefiro A31 RWD fully stock?? still in gd condition, except u nid change the audio HU....location : Alor Setar...same goes with the MR2 i am selling
this is what i meant, and when accelerating and braking, different feel with my persona.

Added on February 26, 2011, 11:56 am
QUOTE(Cruzz @ Feb 26 2011, 11:25 AM)
I thought you want to join formula D. Friends with Ken Gushi. Mazda RX7/8 nice to have rclxm9.gif
have distaste for rotary based engine cars tongue.gif

Added on February 26, 2011, 12:03 pm
QUOTE(masz94 @ Feb 26 2011, 09:49 AM)
I was comparing with the previous gen 5 series la... the last 5 series bangle design not that 3rd gen 5series. SO it was quite an achievement for FWD cars to beat RWD cars in corners. By referring to the Accord, i'm not askin' TS to buy Accord, just want to prove nowadays with the tech even FWD cars can beat RWD.  drool.gif
is it? honestly, other than fairlady which the pricetag is very heavy for me, none of the import cars attracts my attention. so when my dad kapsiao and bombard me with a lot of ideas abt changing cars, which i only bought d last 2 months ago, ask me to change car asap, then i said i'm not interested, cos none of them manual transmission(i wonder why, in all current honda line, only civic type r is manual, which i think it grabs too much unnecessary attention on already 'famous' civic, car thieves main target, that's why honda offer so much security package on civic(see? i even considered buying civic, but eventually i buy persona cry.gif ))

well, like someone in this thread said before, no doubt when comes to daily life, you like ppl pull you than pushing you, but when comes to car, i like being pushed :0

Added on February 26, 2011, 12:04 pm
QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 26 2011, 11:04 AM)
Wah lao bro... your right foot must lighten abit there! I'm getting 7.7~8.2 these days in rush hour traffic and the occasional late night 200+kmh along npe/kesas.
you drive rx8 to work? unless you're datuk's son, it isnt really wise to do so.

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Feb 26 2011, 12:04 PM
stormlcc
post Feb 26 2011, 12:09 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

so after 5 pages of discussion has TS came to a conclusion yet?

my advice to u (TS), as a seasoned RWD driver is.......don't spend too much money on your first FR car, get something cheap like a KE70 with 4age blacktop engine, then take the time to get used to it. Make sure u sometimes find an empty ground (like factory area) to let the tail loose. after a few years (3 years at least) then get a more powerful and expensive car.

if u straight away buy a car that is designed and built for stability and track specific cornering (like the s2000 and mx5) which is hard to let the tail loose, u won't learn anything about a RWD car, except that these cars (s2k and mx5) are really great to drive (normally).
TSfenrir0402
post Feb 26 2011, 01:29 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Feb 26 2011, 12:09 PM)
so after 5 pages of discussion has TS came to a conclusion yet?

my advice to u (TS), as a seasoned RWD driver is.......don't spend too much money on your first FR car, get something cheap like a KE70 with 4age blacktop engine, then take the time to get used to it.  Make sure u sometimes find an empty ground (like factory area) to let the tail loose.  after a few years (3 years at least) then get a more powerful and expensive car.

if u straight away buy a car that is designed and built for stability and track specific cornering (like the s2000 and mx5) which is hard to let the tail loose, u won't learn anything about a RWD car, except that these cars (s2k and mx5) are really great to drive (normally).
whoa, that car is really too damn old for me, and i wont drive it out on the road no matter what.
but anyway, thanks for giving out the suggestion, i might look into that kind of car, well, even if i bought it, i've no idea where to store it, definitely not my house anymore, which flanked by my car and my dad's

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Feb 26 2011, 01:30 PM
XionCity
post Feb 26 2011, 01:30 PM

171 posts

Hmm...TS, MX-5 never use Rotaries...only RX series uses Rotaries..

Added on February 26, 2011, 1:38 pmTS, there is no cheap cheap RWD sedan/HB cars now...RWD and 4WD for HB and sedan cars, all price shoot sky high ald....the cheapest RWD u can get is 2nd hand cars like Toyota KE70, Merc W123, BMW E36/E46, Nissan Cefiro A31, Toyota AE85/AE86 etc.
RWD cheap 1 mostly MPVs...like Avanza....
The cheapest New/Recond RWD u can ever find is Mazda RX-8 or Mazda MX-5.....but since u dun like Mazda...guess no more choice...

This post has been edited by XionCity: Feb 26 2011, 01:39 PM
SUSadvocado
post Feb 26 2011, 02:24 PM

2,948 posts

There's still 350Z & 350GT if their not too old.
nick0tyne
post Feb 27 2011, 04:00 PM

ts, my suggestion is, how about a test drive? before buying it, u can test drive it isnt it? so maybe u can find one car that suit u (before i buy my car, i tested about 4 car, just to get the right one)
ahsam1212
post Feb 27 2011, 04:13 PM

178 posts

Get a nissan navara, going on the road, it's a RWD car when u don't engage 4wd. Haha.

TSfenrir0402
post Feb 27 2011, 04:17 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(nick0tyne @ Feb 27 2011, 04:00 PM)
ts, my suggestion is, how about a test drive? before buying it, u can test drive it isnt it? so maybe u can find one car that suit u (before i buy my car, i tested about 4 car, just to get the right one)
haha, test drive how to differentiate the car between FWD or RWD? and when comes to car, i'm extremely choosy and fussy abt it. and i really cant tahan when the SA stare at me when i didnt buy from them.
nick0tyne
post Feb 27 2011, 05:40 PM

nope, what i mean is, try every car whats in your mind, so u can (maybe) feel the different for every car u drive, smile.gif peace bro

..what i mean is, FR type

This post has been edited by nick0tyne: Feb 27 2011, 05:40 PM
MeToo
post Feb 28 2011, 12:37 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Feb 26 2011, 11:51 AM)
you drive rx8 to work? unless you're datuk's son, it isnt really wise to do so.
No, I drive 350z to work. And I'm not a Datuk's son. I see no reason I have to depend on parents to support my lifestyle smile.gif .
TSfenrir0402
post Feb 28 2011, 02:31 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 28 2011, 12:37 PM)
No, I drive 350z to work. And I'm not a Datuk's son. I see no reason I have to depend on parents to support my lifestyle  smile.gif .
where you staying? kl? 350z to work? how's the FC? roadtax? insurance?

Added on February 28, 2011, 2:32 pm
QUOTE(nick0tyne @ Feb 27 2011, 05:40 PM)
nope, what i mean is, try every car whats in your mind, so u can (maybe) feel the different for every car u drive, smile.gif peace bro

..what i mean is, FR type
so far, fairlady z is in my mind, either i go for 350z or if i can afford 370z 1st hand, i'll buy it smile.gif

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Feb 28 2011, 02:32 PM
XionCity
post Feb 28 2011, 02:34 PM

171 posts

370Z!!! Love that car ^^
MeToo
post Feb 28 2011, 02:41 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Feb 28 2011, 02:31 PM)
so far, fairlady z is in my mind, either i go for 350z or if i can afford 370z 1st hand, i'll buy it smile.gif
370Z is 2.5 times your budget though.
TSfenrir0402
post Feb 28 2011, 03:13 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 28 2011, 02:41 PM)
370Z is 2.5 times your budget though.
i know. but taken into consideration that i might not used to RWD cars, i opt for something cheaper, KE70, rm4000, before i really buy 350z or 370z. i can crash this car like jeremy clarkson did to kelisa once i get bored to it. btw, how to store extra cars? say if i buy fairlady, my house definitely no place to store, and i cant stand the sight of it kena hujan or kena bird shit

This post has been edited by fenrir0402: Feb 28 2011, 03:13 PM
DCarbon2
post Apr 15 2011, 10:11 PM

rear wheel drive is too cool... i drove a car of my friend... toyota corolla, a 70's car... its rear wheel drive... i drift it... damn shiok la..

0.0311sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:50 PM