Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 8 2019, 02:41 PM

4,474 posts

@naqib0307

ty

i'm going ahead with this flex.gif

since i am doing renovation, i also got the people to do the cat 6 wiring (i bought the 305meters cat6 cabling). they can do it through the walls (so i don't need the ugly cabling outside walls).

Then there will the the endpoint rj45 wall plate on both ends.

The one on the other side will be connected to a TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-Port. I hope that is good enough?
https://goughlui.com/2018/08/12/teardown-d-...thernet-switch/

I was considering whether to go instead for a TP-Link TL-SG1008PE (A 8 port gigabite switch, 4 of which are POE ports), but i opted to go with the cheaper NON POE switch. Cause i'm not sure that i will be using any POE devices anytime soon.

So i have a very long cat6 cable .... then for connecting devices from the wall plate to the switch, and from the switch to the devices i will use short cat6 cables. Is short cat6 cables overkil? hmm.gif

There is one thing that i am unsure of. If they put the cat6 cable inside the wall, i thought that the cable shouldn't be too close to any power cables. What is the advise i should remind them for "NOT TO DO" ? ohmy.gif I'm not an expert on this, so i would appreciate some advise. Cause i'm not really sure how capable these guys are for doing the cabling, or will they just simply put it in there just like that.

I did forum search and found this
QUOTE(nitehawk @ Apr 19 2019, 12:31 PM)
If you follow IEEE standard,
1) power run & network cable run in parallel should be 1 metre apart
2) bending radius at min 1 inch preferrably 2 inch
3) when terminating, untwisted should be limited within the plug
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=92435365

is there anything else i should know? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 16 2019, 09:26 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 17 2019, 03:01 PM

4,474 posts

also what keystone to get? confused.gif is any fine as long as it says cat6?

https://shopee.com.my/search?keyword=keystone

Use blade/ cutter can be punch down tool. Don't need special tools.

Hey guys, anyone knows if a Cat6 coupler or a punch-down keystone would be better for wall panel?

Punch-down. Then use the wall plate.

Cat6 punch down keystone - RM 19

you just need to buy the cables and let your contractor run them for you

as for terminating them at the keystone, you can get diagrams from many sites, it's just pushing the cables into the pins, no crimping required. you can always pull a little extra in case you want to redo the keystones

as for patch cords, can buy off any computer shops, pre-crimped

Remember, CAT6 system required end to end compliant, which means not only your cable, but also RJ45 plug, keystone must also complaint with CAT6 standard.

I still have >60 cat6 RJ45 plug bought from monoprice last time. if you want, I can sell it to you. BTW, you can try to order keystone from www.monoprice.com, they do ship to Malaysia.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 17 2019, 03:03 PM
naqib0307
post Sep 17 2019, 03:55 PM

732 posts

if got extra budget. get the poe and buy POE AP and mount it on the ceiling

This is the one i bought.

https://www.dlink.com.my/product/dap-2610-a...e-access-point/

Cleaner setup.. no more cable dangling

[attachmentid=10315603]

[attachmentid=10315604]

You run the cable inside a conduit.. just dont place it too close with electrical wirings..

How many port? depends on how many devices you want to connect to the gigabit network.. IF you ever think of future upgrade.. just get the one with more ports.. the price not much difference.. Bought 16 ports years ago.. now need to buy new switch cause it is not enough.. get more not less.. in the end you still need to add if you buy cukup cukup for now..

Get the keystone jack with cat6.. You DIY or the wiring guy do it for you.. get a cable tester as well.. you dont want to be dissapointed when you thought everything is done then cannot use...

My gigabit switch
https://www.dlink.com.my/product/24-port-gi...asing-thailand/

POE gigabit switch
https://www.dlink.com.my/product/dgs-1008mp...bit-poe-switch/

The poe gigabit switch can be used for cctv as wel.. I used this switch for my cctv and POE AP.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 17 2019, 05:54 PM

4,474 posts

QUOTE(naqib0307 @ Sep 17 2019, 03:55 PM)

if got extra budget. get the poe and buy POE AP and mount it on the ceiling

This is the one i bought.

https://www.dlink.com.my/product/dap-2610-a...e-access-point/

Cleaner setup.. no more cable dangling

[attachmentid=10315603]

[attachmentid=10315604]

You run the cable inside a conduit.. just dont place it too close with electrical wirings..

How many port? depends on how many devices you want to connect to the gigabit network.. IF you ever think of future upgrade.. just get the one with more ports.. the price not much difference.. Bought 16 ports years ago.. now need to buy new switch cause it is not enough.. get more not less.. in the end you still need to add if you buy cukup cukup for now..

Get the keystone jack with cat6.. You DIY or the wiring guy do it for you.. get a cable tester as well.. you dont want to be dissappointed when you thought everything is done then cannot use...

My gigabit switch
https://www.dlink.com.my/product/24-port-gi...asing-thailand/

POE gigabit switch
https://www.dlink.com.my/product/dgs-1008mp...bit-poe-switch/

The poe gigabit switch can be used for cctv as well.. I used this switch for my cctv and POE AP.
ty bru notworthy.gif

yes i was almost gonna get a poe switch with AP. but i was thinking at the time a ubiquiti AP but then i see the price. so i opted not to.

Right now i'm using home router which already has wifi ac so i just left that alone.

how does the dlink ap compare to ubiquiti? hmm.gif

By the way, i haven't owned a dlink product in ages. Recently they even got slapped with a 10 year security audit due to their very lax security updates. they don't give a cr-ap about their customers, so why should we buy their products? i am VERY wary about dlink products puke.gif
https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/secur...evice-security/

actually buying parts then getting wiring guy to do it.

where to get cable tester? how much is that?

you have a cool setup by the way thumbup.gif

by chance are you using a patch panel as well? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 17 2019, 06:07 PM
naqib0307
post Sep 18 2019, 02:55 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 17 2019, 05:54 PM)
ty bru  notworthy.gif

yes i was almost gonna get a poe switch with AP. but i was thinking at the time a ubiquiti AP but then i see the price. so i opted not to.

Right now i'm using home router which already has wifi ac so i just left that alone.

how does the dlink ap compare to ubiquiti?  hmm.gif

By the way, i haven't owned a dlink product in ages. Recently they even got slapped with a 10 year security audit due to their very lax security updates. they don't give a cr-ap about their customers, so why should we buy their products? i am VERY wary about dlink products  puke.gif

you have a cool setup by the way  thumbup.gif
by chance are you using a patch panel as well?  hmm.gif
Yes. Im using patch panel.

I dont know the differences between the 2 in term of performance.. Chose dlink cause of the looks. Ubiquity looks too fancy and abit more expensive than this dlink.. Meanwhile dlink, simpler and square i like it ahaha

Bought it at lowyat.. either viewnet/all-it

It took me some time do it by myself. tiring but it was fun and satisfying + can save some $$$ tongue.gif
IceBikers
post Sep 18 2019, 05:07 PM

960 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 17 2019, 05:54 PM)
ty bru  notworthy.gif

how does the dlink ap compare to ubiquiti?  hmm.gif

By the way, i haven't owned a dlink product in ages. Recently they even got slapped with a 10 year security audit due to their very lax security updates. they don't give a cr-ap about their customers, so why should we buy their products? i am VERY wary about dlink products  puke.gif

you have a cool setup by the way  thumbup.gif
by chance are you using a patch panel as well?  hmm.gif
i would recommend ready the POE cable at the ceiiling for future expansion, in case when u moved in realised the wifi coverage isnt sufficient then u can opt to switch to a few poe AP.
cdspins
post Sep 19 2019, 09:49 AM

2,714 posts

Just sharing my experience, if you are laying gigabit network cable, might as well ask the contractor to prepare accessible trunking from ground floor to 1st floor. 1 of my network cable faces issue after installation and nothing can be done unless I hack the wall and redo... Luckily I lay a total of 4, so, have to use wifi mode
naqib0307
post Sep 19 2019, 10:47 AM

732 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Sep 19 2019, 09:49 AM)
Just sharing my experience, if you are laying gigabit network cable, might as well ask the contractor to prepare accessible trunking from ground floor to 1st floor. 1 of my network cable faces issue after installation and nothing can be done unless I hack the wall and redo... Luckily I lay a total of 4, so, have to use wifi mode

Agreed.. my dumb contractor did trunking.. All the cables go to the store room under the stairs... but.. he plaster the cables after entering the store room without the trunk .. I asked him to redo it cause, anything happen, i need to hack the wall again..

Find a good contractor.. dont be like me.. lol
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 21 2019, 06:36 PM

4,474 posts

ty for advise :}

by the way seems i'll be doing the ethernet thing myself.

the cable is already laid, and the wall already cemented and painted back up already.

So all i need to do right now is... do the punch down for the keystone (after first cutting open the ethernet wire cover), and then... (yes lots of steps....) push in the ethernet wire excess into the wall hole where it comes from, then to finally fit in the wall faceplate.

i got the tools already, but i got questions :/ (i'm not an electrician or networking specialist, but i'm going to have to DIY macgyver this one bruce.gif )

I just want to go over what i researched myself, in case i missed something that the senseis over here may spot.

This video shows me the
- explanation about color codes.... do the "b" not the "a".....
- punchdown
- he also explains about the wire to leave it as twisted as possible, so you only undo the twist just enough to get it into the keystone (i got this part)
- add the plastic cable tighterner
- push the wire into the hole
- then connect the wall fate plate
- then do the ethernet testing with the cable tester device

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TWxKfHhqN2Y

then i compare with another video

in this one he explains a extra step when opening the ethernet wire. he first removes the jacket normally, but then he makes a line opening using the ripcord, then he cuts the jacket around the new opening but from the inside. Is this required? the other videos i saw didn't bother with that. They simply just remove the jacket the first time, and that 1 rip cord that was intermingled with the others, and that seemed sufficient.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ug5MS0gpfMw

he explains the reason for it, is sometimes when uncovering it, you cut too deep and it cut the wire. but as long as careful, don't need this step right? i can do the uncovering slowly without cutting too deep hmm.gif

another thing. one of the termination points, on one end, the cable is nice and straight when exiting out the hole.

but the other termination point, the cable was tied up into a rope. are those cables going to be fine like that? is straightening them out sufficient, or is that considered spoiled already?

Also is pushing back the excess wire into the hole the proper method, or should i cut the ethernet wire shorter to be much closer to the wall mount? whats the best method for this sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 21 2019, 06:56 PM
naqib0307
post Sep 23 2019, 03:26 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 21 2019, 06:36 PM)
ty for advise :}

by the way seems i'll be doing the ethernet thing myself.

the cable is already laid, and the wall already cemented and painted back up already.

So all i need to do right now is... do the punch down for the keystone (after first cutting open the ethernet wire cover), and then... (yes lots of steps....) push in the ethernet wire excess into the wall hole where it comes from, then to finally fit in the wall faceplate.
i got the tools already, but i got questions :/ (i'm not an electrician or networking specialist, but i'm going to have to DIY macgyver this one  bruce.gif  )
I just want to go over what i researched myself, in case i missed something that the senseis over here may spot.
This video shows me the
- explanation about color codes.... do the "b" not the "a".....
- punchdown
- he also explains about the wire to leave it as twisted as possible, so you only undo the twist just enough to get it into the keystone (i got this part)
- add the plastic cable tighterner
- push the wire into the hole
- then connect the wall fate plate
- then do the ethernet testing with the cable tester device

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TWxKfHhqN2Y
then i compare with another video

in this one he explains a extra step when opening the ethernet wire. he first removes the jacket normally, but then he makes a line opening using the ripcord, then he cuts the jacket around the new opening but from the inside. Is this required? the other videos i saw didn't bother with that. They simply just remove the jacket the first time, and that 1 rip cord that was intermingled with the others, and that seemed sufficient.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ug5MS0gpfMw

he explains the reason for it, is sometimes when uncovering it, you cut too deep and it cut the wire. but as long as careful, don't need this step right? i can do the uncovering slowly without cutting too deep  hmm.gif
another thing. one of the termination points, on one end, the cable is nice and straight when exiting out the hole.

but the other termination point, the cable was tied up into a rope. are those cables going to be fine like that? is straightening them out sufficient, or is that considered spoiled already?

Also is pushing back the excess wire into the hole the proper method, or should i cut the ethernet wire shorter to be much closer to the wall mount? whats the best method for this  sweat.gif
just do it as long as it works.... dont cut too deep.. happened to me before.. altho it is just a small cut on one of the wire, it may not work/putus easily.. if u accidentally did a small cut on one of the wire.. just re do it..

If you are not sure if it will work.. dont cut the excess wire first.. test it out.. make sure everything is ok then only cut..

if the cat6 cable is too long, cut it to make sure it fits in the hole.... dont make it cukup makan.. if anything goes wrong, need to pull a new cable. if your conduit is not too tight, you can just push it back up to the ceiling or anywhere u can push it.. Extra cable is good in case u screw up icon_idea.gif rclxms.gif

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 24 2019, 07:26 AM

4,474 posts

QUOTE(naqib0307 @ Sep 23 2019, 03:26 PM)
just do it as long as it works.... dont cut too deep.. happened to me before.. altho it is just a small cut on one of the wire, it may not work/putus easily.. if u accidentally did a small cut on one of the wire.. just re do it..

If you are not sure if it will work.. dont cut the excess wire first.. test it out.. make sure everything is ok then only cut..

if the cat6 cable is too long, cut it to make sure it fits in the hole.... dont make it cukup makan.. if anything goes wrong, need to pull a new cable. if your conduit is not too tight, you can just push it back up to the ceiling or anywhere u can push it.. Extra cable is good in case u screw up  icon_idea.gif  rclxms.gif
well the cable out of the wall is like an arms length. i hope that is acceptable?

i was considering cutting it to be a bit closer to the socket, but then i thought better not, because i may make a mistake and have to redo, but then the cable too short now.

i saw the video the guy just shoved the excess back into the hole laugh.gif xd

anyway i think i know wut to do now. i'm waiting for the parts to arrive

- keystone
- cable tighterner (not sure why need this, but the video uses them so i got it)
- cable tester
hayenadeblue
post Sep 29 2019, 04:42 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Nando's @ Apr 19 2019, 01:52 PM)
How much is the server rack?
RM5XX.XX

This post has been edited by hayenadeblue: Sep 29 2019, 05:05 PM
hayenadeblue
post Sep 29 2019, 04:49 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 30 2019, 09:16 PM)
So I got someone to do for my home, but seems this wireman is going to do all 8x Cat6a single wall plate dry.gif. Is it usually for these use patch panel?
Use patch panel if you plan to change your network. For example, maybe at one time later, you want to make certain ethernet port as telephone port (or the other way around). We can simply change the network by configuring the patch cables that connect the patch panel and the switch/phone port at our modem. It doesn't matter if u r only use single port wall plate.
hayenadeblue
post Sep 29 2019, 04:50 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(naqib0307 @ May 31 2019, 08:50 AM)
is the price including CAT6 cable?
Correct. The wireman supplied it.
hayenadeblue
post Sep 29 2019, 04:53 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Nando's @ May 31 2019, 09:16 AM)
Bro, you placed your router on top of the rack?
Yeah, temporarily because of the WiFi. I've found routers without WiFi but currently put it on hold. They are quite expensive compared to the one with WiFi.
hayenadeblue
post Sep 29 2019, 05:01 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Sep 7 2019, 08:40 PM)
this is really an investment into it. like Small Office network except dun have firewall, load balancer biggrin.gif
It is really an investment for "Home Renovations and Interior Design". I hate to see the cables dangling around. I hope this thread is purposely for "Home Renovations and Interior Design". I believe in other threads of Lowyat.Net have covered the ethernet wiring diagram, how to clamp etc. or even for DIYer with handmade rack etc. Nothing wrong with these, just lets don't loose focus on the purpose of this thread.

About the firewall and load balancer, dude, I have a lot of idea but networking is an expensive area. Will try to slowly make my network bigger.

Kudos to the rest, you have beautiful home with ethernet/WiFi/IP Camera/PoE. These are what we needed in this thread. I will turn to this thread again for my future projects.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by hayenadeblue: Sep 29 2019, 05:09 PM
buyoq
post Dec 18 2019, 04:39 PM

hat ni sebulan...........
1,305 posts

hi guys. sorry to revive an old thread.
my family moving to a new house soon and a bit curious about wiring the house.
both of the wall & ceiling are concrete though. how do we lay the wire actually, punch a hole in the wall then what ? inside the wall got hole/routing ? i dont want to to lay conduit and expose it around the house,wife will bising for sure

This post has been edited by buyoq: Dec 18 2019, 04:40 PM
ukiya21
post Dec 18 2019, 04:46 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(buyoq @ Dec 18 2019, 04:39 PM)
both of the wall & ceiling are concrete though. how do we lay the wire actually,  punch a hole in the wall then what ? inside the wall got hole/routing ? i dont want to to lay conduit and expose it around the house,wife will bising for sure
Got money no need hack.. just buy a pair of Asus GT-AX11000. use the AiMesh... 2.2k 1 biji.. 2 biji become 4.4k....
buyoq
post Dec 18 2019, 09:23 PM

hat ni sebulan...........
1,305 posts

QUOTE(ukiya21 @ Dec 18 2019, 04:46 PM)
Got money no need hack.. just buy a pair of Asus GT-AX11000. use the AiMesh... 2.2k 1 biji.. 2 biji become 4.4k....
I wont be asking that type of question if im considering wifi. I hate wifi. Simple. LAN is my choice

This post has been edited by buyoq: Dec 18 2019, 09:25 PM
naqib0307
post Dec 18 2019, 09:26 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(buyoq @ Dec 18 2019, 04:39 PM)
both of the wall & ceiling are concrete though. how do we lay the wire actually,  punch a hole in the wall then what ? inside the wall got hole/routing ? i dont want to to lay conduit and expose it around the house,wife will bising for sure
really wall n ceiling concrete? apartment?
if old house, got the antenna/copper telecom cable hole can use that 1, but need to know where it goes.

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0206sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:06 PM