Studying in US V1
Apr 9 2011, 02:21 AM
176 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
I guess theres a huge tendency for asian-transfer students to just click among themselves not willing to mix around with the local peeps.
Apr 9 2011, 01:40 PM
chill berry, chill. I prob won't
@latias93 , i have to agree those people involved in the malaysian students association will eventually stick with malaysians themselves. sad phenomena. btw, are fret houses still practice razing? I might be interested in an engineering fret but I wouldn't join it if they still practice razing. |
Apr 9 2011, 11:07 PM
oops yeah. my bad. i meant hazing yeah. oh.
alrite , thanks for da info mang |
Apr 20 2011, 12:34 PM
@Education ABC , yes you can do that. Everyone i know who is in US doing a 4-year degree undergo A-lvls.
And yes , get recommendation letters from your high school form teacher/principal, and from your key lecturers when you're in college |
Apr 21 2011, 12:59 AM
Yes, there might be 40% asians but they're still residents of California. It'll typically occur in every californian school because the state has a 50:50 asian:white population if im nt mistaken.
lol, stanford is renowned for engineering, but not as good as the other two unis, UCB and MIT. lol |
Apr 21 2011, 03:11 AM
try San Jose State U if you wanna pursue computer science engineering in cal, affordable fees and decent for computer science major
Apr 23 2011, 05:00 PM
If you're not aiming for ivy leagues but just a decent U.
Michigan State, U Minnesota, Purdue, U Wisconsin madison, Iowa state U. Thats what i can think of for now. |
Apr 24 2011, 01:49 PM
You'll be creating a big mess for yourself if you wish to switch schools after applying for visa. BIG mess. Worst come to worst, defer a semester to see if you got accepted to SDSU or not. Then decide from there.
Jun 30 2011, 10:48 AM
Whos flying this August to US?
Jul 4 2011, 06:10 PM
Jul 7 2011, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(ketchum92 @ Jul 6 2011, 07:53 PM) ADTP is simple. You do your freshman & Sophomore year ( General years ) here in Malaysia, earn the credits , transfer to US so you do less years in US to graduate.Check usnews for engineering rankings. I use it most of the time although its a lil biased towards American Us. Since ADP covers the general years, the specific major offered depends on the unis in US rather than the one here. you can get into engineering and still consider whether to choose electrical, aerospace, chemical etc etc etc until you start applying for the US unis in your second year here. PTPTN loan normally covers the second year only. QUOTE(fion@gem @ Jul 7 2011, 05:38 PM) Hello there, I20, Visa, Uni contacts, Sevis receipt, housing contract, health insurance ( if you have ), air tickets, passport, past transcripts, results and certs, birth cert. Anything else to add on?Im going to US next month but im not quite sure what else to prepare. As in documents. Another problem is, what about the money? since we have to declare if you bring more than 20k to US. So how am I suppose to like create a bank account there ? Anyone have idea ? You bring less cash on hand, when you're there , open a bank account ( you need some money to open if im nt mistaken ) and ask your parents to transfer the money to your account via wire. saves the trouble. Which U are you going to? This post has been edited by chew1991: Jul 7 2011, 11:55 PM |
Jul 9 2011, 11:48 AM
bring around 500 in cash then 1500 in travellers check, then open an account in US, yes its pretty simple i think. all my friends there use US banks.
then tell your mom to send the money via wired transfer to your US bank account. |
Jul 10 2011, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(dwin95 @ Jul 10 2011, 01:16 AM) just wondering , is there any way that an individual could obtain a green card to serve their military ? My brother is somewhat interested in serving for the United States Air force to gain qualifications and priceless experience and then leave after a full service to pursue his dreams in aviation . I'm not too sure. i think you need to get a job there, stay there for a period of time. then apply for the US green card.Sorry for all these questions , our family isnt quite familiar about all of these things . thanks but i'm not too sure if the US would allow immigrants to work in the military field. I feel that they'll accept only born and bred americans into the military field. I didn't do my part of research for it so..yeah, it might not be true. |
Nov 6 2011, 11:57 AM
Not dead yet. I guess all the US students busy studying now...midterms and finals coming up soon d. jialat.
Nov 18 2011, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(spunkberry @ Nov 7 2011, 09:05 AM) Everything is fine until the study path starts to screw things up.Because of thermodynamics, i have to stay in Purdue for 6 semesters instead of 5. god damn it. So guys, please check out the plan of studies. Its not necessarily 2+2. or 2+2.5. |
Dec 16 2011, 06:37 AM
Most of the universities do not require a secondary school letter from your teachers, im not sure about ivy leagues or the top schools, they probably need them.
SPM certificate, translate it and get it chopped by an official. Personal statement and letter of recommendations are very helpful and i recommend you do it/get it. 3 recommendations should be fine. don't forget your financial statement that states that you are able to pay for 1 year's living and tuition. even if its not required for the uni, its required for the visa. senseis who are in US, correct me if i'm wrong. |
Mar 30 2012, 09:04 AM
If anyone is planning to transfer to US to a decently good school. Just do a 1+3. no point doing a 2+2. Thats my advice.
Nov 7 2014, 11:22 AM
I just skimmed through the past few pages and saw someone mentioning that Houston is a beautiful place. I won't deny that but if you've been to Austin, that place is amazing. Nice parks, nice lakes and rivers right in the middle of the city where UT Austin is. Great food.
Also, IU sucks and BTFU! |
| Change to: | 0.0447sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:12 PM |