Studying in US V1

mumeichan
post Jul 12 2012, 10:34 AM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(capricorn_girl604 @ Jul 11 2012, 07:00 PM)
Hi everyone-- check out how creative this student was to get the Admissions staff at the Univ. of Michigan interested in him! http://www.annarbor.com/news/hes-in-unusua...-bring-success/
I can't encourage this.
mumeichan
post Mar 31 2013, 02:05 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Mar 30 2013, 10:49 PM)
p3nguin is smile.gif
Aren't you?
mumeichan
post Aug 26 2013, 09:01 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(cakes&cream @ Apr 10 2013, 04:32 PM)
Hello there!

I would like to know, has anyone here taken the MCAT before?
I've studied for it, but haven't taken it yet
mumeichan
post Oct 20 2013, 12:53 AM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(Stuffi @ Oct 20 2013, 12:36 AM)
I'm interested in applying to liberal art colleges in the States. I'm currently sitting for SPM.

May I know do people go for liberal art colleges after SPM or do they normally go after having pre-u?

It's a little confusing cause I've seen people go right after SPM.
Go after SPM.
mumeichan
post Oct 20 2013, 08:26 AM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(Stuffi @ Oct 20 2013, 01:06 AM)
Hey thanks for the quick reply. 

I guess I will have to start preparing for SAT and TOEFL then.  But I guess I won't be able to make it cause some of the application closes in Jan/Feb.
Depends what kind of a school you want to get in and how much you're willing to spend on your total education. There is no hard standards for intakes across America so you can probably find something to suit your schedule if you really wanted to. You can PM me your situation if you'd like a more detailed advice.
mumeichan
post Oct 25 2013, 07:26 AM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(arconium @ Oct 24 2013, 10:26 PM)
So what do people usually do after their undergrad years? after graduating, going after Masters or working already?

in a nutshell,

US - 4 years undergrad
UK - 3 years undergrad

US - a lot of subjects
UK - maybe 3 or 4

US - more focus on extra curricular
UK - more focus on exam results

okay. for US, u need either SATs, ADP, or exchange program right?
but since SAT results and SPM results need to wait for results to arrive, probably won't be in time to apply for application right? SO will need to waste one year waiting for the results?

If not, do we usually use SPM trial results in the portfolio?

I heard something of a one-and-a-half-year intensive course for undergrad, anyone heard anything of it or something similar?

Haha thanks for all the great advice thus far
Actually, most people graduate from US high schools knowing much more than the average A-Level student. Since they have the freedom to choose their subjects in high school, it's common for them to take Advance Placement or even university level classes while in high school. Personally I did math for my first two years so I did see freshman who had already taken 2 years worth of university level math in high school already.

So actually a determined student can complete their degree in two years if they wanted to. I switched majors in my 3rd year and actually took about 1 year to complete all the necessary classes for my new major.

Why do people spend 4 years there? They don't overload classes and do research, summer internships, community work, attend conferences or company presentations.

Hence a graduate there would already have 2 years of internships if he was on a career path and 3-4 years of research experience if he was on a research path.

It's also no unusual for them to take 1-2 years break after college. Some build up their credentials, some do Peace Corps, Teach for America etc.

It's very different there. They care about what you have done and can achieve rather than nonsense people here care about like how you look like(no one attaches pictures in their resume, job or college applications), your major (you can be a philosophy major and join an investment firm), your age(I've never seen an age limit in a job application there).
mumeichan
post Oct 25 2013, 08:21 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(Shyuejer @ Oct 25 2013, 07:58 PM)
Hey there it's me again with more questions, hope you don't mind answering ...

Currently I have a decent SAT score(slightly >2000), and haven't take SAT II yet, I considered applying for EA / ED however more of those schools who have these offers are on CommonApp and typically the deadline for application is Nov 1 ... Any recommendation for me if I don't wanna do SAT II at all? Can I still get into one of the good unis ?

In another thread I didn't list what's my major gonna be, erm it's actually Economics biggrin.gif I really admire people like Robert Schiller / Paul Krugman / Joseph Stiglitz reading their work and from reading many other titles written by economics journalist I find this subject way more deeper and interesting than what I learn in A-level currently.

The thing is most good unis(Yale, UChicago) are private ones and they are so expensive to attendĀ  rclxub.gif To begin with I don't have any scholarships yet, and my budget is likely to be around 350k for the entire study. I've been thinking about cheaper ways to go to US - 1) Go to a community college and transfer 2) Go to public unis (Wisconsin-Madison or Minnesota Twins) either directly or via transfer from another public u - and try to finish the study within 3 years if I cannot secure any scholarship next year.

Any suggestions for me who wants to save n' still go into a nice econs school? Also is A-level grades generally available for credit transfer in universities, try looking it up but to no avail.(Kinda regret doing A-levels instead of ADTP sweat.gif ) Next thing of course is how to look for a scholarship when public unis are relatively more stingy than their private counterparts? My friend is trying Stanford's ED and he requested no financial aid, presumably to have a higher chance of getting in, but is it advisable to place such a huge bet, since there's a legal bind on his admission ?
Well tbh, 2000-2100 is on the low end of for the best schools. You might get into to the likes for Yale, MIT etc with a very strong extra-curricular. I don't really know how much weight ED adds to your application since the statistics are rather vague on that. Whether you can send in your SAT 2 scores late or not depends on the school too. And remember for schools of Yale level, everyone probably has a full 800 on their SAT 2s.

Good public schools like U Chicago, U Illinois, U Michigan etc take in more students thus have a wider range of admission, but you won't get a scholarship. Seriously you won't. You might get a few grants here and there that won't amount to much. They aren't any cheaper either.

It's extremely unlikely that you will get into Yale level schools by transferring halfway.

You'll need 50k USD a year for tuition, 12k for living. I've written alot of cheaper routes to US, don't feel like rewriting them today.

Harvard and Yale might not give you credit for A-Level, but I think most others will if you got As. Gotta speak with the actual person incharge of the credits.

If your friend can afford the whole 4 years at Standford why not? If he can't, well I think he should be able to weigh pros and cons if he is aiming this high. I've written quite alot about what I think is important about undergrad and graduate education if you need more information to make that call.

This post has been edited by mumeichan: Oct 25 2013, 08:23 PM
mumeichan
post Oct 25 2013, 08:51 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(Shyuejer @ Oct 25 2013, 08:33 PM)
Well I have done my research and I knew that's the low end too, that's why I wasn't really aiming for Ivies but rather public unis. What I wanna confirm is whether that transfer from one public uni to another is simple n has higher chance than going to a community college firstly ?

The thing is my friend only thinks about getting offer first and hunting scholarship later but do you see all the stanford freshman getting corporate scholarships/ JPA? Frankly speaking I think he hasn't thought of the consequence of choosing ED thoroughly enough even though I told him the risk at stake. On the other hand, is expecting corporate scholarship/ JPA to cover the tuition fees a realistic approach?

Anyway can pls u brief me those cheaper routes to USĀ  smile.gif Or post any links here.

PS : Do you volunteer for USAPPS before ? Just curious.
The fees at another public uni wouldn't be much cheaper, plus I don't think it will make your chances higher to transfer between equal level school. I don't see any problem transferring from a community college to a public school. Just maintain the exceptional results and make sure your SATs and TOEFL is still valid.

JPA has changed their system lately. I'm not too sure what the chances are of getting sponsored if he got into Stanford.
Private sponsorships are there, but again, 800000/48 is giving 16000 a month to someone to study. Even with a bond of 7 years, that's almost paying the guy 10k a month to work. Will a Standford undergrad bring in more than 800000 value to the company over 7 years? And he's tying himself to a major and to a company here. If that's the price he is willing to pay for an education than it's worth it.

You can read up this whole US thread and some of my other posting.

And yea I've been at that event before smile.gif

This post has been edited by mumeichan: Oct 25 2013, 08:52 PM
mumeichan
post Oct 25 2013, 10:10 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(Shyuejer @ Oct 25 2013, 09:05 PM)
There's this Southern Illinois Uni which offers in-state tuition fee to existing Sunway students, so I'm considering it. Have heard about the community colleges being overcrowded and experiencing decline in students successfully transferred. Getting in a 4-year uni is going to be hard isn't itĀ  sweat.gif ? Still gotta hear more about that when the school rep comes on the following Monday for presentation @@

Again thanks a lot on your comment above. Definitely will dig up all the useful info here page by page.
With a 2000 SAT score, you should be aiming for University of Illinois and not Souther Illiois. Please at least tell me you got into some top 50 school in the world. If you can already afford 350k which is enough for 2yrs+, beg on your knees if you have to for the remaining amount. I would have seriously wasted my time replying if you're gonna shortchange yourself that much sad.gif

I await good news from you and hope you will contribute to the future generations here at LYN. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by mumeichan: Oct 25 2013, 10:11 PM
mumeichan
post Nov 3 2013, 03:17 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(arconium @ Nov 3 2013, 12:28 PM)
thought freshmen meant 15 year olds in the US ? hehe
Highschool freshman.
mumeichan
post Oct 4 2014, 01:59 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(myming @ Oct 4 2014, 01:21 AM)
Nope, it is called GMMF, they promote moderation through activities and deal with social issues locally and internationally.

Great! You have the spirit! thumbup.gif Try to convince some of your college friends to apply there as well, it is good to have people on the same boat as you. Well, I haven't heard anyone say that about the US, to each of our own I guess.

I am taking the November seating if that is what you meant.
Yeah, I never heard of it till I started college, but after a bit of digging it seems pretty popular as it is time and cost efficient.

It was more of an influence than a one-advice thing, so I don't think I can give you any insight on that.
Well, it depends. If I get my top choices it is a no-brainer, but if its UT Austin vs Uni of Melbourne, sigh, I don't know.  rclxub.gif
If you're planning to come back, you should know that there are more University of Melbourne alumni here compared to UT alumni. If you'd ask any random person, chances are they'll think Melbourne is a far better university since they hear the name often and UT is some unknown chapalang university.

I'm not even kidding. You can be from UPenn, Columbia, UChigaon, U Illinois, UCLA and they'll have the same perception too since it's unknown in this part of the world.
mumeichan
post Oct 5 2014, 08:26 AM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 5 2014, 12:24 AM)
All the more reason why people don't return....
There's this mentality which makes them think they need to return asap to look after their old parents and siblings. Of course it makes more sense to stay there, earn more and bring the whole family over after a few year but they normally want to do it the other way around. I've tried to my wits end to convince my a few of my friends to stay on but they wouldn't. Maybe it's a cultural issue, I don't know.

QUOTE(MisterLee @ Oct 5 2014, 12:04 AM)
As much as it pains my America-loving heart, you are right. People here in Malaysia know more about Australian and UK universities, not so for the US, unless you go to Harvard then you are fine, but if you went to Harvard there is no reason to come back here =-=
I hate people here sometimes!

I get it, I think its really sad. Those are really world class universities that bring amazing work opportunities, especially UPenn and Columbia (NYC Wall Street) UCLA (Silicon Valley). So unfair they are not getting the attention they so rightfully deserved sad.gif But well, Malaysians do tend to go to UK and Aus, unless th trend breaks, it'll be like that for the longest time.
I learned it the hard way. Wish someone told me before I blew my money in US...
mumeichan
post Oct 5 2014, 09:18 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(MisterLee @ Oct 5 2014, 09:13 PM)
So what are your choices now at the moment?

Alright, noted! Everyone seem to have similar time frames to study for the SAT's, I hope I do get at least 2100  cry.gif
If you get a 2100, you probably want to look at someplace that's ranked higher than UT
mumeichan
post Oct 5 2014, 09:30 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(MisterLee @ Oct 5 2014, 09:26 PM)
My first choice is NYU Stern School of Business, sir!
I am praying to all the gods available in this world that I do get in to NYU!
2100 will get you into something better than Stern. Besides, I wouldn't apply as a pre-admit to the b school if I were you.

http://poetsandquants.com/2014/01/17/where...n-consulting/2/

Although this is for consulting and for MBA it does represent the general preference employers have towards college graduates. NYU and its Stern has never been a popular choice.I would say getting into the top consulting firms are by far the harder than getting into any other jobs, including Wall Street investment banking. So from this you can who the top employers prefer.

This post has been edited by mumeichan: Oct 5 2014, 09:43 PM
mumeichan
post Oct 5 2014, 09:50 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(MisterLee @ Oct 5 2014, 09:42 PM)
Stern is amazing at networking, which would really help me when I look for summer interns and all that.
What do you mean pre-admit?
Are you sure? You should think about leveraging on the alumni body. It helps when the person making the hiring decision is an alumni.

You know, even if you're in california, these companies will pay for your air-ticket and hotel to attend the interview. If they call you for an interview, means they are willing to hire you subject to whether they like you or not after seeing you face to face. The interviewer will always be the team you are going to work with.

And for the top unis, they will have people visit the uni and conduct interviews there every year. So don't go to stern just because it's in New York.
mumeichan
post Oct 5 2014, 10:10 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(MisterLee @ Oct 5 2014, 09:58 PM)
Yes, I am sure. I have done extensive research on it.

Well yes, but first of all, most west coasters would opt for Silicon Valley, next is that the abundance of investment bankers are from east coast schools. It makes a huge difference.

Yes, they are called Wall Street Target Schools.
While the location is one of my many reasons of picking NYU, it only serves a small percentage. The other school that is in NYC is Columbia, which is an Ivy, and that one is hard.
I see. Looks like I've been out of touch and you've done your research. With a 2100 you should safely land a spot in Stern. GL
mumeichan
post Oct 22 2014, 10:43 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Oct 10 2014, 06:02 AM)
First and last men on the moon were Boilermakers, b****es!! School pride! XD
Haha school pride is the best. It's something every student who goes to the US must experience. Nothing like it in Malaysia, UK or Australia
mumeichan
post Oct 23 2014, 09:44 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Oct 23 2014, 07:53 AM)
Bro, can elaborate a little more about this school pride above ? Thanks.
Go there and experience lor laugh.gif

0.0404sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:56 AM