QUOTE(neuroneuster @ Dec 21 2008, 12:02 AM)
Check yourself daily bro... Pap Smear Test *for GIRLS*, all that u need to know
Pap Smear Test *for GIRLS*, all that u need to know
Dec 22 2008, 02:22 AM
718 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Dec 24 2008, 01:34 AM
Dec 24 2008, 01:33 PM
Dec 30 2008, 10:15 PM
Jan 1 2009, 11:59 PM
Jan 5 2009, 06:06 PM
Jan 6 2009, 05:34 PM
Jan 8 2009, 01:33 AM
Jan 8 2009, 05:26 PM
Jan 9 2009, 01:26 AM
QUOTE(alip5225 @ Jan 9 2009, 12:21 AM) Well, check out reports of pap smears. Or, even under the classification you'll see "inflammatory cells" in the list! Generally you dont rule out infection with this..come on, there's so many other ways! There would be symptoms man! This post has been edited by Fireball9: Jan 9 2009, 01:27 AM |
Jan 13 2009, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(vivi99 @ Jan 10 2009, 02:28 PM) one, we can detect the inflammatory cells, In this country? Less than half the number of people who SHOULD do a pap smear.. Main reason? Ignorance..then if there is a pus, we can took it for culture & sensitivity But how many per cent does the women do their pap smear? |
Jan 23 2009, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(alip5225 @ Jan 21 2009, 02:22 PM) no need to shy to dr lor. this screening test is realy crucial.. Maybe all this screening test should be thought right from school! Girls should be aware of the dangers and how screening test like pap smear can help! so, clue cell is not for cancer lor? it just indicates infection..?? |
Feb 2 2009, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(felnarix @ Feb 2 2009, 02:29 AM) By the way, I see the "male" box below your nick! I believe you've misinterprated the title.. it actually means pap smear test for girls because pap smear test cant be done for guys! So of course everyone should feel free to voice their opinion! |
Feb 4 2009, 02:16 AM
QUOTE(dav668 @ Feb 3 2009, 05:26 PM) It would be better if PAP smear test is done together with digene HPV DNA test. Actually, not all cervical cancer is caused by HPV. A majority, but there's other causes. The next statement is absolutely right, not all HPV causes cervical cancer! PAP smear have good specificity while its sensitivity is poor. The pathologist needs to look at the slides and there might be chance for them to miss certain cells. Another possibility is that the sample collection method might be wrong. It has been proven that cervical cancer is caused by Human Papilloma virus (HPV). However, not all the HPV will cause cervical cancer. This has been well-studied and HPV DNA test is so far the only FDA-approval test in the market to use together with PAP for efficient screening of cervical samples. |
Feb 11 2009, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(lynxs @ Feb 4 2009, 09:58 AM) about 70% is caused by HPV 16 and 18 . Another 25% is caused by other HPV strains. about another 5% is caused by non HPV related causes. Well explained, you see the other 5% is non-HPV related. Of course, there's factors such as genetics, other STDs, etc. So, this is life! Another risk factor for cervical CA is smoking. So please do stop. |
Feb 13 2009, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(aerikh @ Feb 13 2009, 09:30 PM) well, currently the standard practice is to get newly delivered mothers to have their PAP smears done 6 weeks post delivery.. Your sincere concern is very much appreciated!it sounds kinda simple & easy, since at 2 months, they have to bring their kid to get their immunization jab.. however, there are still pregnant mothers who are in their 3rd / 4th pregnancy who haven't had a PAP smear done yet.. it's kinda sad to see patients with stage 3 or 4 cervical cancer.. I will always remember the words of my mentor: A woman should not die of cervical cancer.. it's so true, coz cervical CA takes years & years to progress, & we have such an efficient & cost-effective screening modality.. so LYNers, do pass on the word.. k? Regarding the standard practice to have PAP smear 6 wks post delivery, is it practiced in Malaysia? Havent heard of it, but thx for d info! |
Feb 13 2009, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(aerikh @ Feb 13 2009, 09:50 PM) it's a standard practice.. it's written in their red/pink antenatal cards.. Cool.. so lets make this awareness spread, starting from LYN! but sadly, don't think there is enough emphasis placed on it.. sadly so far, the best time to 'catch' them is when they come with menopausal symptoms or some other complaints.. Any other cool stuff we should know? |
Feb 17 2009, 01:00 AM
QUOTE(lynxs @ Feb 15 2009, 06:30 PM) It is effective, only that it is expensive. About 900-1200 for 3 doses, depending on where. But the thing is that, having the vaccine does not exempt you from having a 3 yearly pap smear. but it does reduces the risk of Cervical GuGu! So what the heck, spend that 1k and at least lower your risks! |
Feb 18 2009, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(aerikh @ Feb 17 2009, 08:20 PM) well, it's effective.. provided you're not exposed to HPV yet.. Good... a little info about HPV.more applicable to virgins & partners of condom-users.. They're epitheliotrophic, and the process of malignancy starts with the sequence as below: 1. Asymptomatic latent infection 2. Active infection - But HPV DNA has not integrated into human genome 3. Malignant transformation - Beginning of cancer - Oncogenic HPV DNA is integrated into human genome - slowly becomes cervical cancer Came across it reading somewhere! |
Feb 21 2009, 12:27 AM
QUOTE(kockroach @ Feb 20 2009, 10:55 AM) Hey, I'm a guy, and I would like to know how often a girl should take this test, and it is for girl who lost their virginity right. How much is it, and where to do it, is it necessary. Thanks, want to bring my gf for check. You naughtly boy! Couldnt wait for wedding night huh? LoL!Anyway, if it's your first time you shouldnt be worried.. cause I doubt you'll have any diseases.. unless it isnt your first time. Then you might spread unwanted stuff to her! |
| Change to: | 0.0204sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:01 PM |