Tiles, Cost and Installation

xiaohui_214
post Jan 9 2017, 06:01 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(TTCHIN @ Jan 9 2017, 10:30 AM)
depend on your quality requirement  blink.gif
i did notice chinese sifu (prefer uncle age 50++) will do works more proper like balancing, materials advice & more long-lasting. my house backyard has been done by chinese sifu more than 10years now, no crack, no defect. My neighbor backyard wall has been 5 years+ & now starting cracked line happen, it done by yonger chinese sifi (age around 40). Indo sifu maybe for small portion and minus works can consider, for total contract sum more then 10k then you should consider chinese sifu.
any contractor can recommend? hmm.gif
xiaohui_214
post Jan 9 2017, 06:08 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(maverickzack @ Oct 11 2016, 10:11 AM)
Call this guy, he's good. Hired him for my house reno, no regret. Good luck! Mr Yap 012 329 1682

ur house reno at how much? his work quality ok? coz i scare those din do proper and simply reduce the material without we notice.
xiaohui_214
post Jan 9 2017, 06:27 PM

143 posts

what is the common tiles brand used? i have zero knowledge about tiles? i saw that specific area used different type of tiles? Anyone can share?
xiaohui_214
post Jan 10 2017, 01:14 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(WannaGetBuffed @ Jan 10 2017, 11:38 AM)
Super Budget - China Tiles for Wall and non-wet areas
Budget - White Horse
Medium - Goucera
High - MML / Niro Granite

The price and quality matches. U can see the difference when you go into the shop respective showroom. The difference is the density, finishing and thickness. Hence the outcome quality is big difference. Most of the medium and high end type has many different designs that cater to your taste.

Only porch u need to get a higher loading for your vehicles worry it will crack. Other than that no issues. Just don't use super budget ones from china to put on the floor. If crack very troublesome.
woah, thanks for your reply. we are not think to use super budget coz it is too many brand of tiles make me feel wacko.gif noticed that people said different area use different type of tiles. if living room, bed room and porch tiles material will be different right? icon_question.gif
xiaohui_214
post Jan 10 2017, 02:23 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(WannaGetBuffed @ Jan 10 2017, 02:13 PM)
No such thing. Only porch is different, others all can be the same for flooring. For wall, any material of tiles can be used. I only used 1 brand for the whole house, just different design.

Some even use the same material for all flooring including porch.
which brand u use? the quality ok?
xiaohui_214
post Jan 10 2017, 02:39 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(WannaGetBuffed @ Jan 10 2017, 02:36 PM)
WH. U don't need to worry about the quality, all of them no issues for home use. Budget ones might have consistencies issues as they might not be equal sometimes, but cannot be seen with naked eye unless u use machine to check the inconsistencies.

u pay for what u get. my parents home uses it for more than 20 years no issues at all. tile is one of the most long lasting thing in a house.
ok, thanks for your info.. i am trying to survey on the raw material now..the tiles, paint, i think is most important part right?
xiaohui_214
post Jan 10 2017, 02:53 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(WannaGetBuffed @ Jan 10 2017, 02:51 PM)
For both new house and subsale, to me most important is cover the basics first, e.g electrical,water pipe and LEAKAGE. Test your electrical and water before doing anything. If u got water leak or electrical load is not sufficient, it is important to replace them first before doing anything to cover the walls or floors.

because once u lay ur tiles and repaint them and find out this later, u need to whack the tiles and redo, then repaint. waste of $
Don't think new house handed by developer won't have such issues. Later when u do everything only u realise got these problem is too late
i was so new with this renovation thing, thanks for your reminder.. my house was a subsale house, sure the problem will be more...

0.0702sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:27 AM