Tiles, Cost and Installation

tomjason
post Mar 8 2012, 08:05 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(eastern @ Feb 26 2012, 10:41 PM)
Just a noob question here... i noticed some of the tiles in the house are having this hollow sounds, is this due to the contractor "tricks" of cutting cost and cheating? or due to the quality of the tiles themselves.

Besides that, for this kind of condition, will re-laying the tiles make any difference?

hope to get some replies. Thank you.
the hollow sound means that while laying the tile, there is not enough cement for that hollow portion. The tile is waiting to crack.No point to re laying the tile.
tomjason
post Mar 8 2012, 03:01 PM

866 posts

my kitchen tile during installation...i used expensive tile..i used all white horse..but white horse quality i suppose not so robust...

This post has been edited by tomjason: Mar 8 2012, 03:01 PM
tomjason
post Mar 8 2012, 04:04 PM

866 posts

my simple master toilet sink

tomjason
post Mar 16 2012, 09:11 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(william1976 @ Mar 14 2012, 09:21 AM)
Hi All,
Is it ok to lay the tiles over the mable floor with hacking it ?
It is not recommended..not long lasting...later 'tercabut'..better remove the mable...
tomjason
post Oct 5 2012, 09:57 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(ginming @ Aug 16 2012, 12:25 PM)
Be careful when buy tiles. I have just ordered and made full payment during ordering my tiles last week. After 2 days, i received they delivered of my tiles and guest what happened. The tiles quality is not as same as what i have show at the showroom. I have chosen rough(a bit rough lah) surface for car porch, but the tiles when delivered to me are very very very rough. Is like kids when play at the car porch, may easy to fall down and cause bleeding. I called and argue with the shop, you know what they tell me:

1. The tiles produced for each batch may have different quality. (Where they never tell me this when i buy)
2. The tiles produced will not be 100% same as the one displayed at the showroom (Then what for display at showroom, cheating).
3. The shop will not be responsibilities on the tiles delivered, that is tiles manufacturer problems, not leader problems. (Who am i buying tiles from? The leader or the manufacturer?)
4. The QC of the manufacturer will only certified on the tiles colour, not the surface. (QC simply can passed. That also i received same tiles with different different colours)
5. We cant do anything, if you want, we can arrange the tiles manufacturer sales man to talk with me, but this will just waste my time, as they wont do anything as well.
6. I requested them to take back the tiles, the sales girl said base on the total need to take back they will charge RM260 for handling cost. (Which is not my problem but i need to pay for it)

Now am thinking pay a bit more for tiles is much better to get better quality of tiles, coz this is one time charge forever you stay at the house. Cheaper price always will cause bad quality and bad service. When i called again, the sales girl will always engage, at toilet, not arround, ask to call back also never call back till i need to go to the shop my self and argue with them.
I told them to bring back those tiles, and change others tiles which is more expensive, they will still charge me the RM260.
hi bro and others,

just read your thread..feel sorry for you..below is my comment about your question, actually is not seller fault its is manufacturer.

1. The tiles produced for each batch may have different quality. (Where they never tell me this when i buy)
Ans : Yes, its very true for all tile manufactures,even one day manufacture date can have different coloring. That why, when order tile, make sure you order a bit extra. i also wonder why this happened to the manufacturer.

2. The tiles produced will not be 100% same as the one displayed at the showroom (Then what for display at showroom, cheating).
Ans: Yes, its very true. That reality for tile manufactures. Sure different from what you received from showroom. sometime is showroom is batch for many years. i also wonder why this happened to the manufacturer.

3. The shop will not be responsibilities on the tiles delivered, that is tiles manufacturer problems, not leader problems. (Who am i buying tiles from? The leader or the manufacturer?)
Ans:same as item i and 2.

4. The QC of the manufacturer will only certified on the tiles colour, not the surface. (QC simply can passed. That also i received same tiles with different different colours)
Ans: The tile manufacturers have QC for color and surface but will not be the same in color in showroom.

5. We cant do anything, if you want, we can arrange the tiles manufacturer sales man to talk with me, but this will just waste my time, as they wont do anything as well.
Ans: Yes it true, but if you buy local branded tile they will entertain you. I do know if buy china brand. For your case, if you buy from local branded tile sure you can return as the surface too rough that maybe manufacturer defect...but if you buy china brand, sorry bro.

6. I requested them to take back the tiles, the sales girl said base on the total need to take back they will charge RM260 for handling cost. (Which is not my problem but i need to pay for it).
Ans: if you buy china brand, susah bro nak return.

TIP:

that why, i kept few boxes of tiles in my store..we do not know maybe in future when your tile got one or 2 pecah or etc..so when replace the tile will be the same.

TQ

This post has been edited by tomjason: Oct 5 2012, 10:11 AM

0.0181sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:34 AM