Tiles, Cost and Installation

billyboy
post Jan 4 2014, 07:37 AM

2,220 posts

i asked an indon contractor once and he said the following are possible;

- not enough of the 'gum' applied when installing.
- wrong % combinatoin of cement and sand.
- the 'slab' (concrete foundation) is not properly done so when certain parts of the slab sinks, it pops out.
- the 'slab' also needs to be done once, properly dried then only apply a second layer of cement for the tiles to stick to. A lot of short-cut guys does this in one step instead of two steps.

i've also heard of cases in apartments where because the air-cond below is on all the time, then the unit above gets pop-ping tiles due to heat / cold differentiation.

QUOTE(wewem @ Dec 8 2013, 03:07 PM)
Hi all sifu here,

refer the picture , what is the main reason make my living room tiles pop up?  is it moisture or nearby project LRT MRCB cause it?? thanks,  and i need some one quote me a price to hack and redo the tiling.

living room size : 20 x 19, including corner is store room and staircase. the area of store room and staircase no need tiling area is about 90sf.
billyboy
post Jan 4 2014, 08:57 AM

2,220 posts

tiles installed ten years ago. no mrt nearby.

what is sand screeding?

thanks.
billyboy
post Jan 13 2015, 08:44 PM

2,220 posts

too high.

i was asking about building a cement slab on a grass piece. price ranges from RM500 to RM3000. measurement is 5 feet x 5 feet. finally built at RM500 (exc tiling) but i helped him as well (to throw the rubbish away). 8" deep.

process - dig out the soil. say about 9" deep.
fill with gravel and sand, cement. first layer of cement slab. dry for a few days.
then fill again with gravel and cement. second layer. let it dry.
then only tile on top.
billyboy
post Jan 14 2015, 08:31 PM

2,220 posts

It was a special price. I hang out with indons, and pay them Daily rate.

QUOTE(orangeorange @ Jan 14 2015, 04:49 PM)
the area you did was 5ftx5ft for RM500?

Our area is 22ftx10ft
so it should sums up to around RM4,400
is that reasonable price?

Not so sure the exact process of how he did the cement slab, whether he dig the soil or not....
billyboy
post Apr 24 2015, 06:38 AM

2,220 posts

i have been looking for quotation (with much thanks to forumers here for their contact) for a 1,350 sqft apartment.

The price range is from RM5,000 to RM16,000. Pening kepala.

Seems like some of the key issues;

1. hacking, cementing, laying of tiles
2. skirting
3. bringing tiles up to the apartment (via lift) - [estimated 2 man, 1 day]
4. installing new WC, bath tub, basin
5. water proofing of toilet
6. rubbish disposal

can anyone else please assist to highlight key issues. thank YOU !
billyboy
post Apr 25 2015, 06:26 AM

2,220 posts

faujc99 nVvan - thanks for your feedback. Definitely don't want to touch piping. Cost can only go up ! I'm only trying to figure out how to know which isthe better one !

Went to Niro Granite. They have a Outlet for their Tiles in Shah Alam. Very decent for the quality. I used to hang out at Super Ceramic but definitely have to check out more places now. Some really beautiful tile there at good price but very limited stock.

Continueing my search for the tiler....
billyboy
post Jul 18 2015, 10:39 PM

2,220 posts

Niro Granite has an outlet (good prices) in Shah Alam
billyboy
post Aug 29 2016, 10:29 PM

2,220 posts

Tiles at NiroGranite on sale. 1 Sep for a few days.

Location is Shah Alam

I'm not related to Niro. Just an obsercer.
billyboy
post Aug 29 2016, 10:30 PM

2,220 posts

Tiles at NiroGranite on sale. 1 Sep for a few days.

Location is Shah Alam

I'm not related to Niro. Just an obsercer.
billyboy
post Nov 6 2016, 10:14 AM

2,220 posts

beside the niro granite hq is the niro granite outlet. pretty good prices. check it out.

QUOTE(SimpleGuy16 @ Nov 6 2016, 09:53 AM)
I am looking for feruni/ niro tiles , anyone can suggest where to get cheaper price? Is direct showroom much more cheaper or dealers?

Looking for 2x2 for dry & wet kithen floor & wall.

P.s. Is these brand tiles ok as for thise price it should be good quality i assume.
billyboy
post Nov 7 2016, 08:42 AM

2,220 posts

I think niro better quality than super ceramic. So far no complain on niro. Buy from niro outlet at shah alam. Price easier to swallow.

QUOTE(SimpleGuy16 @ Nov 6 2016, 12:35 PM)
Hi billyboy, u also using niro? How was the tiles?
This post has been edited by billyboy: Nov 7 2016, 08:43 AM
billyboy
post Nov 7 2016, 08:45 AM

2,220 posts

My tiling project. Just finished. all niro tiles bought during their annual sale......,

Comments pls...

billyboy
post Nov 7 2016, 05:50 PM

2,220 posts

The table top cost me rm800 only for labour.
billyboy
post Nov 21 2016, 07:21 AM

2,220 posts

I did my table top for rm800 (only labour). Have to buy material like tiles cement gum separately.Attached Image
billyboy
post Nov 25 2016, 05:53 AM

2,220 posts

Mine is 9 foot run across. He charged me rm800 only for labour. Tiles,cement, sand separate.
billyboy
post Nov 25 2016, 11:48 AM

2,220 posts

Home pro saleAttached Image
billyboy
post Nov 26 2016, 01:00 PM

2,220 posts

more difficult to get chinese sifu now. if very focused on quality, go to the big shops like Feruni and Niro and ask them to recommend sifu.

if more price conscious but ok, get indon worker. most also done by indon these days.
billyboy
post Dec 5 2016, 08:16 PM

2,220 posts

still asking for more quotations !! well done !!!

you might get more traction if you check back the threads....anyway, have you contacted Budi yet for a quotation ? if you have, please share here for comments, otherwise, please check with him ... i gave you the contact a few weeks back....

QUOTE(chunzai1 @ Dec 5 2016, 04:33 PM)
Hi all sifus,
I am thinking to change floor tiles from 1x1 to 2x2 of a 20 x 70 not extend double storey terrace house.
First and 2nd floor not include stair case. 3 rooms with tiles and 1 without tiles.
Can anyone quote me how much is the price?
Exclude materials.
thanks in advance.

***btw, i am on very tight budget. so looking for smtg good and cheap  tongue.gif
billyboy
post Mar 16 2017, 05:06 PM

2,220 posts

if anyone wants a tile layer (indon), please let me know. he does the work by himself and his crew.

he did a decent job for me (not great, but ok). must know how to deal / negotiate with Indon otherwise they will extract more and more from you.

0.0657sec    1.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:45 PM