QUOTE(shikuzika @ Feb 23 2011, 05:56 PM)
a friend who's also a mother told me that at night don't give milk, just give warm water. soon the baby will learn not to cry for milk in d middle of the night. Anybody heard this or something similar to this..?
...I'm a bit late with my reply here, but better late than never. My next-door neighbour gave this advice to my wife when my youngest was about 3 months old (he's 9 now) and I promptly told my wife, to forget that and keep giving the baby 100% milk. Health practitioners stress that babies under 6 months old should -Not- be given water to drink, reason being it interferes with the body's ability to absorb nutrients from their milk, and also makes them feel full on water, thus depriving him of vital nutrients. So please, no water for the first 6 months. Hopefully your baby will settle into a more regular pattern as he/she grows older but being a malay/muslim, you should know that the one of the reason mothers are held in such high regards by God is for the sacrifices they make for their children , so what's a few months sleepless nights eh? (a father of an exclusively bf baby talking here, so I might not be the best choice to talk ...anyways, back to the topic, my wife uses the mustika ratu set exclusively for three of our four children, for the only reason that it was the one recommended to her by the mak bidan. It's a jamu preparation, but works dang good if the before-after comparison of my wife is to be used. Everyone compliments on her figure after four children, so it must be doing something right, right? Cheap too, where you can get a set from mydin for just RM30++ iirc. Heh, the funny thing is, for my youngest, my wife couldn't go balik kampung for berpantang right after delivery (for reasons I forget), so the first two weeks we used this locl mak bidan. She asked why were we using this old fashioned set (ref to mustika ratu) when others whom she had treated were using all these new fangled sets, and continued dissing the set. Ironically, my wife told me how not good this mak bidan was compared to her usual choice, from the massage (so weak, tak rasa) to the tungku (?) method not right. Needless to say, after arriving safely in the hands of her usual mak bidan at kampung, the mak bidan could tell my wife was not treated properly. Cut this already long story short, the modern local mak bidan, which charged RM200 for the two weeks failed big time according to my wife, while the traditional mak bidan, who came evreyday and did the whole gamut (mandi herba, tungku, urut etc) for the next uh 4 weeks charged the same amount (of course we paid extra).
ummm... moral of the story? it's not just the product, it's the mak bidan which is the key factor (or so I surmise).
... oh and Congratulations to TS on the impending arrival of bundle of joy!
Mar 23 2011, 12:10 AM

0.0183sec