LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread V2, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners!

burdoc
post May 9 2012, 01:20 PM

Hi Sifu(s),
I'll be getting my vios J spec end of this month and plan to spent few k to make up the car...
I am currently staying in PG and plan to do followings,

1) TRD bodykit. Usually go for ABS or PU and how much? One shop quote me 1700 TRD ABS.. expensive?
2) Any good audio shop in PG? I plan to change to 2 DIN player and upgrade the speaker.
3) What else i can mob the car? biggrin.gif

Thanks... notworthy.gif
burdoc
post May 9 2012, 01:58 PM

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ May 9 2012, 01:43 PM)
you are going for cosmetics or performance?
cosmetics la bro... any recommendations?
burdoc
post May 27 2012, 01:59 PM

Bros,
Going to take my new vios next week and already looking for tyre at few shops.
Plan to change to 195/55/15 size tyre.
In dilema now, PS3 vs RE002 vs v12?

I first priority is quite and comfort. Any advice?
burdoc
post May 27 2012, 03:50 PM

QUOTE(overfloe @ May 27 2012, 02:30 PM)
err.. those are performance tires.. none will be quiet.
Any tyre recommend? Someone suggested XM2. how about that?
burdoc
post May 28 2012, 08:16 AM

QUOTE(dtna7 @ May 27 2012, 10:08 PM)
PS3 is VERY quiet, i'm using it.
best set of tires ever... thumbup.gif

XM2 is a no-no  blush.gif
a simple google search will explain why... unsure.gif
If i want to go for comfort + performance, other than PS3 what will be other option?
RE002 vs PS3? RE002 damn expensive 380 selling at Penang.
burdoc
post May 28 2012, 10:44 AM

QUOTE(dtna7 @ May 28 2012, 09:55 AM)
don't think i can comment on that since i only tried Goodyear/Falken/Michelin  blush.gif

when i was researching for my tires replacement, RE002 turned up good as well, but those are really some expensive donuts.
was able to get my PS3's at 280/pc.
I was quoted 275 for PS3 195/55/15. Maybe, will look at CC5 for consideration...
RE002 hundred buck more expensive.. that will turn up like 2k to upgrade rims and tyres for vios sad.gif
burdoc
post May 28 2012, 10:54 AM

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ May 28 2012, 10:45 AM)
original RPF1 so cheap? i got quoted almost 2k doh.gif

Added on May 28, 2012, 10:46 am
bro, where you get the PS3 quotation? got balancing, alignment, valve?
Goh Swee Hin jalan air hitam penang... the lady boss said it's included with rims and tyres for balancing and alignment...
burdoc
post May 28 2012, 11:01 AM

QUOTE(kb2005 @ May 28 2012, 10:56 AM)
Any contact ?
Left the business card at home but found this at web.. _http://www.malaysiayellowpages.net/gohsweehin/index.htm
burdoc
post May 28 2012, 02:55 PM

Actually, can someone tell what is the acceptable range of weigh of rim for vios? let say in kg per peice.
burdoc
post May 29 2012, 01:18 PM

Yesterday just back from Bridgestone tyre shop. Look at RE002, the sidewall is harder than PS3. Understood, it's performance tyre.
My sister drive vios G using RE080, i am quite accepateble that level of noise.

but not sure about RE002. any comment?
burdoc
post May 29 2012, 04:06 PM

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ May 29 2012, 01:35 PM)
RE080 is ok when new... i've driven now at 26k km, not so good anymore...
actually quite noisy but not up to NCT5 level... grip also not so good already...
yesterday i drove pass the the water at heavy rain, the grip isn;t that good. hope PS3 solve this issue at wet. smile.gif
burdoc
post May 29 2012, 05:09 PM

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ May 29 2012, 04:18 PM)
you try PS3... it slices thru water puddles like it's not there, have it on my City brows.gif

same grippy feeling in both dry and wet thumbup.gif
Woh.. that's great... i hope my mind still stick to PS3 then can try this weekend.. tongue.gif

Added on May 29, 2012, 5:11 pm
QUOTE(overfloe @ May 29 2012, 04:22 PM)
i have used RE001 before on my older car. yes, the sidewall is harder than PS3. very nice handling but to me PS3 is more all-arounder, comfort level is just nice for a performance tire.. not sure of RE002 but it should be better than RE001. RE more garang looking than PS3 though.
ya.. RE more fierce looking.. the strips also very diff from other...

This post has been edited by burdoc: May 29 2012, 05:11 PM
burdoc
post May 30 2012, 08:13 AM

QUOTE(Swatchboy @ May 30 2012, 01:14 AM)
Fully agreed with ur statement above....today am just change C drive2 195/55/15 + lighter sport rim, i can feel the 'big' different after the changes....
How much for C drive2?

Added on May 30, 2012, 8:54 amAnother questions to all,
Since the car is new. After change rims and tyre, need to do alignment again?
Michelin boss told me no need because toyota already done a good job.

This post has been edited by burdoc: May 30 2012, 08:54 AM
burdoc
post May 30 2012, 09:33 PM

Finally my new vios car in my hands. After take the car, straight away go to michelin shop change rim and tyre.
Put on a chrome rim and PS3 196/55/15 tyre.

Handling and cornering is superb rclxms.gif

But i noticed a little noise inside the car, sounds like "wo... wo... wo..". Seems like cause by the tyre.. It's normal???
I even sit behind and asked my sister to drive and the same sound also..
I experienced this before at my old proton car, the bearing issue but make no sense because this is a new car woh..

can someone advice?
burdoc
post May 31 2012, 10:29 AM

QUOTE(Thunder_Bolt @ May 30 2012, 10:11 PM)
the original tyres for Vios G spec (Bridgestone Potenza) is not the REXXX series right?

Added on May 30, 2012, 10:12 pm

Do they have 185/60 R15 size for PS3 ?

Added on May 30, 2012, 10:15 pm

you changed to 195/55/15 ?  what is the size previously before changed?  and what are the differences that you noticed after change? thanks.  smile.gif

Added on May 30, 2012, 10:21 pm

if we change rims from stock to aftermarket rims, will there be any impact to the speedometer? the km/h will it be not accurate?

Added on May 30, 2012, 10:22 pm
mind to post some pics of your new rims to let us see?  smile.gif
just sent for bodykit and tinting.. after that one shot i post the picture..

Added on May 31, 2012, 10:31 am
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ May 31 2012, 07:52 AM)
G spec is RE080

not sure but i'm using 185/55R15 on my City, maybe you can check the website or call the tyre dealers?

as long as the tyres (+rims) changed is within 3% of the original size, then it won't affect the Speedometer
pay around with this: www.kouki.co.uk/utilities/visual-tyre-size-calculator thumbup.gif

Added on May 31, 2012, 7:53 am
how much, bro?
bro, 280 x 4 (PS3) + 1150 (rims) - 540 (t/in) = 1730.

so, the noise is normal?

This post has been edited by burdoc: May 31 2012, 10:31 AM
burdoc
post May 31 2012, 10:56 AM

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ May 31 2012, 10:50 AM)
what are your stock rims?
15 inches... can't remember the brand... but is a chrome rim.. shining a day and night  rclxm9.gif
handling improved a lot? tried whacking corner with the stock before changing? big difference?
yup, can feel the gripping and cornering more steady. i always drive my sis vios g.. so i can feel different..

the sound you heard, is it constantly heard? or only on certain roads?
sound constantly but only on certain surface of the roads.. i think if the road is straight and even, the sounds is obvious... how about yours?
burdoc
post May 31 2012, 11:38 AM

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ May 31 2012, 11:20 AM)
your Vios what model?
post photos of your new rims la bro smile.gif

mine the same, wo..... wo..... wo..... a few times, not that long... then after that will be like harrggghhhhhh.....

maybe its the tyre + road surface

but if constantly got that sound for long period, better go to the SC, fetch the mechanic and let him hear the sound
Later tonight... now doing tinting and bodykit... and camera not in hands tongue.gif

Ok, let me observe few more days... hope is tyre noise...
burdoc
post May 31 2012, 06:46 PM

here you go..

burdoc
post May 31 2012, 08:03 PM

burdoc
post Jun 1 2012, 10:46 AM

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 1 2012, 10:02 AM)
looks like the Sparco Asseto Gara that i had interest last time, what brand/model/weight are these rims? thumbup.gif

Added on June 1, 2012, 10:03 am
really shiny drool.gif
mind sharing the brand/model/specs of your rims?
15''. you can zoom in the first photo and look at the brand. They said from taiwan.

0.0438sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:29 PM