My son is a Down Syndrome boy. He's 12 now.
Any parents here with Down Syndrome kids?
Do you have a Down Syndrome child?
Feb 18 2011, 03:02 PM, updated 15y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
11,454 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: KL |
My son is a Down Syndrome boy. He's 12 now.
Any parents here with Down Syndrome kids? |
Feb 18 2011, 03:14 PM
628 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Feb 18 2011, 03:17 PM
10,429 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
try to look for down syndrome support group and centers. My son have asperger's syndrome. I understand how hard it is to take care of such a kid. Especially down syndrome which not much help you can get from malaysia government. Good luck.
Feb 18 2011, 05:41 PM
2,795 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: On the beach |
I have a family friend who has a down syndrome daughter. She 20+ edi if not mistaken and she loves to read magazines and help out her mother during cooking.
Feb 19 2011, 02:58 PM
342 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
why are u looking for something that is so sad mentioning it?
Feb 19 2011, 04:44 PM
1,874 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: "On a need-to-know basis" |
Feb 21 2011, 12:02 AM
11,454 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: KL |
Indeed, just want to share parenting tips, experience, etc... with DS kids' parents.
It's been 12 years for me and I think I got over the "sad" part the first few months. |
Feb 21 2011, 10:20 AM
62 posts Joined: May 2009 |
I have a cousin who is ds. He is 40++. Very loving and a great companion to his mom.
Feb 21 2011, 01:17 PM
241 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Dragon In Dream |
Feb 21 2011, 04:05 PM
Feb 24 2011, 01:42 PM
62 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Feb 24 2011, 02:25 PM
1,475 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Paradise |
my cousin is, i think he is 12 now.
he can walk but a bit hyperactive when walking. probably he is too excited after being sited/guarded for most time. he still need someone to feed, cannot talk yet. when try to talk like to shout like that. any tips ? i see my aunt suffer very pain also, and she refuse when we said let the pro take care of him and teach him basics. |
Feb 24 2011, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(dvinez @ Feb 24 2011, 02:25 PM) my cousin is, i think he is 12 now. Why does she refuse? The child need to learn how to do everything from as simple as going to toilet to using utensils to eat. All these need to be taught. Professionals should be able to advise on that. You can also get her to join parents support group where parents can exchange information. This is very good in building confidence for the parents and also lessen the burden.he can walk but a bit hyperactive when walking. probably he is too excited after being sited/guarded for most time. he still need someone to feed, cannot talk yet. when try to talk like to shout like that. any tips ? i see my aunt suffer very pain also, and she refuse when we said let the pro take care of him and teach him basics. Added on February 24, 2011, 2:50 pm QUOTE(yongsli @ Feb 24 2011, 01:42 PM) I would say he is independent. He knows how to take care of himself. No he does not have a job. Donno what happen if the mom passed on. By independent means he is able to also work for a living and do not need any direct help. I think this is the main concern for all parents with special child. If he cannot get a job or work, then the parent need to start arranging for ways make sure the child can continue living when they are gone. Like getting help from siblings or relatives.This post has been edited by abubin: Feb 24 2011, 02:50 PM |
Feb 25 2011, 07:50 AM
280 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hi, My sister is 28 years old this year. Not Down Syndrome. But she has one chromosome which is slightly shorter. Doctors called her condition 'Slow Learner'. I am not too sure what s the exact medical term. Hard to pick up stuffs in school. Went to special school till she is 21. Now she helps my mom full time at home. Also help looks after my baby. She looks like she is 12 years old. Small size. Very very attached to my mom.
Mar 3 2011, 04:41 PM
0 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
QUOTE(beyond @ Feb 25 2011, 08:50 AM) Hi, My sister is 28 years old this year. Not Down Syndrome. But she has one chromosome which is slightly shorter. Doctors called her condition 'Slow Learner'. I am not too sure what s the exact medical term. Hard to pick up stuffs in school. Went to special school till she is 21. Now she helps my mom full time at home. Also help looks after my baby. She looks like she is 12 years old. Small size. Very very attached to my mom. Maybe dyslexia? I'm not quite sure about tht too. :/ |
Mar 3 2011, 05:52 PM
dyslexia is being not able to read properly. Like mixing up between b and d, getting alphabets in reversed order.
This can be remedied easily in early childhood through proper training. BTW...how do one find out if one has a chromosome that is slightly shorter? |
Mar 4 2011, 04:24 AM
136 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Mar 4 2011, 04:42 AM
54 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Mar 4 2011, 11:07 AM
i wouldn't say it is something sad. But rather an obstacle in life. A big obstacle. However you just need to make the best out of it and not feel "sad" about it.
Mar 4 2011, 11:17 AM
198 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Penang Island |
those are the sin free children...God love them the most....peace...
Mar 4 2011, 12:56 PM
121 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(techassist @ Mar 4 2011, 01:17 PM) I agree. All the best in taking care of your child. Again, there is a whole spectrum of Down syndrome, with very mild to very severe sign/symptom depending how much of chromosome 18 material is affected/duplicated. I am just wondering, is there a screening test in malaysia available to pregnant mother to screen for down syndrome? |
Mar 4 2011, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(blackespresso @ Mar 4 2011, 12:56 PM) I agree. All the best in taking care of your child. so what if down syndrome are diagnosed during prenancy? There are no cure for it. Does that means you would want to abort the baby?Again, there is a whole spectrum of Down syndrome, with very mild to very severe sign/symptom depending how much of chromosome 18 material is affected/duplicated. I am just wondering, is there a screening test in malaysia available to pregnant mother to screen for down syndrome? |
Mar 12 2011, 11:41 PM
97 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Sorry to butt my head in. Don't have a child with down syndrome. In fact, don't have a child at all.
I just think that if parents are able to, try to move abroad. Here in NL for eg, people with disabilities get a lot of help. There's health insurance, special schools (no extra cost), development aids etc. The stigma is also less. In the event the parents die or are not able to care anymore, at least your child won't have to sleep on the streets or something. The government will help care for your child (nurse or home or smth similiar). If he/she has a mild form, they can even live independently (maybe some kind of volunteer work where the income is supplemented by welfare. I saw this random TV-show and I think the boy whose DS could be classified as medium worked as a carrot packer or something like that. Another girl who is considered high-functioning is actually attending high school for normal people). So yeah, kalau boleh..migrate. |
Mar 14 2011, 12:09 PM
Here is a shoutout for parents or people to contribute to the autism society.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1788449 Please help to donate and create awareness. |
Mar 27 2011, 11:04 AM
0 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 18 2011, 03:02 PM) Hi there, I would like to ask what is the cause of having down syndrome kid in your case? No offence. Is that late pregnancy will cause this problem?i am 30 year old now, and planning to give birth after 4 more years. |
Mar 27 2011, 11:11 AM
2,795 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: On the beach |
QUOTE(young heart OL @ Mar 27 2011, 11:04 AM) Hi there, I would like to ask what is the cause of having down syndrome kid in your case? No offence. Is that late pregnancy will cause this problem? From what I know, late pregnancy will have a higher chance but for you, 34 years is not late at all.i am 30 year old now, and planning to give birth after 4 more years. My mum gave birth to my brother when she was 46. He was healthy and very intelligent now. |
Mar 27 2011, 11:22 AM
0 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Mar 27 2011, 11:11 AM) From what I know, late pregnancy will have a higher chance but for you, 34 years is not late at all. The problem is I used to have night life,drink drugs and worked in pub last time. The second hand smoke. That is what bothering me now. My mum gave birth to my brother when she was 46. He was healthy and very intelligent now. |
Mar 27 2011, 05:04 PM
51 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
well, the past is the past ... just stay healthy from now on... quit drinking and smoking indefinitely. do some weekly exercises as well.
when the time comes, it will come ! |
| Change to: | 0.0193sec
5 queries
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:49 PM |