Do you have a Down Syndrome child?

blackespresso
post Mar 4 2011, 12:56 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(techassist @ Mar 4 2011, 01:17 PM)
those are the sin free children...God love them the most....peace...
I agree. All the best in taking care of your child.

Again, there is a whole spectrum of Down syndrome, with very mild to very severe sign/symptom depending how much of chromosome 18 material is affected/duplicated.

I am just wondering, is there a screening test in malaysia available to pregnant mother to screen for down syndrome?
abubin
post Mar 4 2011, 01:56 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(blackespresso @ Mar 4 2011, 12:56 PM)
I agree. All the best in taking care of your child.

Again, there is a whole spectrum of Down syndrome, with very mild to very severe sign/symptom depending how much of chromosome 18 material is affected/duplicated.

I am just wondering, is there a screening test in malaysia available to pregnant mother to screen for down syndrome?
so what if down syndrome are diagnosed during prenancy? There are no cure for it. Does that means you would want to abort the baby?
meiiseenei
post Mar 12 2011, 11:41 PM

97 posts

Sorry to butt my head in. Don't have a child with down syndrome. In fact, don't have a child at all.

I just think that if parents are able to, try to move abroad. Here in NL for eg, people with disabilities get a lot of help. There's health insurance, special schools (no extra cost), development aids etc. The stigma is also less. In the event the parents die or are not able to care anymore, at least your child won't have to sleep on the streets or something. The government will help care for your child (nurse or home or smth similiar). If he/she has a mild form, they can even live independently (maybe some kind of volunteer work where the income is supplemented by welfare. I saw this random TV-show and I think the boy whose DS could be classified as medium worked as a carrot packer or something like that. Another girl who is considered high-functioning is actually attending high school for normal people).

So yeah, kalau boleh..migrate.
abubin
post Mar 14 2011, 12:09 PM

10,429 posts

Here is a shoutout for parents or people to contribute to the autism society.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1788449

Please help to donate and create awareness.
young heart OL
post Mar 27 2011, 11:04 AM

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 18 2011, 03:02 PM)
My son is a Down Syndrome boy. He's 12 now.

Any parents here with Down Syndrome kids?
Hi there, I would like to ask what is the cause of having down syndrome kid in your case? No offence. Is that late pregnancy will cause this problem?
i am 30 year old now, and planning to give birth after 4 more years.
munkeyflo
post Mar 27 2011, 11:11 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(young heart OL @ Mar 27 2011, 11:04 AM)
Hi there, I would like to ask what is the cause of having down syndrome kid in your case? No offence. Is that late pregnancy will cause this problem?
i am 30 year old now, and planning to give birth after 4 more years.
From what I know, late pregnancy will have a higher chance but for you, 34 years is not late at all.
My mum gave birth to my brother when she was 46. He was healthy and very intelligent now.
young heart OL
post Mar 27 2011, 11:22 AM

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Mar 27 2011, 11:11 AM)
From what I know, late pregnancy will have a higher chance but for you, 34 years is not late at all.
My mum gave birth to my brother when she was 46. He was healthy and very intelligent now.
The problem is I used to have night life,drink drugs and worked in pub last time. The second hand smoke. That is what bothering me now. sad.gif
adelmeow
post Mar 27 2011, 05:04 PM

51 posts

well, the past is the past ... just stay healthy from now on... quit drinking and smoking indefinitely. do some weekly exercises as well.

when the time comes, it will come ! smile.gif and do consult your doctor if you need the assurance.

0.0250sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:30 PM