Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v7, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

yeahs4.1
post Feb 20 2011, 07:52 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(gzavincent @ Feb 20 2011, 07:43 PM)
Hey guys, can our power adapter work in Japan?
Since their power is different from ours..
Of course. You just have to get different plug
yeahs4.1
post Feb 28 2011, 11:17 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

hello gurus,

i'm having trouble in installing windows 7 on the virtual machine created with Parallels Desktop. It appears that the setup wizard couldnt detect the boot drive. Initially i was trying to install it via iso image but failed, so i used the superdrive instead. still in vain. I've attached the screen shot. Any insight on this? thanks

Added on March 1, 2011, 12:47 am
QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Feb 28 2011, 11:17 PM)
hello gurus,

i'm having trouble in installing windows 7 on the virtual machine created with Parallels Desktop. It appears that the setup wizard couldnt detect the boot drive. Initially i was trying to install it via iso image but failed, so i used the superdrive instead. still in vain. I've attached the screen shot. Any insight on this? thanks

nevermind, figured it out already. Finally Windows 7 Ultimate is running on my Mac. rclxm9.gif

Just curious, I'm sure there are people using windows 7 on PD or VMware. How much RAM is your mac equipped?
Mine is running at 4GB and whenever i turn on PD and even without any program running in windows, it sucks a huge chunk of RAM out and leave less than 200mb free. sweat.gif

Would upgrading the RAM to 8GB helps?

This post has been edited by yeahs4.1: Mar 1 2011, 12:47 AM
yeahs4.1
post Mar 1 2011, 08:48 AM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Mar 1 2011, 05:09 AM)
good that it works hehe. im running win7 on vmware. i have 4gb RAM, n i set my win7 to use 2gb. smooth enough for me smile.gif
how do you actually allocate a fixed size of RAM for visualization? can PD do that too?

found that again tongue.gif

anyway, i happened to use Spaces 2 for PD during the first few times. Now that everytime i turn on PD, it'll automatically choose spaces 2 instead. is there any other way to run PD on other spaces? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by yeahs4.1: Mar 1 2011, 09:03 AM
yeahs4.1
post Mar 2 2011, 07:40 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(derlin @ Mar 1 2011, 10:51 AM)
Hi there. I am using PD for Win 7. On your top right of the long bar there's a Configure button there. You can adjust the Ram allocation and also which CPU to be used for the PD Win 7.

I have 4gb ram and I've allocated 2gb for my Win 7. If you are using for normal basic use (Surfing, watch some movies, run some win based softwares etc), it should be fine, though you will notice your Mac softwares on your MacOS (Eg: if you are running safari/iTunes for example, it might lag a bit). If you are using it for gaming purposes, like running Crysis 2, Starcraft 2, Dragon Age etc, then you will face some performance issue. I have tested all the games listed (just to see how good is PD smile.gif), it doesn't run very well using PD.

I did some research and mostly suggest running on Bootcamp if you are using for gaming purposes as it will maximize your hardware (as PD runs as a virtual OS), have yet to test this though.

For Space part, after you launch your PD, just go into Space mode, drag the PD to the screen (Click and drag it like how you do it in windows) that you want it to be at and it should stay there the next time you launch it.

Hope this helps.
thanks for the help mate! guess 8GB of RAM is a must to get.
yeahs4.1
post Apr 14 2011, 11:34 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

hello guys,

I'm doing a interest check if any of you folks interested in getting apple cables, such as minidisplay to DVI adapter, minidisplay to HDCP cable, minidisplay to VGA. As you probably knew, you could easily get them from applestore or premium retailers, with premium price of course.

I'm thinking to buy some from Monoprice, a very trusted brand with reputable products. Some of you may have heard about it. So I thought maybe I could organise a bulk or something, win-win situation for everyone.

So, if anyone is interested, please drop a message in my thread:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1836113

Thanks peeps
yeahs4.1
post Apr 15 2011, 12:40 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 15 2011, 01:16 AM)
im using a monoprice miniDP-to-HDMI adapter and it works great smile.gif all the best for the bulk, u can get really good offers buying bulk from them
Yeah, I hope I cab generate enough interest in this forum before proceeding, large quantities would be even better smile.gif
yeahs4.1
post Apr 17 2011, 10:55 AM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 17 2011, 09:48 AM)
guys, i need some confirmation about something

my late 2008 15" MBP is still under ACPP and i want to claim a battery. my cycle count is 424 at 76% health. i dont really need it but might as well la right? tongue.gif

so that day i went to an apple authorized reseller (the only one in miri) but they say they need to send my MBP to KL in order to get a new battery, and this would take about 2 weeks. this is my only computer so that's out of the question

but they mentioned that if i can take my MBP to an apple premium reseller, they can change my battery on the spot. is this true? the nearest APR would be in brunei. i dont mind driving there but it'd certainly bum me out if suddenly they say they cant do it too
err.. what's wrong with battery health of 76% after 424 cycles? And how is this a valid reason to use ACPP to claim for a new battery?

My MBP is at 92% battery health after 43 cycles. I might have to do that too in another few years time. Please keep us updated. wink.gif
yeahs4.1
post Apr 17 2011, 10:34 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 17 2011, 12:47 PM)
because it's not supposed to go under 80% before 500 cycles (for my model lah). i've contacted applecare and they confirmed this to me n say i can go claim a new battery
whoa, that's nice. How about other model? where do you get such information?
yeahs4.1
post May 4 2011, 09:18 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

hello folks,

I've seen a lot of choices offered by Logitech, and on official website, it doesn't state its compatibility with Mac.

Is there any recommendation of Logitech wireless keyboard/mouse that are compatible on BOTH Mac and PC?

btw, is there anyone with experience of Logitech MX700 with Mac?
http://www.logitech.com/en-us/keyboards/ke...os/devices/7146

This post has been edited by yeahs4.1: May 4 2011, 09:30 PM
yeahs4.1
post May 5 2011, 07:10 AM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(tarpaucase @ May 5 2011, 02:48 AM)
Funny you should ask that. I'm using it with Mac - no issue. Don't quite like the mouse though, heavy. Using a corded one. but does it work? yes..
Some reviews says they work properly, i just wanna be sure.

Thanks mate.

0.3093sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:16 PM