Sager : Mobile Gaming @ Its Best v2, NP5160, NP5165, NP5175 w/ GT500 series

Devina_8
post Apr 8 2011, 03:51 PM

19 posts

Hello guys...has anybody ever ordered a np7280 , how is it? I was looking forward to order from mucro asia? Anybidy bought from there? Recieved their units without any problem?
I costumized spec below fir it:
Screen and Screen Type: 17.3 inch FHD/GT 16: 9
SYSTEM CPU: CORE i7-950 3.06 GHz
Graphics Card: 2x AMD Radeon HD 6970M w/2GB w Add. AC Adapter w Power Converter Box (+ MYR2,665.51)
Thermal Compound: IC Diamond (+ MYR116.80)
SYSTEM MEMORY UPGRADE: 6GB DDR3 1333 3x2GB
HARD DISK DRIVE UPGRADE: 500G 7200rpm w/4G SSD (+ MYR290.30)
2ND HARD DISK DRIVE UPGRADE: none
3RD HARD DISK DRIVE UPGRADE: none
Wireless Card: Bigfoot networks Killer Wireless-N 1102
OPTICAL DISK DRIVE | * Internal Optical Drive not included with HDD and Caddy Case purchase: 6x Blu-Ray Reader/8x Super Multi Combo (+ MYR210.21)
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
It woukd cost ne around 10k rm.....how is it so far? As i saw ever in notebookcheck it can handke metro 2033 at ulta around 35 frames...lol
But i want to make sure mucro is ok
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Any exp with this laptop?? So far i am having m15x and i really felt in love with tjis ministry of powers named np 7280!!!
Devina_8
post Apr 13 2011, 09:53 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Apr 13 2011, 08:39 PM)
wow.. seeing u all tat most of ur lappy arrive le. My np7280 gonna wait forever liao D:
what spec u have ordered?
4 weeks..WOW so long...im gona die ! lol
i will order with prince J as he siad probaly 3 weeks maximum
i wanna order core i7 970 and dual 6970 with additional adapter and 12gb ram plus big foot wireless and IC diamond thermal and as well a bluray
i was thinking about a coolpad...
the laptop is quiet nosiy, i worked with same model but with 990X and GTX 485M SLI....heating and cooling as well as the wrist area and keyboard are not getting very hot and they are fine, but laptop is too noisy under Heavy load ! dun disappointed first time u turn it on biggrin.gif later when u setup Metro 2033 and Crysis 2 and u c the performance of this Ministry of powers ! u will love it biggrin.gif
Devina_8
post Apr 13 2011, 11:01 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Apr 13 2011, 10:05 PM)
yeah, i am worried bout the second generation thingy. because i heard at the Q4 this year, they gonna release quadruple channel ram. Can be tempting though, then again, will it be available for desknote or not i am not sure. It is more like gamble.
mine is i7 960, 6 gig ram, 320gb 7200RPM, single 485m gtx graphic, no OS.

I wanna get the SLi 485m gtx also, but then again, since nvidia 500 series is out, u never know 500 series for notebook will out soon also. Btw, 485m gtx now is kinda overprice, better wait for it to lower down abit.
yeah i know GTX 485m is overpriced but the thing is that the performance is only nice once its SLI, but personally based on upcoming benchmarks i can state that 6970m CrossFire has better performance in heavy games with higher resulation, as far as i know ans soon im gonna try it myself it that so far Crysis 2 and 1 and metro 2033 have more frame rates than a GTX485m SLi, but however about series GTX 500 i dun know also, but i am sure that the performance of a SLI GTX 500 wont be very more than GTX 485M SLI and so on the series, perhaps 11 or 15%, this cards are already needs consumption much and they require very good heating and cooling system ! imagine they wanna push the limits to more than 200W ! hahaha.... But make sure if u want to SLI your GTX485M take an additional adaptor, i played crysis one at very high setting plus a 2x AA at 1080 Res with around 34 FPS (without AA around 44) and with one adapter it turned off after 40 minuets...

This post has been edited by Devina_8: Apr 13 2011, 11:04 PM
Devina_8
post Apr 14 2011, 12:48 AM

19 posts

later u can get upgrade to higher model like GTX 470M and GTX 485M.....for 15 inches i guess really a GTX 485M would be pretty enough biggrin.gif
well NP 7280 is costing me around 10700RM but the thing is i have small laptop and iPad for using side works, cuz u not gonna really move NP7280 cuz its heavy and its only good for games !!! but it is really noisy laptop under heavy load...mabey later i gonna upgrade to GTX485M SLI but its not worth yet cuz the perfermence of 6970M Cross is same also, ups and down less or more also....
Devina_8
post Apr 14 2011, 06:24 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Apr 14 2011, 05:43 AM)
Ya, now Ati seems better than nvidia, so i think i gonna wait for awhile before getting SLi. Btw, i called sgcubehub before, whether i can add in another graphic card after i purchase the notebook, they say they can help me to add in the graphic card in the near future, i just need to send in the notebook to them and of course, at a price though.

I still think that SLi now is a bit waste as i only play few titles of games with such nice resolution, after that, SLi seems like useless for me. So lets see how, if i got many titles that i wanna play at high high high resolution, maybe i can try consider SLi it.
yes its simply possible to make your GPU SLI with adding another GTX 485m SLI but u may pay more than what Sager offers as a buying a single card, which is the reason that i mentioned this card is overpriced till nvidia hopefully release GTX500m Series and we might c decrase in prices...i ever did myselft for changing GPU, i did chage M15X GPU to ATI 5870 for my friend, for Sager is easier there are tones of vedios in youtube and guiedes everywhere, but u need to becareful when u doing it ob your own smile.gif
yupz well as u mentioned SLi and CrossFire Configurations are for high-end Mobility gaming, u wont have feeling of low framerates ...
personally myself, i like to play all the games on highest setting...

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Apr 14 2011, 11:50 AM)
For SSD, get OCZ Vertex 3 and never look back.
It's the ultimate SSD for now.

Added on April 14, 2011, 12:01 pm
SLI/Crossfire suffers from scaling issue.
You pay 2x price but you don't get 2x performance.

6970 wins the crown of price/performance. No doubt about it.
The major drawback of ATI card is driver support (some people just ignore that, some people sees it as pain-in-the-ass).
There are still glitches in ATI driver. It could get on your nerves at times.

As for GTX485, it has solid driver. It's pain-free since day 1.
Does it worth additional MYR750 for a slight faster card & better driver (over ATI's 6970M)? It is subjective and up to individual's preference.

Nevertheless. GTX485 was the ONLY option when I first bought the notebook.
With the release of 6970, people have more options now.
Scaling Issues and errors are not that seriouse, well normally it happenes but sometimes not much as well, but in my opinion laptop is something which would get old fast, for example i dun think a GTX460m soon will be satisfying for any gamer in near future...like the upcoming games like Rage and also recently Crysis 2, they might go for a SLI or more powerfull GPU.

but the another is we really recive a 2x perfermence in some games, just take a look at notebookcheck benchmarks sometimes a frame rate of 6970m crossfire and gtx 485m sli is 30 up to 50 more....well it depends on game, but somehow its first time we can c a 35 FPS at metro 2033 and Crysis one which is a dream of every mobility gamer !

yes u are right about the issues of 6970m and generaly ATI drivers, but more or less they are trying to fix issues but the thing is u wont face them as a pain-in-ass with CrossFire Configuration becuase of being a really state of power beside a GTX485M, i am waiting myself to c more Bechnmarks of these cards, well i personally perefer GTX485M SLI, but the thing is what i am predicting for future of this cards showing me upcoming heavy games will be more smoother with 6970 rather than a GTX485M SLI....but the time will tell us, so far i only know that 6970M acts really better in Crysis and Metro 2033 and as well Crysis 2, well perhaps soon Nvidia Release Drivers which would increase the perfermence soon...but lets c, im gonna ordered around may, so ill know soon i have to go GTX485M SLI or 6970M , but the good is np 7280 uses desktop CPU and it might use the cards in SLI or Crossfire configuration very good biggrin.gif biggrin.gif thats what made me being in love with NP 7280 rather than my M15X and M17x

QUOTE(kahjye @ Apr 14 2011, 02:18 PM)
getting darn tired of waiting for sager.. = ="
Be patient, u know my alienware m17x took a month and half !! lol biggrin.gif
Devina_8
post Apr 28 2011, 04:21 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Apr 28 2011, 05:15 AM)
please do. I would love to see the performance of HD6970m smile.gif
i have m17x as well with 6970m !
but at the end of may im gonna have 6970m Crossfire and core i7 970 - plus 12gb ram and 120gb ssd and 750m gb - with bluray and bigfoot wireless !
im gonna post a full review of Np7280 later on after i receive
performance of 6970m is quiet good, but GTX485m as a single GPU choose it very better, but i am getting great frame rates, in crysis 2 , i have average of 30 to 35 with 1080 and maxed out settings wink.gif
Devina_8
post Apr 28 2011, 05:54 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(carbonytte @ Apr 28 2011, 04:34 PM)
our mobile GPUs should be benchmarked against Metro2033, then only can truly see whether your GPU kuat or not. If I'm correct, only having multiple mobile GPU would give a good performance on Metro, even a single GTX485 not enuff nia~
Hi friend- i've tested GTX485m SLI before against to Metro 2033, its smooth, no frame rate below 30, 1920x1080 - DX11 - very high - no AA (default) its at range of 30 to 45 depends on leverl, but usually 35 or something like 37. sometimes 32, its quiet smooth, as fas as i know 6970m CG has 6 frame in average more than GTX485m SLI with same setting, its so NICE to play metro in that settings, QUIET AWESOME BRILLIAN GRAPHOCS....Crysis 1 with 2x AA at 1080 and very high settings as well will have 35 to 40, without AA will have 45 frame with GTX485m SLI, definitely 6970m CF more smile.gif weill once i got mine, i will post the results exactly,
Devina_8
post May 11 2011, 03:49 PM

19 posts

just ordered my unit today -
quiet exciting to c the performance of this beast biggrin.gif i hop[e its gonna be fast ennnough for gaming whole the day...
CPU: core i7 970
GPU: 6970M CrossFire with Add adapter
RAM:12gb triple channel 1033 mhz
Primary HDD: 80gb SSD
Secondary: 750gb 7200PRM
Bluray and plus BigFoot Wilreless N1102
i hope i can receive it faster biggrin.gif dying without laptop now ! only have ipad 2 now and useless macbook air sad.gif
Devina_8
post May 11 2011, 03:58 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ May 11 2011, 03:55 PM)
@Devina_8

Hiya. Buy from which reseller? Normally it takes less than 3 weeks to get the unit. tongue.gif
i'm getting from Prince J - yes he siad from 2 to 3 weeks - just payed the 30% - i payed the rest at COD (better option )
i cant wait really to have it, i havent play CRYSIS 2 and porta 2 - I'm dying inside !
Devina_8
post May 11 2011, 05:13 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(This is a Lamp @ May 11 2011, 04:35 PM)
Oh crap Devina! You're getting the X7200? Hahaha damn must be pretty loaded with monies biggrin.gif ! But yeah the Clevo x7200 will probably sweep all games right now laptop wise.
yeah im getting x7200 in fact by the name of sager np7280 ! yeah its expensive machine but it worth it for with all these powerful stuff in it biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jimmykvt @ May 11 2011, 05:09 PM)
Isn't that Sager NP7280? I thought rickysim84 got information from Sager that they are having some stock issues since rickysim84 had been waiting for his NP7280 for 2 months...
what was it for? i didnt know about it ? i just know the GTX485m sli is delivery next month all the orders, should n be any problem since a friend of mine receive for himself around a week ago (in canda ) after 2 and half weeks ordered .
Devina_8
post May 11 2011, 05:50 PM

19 posts

should be cuz as far as i knew about it, it was huge demand of 485m and it wasnt on mass production time, i guess they annouced there (like resellers like xotic pc ) a new rev mobo, but i guess its been fixed
Devina_8
post May 15 2011, 01:50 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ May 15 2011, 01:04 PM)
guys, is this ok?

main purpose :
autocad, bigger LCD and mid gaming (cod,nfs)

quote from prince J

NP5175
I7-2630QM
17.3 FULL HD
gt555m
4gb
320gb
no os
ms office starter
dvd multidrive
carrying bag
1 year Sager official warranty
= RM3,216

GT 555m Is pretty good for mid-range gaming basically smile.gif no worry about it - but working with apps such as AutoCad is mostly depending on CPU and then GPU - how much is you max budget? if u dun like to upgrade your cpu to a higher one ( i guess 2820qm , but if the cost of you upgrading CPU is too heavy for u, i recommend you to choose a SSD such as 80gb 320 or 120 510 series as you HDD, you will have significantly increase in your boot up and loading of CAD files as well,
Devina_8
post May 16 2011, 07:56 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ May 16 2011, 06:46 PM)
oh my.. i miss the np7280 T.T when they gonna release it.. Hope that they will include the newest intel chipset x76 + quad channel ram + sata 3 + PCMCIA slot.. woot!
i just ordered mine, its going to ship soon, from early hune to mid, but no one knows what is new with the new mobo ! perhaps one of them as u said biggrin.gif quad channel ram is a bit useless as we can upgrade it still weith three 8gb upto 32gb ram but intel chipset x76 diesnt seem to be or perhaps also, sata 3 and PCMCIA would be a good choice biggrin.gif
Devina_8
post May 16 2011, 08:54 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ May 16 2011, 08:41 PM)
wow.. who u order from? Why mine keep delaying one? Walau eh.. i decide to rage liao!!  mad.gif  mad.gif
I have ordered from Prince J - If you check at sager website currently its on backorder - (its marked in front of Display and GTX485m - well there are not info of new rev mobo - but resellers do know about it but sager wont release any detailed info publicly, however i guess i would have mine at june, when exactly? i dun know biggrin.gif hopefully it will start to build and ship after the backorder mark remove from website !! smile.gif which would be early to mid june according to the all information i got from prince j and other people at NoteBoookReview Forum
Devina_8
post May 16 2011, 10:52 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ May 16 2011, 08:56 PM)
oh dear!!! how come sia! SGCUBEHUB lie to me? arrgghh... rage!!! i order since march!! also ah, the monitor now also backorder le.
SGCUBHUB? what they told you? ..... llooll since march? but as far as i know those who were ordered back to feb and march (from other resellers, they have received it with old mobo but its according to what i saw at notebookreview forum),yes monitor now is on backorder, it wasnt before (before GTX485 was ETA june) ... no worry, i hope we will receive it soon at june smile.gif what spec u ordered?

QUOTE(marcuslpm @ May 16 2011, 09:52 PM)
i just ordered mine from mucro few days back. hopefully it doesn get delayed. @@
there is no delay on model that u have ordered smile.gif dun worrryyy !
Devina_8
post May 17 2011, 12:30 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ May 17 2011, 05:53 AM)
i got attach the email that they send to sager regarding the problem, what the email saying is that, clevo send them the wrong mobo or something tat causes the delay. Then from notebook, they are saying that sager is going to come out with a new rev of the mobo. So i am not sure who is telling the truth or who is lieing.

my spec ah?
Sager NP7280 (Customise It!)
Display:17.3" Full HD LED Display with Super Glossy Surface (1920 x 1080)
Zero Dead Pixel Insurance:None - Select from the option below
Processor:IntelĀ® Core i7-960 Processor ( 8MB L3 Cache 3.20GHz 4.8GT/sec QPI )
Thermal Compound:Stock Standard Thermal Compound
Video & Graphics Card:Nvidia GeForce GTX 485M Graphics with 2GB GDDR5 Video Memory (add 705)
Operating System:No OS added in
Memory:6GB Triple Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1066MHz - 3 X 2GB
RAID Storage Options:Non-RAID Storage
Primary Hard Disk Drive:320GB 7200rpm SATA 300 Hard Drive
2nd Hard Disk Drive:None - Select From The Options Below
3rd Hard Disk Drive:None - Select From The Options Below
Optical Drive:8X DVD R/RW/4X DL Super-Multi Drive & Software
Wireless Network Card:Bigfoot Networks Killer? Wireless-N 1102 - 802.11A/B/G/N Wireless LAN Module (add 53)
Bluetooth:Internal Bluetooth V2.1 Module
Primary Battery:Smart Li-ION Battery Pack
Additional Power Adapter:None - Select from the options below
TV-Tuner:None - Select From The Option Below
MCE Remote Control:None - Select From The Option Below
Software:New! Microsoft Office Starter 2010 - Included in Price ** (Not included if without OS)
Razer Gaming Mouse:Razer Abyssus 3500DPI Gaming Mouse Blue
Warranty & Service:1Yr Carry In Limited Warranty
Free Gift:Carrying Bag and Anti-Virus Software
System Build Time:Normal - Please allow up to 21 business days to process - built - test and deliver your order
Also, i might change to SLI 485 gtx..  sad.gif

news for me and you !
according to LPC digital post at the notebookreview foum :
What we know at this point is this is a NEW D04 version of the motherboard, the one before is the D03. Where the dummy slot port for the HDMI IN was there is now a Express card 34 slot.

Also the bottom and the top case are also different due to the locations of the port changed on the new D04 motherboard. That's all I have at this point.
_
----------
---------
they started to ship with the new revised mobo - but we have to wait still Sager is on backorder
btw , i used core i7 970, i tot it would be better for me becuz its 32nm and also it has 6 core so it might increase my workmanship for converting and rendering programs instead of only using gmes. with 12gb ram the s1 model seems better - but i have choose 6970m Crossfire, yeah i wanted to choose gtx485m sli, but its not very good performance in heavy games, 6970m cross seems better, plus its still too expensive for only increase 7% of performance overall over 6970m cross, i think in this way i would purchase a 120 ss(currently 80) and a 990x instead of having 485m sli

Devina_8
post May 18 2011, 01:54 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ May 17 2011, 01:51 PM)
ya, i was thinking of changing my model to s1 since i going to get 485gtx sli. And the reason why i choose nvidia is that it have less incompatibility issue with games, also i heard that it is highly overclock-able. 

But too bad le, the update only include express card 34 slot and not the 54 one D:

I waited for soo long, they should consider upgrade it to at least sata 3, or quad ram, or matte screen, or erm, a HDMI port? lol
yes s1 is better becuz it has promotion as well, hmmm about the less incompatibility im not very agree with you, as i worked with 2 card before in SLI and CrossFire- well i can say both of these cardsa has their own issues, TWO GPU in a laptop basically brings a lots of issue !!! overheating, more sound and so on... but till now i can say both of these cards are scaleing in CrossFire and SLI pretty good and better than other cards but what i saw according to my own benchmakrs, however not at all the games and benchmarks ... Crossfire 6970m was perferming slightly better (in demanding games such as crysis ) more stable framerate was there, or however in other games like Mafia 2 which is known for performing good on Nvidia cards , it had more frames but in oppostie as well, starcraft gave me slightly 20 frame more than gtx485m sli in very high mode as well as Metro 2033 which i can say very straight 6970m was quiet more stable than gtx 485m sli .... well somehow gtx 485m sli has it own properties like Cuda and 3d (which is however not supported at np7280 at all so its useless to mention) but the better drivers, but i can say ati has very great drivers nowadays.
But its not that both of these cards have more issues or less than each other, what i can say based on my own view is that both of these cards have a lot of issues ! GTX485m sli normally brick to power (if u dun have second adapter ) but 6970m cross less - in full mode of corz - gtx485m sli slightly have more temperature compare to 6970m crss but its not very noticeable, BOTH suffers much from incompatibility in games ! For a clear example If you install crysis 2 , you would c no increase performance with gtx485m sli and it will cuase you a lot strutter (becuz its under 30 frame sometimes even) so it force you to turne of one of you GPU to avoid this issue, in opposite 6970m cross performs well with 50 to 60 frame rate but now own then there is chance of crashing game becuz is stopping drivers ! WELL THE TRUTH IS THIS ISSUES will solve by the time pass smile.gif
-
yes the update was exactly express card only ! - but i guess np7280 has HDMI port right? it been shipped with HDMI in before !
haha...yeah could be but actually smt like quad ram is useless ! still its upgradeable to matt screen from other resellers but matte screen is out of stock normally --sata 3 would be the best biggrin.gif or at least supporting Sandy Bridge ! we can go on np7280 with a 2600k cpu ! biggrin.gif
Devina_8
post May 18 2011, 07:56 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ May 18 2011, 02:30 PM)
haha, true true, btw, i just receive a call from sgcubehub that my unit is ready for shipping, then i ask him to requote the price of 485mgtx sli, and he quote me 1.2k.. faint. Too expensive, so i decide to take a single card first then maybe in near future i will upgrade to dual sli. Oh ya, nvidia going to release gtx560m soon. But i heard it gonna be slower than 485m.. sigh
VveeRy Good News, HopE I Can Receive mine sooN AlSo smile.gif
Yupz Yeah can be with single card and later purchase another part, yeah with additional adapter it will be around 2900RM or more i guess. sli and crossifer need additional adapter, but the mobility will get too poor ! haha (however its poor already )
Yeha should be, you can check in Notebookcheck.com that GTX560m is just an upgrade jump from GTX460m .... im not sure weather there will be any GTX580m or so on, i guess nvidia wont release their new high-end card this soon, even now the sells of 6970m and gtx 485m are not very very good compare to the rest, but however even though they release , we will update smile.gif GTX485m single is still prrety good, you can get around 30 to 35 frame rate at very high settings in crysis 2, exceptions would be crysis and metro 2033 ONLY !
Devina_8
post May 19 2011, 02:44 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ May 19 2011, 02:31 AM)
Quote from notebookreview.com

Below is the slightly changed front of the new NP7280...

The NEW one...
The OLDER one...
seems the slight changes are good however ! good for us anyway ! haha
sager (main website) has removed the backorder status removed which means all the orders would be start to be in build process and shippment phase ! i hope i recieve it faster , how is the taste of gaming with crossfire and core i7 970 and 12gb ram ! should be sooo nice biggrin.gif and also as well with having ssd and great multitasking smile.gif this is my favorite laptop ever
Devina_8
post May 19 2011, 03:44 PM

19 posts

yess ! i didnt notice it when i was looking at the picture ! but shouldnt be issue since if we are working with that slot we might use mostly mouse (or the issue appears while using mouse pad) but lets c, we have not receive it yet to try it out ! mabey it design good actually ! no idea till receive it biggrin.gif

0.0363sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:31 PM