Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V9, save RM200 from 16 February - 31 March !

Something Else
post Mar 17 2011, 07:20 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Mar 17 2011, 06:27 PM)
many here (not limited to unifi) are experiencing some degree of browsing crawl... perhaps indeed japan quake has affected us...

so far i myself have not experience any laggingness or crawl...

Added on March 17, 2011, 6:35 pm

download cap... what download cap... i know not the term download cap... what i know is unlimited downloads...

should tm proceed with this stupid/backdated/zaman tok kaduk/idiotic idea ... then i suggest we bombard SKMM with thousands of complaint emails...on daily basis... or better hourly...

in fact no single telco in malaysia should impose download/usage cap... they are only concern about making more profit instead of improving the services and access/connectivity... i still cant use any 3g/4g broadband services when i'm at my kampung...
In actual fact, not imposing dl cap is the backdated/zaman tok kaduk idea. All developed countries, ie. US, UK, Australia, Singapore all have caps on their connections. This is to ensure that the bandwidth is fairly distributed to the customers based on how much they pay for the service. Otherwise you will have a small minority hogging the majority of the bandwidth.

Of course, in Malaysia we do pay alot more compared to overseas, but thats an argument for another time.
Something Else
post Mar 18 2011, 09:03 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Mar 18 2011, 02:42 PM)
Yes is true in malaysia our provider pay a lot more in term of bandwidth exchange... but giving excuses for the apparent lack of local content should not be translated as cost (and transferred to customer)...

Historically, when internet connectivity first arrive, ISP charge customers with metered usage and when technology became more advanced, ISP start promoting the 'unlimited' usage... and now with all the streaming content made possible (along with more devices able to connect to internet) the ISP want to revert back to metered use but with different term (they call it multi-tiered pricing structure)... that is why this method is backdated...
I rest my case... rclxms.gif

Many user oriented ISP opted to use traffic management (esp on heavy p2p traffic) instead of bandwidth capping...
Well, I don't want to get into an argument regarding capping and traffic management now. We all want unlimited bandwidth at unlimited speed. However, this would be impossible, especially looking at the network infrastructure we have here in Malaysia.

My point is, no matter what, there will always be people dissatisfied with the service. Even using traffic management, the heavy downloaders will complain because they get throttled at certain times.

I don't like TM. I hate their monopoly on Malaysia's network. But I won't let that bias my judgement of how things can be done, or how it should be done.

We cannot just expect everything to fall into place nicely for us. Even if I give you a 100Mb/s line, I'm sure there will be some people complaining.

And yes, we are worst off than south africa apparently
Something Else
post Mar 30 2011, 06:48 PM

114 posts

What ip addresses do you all get? I can't seem to get my ip to change no matter what i do
Something Else
post Mar 30 2011, 07:28 PM

114 posts

Just installed my unifi, and my download speed is pathetic. Tried everything, restarting modem..different computers, different speedtests. Still the same. The installers couldn't figure out the problem either and said that it was TM's problem or something like that.

On a positive note, I notice that my torrents pick up speed ALOT faster compared to when I was using streamyx. Although my current speed is the same as my old streamyx lol.

Something Else
post Mar 30 2011, 07:53 PM

114 posts

location?

ss24, near kelana jaya

This post has been edited by Something Else: Mar 30 2011, 07:54 PM
Something Else
post Mar 30 2011, 11:45 PM

114 posts

mine is 0.8 now. Wtf, i've never gone above 2.2mb/s since i had my unifi installed, which admittedly, is today
Something Else
post Mar 31 2011, 12:09 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Mar 31 2011, 12:02 AM)
I'm going to see if this problem remains. If it does, I'll call them tomorrow. If it happens the 2nd time, I'm going to report it here http://aduan.skmm.gov.my/
Same here
Something Else
post Mar 31 2011, 01:01 AM

114 posts

For me its like this

5pm( unifi finished installing), 2mb dl, 5mb upload
830pm, 1.4mb dl, 5mb upload
1230am, 0.8mb dl, 4mb upload

my old streamyx 1mb was 1.5 mb constant =(
Something Else
post Mar 31 2011, 01:10 AM

114 posts

Is this issue caused by too many users and not enough bandwidth? I think i read somewhere that tm is in the process of migrating/upgrading their servers.

What a bad time for me to subscribe if thats the case
Something Else
post Mar 31 2011, 01:20 AM

114 posts

Well considering that BIZ20 costs RM899 a month, thats the least he can expect
Something Else
post Mar 31 2011, 07:31 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Mar 31 2011, 05:58 AM)
For all vip5 users here when u say u r getting 0.8-1.5 mb of dl, u mean to say it's Mbps or mb/s. If it's Mbps I need to divide by 8 right to get the dl speed?
Look at the speedtest pictures dude, its Mbps. MBps is Megabytes per sec, is the one u need to divide by 8

Btw, finally reached 5mbps. Looks like theres traffic congestion during evening till night - roughly till 3am

This post has been edited by Something Else: Mar 31 2011, 07:32 AM
Something Else
post Apr 1 2011, 12:25 AM

114 posts

i;ve noticed that the trend is evening till night - slow speeds. Around 3am till afternoon = normal max speed.

Either its because of the rise of number of users during peak hours, or tm doesnt have enough bandwidth and thus they hard throttle the speed during peak hours
Something Else
post Apr 1 2011, 09:14 PM

114 posts

I seem to be able to get 5Mb/s tonight. Yay?
Something Else
post Apr 2 2011, 12:47 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Apr 2 2011, 09:29 AM)
who's around ss24 area? what's the speed yesterday night. i dindt get to test as i went out
Me, I'm was getting full speed last night till now. Fingers crossed that it stays that way

0.0764sec    0.19    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:45 AM