Portable Players Cube C30 mp3 music player FAN CLUB, Powerful and affordable? BBE ROCKS !!!!!

wongpeter
post Feb 15 2011, 05:30 PM

973 posts

Rave reviews of the CUBE C30 courtesy of Indonesian audiophiles:

Audiophile Indonesia <<<--- thumbup.gif
wongpeter
post Feb 15 2011, 06:32 PM

973 posts

http://translate.google.com/translate?u=ht...en&hl=&ie=UTF-8

I can't make heads nor tails of the translation. If someone can read Chinese it would be great if he can confirm if the Cube F1 IEM is using Sennheiser HD600 drivers. I read it somewhere and then lost track of that part.

Cube F1 IEM

U.S. BBE + letter + United States-United States SIGMATEL, came to China to help CUBE sound artifact <br /> C30 achievements BBE sound engineers, now the United States --- the world of high quality HIFI leading technology company's U.S. Maxim Engineer - Analog Devices, the world's largest Company USA SIGMATEL Engineer - Freescale's technology company, has the king of sound RIO (Diamond) Brand

BBE sound artifact +209 +130 mW per biological diaphragm headphones Sennheiser HD600 Direct Push legendary sound quality for half a century = 299 yuan / 4G trial now price of only 149 yuan, you can get CUBE C30 opportunity to test sound quality artifact

C30 description:
BBE high-quality sound reduction system, and created a unique C30 CUBE sound artifact. By Michael? Jackson, Madonna and other superstars top HIFI techniques used to break the sound concept, and create a new more realistic so that the new non-destructive sense of hearing. From 1990 King of AIWA Walkman adding BBE high-quality system, the most professional 2002 MP3 manufacturers IAUDIO by BBE, many decades, BBE sound artifacts have the utmost support. CUBE C30 reduction by adding BBE high-quality system, and sent the value of measuring biological diaphragm 209 HIFI listening ear headphones F1, embedded Maxim MAX9722 headphone amplifier (stereo headphone amplifiers), up to 130mW output, to better promote HIFI headphones, creating the legendary peak of pure-tone sound quality MP3! Direct support for WAV lossless audio playback, Speech / TTS / book / recording / AB repeat study. Zinc magnesium alloy roll cage designed to allow high-quality sound with the top luxury craft the perfect integration of player history to create a miracle! Amazing bionic submarine design, Aegean blue metallic gray powder Valentine 3-color options.

Half a century, the United States BBE company, are a sign of high quality HIFI

Specific video interview from PCONLINE
http://audio.pconline.com.cn/pingce/mp3/0912/1980115.html

BBE technology stands BBE Sonic Maximizer, the promoter of this technology is the same name as the BBE company and the origins of BBE's also quite legendary. Back in 1961, BBE's predecessor Barcus-Berry Inc has been established, to 1985, BBE Sound Company (Barcus-Berry Electronics) was established, it establishes a better offer for the various fields of professional audio services to locate, followed by BBE Sound company has acquired a Barcus-Berry Inc and G & L Guitar (by Fender's founder, the legendary instrument maker master Leo Fender and the system of musician George Fullerton, Co-founder), which all the BBE resources into together. BBE Sound's M & A and the core team-building is not a traditional technology companies like "the technical staff get together up", but the technology and the actual music in close contact: in addition to a G & L brand, BBE Sound company's many employees themselves considerable level of player; Chairman John C. Mclaren has served as a Yamaha, CBS music department director or chairman, and he himself was a good pianist; the company's vice president of technology Paul Gagon not only experts in audio technology or a very talented musicians ... ... and so on to the professional qualifications of musicians and performers, along with professional and strong R & D strength, which forms the style of BBE Sound sound system: professional, rigorous, true and practical. And the final, BBE technology has become the most professional fields mainstream and the best audio processing technology solutions.

BBE is a sign of high quality --- AIWA IAUDIO many high-quality products, provided by the tuning BBE

Cool sound artifact than C30, from the BBE senior engineers carefully tuning adjustments, mathematical calculations, BBE's strengths, and by the human ear, and the tuner, allowing a more beautiful sound. Cool artifact than the C30 BBE host by BBE sent a senior engineer: TAKEO KUDO (Kubo husband)

The figure on the left for the Chinese representative: CUBE Peng working right product manager on behalf of a senior engineer for the BBE: TAKEO KUDO (Kubo husband) photo

C30 tuning process

Lossless music you hear is the combined result of repeated damage, the new BBE high-quality technology to enhance the non-destructive playback, a high-quality basis. BBE sound system to correct the harmonic losses caused by the delay and makes the sound more into clear and transparent, is not a simple balance control, but to improve the sound clarity, improve voice intelligibility level.

Why lossless music, is lossy. Such as FLAC / APE formats, such as music, the singer sounds from the beginning to the moment, after the microphone collection, the emergence of the first loss of the sound, the microphone by the music recording equipment recorded to memory, this is the analog to digital conversion, this is the second loss, to get the CD from your files, or APE / FLAC file later, through the audio signal may have experienced tens to hundreds of e- components, and these electronic components, especially capacitors and inductors features with speakers, the audio signal will cause the occurrence of small phase shift, this shift will usually be more high-frequency signals to reach our ears later, and since people ear's auditory characteristics, and feel the music has become more ambiguous uncertainty, and can not be that accurate to the person at the scene to locate the instrument, so will the third, fourth loss. lossless music you hear, is not destructive , is a very comprehensive loss many times. He has not become the basis of high quality

The BBE technology for audio signals will be offset to compensate for this part, therefore, sound, BBE treated with music, more clearly. This is the world's numerous studio, superstar, top record companies use the BBE sound reduction technology because of high
wongpeter
post Feb 15 2011, 06:43 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Feb 15 2011, 06:34 PM)
*giggles* nice pictures they use. Hahaha.
PS: I think they're just saying that the Cube C30 has no problem of directly driving the HD600. smile.gif Nothing to do with drivers or what not. Stomach ache now, just took a glance through the article. tongue.gif Brb.
PS2: Seriously, just stomachache, I'm not going off elsewhere to do anything else because of the pictures.. >_>
yes that gal they use in the C30 advert is really cute! tongue.gif

oh ok. that prolly means the HD600 is not easily driven by wimpish mp3 players. it would need POWERFUL dap like the C30 to drive it! LOL
wongpeter
post Feb 15 2011, 08:58 PM

973 posts

I don't think perfection can be found even in a RM2K dap what more a RM200 one? Individual preferences in SQ is highly subjective. I've known gourmets who have such a higly developed sense of taste that they can tell you what were the ingredients that went into the dish but that doesn't mean they enjoy their foie gras more than I relish my hokkien mee. biggrin.gif
wongpeter
post Feb 15 2011, 10:41 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Feb 15 2011, 10:18 PM)
Also to clear things up, SQ wise the two are on par. I simply choose C30 because its has BBE.
Not owning a gumstick I am curious if the EQ settings on it is as interesting as the BBE on the C30?
wongpeter
post Feb 15 2011, 11:56 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Feb 15 2011, 11:48 PM)
ok lol... I got a question... shy to ask

what is BBE anyway XD
what does it do?
its from google translation so its not very good. if you can read Chinese go to the link provided a few postings ago. its some kinda sound technology like dolby... thx ... equalization ...etc

BBE technology stands BBE Sonic Maximizer, the promoter of this technology is the same name as the BBE company and the origins of BBE's also quite legendary. Back in 1961, BBE's predecessor Barcus-Berry Inc has been established, to 1985, BBE Sound Company (Barcus-Berry Electronics) was established, it establishes a better offer for the various fields of professional audio services to locate, followed by BBE Sound company has acquired a Barcus-Berry Inc and G & L Guitar (by Fender's founder, the legendary instrument maker master Leo Fender and the system of musician George Fullerton, Co-founder), which all the BBE resources into together. BBE Sound's M & A and the core team-building is not a traditional technology companies like "the technical staff get together up", but the technology and the actual music in close contact: in addition to a G & L brand, BBE Sound company's many employees themselves considerable level of player; Chairman John C. Mclaren has served as a Yamaha, CBS music department director or chairman, and he himself was a good pianist; the company's vice president of technology Paul Gagon not only experts in audio technology or a very talented musicians ... ... and so on to the professional qualifications of musicians and performers, along with professional and strong R & D strength, which forms the style of BBE Sound sound system: professional, rigorous, true and practical. And the final, BBE technology has become the most professional fields mainstream and the best audio processing technology solutions.

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Feb 15 2011, 11:57 PM
wongpeter
post Feb 16 2011, 09:27 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Feb 16 2011, 02:21 AM)
EQ on Gumstick is pretty basic. You get the typical rock /pop / etc kind of EQ and a simple User EQ, that's all.
thanks for the info.

Whether it is a purist, audiophile or even a layman like me, we can't get away from the use of electronics in the production and reproduction of sounds and music. A purist might say he wants sound as close as possible to the real thing but given the current situation and the state of the technology is in at the present point in time, a large number of musical instruments are no longer purely acoustic. Electronics features in all stages of the production/reproduction from the performance right up to the finished product that is the CD. And with electronics who is to say what is a pure sound produced from a musical instrument or something that is has been electronically sampled. Which is why I am fascinated with this BBE thingy. It is all about the 'good' sound as perceived by the individual with the help of the electronics. I for one am not so obsessed with the 'pure' sound. With the BBE I can maybe say it's not just the 'good' sound but rather the 'fun' sound. I find it highly 'musical'.

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Feb 16 2011, 09:35 AM
wongpeter
post Mar 10 2011, 07:23 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Mar 10 2011, 07:06 PM)
Hmmm...I tried to max the C30 out and found that beyond 20, the volume lowers immediately. Didn't expect that.  tongue.gif
Nope, I have BBE on and have pushed it to beyond 25 without the volume lowering by itself. Could be you have tweaked some setting on the C30.
wongpeter
post Mar 10 2011, 09:28 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(silver69 @ Mar 10 2011, 09:24 PM)
can this thing play flac?? why my flac put in can't read?? plus can this thing view chinese song title?? coz i wasn't sure which cause all my cai qin collection to skip all instead of playing it...sifu plz help~
It can play flacs but not 96khz/24bit flacs. I can't read Chinese so no comment. Is your Cai Qin 96khz/24bit flacs?
wongpeter
post Mar 11 2011, 12:00 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(Agnaem @ Mar 11 2011, 02:59 AM)

Looks like we got another BBE addict and a fan of the Cube C30! rclxm9.gif
wongpeter
post Mar 11 2011, 08:06 PM

973 posts

This bickering shows how ppl are just so passionate about BBE! tongue.gif
1st time I heard it ....for a moment I thought the C30 was a RM3000 Hifiman HM-801 in disguise! laugh.gif hahaha
wongpeter
post Mar 11 2011, 09:12 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(MrJinggles @ Mar 11 2011, 08:30 PM)
That's a very bold statement depending on how you look at it. blush.gif
I'm already thinking of getting a C30 just to see how it really measures up to the HM-801 biggrin.gif
That was just a tongue in cheek statement. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Mar 11 2011, 09:16 PM
wongpeter
post Mar 11 2011, 09:42 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Mar 11 2011, 09:28 PM)
The difference I can detect between the C30 and HM-601 is the instrument details, placement of vocals and instruments and sound stage.

Differentiating IEMs/headphones is a while lot easier, differentiating DAPs is tough for a newbie like me.  sweat.gif
Do you mean the separation ie the ability to differentiate the different musical instruments and as such the clarity? As for the soundstage all I am able to tell (from my limited exposure to high end stuff) at this point in time is the depth ie the perception of my distance to the performers/instruments and not so much the breadth that is the width of the performers/instruments from left to right. Limited depth gives me the impression of an undesirable 'flat sound'. When the depth increases significantly I find the music to be more 'airy' ie more space between the instruments. I am looking to experience the breadth of the soundstage which I have not experienced as yet.

My experience of BBE is that it seems to be 'immersive' ie I am in the midst of the performers/instruments which I find to be pleasant and desirable.
wongpeter
post Mar 12 2011, 02:15 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Mar 12 2011, 12:15 PM)
just got my unit on hand this morning... rclxm9.gif

seems like there is quite a few present EQ in C30..
do you know which one is the most suitable for overall performance?
i changed around but can't really feel the different using those sample files in C30..
if you changed the presets around and didn't notice much difference then probabaly you are using the EQ presets like Rock, Pop, Classical, Jazz etc.

try the BBE presets esp these two -> Viva and MP

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Mar 12 2011, 02:15 PM
wongpeter
post Mar 12 2011, 03:55 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(MrJinggles @ Mar 11 2011, 10:13 PM)

If you're referring to the preset EQ called BBE then yes, I agree that when turned on, my songs feel more immersive.

Edit: That definition of soundstage was quoted from somewhere.. Can't remember where laugh.gif
ooh i think i stumbled onto something about the BBE. Initially when I got hold of the C30 I was amazed and fascinated by the BBE and so at every opportunity I would try out the different BBE settings. Then I noticed there were times and with certain songs when the BBE menu 'disappeared' leaving me with the Normal, Rock, Pop etc choices or even more infuriating 'Disable BBE'. I thought maybe it was a bug or firmware issues or even a glitch and so I would do a reset but no joy. After awhile I resigned myself to the fact that this may be a quirk of the C30 and hey! for less than 200 bucks what was I expecting anyway, perfection? So I went along happily playing my songs and for the times the BBE menu disappeared, well it troubled me less and less cos I was more than satisfied with the SQ I got for the money I paid.

And then EUREKA! In my constant googling I came across something about BBE that seems to explain the missing BBE menu as well as the raison d'ĂȘtre for BBE. Here it is:

.....Barcus-Berry Electronics (BBE) sonic restoration. Increasingly important with the prevalence of compressed audio formats, BBE attempts to restore the dynamics and clarity found in sources that are less compressed.

It may be that with lossless formats like FLACS there is no reason for the BBE to kick in and restore the dynamics and clarity since it is NOT compressed which is why the BBE menu on the C30 'disappears'. BBE would work with lossy formats like mp3's in restoring the dynamics and clarity. Another point I noted (I may be in conspiracy theory mode here tongue.gif ) is that Barcus Berry Electronics was started by a violinist and an electronics wiz, that is a musician and a techie. Most of you who listens to music do so in the persona of an audience that is you are sitting 30 or more feet away from the stage where the orchestra plays or some distance away from where the band performs. As an audience listening in on the performance of the artist/s is a totally different feel if you are the performer up on the stage with your peers playting the music. The sound has to be different for the performer and the spectator. Could the founders of BBE have been working to recreate an immersive feel to the music... so you would be right up there in the midst of the musicians and not be distanced from the music as in audience - artists. It seems that in later years BBE was undergoing constant development by notable electric guitar players so it has always been something with a lot of input in its development from musicians. Fascinating what with info on BBE being really scarce and hard to come by even on the internet. biggrin.gif

So can some of you corroborate that the BBE choices menu goes missing when playing lossless formats like FLAC and WAV? maybe even APE....

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Mar 12 2011, 04:11 PM
wongpeter
post Mar 12 2011, 08:35 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(beederbest @ Mar 12 2011, 04:29 PM)
pretty impressive information u have found.  brows.gif

when i read through the "less compressed" part, I was like  rclxub.gif , I guess it's really a typo there.
sry I read that 'less compressed' part incorrectly. It was not a typo so I have corrected my error. It just means that the BBE is for improving the SQ specifically the dynamics and clarity of the (more compressed) music (meaning low bitrate mp3's) to the SQ level of 'less compressed' sources (meaning high bit rate mp3's). Since lossless is uncompressed you don't get to tweak the sound with BBE. Thats cool cos BBE does not allow for the colouration of 'good sound' from 'good sources' like lossless formats. thumbup.gif
wongpeter
post Mar 12 2011, 11:48 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(beederbest @ Mar 12 2011, 08:59 PM)
Now i understand. I mean for crappy mp3 format songs, the BBE will try to restore the sound so that it mimics the quality of those in less compressed format, like FLAC.  nod.gif
exactly and they used a very nice term for it.... sonic restoration!
wongpeter
post Mar 29 2011, 12:23 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(limyc77 @ Mar 29 2011, 05:15 AM)
trying to flash my c30 with hippo firmware... 7.0020.. anyone tried?
Spectacular cos you will be getting Class-A amp performance(pseudo maybe?) on the C30 together with BBE!

If it fails and you brick the C30 you can always buy another Gumstick/C30. tongue.gif
wongpeter
post Mar 30 2011, 10:47 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(windboy @ Feb 15 2011, 02:53 PM)
may i know where is your reference for the quotes?
GUmstick has much pushing power compare with Cube C30, which i would say is comparable.

sounding wise? i dont really find any relevant and accurate comparison at all.
Do you own both the gumstick and the c30? What is this 'pushing power' you are referring to? Do you mean the volume is louder so that means the 'pushing power' is greater ?

"i dont really find any relevant and accurate comparison at all."
- Do you mean there isn't any significant difference between the two or are you trying to say you don't really know what it is you are saying in the 1st place? Which is it?

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Mar 30 2011, 10:49 PM
wongpeter
post Mar 31 2011, 01:34 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Mar 31 2011, 01:14 AM)
Gumstick on older firmware can output higher volume. On the newer firmware, it is actually about the same as C30. The volume on both Gumstick and C30 on newer firmware are lowered to minimize distortion, acrounding to Cube.
Thanks for the clearing the air on that.

0.0252sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:25 PM