http://www.mmo-champion.com/content/

Business Week of WOW

http://wow.joystiq.com/

Wikipedia of WOW

http://www.wowpedia.org/Portal:Main

http://www.wowwiki.com/Portal:Main

Recruit a Friend FAQ

http://us.blizzard.com/support/article.xml...articleId=20588

Recruit a Friend Registration (US/Taiwan)

http://www.wowwiki.com/Recruit-A-Friend

Article Excerpt from US.battle.net for newbie.

http://us.battle.net/wow/en/search?k=New%2...0Tips&f=article

Article Excerpt from Wowinsider for newbie.

http://wow.joystiq.com/rookie

Key Binding Guide for wow.

Keybindings Guide By love2playwow - World of Warcraft Movies

To do:

Link to Intermediate guide on various topic, such as pvp and pve.

This post has been edited by hidden830726: May 28 2011, 10:11 PM
alexision
post Feb 14 2011, 05:15 AM

89 posts

awesome :>

request for sticky :>
Ojimaru
post Feb 14 2011, 09:08 AM

561 posts

Um, in case you didn't know, WoWWiki is dead. All the major contributors have moved to WoWPedia
TShidden830726
post Feb 14 2011, 09:14 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Feb 14 2011, 09:08 AM)
Um, in case you didn't know, WoWWiki is dead. All the major contributors have moved to WoWPedia
Im aware of that. Thats why i put wowpedia together with wowwiki

Pls help me check anything else that i miss, which is essential for a newbie.

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Feb 14 2011, 09:15 AM
kEazYc
post Feb 14 2011, 10:54 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Feb 14 2011, 09:08 AM)
They do still update, but not as constant as before.
TShidden830726
post Feb 17 2011, 06:43 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

Edit to main post the followings:

Choosing_a_class (wowwiki)

http://www.wowwiki.com/Choosing_a_class

Profession guide

http://www.worldofwarcraft.com/info/professions/index.html

http://www.wowwiki.com/Profession

Recruit a Friend FAQ

http://us.blizzard.com/support/article.xml...articleId=20588

Recruit a Friend Registration (US/Taiwan)

http://www.wowwiki.com/Recruit-A-Friend

Article Excerpt from Wowinsider for newbie.

http://wow.joystiq.com/rookie

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Feb 17 2011, 06:48 AM
Ojimaru
post Feb 17 2011, 09:02 AM

561 posts

It can get buried now and again, so I'd suggest adding Blizzard's New Player Tips series of articles

TShidden830726
post Feb 17 2011, 11:44 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

Edit with the followings:

Profession leveling guide

http://www.wow-professions.com

Article Excerpt from US.battle.net for newbie.

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Feb 17 2011, 11:47 AM
Chobits
post Apr 10 2011, 12:27 PM

Cutest piece of technology on the planet
721 posts

chii want to play but.....so many new things to learn and READ !! *headache*
TShidden830726
post Apr 10 2011, 12:31 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(Chobits @ Apr 10 2011, 12:27 PM)
chii want to play but.....so many new things to learn and READ !! *headache*
Try and error is one way to learn too.

U dont have to read all before hand, just glance through, and start your journey, whenever u feel like u need some info on certain topic, there's when u do some reading to grasp a better understanding.

Chobits
post Apr 10 2011, 01:09 PM

721 posts

ok. i've been playing the trial for a week liao. but only can play 2h daily due to work. from wat i can see, i like. plan to invest time & play.

still can't decide which server should play in. looking for online friends to play with. any takers for a newbie into their server ?
TShidden830726
post Apr 10 2011, 01:14 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(Chobits @ Apr 10 2011, 01:09 PM)
ok. i've been playing the trial for a week liao. but only can play 2h daily due to work. from wat i can see, i like. plan to invest time & play.

still can't decide which server should play in. looking for online friends to play with. any takers for a newbie into their server ?
Depends on whether u are playing wowUS or wowTaiwan. if wowtaiwan, check out the link at my signature and join us at WOW Taiwan - 憤怒使者
Chobits
post Apr 10 2011, 01:32 PM

721 posts

Read the TLDR...wow tw seems to sound better, with much lower latency issues.
as the trial i played, even with the delay in attacking. WOW still feels godly fun to play.

wowTW, disadvantage will be chii can't communicate in chinese, but nice in latency !!

now i got the english client ready, if i changed the settings like in the TLDR guide & register at the wowTW for trial, i can play the Cata version of WOW in wowtw ?
TShidden830726
post Apr 10 2011, 01:38 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(Chobits @ Apr 10 2011, 01:32 PM)
Read the TLDR...wow tw seems to sound better, with much lower latency issues.
as the trial i played, even with the delay in attacking. WOW still feels godly fun to play.

wowTW, disadvantage will be chii can't communicate in chinese, but nice in latency !!

now i got the english client ready, if i changed the settings like in the TLDR guide & register at the wowTW for trial, i can play the Cata version of WOW in wowtw ?
Yes. Give it a try. And post any prob u facing at that thread, if there's any.

Cheers

Sky.Live
post Apr 10 2011, 07:21 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

There's no problem of trial and error right? Just adding my talent for fun now.. can reset anytime i want right?
TheNameX
post Apr 11 2011, 08:58 AM

I'm Just Notty =P
910 posts

QUOTE(Chobits @ Apr 10 2011, 01:09 PM)

As a person who only started 5 months in WoW, what I can advise you is that, even if you read all of them, you still need to trial and error to fully understand WoW. It takes years for you to fully know everything in WoW. But do not fret by vast amount of content that WoW has to offer to you, WoW as a whole is pretty newbie-friendly. I'm into my 6th month now in WoW and now I'm raiding as main tank for my group.

There's a few things when considering which server to pick,

1. Environment like communications and friends
2. Guildies <- If you want to enjoy the end game content (like killing Lich King in the previous expansion) you seriously need to join a guild that will do so. Solo playing wont bring you there nor that 2 or 3 friends can do. That's where the guild come from, end game content progression (aka raiding) is either a 10man or 25man instance which offer the end game content in the WoW's PvE section. When I first play WoW, I care little but soon once I know what WoW could offer, seeing the end game content has become my motivation to learn more about my class and each boss fight since I dont really into PvP. A guild that has the will to progress and the resources (as in active PvE players) to progress is utmost important in this fight.
3. Latency, latency has fall lowest in my priority nowadays because in Malaysia, it doesnt really matter which realm you are going because our broadband SUX. From what I heard, connection to WoWtaiwan also suffer now because of our almighty TmNUT claim that the "underwater cable" gone case again. Latency can be solved by using tunneling service by paying a small sum of amount monthly. So, if money can solve the problem it aint really an issue to me.

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 10 2011, 07:21 PM)
There's no problem of trial and error right? Just adding my talent for fun now.. can reset anytime i want right?
Yes. You can reset the talent at any of your class trainers by paying some golds. If you are new to the game and wish to save your golds (every gold is important to newbie unless you have a sugar daddy with gazillions gold to support you) I suggest you visit EJ and follow their talent allocation. Be warned, read only their article but do not post as EJ is the acclaimed Elitist website and they do not tolerate newbie and does not offer any new players tips and guides. The only not newbie friendly WoW website on earth atm LOL However, majority of the players will read this website due to what they optimize everything.
TShidden830726
post Apr 11 2011, 09:08 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

While I agree with u on most of the reply. Just one thing I wish to point out.

Wow taiwan is back to normal now. Consistently 100 ms before tunnel/vpn and below 100 with it

Cheers

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Apr 11 2011, 09:13 AM
TShidden830726
post May 28 2011, 10:11 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

Add on:

Key Binding Guide for wow.

Keybindings Guide By love2playwow - World of Warcraft Movies

0.0207sec    0.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled