10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Technical PS3 Yellow Light of Death Discussion Thread, PS3 YLOD Discussion Thread

TScloudstrifes
post Feb 15 2011, 03:22 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(raffie092 @ Feb 15 2011, 10:36 AM)
yes,but i think here in malaysia,the wii is less popular...bcos it's so hard to buy wii games here.not many choices sweat.gif
hmm i think it is quite easy 2 get wii games i saw quite a lot places selling wii games, of coz not original... XD
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 15 2011, 04:49 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Feb 15 2011, 03:26 PM)
just buy another one lah, problem solved.
money bro money... ^^
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 15 2011, 07:21 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Feb 15 2011, 05:43 PM)
that and remember to buy official Sony Malaysia product. sure extra hundred , but really saves the hassle in the long run.
QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Feb 15 2011, 05:49 PM)
Totally agree.. rclxms.gif
bro Sony Malaysia yeah extra hundred with 1 year warranty. I juz asked the price at The Garden Sony, they said Rm1299 1 year under SONY Warranty, and I asked other third party shops, u noe wat they say? Sony Singapore warranty 1 year + 1 game... U say which more worth?
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 15 2011, 08:51 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Feb 15 2011, 07:37 PM)
good. later when you have ANY problem regarding your PS3 ask that extra game to repair it for you nod.gif

people are saying Sony to be cheap in their worksmanship, can't really blame them since we too have the same  cheap mentality.
yeah true Sony can repair it back 2 u, and it will return u as a refurbish set and of coz i did research bout it, coz of this i think of getting an original set from sony, but I found out that the refurbish set gave back 2 u will occur YLOD again... so up 2 u, u 1 2 pick back to Sony or not, and also the thing i mention is also under Sony warranty, but is under Singapore Sony not Sony Malaysia end up is the same... ^^

QUOTE(david_lck @ Feb 15 2011, 08:10 PM)
YLOD = Yellow Lights of Death aka Young, Lifeless and on its Deathbed

Let your cries be heard, don't suffer alone. Join us!
LOL~

QUOTE(Nawar @ Feb 15 2011, 08:28 PM)
warranty issue is covered on all failures of the ps 3..

Most ylod happens after warranty period is over... Ylod does not choose slim/phat models to stike.. its about overheating issue.. and once your gpu solder has crack.. thats it...
yeah exactly tats y even u take Sony Malaysia still doesnt help much... u juz pay extra and then u take back to Sony they will charge u extra for services.

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Feb 15 2011, 08:35 PM)
bro, what they forget to mention is for SG set u have to pay for the 'extra trip' expenses...and nowadays sony's ps3 warranty is 1 year + 3 month.
ok lar, let say get it from Impulse shop that r famous in lowyat, u can get around 1000 to get a new set from Singapore Sony, and lets say lar they charge u Rm200 for transport fee lar, juz assume lar. also cheaper than u get it from Sony Malaysia lar rite?

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Feb 15 2011, 08:37 PM)
thats true. but YLOD is a general hardware failure, not exclusively to cracking of the BGA only. Thats why Sony covers it in the first place. After their technicians open up the PS3 then only they will know what actually happened. Buy saying that, its like 80% of YLOD issues are likely to be caused by the BGA.
hmm true...
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 15 2011, 09:13 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Feb 15 2011, 09:06 PM)
good to know you did your research, but  the refurbished issue occcours in US only. When I was working in Singapore, a friend of mine turned his broken PS3, only to be offered by Sony Singapore a new PS3 Slim, half the price. So does Hong Kong. But I am afraid what is the process here in Malaysia. Never encountered people with YLOD PS3 here personally. Any experience here?
i always regret that i didn't do much research... spend more money and bought the wrong stuff and dunno much bout YLOD. Starting i thought it only happened to those early machine, but only found out it happened to all kind of ps3. I not sure bout Malaysia, anyway at Singapore still nid 2 pay half price? My fren bought PS3 at Sony, but his problem is not YLOD is bricked the firmware... =_='''
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 15 2011, 11:56 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Feb 15 2011, 10:33 PM)
You guys think the YLOD/RLOD issue will affect the PS3 slim versions today? getting scared now ):
yes it will there is a poll showing some of the ppl affect YLOD on slims

QUOTE(kyaz87 @ Feb 15 2011, 10:57 PM)
there is already...but quite rare ohmy.gif
some unlucky guy here already got the symptoms with his slim console...luckily his item is under warranty, so he went to sony and fix it
hu's tat?

QUOTE(eone @ Feb 15 2011, 11:51 PM)
I had my fat one YLODed and 360 3RODed, and now using slim and jasper. As for my advice, when your 360 or ps3's warranty nearly over, backup your stuff and sell it and get a brand new one.
wow... LOL~ quite a good idea, but nid 2 pay extra lar...

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Feb 15 2011, 11:53 PM)
wooww...best idea i heard so far smile.gif
lol~ quite true... XD
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 16 2011, 12:46 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(sprix @ Feb 16 2011, 09:32 AM)
Trust me.. u have to put a huge effort to make this big.. as over 5 years.. why YLOD committee is not as big as RROD committee, that why i said previously that YLOD cases is considered as small problem to sony..

small problem = consumer lose.

diff with 3rrod.. consoles that rrod-ed, was pretty high in term of % .. so nothing can be done by m$.. they have to be or need to take this responsible for a reason: They just started console biz, so good image is a must and they will try anything possible to clear the cloud out. diff with Sony where they have been in console biz for a long time edi.
yeah i agree wit tat.... tats y i nid more ppl to help me spread this...

QUOTE(shadow_gouken @ Feb 16 2011, 10:42 AM)
Now SONY won't give a damn bout YLOD, they now more concern bout jailbreak.
QUOTE(sprix @ Feb 16 2011, 10:59 AM)
no wonder.. YLOD make them money.. while jail-breaker make them losing money..  so, its quite easy to choose..
QUOTE(shadow_gouken @ Feb 16 2011, 12:05 PM)
Not only they loose $$, they also loose face liao. The hacker able to hack till hardware level liao. SONY have no way to patch this hole.
haha quite true also...

QUOTE(werksuckz @ Feb 16 2011, 12:24 PM)
My fat PS3 still going on strong (touch wood), even after heavy usage for 3 years.

Quite biased to say that buying a PS3 = YLOD time bomb. I'm sure the percentage of YLOD occurrence is less than perfectly OK PS3s. Spreading FUD doesn't help much, I think...
tat is good news for u... too bad my fat didn't last 3 years... if to calculate exactly, it didn't reach 2 years at all...
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 17 2011, 11:13 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Feb 17 2011, 09:51 AM)
wanna survey a bit
how many of you YLOD victims, were using asia phat ps3 80GB?
as far as i know a lot were using 40gb and 60gb
mine 160GB fat also kena, so based on my research every PS3 will affected by YLOD, juz depend how u take care of it and the i guess slim will hav lesser chance to affect YLOD.

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Feb 17 2011, 10:33 AM)
Mine is a fatty @ 80GB (swapped to 500GB) and it's still working till now. The only problem I encountered thus far is:

System hang (screen freezes): 3 times (over a period of 3 years, if I'm not mistaken) which is not a major problem.
good 2 hear tat ^^
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 17 2011, 04:17 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Feb 17 2011, 12:38 PM)
QUOTE(baroness @ Feb 17 2011, 12:42 PM)
thanks for the link for more information...
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 17 2011, 08:21 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Feb 17 2011, 05:55 PM)
and if i'm not mistaken, batch related? cause they did improve their hardware , smaller die in newer batch i think
hmm, i heard that slim hav less noise due to hardware enugh cooling and less electricity consumption tats also mean less heat being generated...
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 18 2011, 12:38 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(lilko @ Feb 17 2011, 10:11 PM)
If I am Sony, I would want every PS3 to YLOD.. Then develope a new hardware... LOL.. I bet they are thinking like this silently.. XD so for those that just bought will rugi..
yeah i understand that, it is quite unethical, but profits come 1st rite, and this is the time that consumer shuld stand up and against them... if most of the consumer against it they will stop it for sure...
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 21 2011, 06:08 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(lilko @ Feb 21 2011, 11:06 AM)
actually, how many user that get ylod has ur ps3 place horizontally or vertically? if horizontally anyone here got ensure enuff space between the table or floor surface from your ps3? TS... maybe u can add in extra poll on this... a more in depth research.. lol.
hmm but too bad there is only 1 question that i can put on the poll...
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 21 2011, 11:37 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(lopak @ Feb 21 2011, 07:57 PM)
vertical or horizontal doesn't effect ylod cases.it is my 1st question when ylod cases pop up 2-3 years ago.

the right question should be how long you have a ps3 before it YLOD and how many hours you use it per day.

my answer

2year 6 month and 12hour+ per day

im very satisfied with it.the only thing i angry with it is the damn thing doesn't show any symptom it want to ylod so i can buy new ps3 to transfer my save files  laugh.gif
YLOD cause by overheating and melted the soldering inside, tats y vertical and horizontal is important to get rid the heat.

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Feb 21 2011, 08:35 PM)
bro, jgn on ps3 kau , dlm 2,3 minggu. lepas tu tro on balik, selalunya buleh, cepat 2 copy save game kau.
pasti ke?
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 23 2011, 08:08 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(davinlicious @ Feb 22 2011, 05:20 PM)
QUOTE(Nawar @ Feb 22 2011, 09:34 PM)
thats for temporary fix.. if its already struck by YLOD that wont solve the problem
exactly wat i want to say...

QUOTE(lilko @ Feb 23 2011, 03:18 AM)
Well, since its about gravity.. Maybe if you got second floor, move your console to up stair.. Or if you stay in apartment is better.. The higher you stay the better.. Because increase in altitude reduces the gravitational force right due to a point, which I dun remember the name?  Lol.. If I remember correctly la.. Din touch physic book for a long~ time..

If the theory works, at least can last you couple of months more or maybe a year more.. Unless you constantly do maintenance right after the warranty ended before it melted... If not 2 years or 3 is the max your PS3 can last.. Guess it make sense though.. Any machine needs constant maintenance..  hmm.gif
agree wat u said... now is time to send my ps3 to maintenance and of coz not reflowing is reballing...
TScloudstrifes
post Mar 4 2011, 06:09 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(izad82 @ Mar 4 2011, 02:51 PM)
can i know whats the prob with mine fat set 80gb....when i playing game mine set totally turn off also same thing when turn on back....
means ur ps3 strucked by YLOD.
TScloudstrifes
post Mar 5 2011, 01:26 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(man_hakim87 @ Mar 5 2011, 09:16 AM)
I heard that if your ps3 slim got struck by ylod, its a goner. U cant just reballed like the phat model.
izit? tat is even worst. I'm gonna do research bout it.

QUOTE(darkskies @ Mar 5 2011, 10:40 AM)
one biggest flaw abt ps3 is that the processor was soldered to the board with flux points instead of like pc where the processor is removable and replacable with a locking arm mechanism socket. This is one way to prevent upgrading to ps3's processor since it's their way to encourage users to buy more new ps3 or even buy their new console without upgrading. But of course the downside is , every now and then when u exhaust ur ps3 inside a hot enclosed environment, the chances of ylod striking ur ps3 is unavoidable. They have technicians to test the heat proof to what extend and life cycle can it goes up to. Hence that's y 1 year warranty. They could gurantee 1 yr no ylod but after that it's up to u to solve it on ur won what happen.
I understand they don't allow to change the processor, but still they should do something to fix this stupid YLOD.

QUOTE(terryfu @ Mar 5 2011, 11:12 AM)
I did not get YLOD and hope not since my PS3 warranty is going to expire soon. I support this thread and actions to promote awareness and getting Sony to have a 1 to 1 replacement (with all HDD intact) for this problem.

One thing I want to point out is that the standard console life span is between 5 - 10 years. Hence warranty should last at least 3 years or even up to 5 if possible. I think if any of the big 3 introduce this, their siales will definitely spike.
yeah exactly. even nowadays the computer hardware is adi started giving 3 years warranty, even monitor and so on.

TScloudstrifes
post Mar 6 2011, 12:02 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ Mar 5 2011, 05:14 PM)
u know la.. Sony way of doing business has always been this way.
They can gurantee perfomance quality but cannot gurantee durability.

Last time no competitor so they can still sell their brand proudly while maintainin their "style".

Now u see so many competitors crawling up on the same level as them lol.

During my secondaries, i love their earphones since it produce the best bass and tremble. But one thing, it nv last long and after a year one of the earphone malfunction and stop producing sound lol.. They do not come cheap and each pair cost at least 90SGD and i've switch through many malfunctioned earphones from sony.
i dont think they hav performance quality. 1. graphic confirm lose to PC adi, 2. some of the game still lag in some place

actually they produce normal earphones only. there is some professional earphones like sennheiser, shure and more and of coz the price will be more big differences.

QUOTE(hairi.ariff_11 @ Mar 5 2011, 06:11 PM)
hope my ps3 will don get ylod.. i just play 6 hours a week.. almost 1-2 hours everytime i play.. hope my ps3 will last for 7 years before i buy ps4
hmm i not sure bout it, but hope so lar...
TScloudstrifes
post Mar 7 2011, 06:53 PM

464 posts

yeah i understand tat since PS3 is a few years ago machines, but compare to that time PS3 graphic card is very powerful.
TScloudstrifes
post Mar 8 2011, 06:12 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(spurswong @ Mar 8 2011, 02:25 PM)
Bot my phat 80Gb about 2 wks after official Msia launch, used it as a blu-ray player then till Move. Now using it for gaming more in the last 2 months. Noticed yellow light flashing underneath the 2 USB ports but no problems with gaming or watching blu-rays. Is this YLOD or pre-YLOD?

Thks guys.
hmmm is there light at the bottom 2 USB port? i dont it is YLOD. IF Ylod happened, ur ps3 cant start at all, ylod appear at ur power button.

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Mar 8 2011, 03:50 PM)
Is that the HDD access indicator?
i thought HDD shuld be blue?
TScloudstrifes
post Mar 8 2011, 11:25 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(spurswong @ Mar 8 2011, 07:28 PM)
The flashing yellow light is definitely not at the power button, not sure what the light below the usb ports is though.

Thks very much for yr inputs, much appreciated.
then no worries ur ps3 is working fine. Anyway seriously take good care of it...

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0597sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:44 AM