About brand of bluray

TSlmks
post Jan 31 2011, 02:59 AM, updated 15y ago

13 posts

i plan to buy a blu-ray player, how about of panasonic BD45 / samsung C550 or philips 2700 series
the price are almost same is they any recommended? thx alot biggrin.gif
ronaldkwok
post Jan 31 2011, 08:37 AM

656 posts

I have the Samsung BD-C5500 and not the other two players but based on browsing the user manuals, these are the major differences for you to consider if they are important for you or not.

The Pana BD45 is only Profile 1.1 and not Profile 2.0, meaning it will not support BD-Live. To have this you need to consider the BD65.
The Philips 2700 does not decode DTS-HD MA while the other two brands do in addition to Dolby True HD. The Philips 3100 does as well.
Not sure if the Pana and Philips support NTFS formatted HDD or just FAT32 but the Samsung supports both.
Since all three models are entry level BD players, I believe the PQ and AQ will be more or less the same.
Each model will have its pros and cons but the Samsung seems to be the best value for money in my opinion. Owners of the other models may not agree but are free to comment. Check the Samsung BD-C5500 thread in this Forum for users opinion.

Check my BD Player Blog to have an idea on what the above features mean, if necessary.

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Jan 31 2011, 08:39 AM
TSlmks
post Jan 31 2011, 08:58 AM

13 posts

thx ronaldkwok because there is few of info about philips so i ask at here
avantasia
post Jan 31 2011, 09:48 AM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

Go for samsung C5500!

Great Value for entry level player
starship1
post Jan 31 2011, 03:19 PM

1,207 posts

for samsung TV use samsung BDP , for panny TV use panny BDP . PQ guarantee to look nice
TSlmks
post Jan 31 2011, 05:30 PM

13 posts

I check the spec at website surprice that samsung support the most format~~
but i have panny tv so i maybe i go for panny player
thx for all advise biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by lmks: Jan 31 2011, 05:44 PM
ronaldkwok
post Jan 31 2011, 05:53 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(starship1 @ Jan 31 2011, 03:19 PM)
for samsung TV use samsung BDP , for panny TV use panny BDP . PQ guarantee to look nice
Not necessarily so as any BD player will work with any brand of HDTV. The PQ of all the entry level BD players are more at less the same and will look good on any HDTV that is properly adjusted so your decision should depend on the features that are important for you. And user friendliness and personal preference. Getting the same brand of BD player as the TV will probably enable you to use the same remote for some of the controls, nothing more, in my view. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Jan 31 2011, 05:56 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 31 2011, 06:32 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(starship1 @ Jan 31 2011, 03:19 PM)
Ya. I also heard a Chinese will look more pretty dressed in China made cloth. And a Indian more pretty dressed in India made cloth. True ka? blush.gif

cougar richard
post Jan 31 2011, 09:21 PM

I want money
1,007 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 31 2011, 06:32 PM)
Ya. I also heard a Chinese will look more pretty dressed in China made cloth. And a Indian more pretty dressed in India made cloth. True ka?  blush.gif
sarcastic sia...lol
funny analogy...
TSlmks
post Feb 1 2011, 01:17 AM

13 posts

From the forum i found that you guys can buy a bluray player like panny 45, C5500 at rm399, but i search from few shop at kl area the price is 450-499 sad.gif,
btw if i buy panny player i use 1 remote control, but C5500 has more function smile.gif

This post has been edited by lmks: Feb 1 2011, 01:20 AM
ronaldkwok
post Feb 1 2011, 08:36 AM

656 posts

Sorry if I misled you to believe that you can just use one remote if you get a Pana BD player to work with your Pana TV. Yes, you can control basic TV functions such as on/off, volume, select input, change channel, etc. with the BD player remote but you still need the TV remote for more advanced functions. I have nothing against pana BD player but it is strange that the Pana BD45 is with the old BD Profile 1.1 while the current entry level BD player of all the other brands are with the new Profile BD 2.0 i.e. with Networking capabilities and BD-Live. If you don't need this, well and good. This RM399 price seems to pop up every now and then at different places. You can check the Samsung BD-C5500 thread for some of the shops that used to have this price.

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Feb 1 2011, 09:05 AM
TSlmks
post Feb 1 2011, 10:21 AM

13 posts

i checking now thx ronaldkwok hope can find a shop sell cheaper biggrin.gif
avantasia
post Feb 1 2011, 10:31 AM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

Lmks, hope u find at 350 ... the cheapest so far!
SUSOptiplex330
post Feb 1 2011, 12:27 PM

12,696 posts

Philips 3100 might be worth looking for picture quality if not for features.

TSlmks
post Feb 2 2011, 12:31 AM

13 posts

i get sammy c5500 rm399 today biggrin.gif, cant get 350 sad.gif
avantasia
post Feb 2 2011, 07:46 AM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

Hihih enjoy ur bdp...a few places only can get 350
TSlmks
post Feb 2 2011, 09:10 AM

13 posts

thx for the advice guys biggrin.gif
ronaldkwok
post Feb 2 2011, 09:39 AM

656 posts

Welcome to the club and please share your experience in the official Samsung BD-C5500 thread. BTW, where did you get it at RM399 as Best Denki is selling at RM499?
TSlmks
post Feb 2 2011, 01:41 PM

13 posts

i test a few cd on my player but when it loading the cd, the player have a noise quite loud and shake a bit is it normal?

and best denki selling at 499, surprised that courts selling at 399 but out of stock and i buy it at pj

Wish all of you happy chinese new Year:D

This post has been edited by lmks: Feb 2 2011, 01:42 PM

0.0166sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:56 AM