Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V13, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

mengsuan
post Feb 7 2011, 02:20 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

I'm not sure if it's my phone, the network (DiGi), or just the environment(signal strength).

When I use data connection, I often get disconnected when I just needed it. For example, I woke the phone up and refresh feeds. Feeds would either take long time or show network unavailable. Occasionally the H changes to 3G or even E. The signal bars appears to be full when it happens.

The battery drain when data connection is active is horrendous too. By just rapidly updating twitter, facebook and foursquare, I lose 27% in 2 hours.

Everything is so heavenly if I use only wifi.
mengsuan
post Feb 9 2011, 03:27 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(kengseng @ Feb 9 2011, 02:58 PM)
Hi guys... what does Speedmod BIGMEM does?? increase the ram capacity??
At the expense of 720p recording.
mengsuan
post Feb 11 2011, 07:56 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Feb 11 2011, 02:38 AM)
ARGHHH HOLY SHIT! I've scratched my screen! Heart damn pain ah.... laowei.... don't know how I manage to scratch corning gorilla glass...

Btw, wassup everybody? How are things these days? I've been quite inactive due to CNY.

And, welcome haxri, probably you can't catch up from v1, just read info on post #1 of thread v12 and v13, there should be enough for you to kick off.

Btw, here's a small update for my theme. Changed seekbar/progress bar to look like this, it is more suitable for GINGERBREAD "look" too I think.

Download:
http://www.fileserve.com/file/ezeEsBs
What is the requirement of your theme? Only DXJPY?
mengsuan
post Feb 12 2011, 08:03 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(FormalCat @ Feb 12 2011, 07:43 PM)
Hi all, I just want to share this awesome screen shot app for my UNROOTED galaxy S rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

ShootMe

It actually works!
Running on Froyo? Hold back key and press home key once. Tada! Works out of the box yo!
mengsuan
post Feb 12 2011, 10:37 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Feb 12 2011, 09:40 PM)
but the out of the box screenshot is hard to take anything other than the homescreen, cause have to press back button
Most apps does not go back or exit by holding back button.
mengsuan
post Feb 13 2011, 01:10 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Tell me which email client you all use. Preferably something which does not drain battery abruptly.
mengsuan
post Feb 13 2011, 10:29 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(hung0615 @ Feb 13 2011, 07:45 AM)
Go to Dialer and press *#1234#.
Lol. That was old question. He did not even appear at 9pm.

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Feb 13 2011, 09:39 AM)
for autofocus in video mode biggrin.gif  so it's never been mentioned here before??
Lacus, also a SGS owner has applied the firmware. Noticeable change was AF in video. I have not upgraded yet. I shall get his phone for side by side comparison.
mengsuan
post Feb 13 2011, 12:37 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Hotmail push mail configuration on Android: http://mengsuan.blogspot.com/2011/02/andro...-push-mail.html

By default, Email app polls manually for new email. Manual polling is slow and inefficient for your batteries. This guide is good for those using Hotmail and wants true push notifications. I discovered this only yesterday and I think it's worth to share. biggrin.gif
mengsuan
post Feb 13 2011, 12:44 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

I'm afraid something must be wrong to be hot, probably hardware.

Let the device cool down to normal temperature, then try again. If it couldn't turn on, you probably cannot flash it either. There could be hardware damage.
mengsuan
post Feb 13 2011, 07:23 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Feb 13 2011, 04:56 PM)
but my fren is in SG wor, i din ask him whether he can use it or not la~
marketenabler need rooted rite ?
hmm... wondering how cum he can find it without any flashing or rooting.
Your friend could have installed the .apk
mengsuan
post Feb 13 2011, 08:36 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Feb 13 2011, 07:38 PM)
Gmail is true push out of the box right?
Yes. Now Hotmail has push as well. No need for Samsung Social Hub from Samsung apps.
mengsuan
post Feb 14 2011, 07:56 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(fongkarseong @ Feb 14 2011, 12:53 AM)
Why after upgraded the camera firmware I still cannot auto focus in video recording??
I installed and restarted.

Did I miss anything??
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
The AF is done automatically as you move closer to your object or vice versa.

QUOTE(Jason @ Feb 14 2011, 01:27 AM)
anybody have the "0" process draining battery under network usage?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=877993
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...97&postcount=17

Tested with 100% stock firmware. There is nothing we can do with 0 process.
mengsuan
post Feb 16 2011, 10:04 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Feb 16 2011, 09:22 PM)
flashed. got the new lowmemorykiller tweak. i'm using autokiller(aggressive) and also enabled the tweak from recovery menu. do you think is it necessary to enable that tweak?  smile.gif
Counter-purpose.
mengsuan
post Feb 19 2011, 12:49 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

I want to flash my radio ROM. So happened that the location I reside, Damansara and Puchong, both has pretty bad HSDPA connection in building/house. If I download something huge, the data connection would drop often. Any radio ROM that you guys noticed having a more sturdy mobile connection?
mengsuan
post Feb 19 2011, 12:52 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Fornaxlife, can you upload the ZSJPE phone file?
mengsuan
post Feb 19 2011, 01:43 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Feb 19 2011, 01:05 AM)
oops mengsuan, didn't notice your post. paiseh!  laugh.gif

i can't seem to upload it here. you can download from the link above. if i'm not wrong the megaupload link(for zsjpe) is for jpd modem.
There is both ZSJPE amd ZSJPD link. You mean ZSJPD is correct link?
mengsuan
post Feb 19 2011, 09:45 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Feb 19 2011, 09:41 PM)
Thx...  notworthy.gif

I was shocked right after i press simple. So many "no". lolx.
All recovery menu confirmation page is like that. You'll see the same for factory reset biggrin.gif
mengsuan
post Feb 19 2011, 11:41 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Download then leave it. You may see improvement automatically when you try to get initial position fix.
mengsuan
post Feb 20 2011, 12:07 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

512 is typically the common PIT used for UK/Europe Froyo ROMs. 513 is only used at SEA regions like Malaysia, where system partition is largest. 803 was once used for JM8/9.

Odin version is much like personal preference. Some has better experience with Odin 1.3, some Odin 1.7. I have both, and I use both according to my mood. tongue.gif
mengsuan
post Feb 20 2011, 06:20 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

By any chance you guys think the signal of SGS isn't very sturdy? Apparently it's highly affected by modem firmware. In terms of connection stability: JPP>ZSJPE>BUJP5>DXJPB>XXJPY. Sadly, I haven't found any perfect modem firmware that lets me heavily use the data connection without disconnections.

0.0568sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:39 AM