The Official Blu-ray Thread v11

johnbluraylover
post Apr 1 2011, 11:59 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(Docan @ Apr 1 2011, 12:50 PM)
Wah johnblueraylover....you into heavy stuff and a serious Blueray player...The French have some very good gangster movies..try Messerine Part 1 & 2 and 36 Qua
Hi Docan,

ya recently i went crazy. will definitely cut down the spending.

thanks for the recommendation. ha, i actually i got MESSERINE & DEPT 36 already.

i haven't seen MESSERINE, i watched DEPT 36 already & like it very much. so recently i added Mr. 73.

pls keep recommending me good foreign movie.
johnbluraylover
post Apr 1 2011, 03:44 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Apr 1 2011, 04:31 PM)
Have you got The Lives of Others? German film - Winner of Best Foreign Film 2006 at the Oscars.

Fantastic movie which is a bit slow at the start but really builds up at the last 30 mins or so and the ending is fantastic. It's about the East German intelligence unit - the Stasi, and how they literally 'spy' into the lives of East Germans before the Wall came tumbling down in 1989.

Not a war/violent flick but more of drama.

The BD release has good PQ and a good 30 mins interview with the director which was very insightful.

Do check it out,bro, since you're buying every single BD under the sun anyway  laugh.gif
haha, bro, goods taste and i got it too. nod.gif

mine is from AMZ UK & the PIC quality is soso only.
somehow i like the movie very much.

is good to know i am not alone & malaysia also got peolple love foreign drama.
icon_rolleyes.gif
Have u seen "DOWNFALL"? I love it.

Buying every single disc under the sun? no way, i am going to cut my finger to stop buying disc. vmad.gif

err, sounds a bit too violence, ok, i am going to cut my finger nail to stop buying disc. em, sounds better. laugh.gif
johnbluraylover
post Apr 1 2011, 04:41 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(dariofoo @ Apr 1 2011, 05:13 PM)
Downfall is alright. Would love to get Pedro Almodovar's Talk To Her and Alejandro Gonzalez Innaritu's Amores Perros, but am unsure if both are already out on BD
Amores Perros is available at AMZ UK by OPTIMUM release, i believe is Zone B, check out bluray.com for the reviews.

TALK TO HER is not available in BD yet, i got the DVD for years but never watched it. ok, will check it out since u recommend.

i love TIE ME UP, TIE ME DOWN, wow, really hot.

Added on April 1, 2011, 4:43 pm
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 1 2011, 05:01 PM)
I am so happy knew so many foreign from you all. I love foreign film biggrin.gif Thanks a lot too all...  rclxms.gif
no preblems bro, just give me some introduction fees, say your cool ALIEN EGG collection.

Added on April 1, 2011, 4:47 pm
QUOTE(samuraiiii79 @ Apr 1 2011, 05:04 PM)
Heheheheheh...

Placed an order from Amazon UK and was dispatched yesterday
1. Troy
2. 300
3. Sin City
4. Se7en
5. Gladiator
6. Hot Fuzz
7. Shaun of the Dead
8. Band of brothers

Estimated arrival 21st of April... If based on my previous sexperience, it should reach 2-3 days earlier....

Total purchase : +-£75

Now looking for my AVR and speakers....

Haven't tasted the REAL BD EXPERIENCE!!!
hi bro,

good taste for SHAUN OF THE DED & HOT FUZZ.

very good value for money, just remmember the RM500 rules.

is your GLADIATOR remastered version?

for TROY, i hope u got the extended director's cut.

This post has been edited by johnbluraylover: Apr 1 2011, 04:47 PM
johnbluraylover
post Apr 1 2011, 10:59 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 1 2011, 09:10 PM)
Well, everyone has dissimilarity way of looking at buying from other sources.
Hi SKY,

thanks for all the link & info of buying disc. appreciate.

Added on April 1, 2011, 11:03 pm
QUOTE(dariofoo @ Mar 31 2011, 05:10 PM)
Do you have it,bro? Didn't hear any rave reviews of Alliance. A bad one got la - their release of The Others is apparenty quite bad, judging from the user reviews on blu-ray.com  sweat.gif
hi bro,

just got my GANG OF NEW YORK ALLIANCE RELEASE. good quality. remastered.

hi all,

just got my AMZ CANADA package. after kena "poison" by u guys, i also into steelbook & digibook case. wow, really nice (but expensive too).

here's the pic

Added on April 1, 2011, 11:31 pmhey guys,

AMZ UK DISNEY 2 FOR UK$16.50, i would say is good deal. just becareful on WALL-E & UP, both Zone B.

Toy story trilogy & Monster Inc are zone free.

all very good quality, mostly got slip cover too.

This post has been edited by johnbluraylover: Apr 1 2011, 11:31 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 12:22 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 2 2011, 01:18 AM)

I hope what you mean by Zone referring to Region? tongue.gif
ya brother, actually i am a bit confuse cause i though DVD is dif by region & BD is by Zone.
johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 12:37 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 2 2011, 01:30 AM)
I thought DVD used Region as well like Region 0,1,2,3. Not picking up on you but just correcting ya.
no problem brother, i always appreciate your comment & idea.

hey, THE PROPHET is on sales again at AMZ UK, UK$8 only. beside, amz uk "REALLY GONE MAD AGAIN". clint eastwood MAN WITH NO NAME TRILOGY is really cheap, so as the CASINO ROYALE-deluxe edition. check it out bro.

do u have any idea on PREDATOR BD? review really bad but i really like the movi & now is sales at UK$7 only. any comment?
johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 12:58 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 2 2011, 01:41 AM)
Get the Predator Ultimate Hunter Edition. Its far better than the first release according to public opinion.
thanks bro,
just placed the order.
johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 08:16 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 2 2011, 04:23 AM)
720p mkv, yaya download .... I dislike blind buy.

---------------------------------------------
Edit: Clint Eastwood: The Director's Collection has been return back to GBP $32!!! Lucky me take it during such short timing discount up to 64%! Wow!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Without counting of delivery charge, I actually get it at GBP $14.99 wow!!! rclxms.gif
ya bro, rules no.1 for AMZ UK, always wait for the sales.

Added on April 2, 2011, 8:18 am
QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 2 2011, 04:00 AM)
Which format did you watch the Human Planet? Downloaded?
Btw, bidding for Casino Royale & Incredible Hulk , both comes with the 1st press slipcover.

Fingers crossed
SKY, where u order the INCREDIBLE HULK, UK or US? link pls.

Added on April 2, 2011, 8:33 am
QUOTE(wiNd @ Apr 2 2011, 02:16 AM)
my latest haul - Dawn of the Dead
hi wiNd,

thanks for sharing on the DAWN OF THE DEAD. i got it from US ANCHOR BAY, yours is cooler. i didn't know UK ARROW release is so handy with multi choice of cover inside. from the net, i used to think their cover is shit like cartoon.

SOME RECOMMENDATION AT AMZ UK SALES-
CASINO ROYALE - REGION FREE - GOOD PACKING
GANSTER COLLECTION - 4 MOVI AT UK$18 ONLY

Added on April 2, 2011, 9:14 am
QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 2 2011, 02:09 AM)
I thought you gonna plug off your internet? brows.gif
haha bro, just 1 last order before cancelling my internet. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by johnbluraylover: Apr 2 2011, 09:14 AM

Attached image(s)
johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 11:11 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ Apr 2 2011, 11:06 AM)
you should check out all the UK Arrow Video releases, they make cool editions... smile.gif
how is the PIC quality? if vs US BLUE UNDERGROUND & ANCHO BAY, who is better?
johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 11:21 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 2 2011, 12:11 PM)
Bro,

It's eBay bidding. You gotta sacrifice your health if you wanna win something. I managed to get up at 6am to monitor the bidding and won it.
Un *effing* fortunately , i lost the bidding of Casino Royale. This is the 7th time i've been out bidden by *effing* Americans.
damn, u are crazier than me. just curious, how the CASINO ROYALE look? i thought UK one is the collest already at UK$6 now. link pls.

for INCREDIBLES HULK, my friend got the very cool slipcover but he never took care of it. maybe i just ask him for the cover.
johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 11:37 AM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 2 2011, 12:30 PM)
Lol, i don't simply press "Order" bro. I've got my own sweet time to decide what to buy. Although the fact that Inc Hulk released long ago, i do less care about it and i've got it at right price.
Its a 3D Lenticular slipcover. Never taken care of the slip? Then it must have been badly injured then tongue.gif

Here's how to US CR with Slip looks like

[attachmentid=2130580]
yo bro, isn't this CASINO same with UK release? EBAY can cheaper than UK?

uk cover is :

This post has been edited by johnbluraylover: Apr 2 2011, 11:42 AM

johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 03:48 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 2 2011, 03:19 PM)
I love the UK jewel case (ok la just call it jewel case seems no name had been given). Now still selling same packaging?
andrew,

the uk one is on sales right now at AMZUK, do not miss it if u like it cause it is the top selling item, will be out of stock soon.

check out ASHES OF TIME REDUX, CHUNG KING EXPRESS too, just accept the packing, bro, u can get all below RM40.
johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 04:41 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 2 2011, 05:09 PM)
Thanks.... will check on it smile.gif

As for chunking express, I will take it next mth the criterion edition only, I know it more ex...but is ok as I want the best only due to Faye Wong is my only idol.  biggrin.gif
ANDREW, CHUNG KING EXPRESS CRITERION COLLECTION quality is quit good.

some pic

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 05:15 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 2 2011, 06:10 PM)
Genius stuff ! Any more plans to get more Criterion's ?
ya, i love CRITERION, i think they actually care the quality like us, not just to make $ but spend real effort in it.

this is the early release, in covercase with digifold (i do not know how to call it), subsequently they switch to their unique "clearbox case".

i will do some sharing on my CRITERION COLLECTION later.

Sky, pls post some pic too on your criterion if u r free.
johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 05:43 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(faidzal1982 @ Apr 2 2011, 06:35 PM)
hi guys... long time didnt stop by here... need to cure myself from all the poison i get last time first... biggrin.gif
question... for amazon us, if use Priority International Courier... they use what service? DHL, UPS, Fedex?
Can we choose which service to use? which service is better?
i think is DHL and u can't choose.
johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 07:32 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Apr 2 2011, 07:32 PM)
I think its by default DHL service. UPS useless. Fedex..not experienced before.
my OPPO is by UPS, but it was partnership between AMZ US & other HIFI shop, so, it is not AMZ US call.

DHL is ok, but always kena custom & FINAS requirement.

johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 07:42 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(faidzal1982 @ Apr 2 2011, 08:39 PM)
thanks a lot for the info guys... smile.gif
mind to share what u getting, i means BD or electronics? cause no need to choose the priority
johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 07:57 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Apr 2 2011, 08:46 PM)
Different cuts of the movie as well.
ya, this is a interesting topic, UK version rated 12 so should be not too violence.

i read the UK version is shorter in the scene when "Bond's ball kena tortured". but actually when i watch it, i didn't notice any dif.

INCREDIBLES HULK UK VERSION may be kena cut too in some scene.

again, i am not sure. hmm.gif
johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 08:25 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Apr 2 2011, 09:12 PM)
UK's CASINO ROYALE rated 12 with no cut made.  Rated 12 is because "Contains one scene of torture and strong action violence".  blush.gif

Whereas, UK version of THE INCREDIBLES HULK is rated 12 also not cut made.  blush.gif

BBFC didn't cut anything.  But not sure whether Distributors cut it or not before send those films for rating.  For THE INCREDIBLES HULK, Universal Pictures (UK) Ltd likely have cut some scene before submit to BBFC because their sent at least twice in 2008 with both different Running time.
i felt 1 part when TIM ROTH turning into ugly monster, the scene seems like "jump" a bit & the transformation is missing. i forgot the original cut already, so not sure on it. hmm.gif
johnbluraylover
post Apr 2 2011, 09:00 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(nazmanson @ Apr 2 2011, 09:36 PM)
Did anyone notice amazon.com now shipped using i-parcel no longer USPS. This means always orders will arrive late  doh.gif

Off topic does anyone have experience ordering books from amazon or others
bro, u might want to check the postage $, i think is not same as disc, i am not sure, last time my wife wanted to use my AMZ US to buy book, at the end we gave up, i forgot reason, it could be high postage.

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0782sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:38 AM