Headphones Superlux Fan Club, For music lovers with tight budget :D

Akuma no Hana
post Dec 1 2011, 02:23 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Dec 1 2011, 11:23 AM)
wow AKG velour pad cost RM170+ for a pair......can buy another Superlux can liao
Luckily you are not using using HD660 or HD330. If you are using them you have to fork out more money to buy the pad and headband which cost more to replace with beyerdynamic replacement products.
Akuma no Hana
post Dec 6 2011, 03:59 PM

562 posts

Next week will be better. Not this weekend. Anyway what model will be available for testing?
Akuma no Hana
post Dec 23 2011, 04:27 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(emiya_shin @ Dec 23 2011, 02:09 PM)
Oh gawd. The HD668B is just... so darned good  blink.gif I didn't do any burn ins, just take it out from the box, plugged the 3m cable into the PC, and voila. At first, it sounded bright and lacked bass, so I did some EQing on foobar and it hit the right spot. And it just fits in nicely with some stretches and adjustments on the pads, though right now it is still a bit tight, but acceptable. Just my first impression by the way.

-Deep, tight bass when EQed.
-Nice instrumental separation, clarity and soundstage.
-Need to tame the highs though.
-Clamping is a bit tight, and my ears sweat a bit on the pads.

I just made the right choice getting HD668B instead of HD330 wink.gif

Current setting:
Onboard Realtek -> foobar -> HD668B.
Funny thing i really dont like tweaking with eq because im more of a person who prefer doing it in the analogue stage. (cable, dac, amp)
It's a good choice going to the superlux. I love them too. Besides my jh16pro, i find this has the most universal sound.
Akuma no Hana
post Dec 25 2011, 10:08 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(emiya_shin @ Dec 24 2011, 12:18 PM)
Hmm T-Muso... I'll get one soon  tongue.gif But, I was considering about getting the recabling first. Techflex sleeving drool.gif And about amp, which one I should go? Should E6 be enough?
I don't have any analogue DACs thus I did it digitally. Then again, I have bass distortions with certain songs...
Haha yeah biggrin.gif Good to hear that about your 661.
Of course I'm not in anyway against digital alteration/EQ. Just that I prefer to change it through analogue side because there is more changes than just a simple eq in the sound.

May I ask the bass distortion you are referring is the distortion used in making a distorted bass sound or it is your headphone producing distortion because of certain problem. If it is the the headphone you are referring to, adding a dac might be able to help out in cleaning out the distortion from onboard sound but adding an amp will help refine it even further.

QUOTE(GenericMav @ Dec 24 2011, 03:23 PM)
i'll always stick by rules, dac-->amp-->cable  tongue.gif
QUOTE(trio @ Dec 24 2011, 04:39 PM)
I will always stick to dac>amp>better headphone>better dac>better amp and the cycles continues XD
For me the best way is to start with headphone then amp then last dac and the cycle continues again. This is because I follow the biggest changes in the setup in which headphone give the biggest change then amp and lastly dac which gives the smallest changes among them. Of course cable is just something that is extra to help you fine tune your system or getting the best potential out of your system and is not supposed to be used to upgrade your sound.

QUOTE(Chyan @ Dec 25 2011, 08:45 PM)
HD386 This right?  tongue.gif

They seem to have changed the design but the tension area..  hmm.gif
We'll see.  nod.gif
The new designs does looks better. But I still prefer to use the rugged plastic on their HD668B and HD660 model. They do look ugly but at least they can last a life time. (If you don't abuse it) Hopefully they will share the same plastic but repainted to give it a smoother looks.
Akuma no Hana
post Mar 3 2012, 05:49 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(killz23 @ Mar 3 2012, 03:05 PM)
Anyone's compared these to Denon D2000s?  I'm just so interested after looking at all these rave reviews!

Even if not as good, it'd be a good gift for.. I wonder what's coming up next. haha..

Where can I get a pair in USA, trio bro?
Which model you are refering to? I can say they are very good.
Akuma no Hana
post Mar 5 2012, 11:45 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(am3 @ Mar 4 2012, 11:56 PM)
hello guys, what is superflux best model for closed phones with great isolation?

preferably neutral sounding, good clarity and seperation.
if not too much too ask something with good soundstage.
what importance is it is not harsh and fatiguing.
detail is good but not bright and harsh.
Most likely the best model is hd660 if based on reviews. It is a closed type.

0.0198sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:10 AM