The Sony Alpha Thread V50!, The Orange Legion

ahpingko
post Feb 26 2011, 08:07 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(empty-ball @ Feb 26 2011, 07:43 PM)
ok thx, the 1st way work for some situation like small object, if big very difficult...
2nd way cant make it on big subject oso...^^
wide prime lens nt same wif kit lens ??
sry i m newbie...
wide prime is something like 35mm F1.8..

35mm means it is fixed at 35mm..cannot zoom in or zoom out..

wide means u can frame more item into the shot..

F1.8 means the lowest aperture value u can choose in camera is F1.8..F1.8 means the aperture can open very big...

in layman terms, wide aperture = the lens hole open big big..like on F1.8 on 50mm DT lens, the hole is approx the size of 5sen.. laugh.gif

when on F1.8, u can get shallow depth of field which is the blurry background u want..but it depends on how u frame the shot..F1.8 does not always confirm will give u blurry background...same as F11 does not always means clear picture..

example, my prime lens..50mm F1.8:

on F2.2 give nice background blurring..this is because on F2.2 the lens hole open big big.. tongue.gif

example, my 18-55 kit lens:

on F8, still give me nice background blurring..due to i go closeup...xD..

ahpingko
post Feb 26 2011, 09:04 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(empty-ball @ Feb 26 2011, 08:42 PM)
Oic, understand liao, thx for the explaination, but the wide lens cnt zoom in n out thn ma oni cn do this function ?
fixed focal length got advantage...most of the time, the images will be sharper...depends on how u use it, it can have many usage.. rclxms.gif

but, firstly, max out ur usage on kitlens..must shoot more..hehe..try liao and u cant achieve something, then only u ask whether is the hardware limitation of urs, or lack of skill to achieve that thing..dont be a gearhead..buy best body + get CZ lens..at the end, photos only so-so..then talk cock alot like a pro..but no photos presented.. brows.gif

and try to pickup some post processing skills...it is essential to digital photography nowadays..90% of the superb photos on the market have some processing on it already..it is more important, when u have only entry lenses or kitlens or noob lens..post processing can help u enhance the photo to look better..

This post has been edited by ahpingko: Feb 26 2011, 09:07 PM
ahpingko
post Feb 26 2011, 10:19 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Feb 26 2011, 09:37 PM)
I terasa kaw kaw lol..

Anyway, Post-processing is quite good actually but for people that are really busy, one shot one kill technique is rather better.

Summore need quite powerful hardware to PP~
u gearhead meh..lol.. brows.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 26 2011, 09:44 PM)
35mm is not wide la on APS-C. doh.gif

it's a 'normal' length focal length(same focal length as our eyes).
err..i just give example only la...35mm F1.8 somehow is wider than 50mm prime ma..lol..for me, it is wide prime liao..lol..i dont care is APSC or full frame..35mm just 35mm...better than 50mm.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(empty-ball @ Feb 26 2011, 09:52 PM)
ok, any idea wat else the kit lens can do..??
i am having prbm using A,S mode la...duno hw to use...
whn happen this i will change to M....thn set wat i wan thn shoot...if not good i set it again...
coz if i set A thn oni A can be adjust...
like this:

-when u wan to get background blur, u will tend to use A mode..more..it is the same, just stick to low A, if u wan to shoot portrait...normal usage, i just stick to F8..i mean outdoor shooting la..for landscape, u can go up to F11..if u wan...just try it out..for myself, when on kitlens, i usually go A mode..F8..when on prime, i usually F2.2..thats all..haha..anyway, just experiment it on the spot..

-when u wan to shoot slow shutter, like smooth silky waterfall or water surface or light trail...use S mode...then try put 10sec - 30 sec..btw, this normally u cant use on daytime..hardly la i mean if without ND filter(which can enable u to use slower shutter)..for myself, i never use this mode...lol..if i wan to use slow shutter, normally i in the A mode too...i will turn to highest A..and see which is the slowest shutter i can use..hehe..coz, when u wan to use slow shutter, mostly u will want to go as slow as u can..so just bump up the A and use minimum ISO..u will be at the slowest shutter possible at that time(with correct exposure)..

well, at least this is wat i am doing la..i just share oni..correct me if i am wrong.. biggrin.gif
ahpingko
post Feb 26 2011, 11:17 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 26 2011, 10:45 PM)
lol no offense but, thinking that a 35mm(on APS-C) still doesn't make it a wide prime, although it is wider than a 50mm prime. wide primes are those below 35mm le.. 24mm,28mm or 16mm for that matter...

i scared the newbie will get confused of what is wide focal length,what is ultra wide, what is normal , what is telephoto...etc..

sorry ya no offense blush.gif
okok...i know is it not wide prime la..haha..for me, it is just wider than my current prime..but it is good to learn proper term to use.. tongue.gif ..thx wor..

QUOTE(wingster @ Feb 26 2011, 10:53 PM)
For APS-C .. I think should grade on that xD:

Ultra Wide : 10mm ~15mm
Wide: 16mm~28mm
Standard: 30mm~40mm
Portrait: 50mm
Portrait(Telephoto): 85mm~135mm

@ahpingko 35mm on APS-C is not a wide angle prime, instead it should be call "Standard/Normal" lens; that have the closest focal range as our human eye :/
okok..noted!..^^..i wan buy la..lol..35mm!!..but no budget for now..i need earn 1st..no more money from parents..instead i should give them.. biggrin.gif ..

QUOTE(empty-ball @ Feb 26 2011, 10:53 PM)
suddenly u share a lot wif me...thx for the sharing..i will try it wat u have said 2molo....
u shoot more big object wif near distance ?
or shoot small object wif near distance ??
nola..just sharing only...i also noob...learn from try-error only..and only got noob gears.. laugh.gif ..that question, i also dono how to ans...see situation..lol..no specific preference like that..

QUOTE(empty-ball @ Feb 26 2011, 11:10 PM)
can i knw hw can i save some of my setting in the cam??
err, ur setting cant be save..but it will remain there..if u have not changed it since your last use..
ahpingko
post Feb 27 2011, 08:45 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Feb 27 2011, 12:43 AM)
got my a580+16105+BG. rclxm9.gif

In the end got 16105 rather than 1750. Cuz uncle chin say after few yrs 3rd pt coating will start to come off. He said if you have flash, 16105 and 1750 is about the same alrd. nod.gif
welcome gearhead...somemore sponsor by parents.. thumbup.gif ..make sure u don put ur PRO GEARS at home..show us your photos...

QUOTE(albnok @ Feb 27 2011, 12:47 AM)
ahpingko: Bump up the Vibrance in Lightroom. It interprets colors differently - less vibrant reds.
lol..why so weird 1..ohya, what if i want to use sony software to convert all my raws into .TIFF in batch?..got such function?..coz i am tinking of developing all raws into tiffs before importing into my lightroom...how do u tink?

Added on February 27, 2011, 9:02 am
QUOTE(Codyx @ Feb 27 2011, 01:13 AM)

codyx, i like #1 and #2..very nice! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ahpingko: Feb 27 2011, 09:02 AM
ahpingko
post Feb 27 2011, 09:21 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Feb 27 2011, 09:09 AM)
1 and 3 nice. 3 would be nicer if the water could reflect the mosque.

Added on February 27, 2011, 9:15 am

I see. So its no more like the a380 eh? Good. Thats an improvement.
How u can make it to reflect the mosque??..ask the wind to stop blowing the water so that the water can be calm enough as a mirror surface??? Or slow shutter under such bright light???.. thumbup.gif
ahpingko
post Feb 27 2011, 10:49 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(lanusb @ Feb 27 2011, 10:46 AM)
gearhead reporting in......
anyway i have a sony a500 + 1680, I wanna buy one lens now already, but not sure for wat...this mostly would be for portraiture , like doing nice creamy, smooth, background bluring for frens or colleagues or even pc fair or even the real portrait shoots, if i ever get to go another one....

i have tought of the few below, but not sure how good....i would like the subjects to be sharp preferbly at wide open and the bokeh/backgroudn to be smooth and uncluttered

50mm f1.8 ~ aiyo
35mm f1.8
85mm f2.8
SP 90 f2.8
70-210 f4 beercan (i think this is comparable to white knight brand 70-200 f4l??)

the above few is what is under consideration lo......
if tight budget, u can get 50mm F1.8..but not sharp at wide open..i m using this..for the rest in your list, i not sure..
ahpingko
post Feb 27 2011, 10:55 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(lanusb @ Feb 27 2011, 10:52 AM)
hie bro..yalo on budget, but my budget is rm1k ma so can cover all the above......

the 50mm i have heard from alot ppl they say it could be tight on apsc?? not too sure
also wondering if its wise to get a prime with recurring range that i have??
erm..yup..quite tight..if u are doing full body shots, u need to be further away...lets say in limited space with u cant back off, then 50mm is very tight..but the quality wise is very nice..value for price..but i recommend you to get that 35mm F1.8..just my opinion after using 50mm for quite sometime...very tight la.. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
ahpingko
post Feb 27 2011, 09:09 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 27 2011, 06:04 PM)

playing with tilt-shift~
nicely done!!..successful tilt shifted.. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(kysham @ Feb 27 2011, 08:51 PM)
Are we still taking about reflections? A few of us went to a nearby river (called Mengkabong River) to shoot some sun rise. The weather was not very cooperative, with thick clouds. And it actually drizzled lightly at one point. We thought "bye bye lah this photoshooting session"... But then, the drizzle stopped and the clouds started opening up. I managed to capture this shot of the clouds opening up, and the reflections over the Mengkabong river. Not still water though, because this is a river (with constantly flowing water) and it is a windy day. Enjoy the photo. I enjoyed shooting it. biggrin.gif

Sony A850 + Minolta 17-35 F2.8-4. 1/125s, F14.0, 17mm, ISO200. Shot captured in cRAW and processed with Capture1 + CS4. Camera was set on a tripod and triggered using a remote release cable. Steady Shot was turned off. And no special filters used. Just a regular Hoya HD UV filter.
very nice le...using AWB or manual WB?..the colors captured very perfectly!..i like it!.. drool.gif drool.gif
ahpingko
post Feb 27 2011, 09:30 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Feb 27 2011, 11:57 AM)
ahpingko: No point also converting from RAW to TIFF unless you want to make a good backup. TIFF is just a high quality JPG without the ability to retweak your WB etc.
i see..so keep the raw la...or i can take directly RAW+JPEG.. blush.gif

btw, albnok, ask u..

my relative ask me help take wedding photos..outdoor portraits..my question is, what type of reflection i need to buy? silver or gold?..coz my plan is like this, i dont want to use my F42 to do some light fill-in..

any advantages of using reflectors over flash?..or disadvantages?..i need some advice..

i not very confident to use my flash nicely...scare in case screw up things...b4 i could control the flash unit nicely, i shall not try play play during that session..lol..
ahpingko
post Feb 27 2011, 10:09 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Feb 27 2011, 09:47 PM)
definitely use raw  icon_rolleyes.gif

pro
reflector = cheap, lightweight.
can reduce shadow

cons
need someone to hold for u laugh.gif
need available light
yalo..i plan to take that 5 in 1 Reflector Set 100 x 150 cm (wide human size)..coz i saw got transparent diffuser to diffuse sunlight..

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 27 2011, 09:52 PM)
silver for more normal mood.

gold for more warm mood.
i see...thx thx.. smile.gif

btw, i only got kitlens...and 1 prime.. doh.gif
anyone can pinjam 17-50 tammy?..lol

ahpingko
post Feb 27 2011, 10:12 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Feb 27 2011, 10:09 PM)
I don't really care about the white balance in the camera, as I shot this in cRAW. The white balance was adjusted later in Capture1. The beauty of shooting in RAW....  thumbup.gif
I would prefer a silver / white reflector more than a gold reflector because most of the time, the gold reflector's light is simply too warm compared to ambient.... unless you specifically want to go for that effect.

Reflector's pro: No need batteries. Easy to bring around. No need scared will break if fall down. Can see the effect of the light from the reflector immediately.

Reflector's con: Usually more bulky than flash. Doesn't work at night (usually). Depends on available light (don't even need to think about this as fill-in when shooting at sunset times). Quite difficult to maneuver - you may need a buddy / assistant to help. Reflector very often can get into the picture without you noticing it at first. Can easily be blown away by the wind!

Flash's pro: More powerful. More versatile. Have a lot of type of light modifier to be fitted on the flash for more creative lighting possibilities. Usually more easy to hide from the picture. Not dependent on sunlight or other source of light. Available at night. Smaller and easier to bring around. Easier to control the amount of light it produces.

Flash's con: Easier to create harsher shadows. Diffusing the light from the flash will eat into the flash's available power. Needs a source of power (usually batteries). Easier to malfunction than a reflector. You will feel a bit more reluctant to pinjam a flash than a reflector to a friend!

Note: all the pros and cons of each solution is from my own experience using both items. your mileage may vary.... laugh.gif
My suggestion: Have both readily available! tongue.gif
i got 1 flash already..so planning to get reflector too..so i have both readily available..u forget to put in flash con:
-need some skills to operate it nicely! tongue.gif

btw, wat size of reflector do u recommend ?..get as big as i can?..lol
ahpingko
post Feb 27 2011, 10:29 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Feb 27 2011, 10:14 PM)
don want to buy cheap umbrella? laugh.gif
got feel wan to.. tongue.gif ..umbrella then must use flash d...and need to get lightstand..btw, if i wan to use low aperture light F2.2 and wan to trigger that F42 using that pop up flash as commander, how to make it not appearing in pic beside use something to cover it?..use HSS and higher power on F42 ?..or straight get remote commander for my F42 so that i don have to tink so much, just shoot like usual, no need to worry about pop up flash appearing?...lol..

QUOTE(8tvt @ Feb 27 2011, 10:16 PM)
work² work..

nice!!..what lens is that?..50mm?..very nice bokeh...smooth!..
ahpingko
post Feb 28 2011, 08:09 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Feb 27 2011, 10:47 PM)
get one as big as you can (or willing to) carry laugh.gif i just use the regular 5-in-1 reflector lah. For me, that is ok at the moment. I will eventually get the massively big sized one. tongue.gif

Flash is a bit more tricky to use than reflector, that is for sure. laugh.gif
Ok ok..btw, i m not the official photographer for them..my uncle like my portrait style..so just ask me to go along with the official 1 for outdoor shooting..then after they finish their session, will be my turn lo..just like add on..but i do want take the best too..hehe..to create my own portfolio as well as try hands-on doing wedding photos.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(albnok @ Feb 28 2011, 02:09 AM)
zstan: Well done! I like that it doesn't look like a thin strip of focus.

ahpingko: You need to master your wireless before you use the reflector, if you plan to use wireless flash as the highlight, and the reflector to bounce the flash as a soft main light. A plain white one works; silver ones may be too reflective.

8tvt: Can barely make it out - crop more?

Codyx: Errr I prefer YMC's because you can see the colors of the night sky. However you could then overlay a "digital GND" (Google it) to darken the tower.

empty-ball: Kesian the lizard's tail got cropped. Maybe you could go lower so you make it look taller and bigger.
If i plan to use only reflector instead of my flash during outdoor shooting, ok right?..hehe..i got my assistant to help holding reflector..xD
ahpingko
post Feb 28 2011, 08:32 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

i also join shukrie and lwliam..but not panas girl..

this is my 1st batch of photos taken when i 1st get my a550..my 1st ever dslr.. tongue.gif

1024 by WeiQiPhotography, on Flickr

lonely by WeiQiPhotography, on Flickr

ahpingko
post Feb 28 2011, 09:15 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

fulamak kysham... drool.gif drool.gif

i don have such sexy photo...xD..lol..

i got this..totally nude female.. blush.gif