The Sony Alpha Thread V50!, The Orange Legion

zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 12:32 AM

15,856 posts

my noob answer:

3) because my a300 has a tendency to underexpose due to metering limitations.

4) tell me what do you use a bounce card for? for me i point my flash 90 degrees, but the flash confirm cannot hit my subject nicely as they are about 2 meters away, so with a bounce card some of the flash can be directed to their face(technically its still direct flash but a not so harsh one).

why not 45 degrees or 60 or 75? because i still want ambient light.

5) if you put your flash in bounce position, it will always be at maximum zoom

correct me if i'm wrong tq.

This post has been edited by zstan: Feb 16 2011, 12:34 AM
zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 12:39 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(hiansitt @ Feb 16 2011, 12:36 AM)
i mean the bounce card in f58 is that big enough to cover?? or i need a bigger bounce card, bounce give softer light, this i know.. XD
but the bounce angle, this i still dono how to use it.. sad.gif

and yes, thanks, i learn another things, since our sensor is same aged.. XD
big enough to cover what? i shoot one 20 people group also can what. all depends on what setting you use and the environment.. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(lwliam @ Feb 16 2011, 12:37 AM)
another use for the bounce card is to introduce catchlight to subject's eyes. it will make the subject's eyes look more 'alive'
ooo i see. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif i've only started to use bounce card this few months. my stofen already rotting in my room. tongue.gif
zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 01:03 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(hiansitt @ Feb 16 2011, 12:56 AM)
because i was told the bigger the bounce card the better, and the bouncing angle, what is the factor you decide it?
btw, alpha fundamental flash at MV, 6 March, who's going? XD
better to do what? bouncing angle, depends on how high is the ceiling and how far is your subject matter.

__________________________________-

wohooo poisoned by wireless flash tongue.gif

Wireless flash 1 by zstan, on Flickr

Wireless flash 2 by zstan, on Flickr
zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 10:21 AM

15,856 posts

thanks for the info ier. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

some minor changes for your blog article (mostly on grammar). and special mention to the term 'k'. if you use k in SMALL letters, it usually means 'thousand'. (eg. 1k=1000) The K in Kelvin is in CAPITAL, which refers to the unit used for temperature. anyway i am just being picky. tongue.gif

White Balance(WB)

White Balance is a very complicated and wide topic. In the old days, during the film era, people require color filters to adjust the white balance in films. But today, it becomes an Automatic feature in a digital camera. An expensive DSLR will be equipped with a more sophisticated algorithm (program codes) to identify ambient light to select a more accurate WB for it.

But take note, WB affects almost every little setting you tweak on your camera, especially those who love high ISO, slow shutter speed, wide aperture and flash. I will talk about this in the advanced flash topic.

WB is measured by Kelvin (i think its name after the guy who discovered it)(read this on why it's called Kelvin), measuring from 2000K to 10K (not all cameras are capable to reach full scale though, some can only set from 2500K to 9900K)

2500K - very strong orange tungsten light
2800K - strong orange tungsten light
3200K - yellowish tungsten light
4500K M6 - flourescent light (most flourescent tubes are green even though our eyes don't see it)
5500K - flash (depending, some flash manufacturer is 5800k or 6000k)
6500K - daylight (or daylight-balanced flourescent light)
9900K - strong blue stage lighting or evening light

Pre-set White Balance

Let's talk about presete WB mode first, and AutoWB later, because it has indirect involvement with preset mode, so let's get the basics of preset mode first.

Commonly a DSLR will have 6 preset WB. (some has more, which i will not talk about it because all this info you can get from the camera manual book.)

The 'it' here refers to the camera.

• Daylight
where it reads more blue under the sun, and turn the Kelvin high to balance back (6500K-7000K)
• Shade
where it will ignore the skyblue (more blue tint) and use appropriate WB for under the shade (usually 6000K)
• Cloudy
where it will ignore the sky and use appropriate WB for under the shade (usually 5000K)
• Tungsten
under normal tungsten lighting condition, it's preset to 3200K. It won't go below to 2500K
• Fluorescent
as mentioned above, most fluorescent tubes are green even though our eyes don't see it (4500K M6)
• Flash
it will lock at 5500K because the flash light is at 5500K (or other temperature depending on the flash manufacturer, eg. Nikon)

Automatic White Balance (AWB)

Now, for the AWB. AWB does not automatically scale from 2500K to 9900K, it will not. The current technology/algorithm AWB will only allow to pick from the preset WB. (but correct me if i am wrong, because i don't own a professional body like the Nikon D3s so i do not know if a Pro body does automatically scale from 2000 to 10k)

So when it meets a tungsten lighting ambiance, it will only be able to select the preset tungsten WB. It also means that the lowest Kelvin it can go is 3200k. hence if you are in a very strong tungsten lighting, your photo will still turn out very tungsten-ish (orange-ish), its not a good or bad thing, because some people would love to show others how nice the ambiance light is. but for product shooter, or serious event shooter, it is still a wrong white balance. they will go custom and set it to 2500k if requireed to do so, or shoot in raw and PostProcess it later.

So when you pop up the flash, it will automatically switch to flash WB lock at 5500K. So even if you are in a tungsten lit room, the WB is lock at 5500k, it will not turn to tungsten WB at 3200K, because your 5500K flash will turn out blue. another key issue is that the area that is not lit by the flash, it will be in very deep tungsten orange color (eg. background will be very tungsten-ish). So many of you will surely captured photo in restaurant with clear subject and really tungsten background. it is normal.

Same goes with an external flash being mounted on the hotshoe. the AWB will lock at FlashWB 5500k.

I did mention that White Balance is a very wide topic, but this part seems short to read, well, i have not added the Flash and environmental issue yet, this will all be discussed in another advance topic.
zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 10:34 AM

15,856 posts

guys. is it worth it buy lens from USA?

35mm is 199.99 only. and based on currency exchange, its RM600 plus a bit only. still cheaper than here!!

but the thing is maybe cannot claim warranty and cannot test lens. =/
zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 10:37 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Feb 16 2011, 10:34 AM)
go buy 50f18 since have warranty icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on February 16, 2011, 10:35 am
how much the transport cost? hmm.gif
free.

my cousin at USA nao. unsure.gif unsure.gif unsure.gif

but dunno need wait how long only he can pass the lens to me if i buy through him (he at penang) sad.gif
zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 10:50 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Feb 16 2011, 10:48 AM)
but i'd prefer 50 1.8 better as it retains the circular aperture few steps down. minolta 50 1.7 at f2.2 already show aperture shape.

zstan : not worth it, zaloon selling for rm6xx only. for that u get 1 year warranty. warranty is very very very important nod.gif .
but zaloon no stock leh unsure.gif unsure.gif unsure.gif

need book some more. aikzzz rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 11:58 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Feb 16 2011, 11:43 AM)
just wondering, ieR, did u sleep last night??
that's a huge contribution to the community
when is he coming back?
april i think. few more days can see u liao brows.gif

zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 09:04 PM

15,856 posts

other threads seem to be talking more about gears only o_O

anway:

Imprisoned Crab by zstan, on Flickr
zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 10:40 PM

15,856 posts

YES MY MUM GIVE ME GREEN LIGHT TO GO!!

THANK YOU SONY FOR GIVING ME SUCH CONVENIENCE TO PICK THE TIME SLOTS!!!
zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 10:44 PM

15,856 posts

definitely not friday. got class. some on saturday some on sunday. depending on the topics.

quite worried i can't go because my parents is going over the sea so i need jaga rumah and fetch my siblings here there. since now can choose time i will definitely goooo~~ rclxm9.gif

but quite sad la, two workshops on friday talking about landscapes, those who go this 2 talks please share share info yea notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by zstan: Feb 16 2011, 10:44 PM
zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 10:49 PM

15,856 posts

damn it la. all the topics sooo interesting cry.gif

WHY FRIDAY ALL LANDSCAPE TOPICS???? ARRGHH. cry.gif

Added on February 16, 2011, 10:49 pmthe grammar in the workshop agenda totally fail though tongue.gif

This post has been edited by zstan: Feb 16 2011, 10:49 PM
zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 10:53 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Feb 16 2011, 10:52 PM)
i think Sony asked the speakers themselves to write a short note on the topics they are talking about, and since some of them will be presenting in chinese, i doubt their command of english is strong enough either, so well, give them a break la
o.o so the medium of the course could be english/malay/chinese?

my bad. was too excited didnt see the language column tongue.gif

This post has been edited by zstan: Feb 16 2011, 10:56 PM
zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 11:03 PM

15,856 posts

why Wesley's slot is not in the agenda one? a bit blur.

Intrinsic Institutional Photography or Capturing the Essence of Automotive Art?

decisions decisions decisions decisions decisions decisions decisions decisions decisions decisions ~hmm.gif
zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 11:16 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Feb 16 2011, 11:06 PM)
Kungfu crab! What stance is this????  laugh.gif

Love the shot. Nice observation, zstan!  thumbup.gif
hhaha thanks~ erm, mantis stance? tongue.gif

ok guise let's share what you all registered.

me:

Mar 12, 2011 1845-1945 The art of portraiture
Mar 13, 2011 1000-1100 Light and mist of Yuan Yang
Mar 13, 2011 1300-1400 Wedding photography It's all about passion
Mar 13, 2011 1430-1530 Understanding documentary photography
Mar 13, 2011 1600-1700 Intrinsic institutional photography
Mar 13, 2011 1730-1830 The art of Wedding Photography

zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 11:24 PM

15,856 posts

whoaa bro kysham please share what you learned ya. gonna miss all the landscape workshops. sad.gif

and we can meet on saturday! please don't poison me too hard ok? icon_question.gif
zstan
post Feb 16 2011, 11:42 PM

15,856 posts

TT 12/3/2011 @ KLCC, 8pm SHARP tongue.gif .

1. ieR
2. william
3. chiahau
4. zstan

zstan
post Feb 17 2011, 12:03 AM

15,856 posts

food court then food court la. settle now. haha. time is preciousssssss....

This post has been edited by zstan: Feb 17 2011, 12:03 AM
zstan
post Feb 17 2011, 10:12 AM

15,856 posts

okla uncle shootkk please help me keep my batteries until the convention thanks! biggrin.gif notworthy.gif
zstan
post Feb 17 2011, 10:29 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(popfish @ Feb 17 2011, 10:21 AM)
thanks a lot.

Hi , i' will go 50 f1.7, since the ppl sell around 300+ ( future i will going to ff),

since 50f1.8 cannot go ff. 

notworthy.gif
one thing you have to note is, for the 50mm f1.8, there will be at least 90% chance you will getting a mint copy.

that can't be said the same for the minolta 50mm f1.7 though............................

11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0474sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:00 AM