Review on Superlux HD668B + PCM 2704, plus replacement audio cable and E11!!

TSrifasha
post Jan 25 2011, 01:56 PM, updated 10y ago

233 posts

Hi..i just want to share my review on this said items that i bought from the LYN forumers. i am a newbie in this audiophile thingy and i hope that this experience will help those who are a newbie and others who want to acquire the items or services provided in the Trade Zones. thumbup.gif biggrin.gif

Firstly i am looking for a new headphone to replace my old Phillips hp and i want a good headphone but cannot afford a hi-end products and i looked around in the trade zone and found this Superlux Bulk Thread . This guy offer me a Superlux HD668B + HD681 at that time and i think im gonna try this one since it got some good reviews over the net and i kinda like the design too. So made an order and pay at the same time. Got the items after a few weeks (it was his 1st bulk IINM) and it arrived safely at my office with a neat and secure package. I got home and try it on. This hp really amazes me! it produce a superb clarity and clear instruments sounds that i wished for it to be. Overall it satisfied me after i tried it for musics and movies. But the bass is not up to my satisfaction and i decided to change the cable since it is detachable. In addition, it also producing a great sound pairing it with my Nokia N8~! Thanks for the bulk, trio!

Then i ordered a replacement cable from this thread..i told him that i need a re-cable for my Superlux and he is happy to made it for me since i am his 1st Superlux customer. After the cable arrives, immediately i change it with the stock cable and the quality is doubled and i very satisfied with the work provided by i_djoel2000. great workmanship and my Superlux is better than ever! it gaves me more punch on the bass and concerts are better this time~

I am very hard to please..so i made 1 last item to complete my satisfaction, from chchyong89..i ordered a mini usb dac PCM2704 from this thread and it arrives within days (but i have to collect it from the PPL since nobody at home at the delivery time). It was wrapped with a bubble wrap so i can assure there is enough protection if opted for postage. this is my utmost grand satisfaction. it is true that dont judge a book by its cover because this PCM2704 is real deal. It is economical yet it so powerful and satisfying indeed. It provide more bass (as it add up to my Edifier C3) and the sound produced is more compact and crystal clear. So, dont judge a dac from its naked body~ tongue.gif

with this 3 items combined, i am enjoying my favourite movies, musics and concerts on my PC daily with full satisfactory and affordable budgets. thanks guys~!

Mini usb DAC PCM2704 = Thread by chchyong89
Superlux Headphones = Thread by trio
Replacement cable = Thread by i_djoel2000
Headphone amplifier FiiO E10

OLD PIC ~

This post has been edited by rifasha: Oct 10 2016, 05:55 PM
chchyong89
post Jan 25 2011, 04:01 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

Thanks for your kind review. I believe adding an desktop head-amp for this will be more awesome. biggrin.gif

However, desktop amp never come in cheap sad.gif
TSrifasha
post Jan 25 2011, 04:09 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Jan 25 2011, 04:01 PM)
Thanks for your kind review. I believe adding an desktop head-amp for this will be more awesome. biggrin.gif

However, desktop amp never come in cheap sad.gif
yeah. i agree with that. tongue.gif i know this combo will be out of my request one day but this is best enough for me at the moment~ smile.gif
Shoot@M3
post Jan 25 2011, 04:25 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

nice review, btw, does changing the stock cable for your 668B really helps a lot? you can let me know in pm
thx
1st
post Jan 25 2011, 04:46 PM

184 posts

wao, u tempted me T_T now my wallet gonna hurt

Added on January 25, 2011, 4:53 pmmind to tell the headphone + soundcard + cable custom made all in how much u spent?

This post has been edited by 1st: Jan 25 2011, 04:53 PM
Shoot@M3
post Jan 25 2011, 05:03 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

You can get the overall total price from the seller's link posted above actually

QUOTE(rifasha @ Jan 25 2011, 01:56 PM)
Mini usb DAC PCM2704 = Thread by chchyong89
Superlux Headphones = Thread by trio
Replacement cable = Thread by i_djoel2000
iamyuanwu
post Jan 25 2011, 05:09 PM

2,425 posts

DAC rm90
668B rm130-170
cables rm60-85

total damage: rm280-350. 20% of the price, 80% of the performance. nod.gif

As cheap as entry level headphone audiophile can go.
1st
post Jan 25 2011, 05:17 PM

184 posts

ic, estimated damage 350 =/

TS u listent o wad kind of music there? biggrin.gif
TSrifasha
post Jan 25 2011, 05:24 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(1st @ Jan 25 2011, 04:46 PM)
wao, u tempted me T_T now my wallet gonna hurt

Added on January 25, 2011, 4:53 pmmind to tell the headphone + soundcard + cable custom made all in how much u spent?
its not more than RM3++ but if u include postage, just add some more to it~to me its reasonable and u will be satisfied with the performance~ tongue.gif

Added on January 25, 2011, 5:27 pm
QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Jan 25 2011, 04:25 PM)
nice review, btw, does changing the stock cable for your 668B really helps a lot? you can let me know in pm
thx
u got PM mate~ smile.gif

Added on January 25, 2011, 5:31 pm
QUOTE(1st @ Jan 25 2011, 05:17 PM)
ic, estimated damage 350 =/

TS u listent o wad kind of music there? biggrin.gif
i love concerts because of the variety instruments and this combo clearly separates voice, instruments and audience. very nice~melting my ears.. tongue.gif

*also i listen to variety of musics. and i choose musics over voice, so i tend to opted for the richness of instruments in a song~ smile.gif

This post has been edited by rifasha: Jan 25 2011, 05:31 PM
CoolBoy89
post Jan 25 2011, 05:47 PM

Hear No Evil.
1,801 posts

Simple yet interesting review. Made me feel like getting a 668b also tongue.gif
1st
post Jan 25 2011, 05:48 PM

184 posts

hmm. i listen to orkestra, classical chinese instruments, too, but R&B more, how is the bass of this headphone. im considering seriously =p

btw, are ur custom audio jacks gold plated or normal ones? the jack on the headphone itself is not gold plated right?
TSrifasha
post Jan 25 2011, 08:07 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(1st @ Jan 25 2011, 05:48 PM)
hmm. i listen to orkestra, classical chinese instruments, too, but R&B more, how is the bass of this headphone. im considering seriously =p

btw, are ur custom audio jacks gold plated or normal ones? the jack on the headphone itself is not gold plated right?
in my opinion, the bass is okay but it can be much better with the usb dac. if u r looking for a good headphone but with a low budget, u shud consider taking cuz i am very satisfied (but our interest might be differ) smile.gif

*its neurik jacks and the Superlux jack is gold plated. smile.gif
1st
post Jan 25 2011, 08:23 PM

184 posts

naise!! is the bass heavy or mild? scale of 1-10 from weak to strong bass where wouuld u put it?
TSrifasha
post Jan 25 2011, 08:37 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(1st @ Jan 25 2011, 08:23 PM)
naise!! is the bass heavy or mild? scale of 1-10 from weak to strong bass where wouuld u put it?
the bass is not heavy like BOOM BOOM POW. its more mild like BUMP DUM DUM. easy on hearing. (which suited to my preference) tongue.gif

*but if u put on a strong bass song, it will punch more but still easy on ur listening. hope this help. tongue.gif its hard to tell maybe from 6-7 like dat.

This post has been edited by rifasha: Jan 25 2011, 08:37 PM
1st
post Jan 25 2011, 08:52 PM

184 posts

nice! i like! order once salary in!
TSrifasha
post Jan 25 2011, 09:07 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(1st @ Jan 25 2011, 08:52 PM)
just contact trio. u can put ur name on february bulk. smile.gif

This post has been edited by rifasha: Jan 25 2011, 09:07 PM
wongpeter
post Jan 25 2011, 09:11 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(1st @ Jan 25 2011, 08:52 PM)
if you're more into bass I suggest you try out the Superlux HD681. stronger and more interesting bass than the HD668B and it's cheaper.
1st
post Jan 25 2011, 09:24 PM

184 posts

how bass is your more into bass? i dun like hard style bass, i like to have bass but not super strong, as long i can feel the existence of the bass
TSrifasha
post Jan 25 2011, 09:24 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Jan 25 2011, 09:11 PM)
if you're more into bass I suggest you try out the Superlux HD681. stronger and more interesting bass than the HD668B and it's cheaper.
agreed on this. i bought both from trio. interesting pair of Superluxes~ tongue.gif
1st
post Jan 25 2011, 09:26 PM

184 posts

HD668B has bass but clarity on vocals and trebles right?
TSrifasha
post Jan 25 2011, 09:36 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(1st @ Jan 25 2011, 09:26 PM)
HD668B has bass but clarity on vocals and trebles right?
i can say yes to that. the 681 has 'boomer' bass and suitable for rock if i may say. but 668b is more pleasure becuz its offer more balanced hearing and give more details on the sound. and i have both of them and preffered 668b. i got the 681 for my N8 and travelling purpose~ tongue.gif
1st
post Jan 25 2011, 09:47 PM

184 posts

niceeeeee. thanks for the pointers!
MrJinggles
post Jan 25 2011, 10:05 PM

1,285 posts

@rifasha
Which cable did you pick for your headphones?
soulone
post Jan 25 2011, 11:11 PM

Malaysian Pickers Association
524 posts

nice combo~
nice review~

still a superlux virgin tho' *as in never heard one yet ..
trio
post Jan 25 2011, 11:35 PM

DIfferent
803 posts

thanks for the review rifasha!

The bass is tight and nice just that not BOOM BOOM BOOM type. And yea with an amp, your setup would be damn nice since it's true potential will shine after properly drive 668b.

Ever thought of changing that short length of cable that coming out of the headphone? I am sure it is hiding the full potential of your new cable.
TSrifasha
post Jan 26 2011, 12:08 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(MrJinggles @ Jan 25 2011, 10:05 PM)
@rifasha
Which cable did you pick for your headphones?
im using this cable

Belden 1583E Cat5E UTP Grey Sheath + neurik connectors

Added on January 26, 2011, 12:11 am
QUOTE(trio @ Jan 25 2011, 11:35 PM)
thanks for the review rifasha!

The bass is tight and nice just that not BOOM BOOM BOOM type. And yea with an amp, your setup would be damn nice since it's true potential will shine after properly drive 668b.

Ever thought of changing that short length of cable that coming out of the headphone? I am sure it is hiding the full potential of your new cable.
haha.yeah no prob mate. sorry it took me sometime to come out with review.haha. these are great headphones mate. yep2 im thinking of the same thing but at this moment im not ready to peel that short cable yet~haha. if next time i mod, i'll let u know~ thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by rifasha: Jan 26 2011, 12:11 AM
trio
post Jan 26 2011, 12:18 AM

DIfferent
803 posts

wat were the changes with the new cable?
1st
post Jan 26 2011, 12:25 AM

184 posts

that cable also can change? the one sticking out from the headphone?
TSrifasha
post Jan 26 2011, 12:25 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(trio @ Jan 26 2011, 12:18 AM)
wat were the changes with the new cable?
more added 'bump' and crystal clear sound. to my experience, it best suited for movies. every sound details came out. thumbup.gif

Added on January 26, 2011, 12:26 am
QUOTE(1st @ Jan 26 2011, 12:25 AM)
that cable also can change? the one sticking out from the headphone?
yes i believe so, theres many seller provide the recabling service in the trade zone. ive dealt with 3 seller i_djoel2000, ssyycc and wotiyo so far. all are very nicely done. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by rifasha: Jan 26 2011, 01:15 AM
1st
post Jan 26 2011, 12:27 AM

184 posts

rifasha,
if i run the HD668B on iphone without the sound card then the sound quality will drop alot?

just custom cables + the headphone itself, how good will it be without the sound card?
beederbest
post Jan 26 2011, 12:30 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(rifasha @ Jan 25 2011, 09:36 PM)
i can say yes to that. the 681 has 'boomer' bass and suitable for rock if i may say. but 668b is more pleasure becuz its offer more balanced hearing and give more details on the sound. and i have both of them and preffered 668b. i got the 681 for my N8 and travelling purpose~ tongue.gif
Agree +1.
Owned both 681 and 668b and yes they are all like what you have written.
trio
post Jan 26 2011, 12:34 AM

DIfferent
803 posts

QUOTE(1st @ Jan 26 2011, 12:27 AM)
rifasha,
if i run the HD668B on iphone without the sound card then the sound quality will drop alot?

just custom cables + the headphone itself, how good will it be without the sound card?
hey pmed you regarding this and various things that you asked me biggrin.gif

It sounds good out of box. Just that it is even better if you have a good setup. My fren have no problem enjoying it to the last bits listening to it thru his macbook built in a.chip and his iphone. Just that it would be nice if you drive it properly with an amp
TSrifasha
post Jan 26 2011, 12:35 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(1st @ Jan 26 2011, 12:27 AM)
rifasha,

i am not really sure about that. but i believe it wont drop much and u can still enjoy the cool headphone. its just these custom cable and the dac are meant to bring the potential and sound a bit more further. (as i experience with my N8)..and im not sure about attaching the mini dac to iphone will work or not, may want to ask chchyong89 for more info on the DAC.

Added on January 26, 2011, 12:36 am
QUOTE(beederbest @ Jan 26 2011, 12:30 AM)
Agree +1.
Owned both 681 and 668b and yes they are all like what you have written.
hi. yay i got a gang here~ tongue.gif

This post has been edited by rifasha: Jan 26 2011, 12:36 AM
MrJinggles
post Jan 26 2011, 12:38 AM

1,285 posts

QUOTE(rifasha @ Jan 26 2011, 12:25 AM)
more added 'bump' and crystal clear sound. to my experience, it best suited for movies. every sound details came out.  thumbup.gif

Added on January 26, 2011, 12:26 am

yes i believe so, theres many seller provide the recabling service in the trade zone. ive dealt with 3 seller so far. all are very nicely done.  thumbup.gif
Ahh, i wanna audition your headphones with those cables so bad. They sound very promising indeed considering the price. Thanks for the info.

This post has been edited by MrJinggles: Jan 26 2011, 12:38 AM
tunertoobe
post Jan 26 2011, 12:41 AM

9,309 posts

I'm more intrigued in how something so cheap can have such wonderful reviews.....I should bookmark that bulk thread....just in case. brows.gif
1st
post Jan 26 2011, 12:42 AM

184 posts

hmmm how about headphone amps that are not usb powered when im on the move? any recomendation excet fliio?
trio
post Jan 26 2011, 12:44 AM

DIfferent
803 posts

wats ur budget?
TSrifasha
post Jan 26 2011, 12:46 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(1st @ Jan 26 2011, 12:42 AM)
hmmm how about headphone amps that are not usb powered when im on the move? any recomendation excet fliio?
aha. u might want to ask that to other 'otai' here. im merely a newbie here. tongue.gif
1st
post Jan 26 2011, 01:05 AM

184 posts

hi trio,

300RM,

i plan to get headphone/earphone + amp + cable
tunertoobe
post Jan 26 2011, 01:19 AM

9,309 posts

A hippo amp would cost RM300 from Jaben. rclxms.gif
Are you saying you'd like an amp, a cable and headphone/earphone, all for RM300?

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 26 2011, 01:20 AM
trio
post Jan 26 2011, 01:25 AM

DIfferent
803 posts

lol for earphone u dont need amp ba. For headphone, i dun think i can get smth decent below 100 after deducting cable and headphone cost from budget of 300.
Bonchi
post Jan 26 2011, 01:28 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

hmm.. quite possible actually..
cmoy is around RM190
superlux 681 is RM89 .. for anti-superluxors, get a KSC75(not recabled)
and cable if you DIY yourself should cost you RM15 (canare 1m + neutrik)

id say why not XD
trio
post Jan 26 2011, 01:33 AM

DIfferent
803 posts

he interested in 668b ma. Budget counted with that cost in mind
TSrifasha
post Jan 26 2011, 01:36 AM

233 posts

maybe he just need 668b and re-cable and when that runs out of his needs, only then add on the amp. out of box 668b is great alredi~ smile.gif
1st
post Jan 26 2011, 01:44 AM

184 posts

hehe, i made my decision to go for the 381 then later on i'll get the 668b too!

btw, earphones can be recabled too right?
TSrifasha
post Jan 26 2011, 01:51 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(1st @ Jan 26 2011, 01:44 AM)
hehe, i made my decision to go for the 381 then later on i'll get the 668b too!

btw, earphones can be recabled too right?
glad that u made ur decision~ smile.gif

*u might want to ask @ PM the reseller of the recabling services. they might have their own opinion and advices. ive posted their names/links in 2nd page in one of my posts.
iamyuanwu
post Jan 26 2011, 03:13 AM

2,425 posts

Maybe I should offer a service to recable 668B & 681 to dual entry. brows.gif
It should be slightly better than a simple cable change.
i_djoel2000
post Jan 26 2011, 09:17 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(rifasha @ Jan 25 2011, 08:07 PM)
in my opinion, the bass is okay but it can be much better with the usb dac. if u r looking for a good headphone but with a low budget, u shud consider taking cuz i am very satisfied (but our interest might be differ) smile.gif

*its neurik jacks and the Superlux jack is gold plated.  smile.gif
hd668b is a power hungry headphone..need amp with big current

if you still don't have the money to buy amp, at least give them a try in jaben or from other forumer..try to pair it with linearossa K3, ibasso toucan, pico amp, indeed amp, etc. just so you know the true potential of your headphone smile.gif

personally, i prefer hd668B recabled + indeed amp than grado sr225i

Added on January 26, 2011, 9:35 am
QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jan 26 2011, 03:13 AM)
Maybe I should offer a service to recable 668B & 681 to dual entry. brows.gif
It should be slightly better than a simple cable change.
yeah, dual entry cable would be good..but it will requires the owner to send the headphone to the DIYer, plus the warranty will void tongue.gif . but it's not always the case, my dt250 do not benefit from splitting the cable like that..because it already has separated channel for left and right ground cable wink.gif

This post has been edited by i_djoel2000: Jan 26 2011, 06:58 PM
tunertoobe
post Jan 26 2011, 05:39 PM

9,309 posts

I think this will be my first headphone. brows.gif
TSrifasha
post Jan 26 2011, 06:38 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jan 26 2011, 05:39 PM)
I think this will be my first headphone.  brows.gif
congratz~u wont be disappointed ~ smile.gif
trio
post Jan 26 2011, 06:58 PM

DIfferent
803 posts

Yeap. Can join the fanclub soon XD
tunertoobe
post Jan 26 2011, 07:17 PM

9,309 posts

I haven't made a purchase yet. But wait next month. brows.gif

Added on January 26, 2011, 7:20 pmWhat is the top of the line Superlux headphone?

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 26 2011, 07:20 PM
trio
post Jan 26 2011, 08:10 PM

DIfferent
803 posts

Smth that is not available here XD

But so far the costliest headphone i can get is HD330. Wanted to try 669 though but expensive to get as single unit tongue.gif
tunertoobe
post Jan 26 2011, 08:16 PM

9,309 posts

Owh....mind PM me the price? tongue.gif
trio
post Jan 26 2011, 08:28 PM

DIfferent
803 posts

haha HD330?
i_djoel2000
post Jan 26 2011, 08:31 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(trio @ Jan 26 2011, 08:10 PM)
Smth that is not available here XD

But so far the costliest headphone i can get is HD330. Wanted to try 669 though but expensive to get as single unit tongue.gif
669 has better detail than hd668b. good isolation too..

but some might find it a little bit too bright
TSrifasha
post Jan 26 2011, 08:44 PM

233 posts

i'll post more photos here to put sum more racun~ tongue.gif
trio
post Jan 26 2011, 08:51 PM

DIfferent
803 posts

wait i create the fanclub thread now. post it there XD
TSrifasha
post Jan 26 2011, 08:53 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(trio @ Jan 26 2011, 08:51 PM)
wait i create the fanclub thread now. post it there XD
nicee..post the link here once its done~ biggrin.gif
trio
post Jan 26 2011, 09:19 PM

DIfferent
803 posts

Click here for the fan club thread icon_rolleyes.gif
Syncing
post Jan 26 2011, 09:52 PM

150 posts

I am curious how does the 668B matches up to Sub RM300 Headphones such as Shura SRH440 or the Grado SR60i, after seeing MANY good reviews about the performance per value of it.
TSrifasha
post Jan 27 2011, 09:13 AM

233 posts

maybe some of us can make some session to test each of those and come out with comparisons~but so far, most forums are satisfied with 668b plus ts low budget price~smile.gif
Hitman66
post Jan 27 2011, 09:42 AM

Wow COD clone f**k blizzard
707 posts

Compared to grado SR60i, superlux HD668 gives in more clarity,wider soundstage as well as more forwarded mids (it's like the vocalist is singing besides you).No surprise about that through because HD668 was considered as studio monitor headphone.Some people will find it boring due to it's "flat" response.That is where Grado SR60i shines best in this case.With grado SR60i you will enjoy most of the song without much difficulty even with the bad recorded songs.For 668B however it will show most of song's flaws till you can't enjoy the song much anymore.

Grado SR60i produces nicer bass then 668B based from what I heard when comparing both headphones at that time.While grado SR60i can create nice rounded bass that can bring enjoyment on listening to pop songs,metals and anything that involves with drum performance, superlux HD668B produces slamming type of bass which can sound nice solely on acoustic songs.

The only thing that is similar with both headphones is that those two can be modded with better cables and pads altogether,bringing in better performance compared to their original state. tongue.gif
i_djoel2000
post Jan 27 2011, 02:08 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(Syncing @ Jan 26 2011, 09:52 PM)
I am curious how does the 668B matches up to Sub RM300 Headphones such as Shura SRH440 or the Grado SR60i, after seeing MANY good reviews about the performance per value of it.
i have compared HD668B with Grado SR225i. connected to Teclast T51>Line out>DIY Interconnect>Indeed Amp>headphone

hd668B has better bass depth, treble, and soundstage. details are also better in HD668B. sr225i can produce nice, punchy mid bass but lacks on the deepest bass, it has tail..while hd668B can punch you really hard on the bottom given sufficient amplification.all i can say is i prefer HD668B to SR225i anytime of the day!

please note that this comparison is done using high power amplifier, if the comparison is done by not using amp or insufficient amplification, sr225i is the winner..

This post has been edited by i_djoel2000: Jan 27 2011, 02:11 PM
Syncing
post Jan 27 2011, 04:31 PM

150 posts

Looking at the two posts above, the 668B would be at least equal or slightly less in terms of overall sound quality to sub RM300 headphones. I guess it would be a good buy for a beginner like me.
trio
post Jan 27 2011, 04:39 PM

DIfferent
803 posts

have you check the reviews on audiophile forums? u can check out the comparison of it with big bros there XD
rxy
post Jan 27 2011, 05:35 PM

~Airdio~
2,109 posts

QUOTE(Syncing @ Jan 27 2011, 04:31 PM)
Looking at the two posts above, the 668B would be at least equal or slightly less in terms of overall sound quality to sub RM300 headphones. I guess it would be a good buy for a beginner like me.
try first before u confirm anythg..
one man's meat is one man's poison..
Aku_Lugua
post Jan 27 2011, 06:03 PM

166 posts

-delete-
Tersilap thread da.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Aku_Lugua: Jan 27 2011, 09:46 PM
Bonchi
post Jan 27 2011, 06:16 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

grados and superlux are playing in different games lol so i wouldnt say its a competition; but nonetheless they're both good pairs of cans.

price wise, the superlux is no doubt tempting... to a point that you wouldnt really hesitate to grab one if its ready on shelf.

a good poison i'd say. the superlux is, however will require some decent juice to bring out the potential. i wouldnt really recommend if youre just gonna plug in onto an ipod or iphone and go around.. it will sound like it has not enough body and might be a little too bright to some. same goes to most laptop onboard sound.

Syncing
post Jan 27 2011, 09:14 PM

150 posts

Is there a particular amp or DAC to go well with the 668B, or the TS one is sufficient?
Bonchi
post Jan 28 2011, 09:19 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

havent tried that USB DAC.. but its decent enough on an X-fi tho most of the testing ive done are on my friend's maverick D1
the 681 however performs well on a nokia xpressmusic phone
TSrifasha
post Feb 7 2011, 11:15 PM

233 posts

now im preferring more on the headphones~im selling my 2.1..anyone interested please PM me~ tongue.gif
Shoot@M3
post Feb 8 2011, 09:00 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

u mean ur selling off your 2.1 speaker setup? what model?
keep it for pleasure listening when times lazy put on the lux bro. laugh.gif
QUOTE(rifasha @ Feb 7 2011, 11:15 PM)
now im preferring more on the headphones~im selling my 2.1..anyone interested please PM me~ tongue.gif
TSrifasha
post Feb 9 2011, 04:26 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Feb 8 2011, 09:00 AM)
u mean ur selling off your 2.1 speaker setup? what model?
keep it for pleasure listening when times lazy put on the lux bro.  laugh.gif
haha. nope2..i dun jadi to sell them..fhew..luckily i got my senses back. tongue.gif
Hackezkk
post Apr 18 2011, 04:38 PM

~::CiPan'S LovEr::~
1,959 posts

hahaha...u sure dun wan to use headphone 24h on your ear bro.not good..use 2.1 sometimes...
kinhwa
post May 3 2011, 09:42 PM

22 posts

hi rifasha.....how much u buy for the hd681???
noobandroid
post May 3 2011, 10:37 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(kinhwa @ May 3 2011, 09:42 PM)
hi rifasha.....how much u buy for the hd681???
HD681 @ RM105 from trio: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1649076&hl=
shaqmunak
post May 9 2011, 08:35 AM

287 posts

i bet this 668b+custom cable+dac+foobar2k+asio4all can beat my ms1-i + hippo gumstick..
polkiuj
post May 9 2011, 11:18 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(shaqmunak @ May 9 2011, 08:35 AM)
i bet this 668b+custom cable+dac+foobar2k+asio4all can beat my ms1-i + hippo gumstick..
No it can't, unless u love sibilance and no mids.
vincento
post Jun 5 2011, 07:48 PM

73 posts

how is the usb dac compared to creative x-fi soundcard..?
public holiday
post Jun 6 2011, 12:02 PM

345 posts

ms1-i can be easily modded into some real beast

http://www.head-fi.org/forum/thread/119314...your-grado-mods

http://www.head-fi.org/forum/thread/323271...ing-56k-warning
Agent5
post Dec 5 2011, 12:10 AM

89 posts

@rifasha
how's your HD 668B doing ? I am looking for a headphone with tight budget, since the reviews I came across on 668B are outstanding with such cost.
With the performance of it certified, I am just wondering the robustness of it ~

I am new on this part, so not very clear with the terms - what's custom cable ? and mostly I use headphone with desktop, anymore parts do I need
other than an amp ?

This post has been edited by Agent5: Dec 5 2011, 12:17 AM
Akuma no Hana
post Dec 5 2011, 04:37 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(Agent5 @ Dec 5 2011, 12:10 AM)
@rifasha
how's your HD 668B doing ? I am looking for a headphone with tight budget, since the reviews I came across on 668B are outstanding with such cost.
With the performance of it certified, I am just wondering the robustness of it ~

I am new on this part, so not very clear with the terms - what's custom cable ? and mostly I use headphone with desktop, anymore parts do I need
other than an amp ?
DAC AMP combo such as Fiio E10 will be a good start. I will not be able to answer you whether if it is a good match or not because I don't own Fiio E10.

Custom cable do you notice the cable used on the HD668B in the Pictures? The one with the words replacement cable. That is not the original cable that came with the unit but an upgraded cable. Custom cable means custom made cable for the headphone use.
TSrifasha
post Dec 6 2011, 09:45 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(Agent5 @ Dec 5 2011, 12:10 AM)
@rifasha

other than an amp ?
hi Agent5. it's been almost a year now since i've been using this HD668B, and im still in love wit it. i tot in the 1st place it will be out of my favour but i was wrong. still satisfies me~ smile.gif

custom cable - new set of cable, custom or DIY to replace the original cable. if you can browse thru the audiophile section there were many forumers providing the service. these cables can be adjusted according to your budget and needs. the forumers can advice you to on the suitability~ smile.gif

for my usage, the combo that i use is PC -> USB -> DAC -> custom cable -> HD668B. smile.gif

*if there is a year end bonuses for me, i want to buy a better DAC for my HD668B
SUSguitar89
post May 26 2012, 08:04 AM

76 posts

Hi, rifasha.

I just bought HD668B and also own a PCM2704 based DAC, but my DAC left at other places which only after this weekend I can try it.
I also get a custom cable, but from another person though. (ssyycc) Haven't really tried them though.

Did you burn-in for moment before your first impression ? My first 'out-of-box' impresion wasn't good, but after like 5 hours of playing, its alot better. Alot claims that it become better with more playing, so i'm looking forward to it.

Did you get any better DAC ? I'm also thinking of getting better one, but have no idea which is good and cost-wise not expensive. (good performance-to-cost ratio, just like superlux headphone ! )

Have you replace the short cable or do some modding ?
TSrifasha
post Jun 14 2012, 03:32 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(guitar89 @ May 26 2012, 08:04 AM)
Hi, rifasha.

I just bought HD668B and also own a PCM2704 based DAC, but my DAC left at other places which only after this weekend I can try it.
I also get a custom cable, but from another person though. (ssyycc) Haven't really tried them though.

Did you burn-in for moment before your first impression ? My first 'out-of-box' impresion wasn't good, but after like 5 hours of playing, its alot better. Alot claims that it become better with more playing, so i'm looking forward to it.

Did you get any better DAC ? I'm also thinking of getting better one, but have no idea which is good and cost-wise not expensive. (good performance-to-cost ratio, just like superlux headphone ! )

Have you replace the short cable or do some modding ?
Hello guitar89,

Im happy u bought the HD668B as well since its very good! i have been using it for some time now and its getting better the more u use it. My out of the box impression exceed my expectation since i use this headphone with the custom cable and DAC. (much2 better than my previous Philips headphone) tongue.gif

Right now im trying my friend's HD669. A forumer also and bought from Trio as well. He asked me to try it. Well, using the stock cable it got some noise but after i put the custom cable, it produce superb clarity and the noise were gone. But still need some burning tho, should give some time for its potential to explode~now he is looking for portable amp as well.

I haven't replace the short cable yet but i might replace it in the future. Will definitely post it here once i did~ smile.gif

ENJOY ur HD668B~!
tunertoobe
post Jun 14 2012, 04:22 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(public holiday @ Jun 6 2011, 12:02 PM)
These mods....made me pickup my SR60i on my desk and just listen to them. laugh.gif
TSrifasha
post Nov 20 2012, 04:41 PM

233 posts

finally i got my headphone amp to complete the package~! biggrin.gif so happy now smile.gif

0.0328sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:31 PM