❤~((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER v8 )))~❤, gathering people of a 1st gathering

cutiesbaby312
post Dec 8 2011, 10:05 AM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

sob sob cry.gif ..... my guinea pig (chimchim) died last night.. so suddenly T_T he was having heavy hiccups which was jerking him quite violently.. i had no idea why he was like this. I picked him up and checked on his airflow... then he was lifeless sad.gif ......

I only had him for... 4 dayssss.. he was only 3 months plus

Bought him in Pets Wonderful @ Mid Valley... he was one of the most handsome gp I ever seen... he has his own style as well... but he wasn't active at all.. maybe he was already ill when we bought him sad.gif

Here.. i wish chimchim runs free and wildly to his little heaven cry.gif

cutiesbaby312
post Dec 8 2011, 12:02 PM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

QUOTE(Chubbyagel @ Dec 8 2011, 10:19 AM)
Sorry to know that. May your GP RIP...When we buy any pet from Pet shops we need to bring the new pet to Vet for a check up...because we never know is the animal healthy or not. My gps was full of mites when I got them...which i also dunno until i saw the black dots on the furs only realize...luckily not a serious type but still affect their well being. Lately my gp also having hiccups due to eating too fast and got choked therefore it need to digest the food...went to vet and the vet said nothing wrong with it...maybe it just no appetide. Then after a week of feeding Vit C given by the vet...now my gp ok already can eat like monster lo...

Oh, i just realise that my gps choose their vege cos some vege is better in nature and they tend to hungry instead of eat it...I bought most my veges at Giant but now i bought it from Mercato...cos working nearby Pavillion...now they eat every time i feed them vege... rclxms.gif I never tot of it...until one of my colleague told me the vege from G is kinda bitter that is why la...my pigs react to it...Tonight going to clean their cage and plan to try fleece again very soon...biggrin.gif
This is my first time having these cute little fella. I didn't know we must first bring it to the vet for a checkup because I assumed that pets from such mega wonderland will have them checked up before selling them sad.gif I learned my lesson.... Now having phobia to get new ones again... cuz it's so heart breaking to see them suffer sad.gif

BTW, not all types of vege they can consume. Esp cabbage. Google it yeah just in case you dont know about it smile.gif

QUOTE(Shamanwee @ Dec 8 2011, 11:33 AM)
Chubby, i will post up the pic of the bottle tonite..the tube is actually not in stainless steel as most bottle are....the tube is actually made of plactic..
Omg~sorry to hear that...if u r the one buying from there few days back, i think i saw u.... My GPs buy from there too...which sales assistant u approach ?
My Piggo~  blush.gif

I bought it last Saturday around noon time. At that time there were many GP not for sale due to fungus infection.... sad.gif I picked chimchim cuz he was so handsome and sitting there quietly (maybe he is already unwell that time =( ) ... btw, nice GP u have there... so miss mine now cry.gif
cutiesbaby312
post Dec 8 2011, 12:08 PM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

QUOTE(Chubbyagel @ Dec 8 2011, 11:59 AM)
Thanks for the pic first Shamanwee, ur gp is very similar with chimchim le...oh u just got ur gps week ago huh? It seem comfortable with u...mine was running away when I first approach them. If u want to buy a guinea pig try to find one that u feel comfortable with and see eye to eye...smile.gif I got two one is which I personally request the one with black patch on the eye and another one is just cream with white (that one just pick up ramdomly by the salesperson therefore that gp is never get close to me...even until now it run whenever I touch it...it almost 3 yrs and it still dun feel secure with me...sad sad a bit lo...The other one is very stick to me...manja all the time and likes to be touch...and likes kids alot...when heard the neighbour kids shout or cry...it will listen attentive and purring...i need to calm it down by touching it and massage it a little...Oh ya when I got time will snap a photo to show u guys...the photo in the profile is when they are young...now they cant even fit "suku" of the box.LOL....
sad.gif I dont have chance to witness chimchim's growth.. sigh.. but its ok... next time will be extra careful when handling my next GP...
cutiesbaby312
post Dec 12 2011, 12:46 PM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

I wonder where did u guys get the customized cage... After chimchim's death. now i took extra care for the other 2 GPs which I got it from the same place. This time I spent some time to look into it.. choosing the bigger size (which is deemed healthy?) also asked a lot of questions about GP care from the chinese girl (Kathy) and she is indeed very helpful and GP lover biggrin.gif

Now I spot the different service received when I bought chimchim and Healthy (Kin & Hong) from Mid Valley. I was served by this short haired or bald malay guy which they said it's a new staff there. No information given and he placed chimchim in the box without giving any wooden hay and food sad.gif so pitiful... haizz... lesson learnt here...

So now.. for kin & hong.. they r very active and very manja... hong alw bullies kin which is very adorable acts biggrin.gif and kin alw seeks for attention when we passed by.. like purring biggrin.gif I will soon upload their pictures... but right now I m seeking for bigger case for them.. gonna get them more toy and "houses" for their comfort biggrin.gif

Added on December 12, 2011, 12:52 pm
QUOTE(yahiko @ Dec 7 2011, 08:23 AM)
anyone selling teddy gp please PM ..
hi there.. i asked one fella lyn member.. she's is giving away for adoption for a very cheap price.. currently she's putting the adoption on hold cuz her GP is giving birth to little GPs wub.gif wub.gif if u wan her contact.. pls PM me biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cutiesbaby312: Dec 12 2011, 12:52 PM
cutiesbaby312
post Dec 13 2011, 12:04 PM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

QUOTE(Chubbyagel @ Dec 13 2011, 09:04 AM)
HI guys, may I check does gps poos soft indicate of anything huh? Should I feed more hays?
it means ur GP is having an upset tummy.. feed her with more vitamin C food like fruits? Observe for 2-3 days.. if it gets worse please bring ur GP to small animal vet smile.gif
cutiesbaby312
post Dec 14 2011, 11:15 AM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

QUOTE(Chubbyagel @ Dec 14 2011, 09:28 AM)
Merry Christmas to all GPs owners~~What present you gave your gp for this year? Well, I saw the western owners they really treat their Gps like a human being...buy present during Christmas and then will let the gp open it present wow...really adorable.I am really obsessed with GPS...can look at gp photos for whole day...LOL...must going crazy soon...
Me too!!! blush.gif blush.gif I will upload Kin & Hong pictures later.. they love fighting for foods lolz
cutiesbaby312
post Dec 14 2011, 01:43 PM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

QUOTE(Chubbyagel @ Dec 14 2011, 11:33 AM)
cant wait to see the photos... thumbup.gif My two gps also like to tease each other then both jump up and down and chasing around the cage.Today saw them fight for a piece of pepper...haiz...got many on the plates dun want to eat mati mati also want to fight for the "piece".
lol... fighting for food is more appetizing ma.. even humans too... fighting for foods more excitement and delicious icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(apan safuan @ Dec 14 2011, 01:18 PM)
What kind of vitamins you put into your gp .. I am a new person take care of gp
Ermm.. perhaps you can put some honey into ur GP's water bottle.. it's good for them. But I bought a bottle of vitamin C which is meant for GP only.. you might ask for the assistants for the right product smile.gif also same, pour some into the water bottle for them smile.gif
cutiesbaby312
post Dec 14 2011, 02:15 PM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

QUOTE(apan safuan @ Dec 14 2011, 01:56 PM)
today i going to the pet shop to buy vitamin C, but he put VITAMIN BENGY .. This can be put to the gp ... but I continue to buy vitamin c in vaterina clinics but very expensive smal bottle of RM8.00 in 15 ml..
i bought RM21 cry.gif cry.gif

Added on December 14, 2011, 2:23 pm
QUOTE(apan safuan @ Dec 14 2011, 01:56 PM)
today i going to the pet shop to buy vitamin C, but he put VITAMIN BENGY .. This can be put to the gp ... but I continue to buy vitamin c in vaterina clinics but very expensive smal bottle of RM8.00 in 15 ml..
i bought RM21 cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by cutiesbaby312: Dec 14 2011, 02:23 PM
cutiesbaby312
post Dec 16 2011, 01:23 AM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

Hehe.. my turn my turn.. for my two piggies.
They are still quite young.. around 3 months old sweat.gif I suspect that they r brothers actually.. what do u guys think?

Added on December 16, 2011, 1:24 am
QUOTE(Xiawa @ Dec 15 2011, 05:57 PM)
yaya, they are soo tiny at that time, haha XD
thanks  wub.gif

btw jz want to ask if anybody use this as gp bedding?
I am using it and it is quite good actually, and much more cheaper than breeder celect unsure.gif
Can I know where u got this?? smile.gif

This post has been edited by cutiesbaby312: Dec 16 2011, 01:24 AM
cutiesbaby312
post Dec 16 2011, 05:15 PM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

I have a question here, i seen many of u guys used mattress padding.. how u guys handled the pee? I know the poo is pickable bt the pee? hehe just wondering
cutiesbaby312
post Dec 22 2011, 12:45 AM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

Lol.. see my GPs... they love running around actively even at this hour sweat.gif

Youtube link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mt95o0i4c3M

Also they are very much being pampared by us.. bought so many types of bedding, toys, pellets for them.. take a look at the picture below smile.gif

This post has been edited by cutiesbaby312: Dec 22 2011, 12:54 AM
cutiesbaby312
post Dec 22 2011, 10:13 AM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

[quote=Chubbyagel,Dec 22 2011, 09:54 AM]
Also they are very much being pampared by us.. bought so many types of bedding, toys, pellets for them.. take a look at the picture below smile.gif

[/quote]
cutiebaby, thanks for the sharing.Please do not feed ur piggies with premium as these food are more for hamster than guinea pig. They cant have corn or nuts in their pellets because the nuts or seeds tend to stuck in between their teeth then it will hurt them. I did bought one for them and they dun eat at all i guess they know it is dangerous for them or they are picky type of gps...biggrin.gif ur gps are really adorable...

[/quote]

Chubbyagel, thanks for your advice smile.gif I thought the premium one is for GP only because of the big big GP's picture is on it? Also, my GP is picky... they dislike eating the adult pellet.. (the green pieces) and chose to eat hay and sunflowers seeds/corns only sweat.gif sweat.gif what is your recommendation then? What food you're feeding ur GP smile.gif notworthy.gif

[quote=Shamanwee,Dec 22 2011, 10:04 AM]
Yes...i finally bought it...My cage is done....will upload by tonite after work... icon_rolleyes.gif hehe...but my GP at hometown...din bring back cos under care for comfort by family... brows.gif
Cuties, nice GP u have there~ thumbup.gif

[/quote]

Thanks shamanwee

cutiesbaby312
post Dec 22 2011, 10:48 AM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

[quote=TobbyChan,Dec 22 2011, 10:21 AM]
Chubbyagel, thanks for your advice smile.gif I thought the premium one is for GP only because of the big big GP's picture is on it? Also, my GP is picky... they dislike eating the adult pellet.. (the green pieces) and chose to eat hay and sunflowers seeds/corns only sweat.gif sweat.gif what is your recommendation then? What food you're feeding ur GP smile.gif notworthy.gif
Thanks shamanwee

[/quote]

It is highly recommended NOT to feed them seeds. The best pellet is Oxbow pallet. How old is your guinea pig? if it is below 1 year then need to feed then alfafa based pellet and if more than 1 year then timothy pellet.

you can read here for more info http://www.guinealynx.info/nutrition.html

You can give them vegetables. Remember guinea pig are herbivore animals and they cannot produce their own vitamin C. So it is important for them to received enough vitamin C in their daily diet.

Here the link for their diet.
http://www.guinealynx.info/diet.html

[/quote]

aiks? Really... oh ok ok... i will go look for the brand u recommended smile.gif Thanks!
cutiesbaby312
post Dec 22 2011, 11:17 AM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

Btw, where can I get the oxbow pellets? Which outlet sells it smile.gif

Added on December 22, 2011, 11:18 am[quote=Chubbyagel,Dec 22 2011, 11:14 AM]
aiks? Really... oh ok ok... i will go look for the brand u recommended smile.gif Thanks!

[/quote]
I feed my piggies with timothy Hay(as they are adults gps) as per Tobbychan said baby gps feed then alfafa hay..then twice fresh vege breakfast and dinner and unlimited hay with pellets...I used Hagen...although a little strong smell but my piggies only eat hagen if feel others they dun touch it...picky gps... sweat.gif sweat.gif the older they get the more picky they are...
Oh ya i got a funny incident happen at my home...I feed my piggies timothy and also grass (forgot the name) and then I tot my piggies so clever eat all the hay I feed them...until the other day I clean my balcony full of bird shits and all...and saw bunch and bunch of grass at the balcony...the birdies so clever used my gps hay to built their nest....almost pengsan when I see tat...even birdie also bully my gps...

[/quote]

LOL!!! this is hilarious and ur GP is so picky.. threw the hay out sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cutiesbaby312: Dec 22 2011, 11:18 AM
cutiesbaby312
post Dec 22 2011, 04:01 PM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

QUOTE(Chubbyagel @ Dec 22 2011, 03:18 PM)
Shamanwee & Xiawa,
Actually I am not sure what is their reaction when birdies comes into the living room and peck on their hay for I think they might be happy and say hi..you are here today?How many strand of hay u want today...(LOL)  i guess they will just hide into the wood house until the birdie is gone...my place there for lots of birdies make nest and also dancing on the roofs...very very irritating... shits everywhere and have new generation from time to time...Once i clean the balcony they will attacked it with shit the next day...so now I just clean it when I have energy to do so...Those birdies are small birdies so i think it do not look so scary for my gps...one of my gp is very aggresive type...it not scare of loud noise or kids crying...it just walk and eat as usual...LOL...I am happy that my gps are in good shape right now...
Stylist GP u have there thumbup.gif Mine is also the same. As I always wondered if they're real siblings itself as the so called 'smaller' but 'bigger butt' GP (kin kin) will always follow his big brother (hong hong). If he's left alone then he will make a lot of noises like crying or complaining?? If hong hong is there, then he iwll either run with him or just stick very closely to him - Like two big fur balls together rclxub.gif
cutiesbaby312
post Dec 25 2011, 01:34 AM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

QUOTE(alexandra1022 @ Dec 24 2011, 11:23 PM)
princess aka kadaj say hi to everybody~jz get her today from beer8bottle~n merry xmas to everybody~ laugh.gif
wow!!! pretty GP u got there!! What breed is it smile.gif

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Dec 25 2011, 12:27 AM)
merry christmas to all... santa piggy is here... lol
LOL!!! What did u get the baju!!! I want to dress my GPs too biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

btw.. MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE and LOVELY GPssss............
cutiesbaby312
post Jan 3 2012, 09:58 AM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

Happy New Year, happy 2012 to all GPs owners!!!!
cutiesbaby312
post Feb 22 2012, 04:38 PM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

QUOTE(GP mad man @ Feb 22 2012, 11:11 AM)
hi guys, any recommended supplier for GP pellet and hay with cheap price?
i m have 2 male GP at the moment...
my nearby petshop not able provide more choice and price is fixed...
pls specify ur choice of pellet and hay?
cutiesbaby312
post Feb 24 2012, 03:29 PM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

QUOTE(GP mad man @ Feb 23 2012, 04:26 PM)
If you can recommend? I m new for gp...  smile.gif

Added on February 23, 2012, 4:29 pm

very headache lor  rclxub.gif
look like they curi curi go out play mud and return to cage before i reach home tongue.gif
sometime working til late and tired, cant clean their bedding.

Added on February 23, 2012, 5:11 pm

pellet (timonthy plus vit C) and timonthy hay  icon_question.gif
ok, got the info.. will get back to u via PM
cutiesbaby312
post Apr 2 2012, 04:14 PM

Tu tu tu tu...
1,085 posts

QUOTE(yueyi5730 @ Mar 18 2012, 11:02 AM)
some pictures to brighten the thread up.. behold!!!
[attachmentid=2743279][attachmentid=2743281][attachmentid=2743282][attachmentid=2743283][attachmentid=2743284]
OMG.. certain pictures of it... looks like a puppy!!! so much fur wub.gif wub.gif

Added on April 2, 2012, 4:16 pm
QUOTE(TobbyChan @ Apr 2 2012, 09:57 AM)
Never heard of a guinea pig that allergic to hay before. What type of hay did you feed them?
i think she meant that she is the one who's allergic to hay...

maybe it's some particular hay ur allergic to only... perhaps try some different brand?

This post has been edited by cutiesbaby312: Apr 2 2012, 04:16 PM

0.1047sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:09 PM