❤~((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER v8 )))~❤, gathering people of a 1st gathering

beer8bottles
post Jan 31 2011, 06:15 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(shukri77 @ Jan 30 2011, 09:57 PM)

My gps like to be rub on both side of their cheek/ mouth and like pictures below. Once u got them in your hand try to rub their cheek if they like it they will freeze. There are several places they like to be rubbed u will find it someday.

[attachmentid=2023126]
GAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
Mine is like that too!
beer8bottles
post Feb 26 2011, 06:19 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(tongyam @ Feb 7 2011, 06:43 PM)
this is my mouse bought from 8 bottle. hope they grow bigger and bigger  biggrin.gif
Heeeeeeey! Been wondering how they were doing.

They look great in the picture and Coco Crunch looks like its grown bigger.
beer8bottles
post Mar 2 2011, 07:59 PM

34 posts

Hey, here's my bit on DIY.

It was hard work, but when I saw my little piggies happily exploring their new cage, it was worth every drop of sweat.

(Yeah, you can bet that I got an A for my Kemahiran Hidup tongue.gif)
beer8bottles
post Mar 3 2011, 10:55 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Ohiki @ Mar 3 2011, 08:20 AM)
rclxms.gif very creative !!!

btw, will the little piggie feet get trap in those wire square holes ?

how do you plan to clean the canvas ? Can the cage be lifted up ?
Nope, their legs won't get stuck. The holes are small so they can walk around properly. I line the ground with newspaper too, so I can do spot cleaning everyday. I find it easier and the cage keeps cleaner longer. Then after a week, I clean the entire cage. It can be lifted. The bottom canvas acts like a slip-on diaper. So I simply carry up the cage and empty the canvas into the garbage bag and rinse it clean.

I plan to make another one. The normal cavy cages are a real hassel to clean and needs cleaning every 2 days or it starts to smell. rclxub.gif

Added on March 3, 2011, 11:00 pm
QUOTE(daigoro1990 @ Mar 2 2011, 09:17 PM)
wah nice cage  rclxms.gif i can imagine all ur guinea pigs popcorning around in that big space hahah
how many hours u took to build tis ?
It took 1 and a half days to built.
Damn tiring...

When I asked the harware shop aunty for 10ft of wire, she was like:

Aunty: For your gate is it? You want to keep the darn cats out?
Me: No, I'm building a cage for my guinea pigs.
Aunty: Huh? Can keep pigs in your house meh? People won't complain, ah?

Hahahaha, people are so funny.

This post has been edited by beer8bottles: Mar 3 2011, 11:00 PM
beer8bottles
post Apr 18 2011, 01:07 AM

34 posts

17th April 2011
5pm.

beer8bottles
post Apr 20 2011, 07:34 PM

34 posts

Just thought I'd share the cuteness with you guys.

beer8bottles
post Apr 20 2011, 09:49 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(how_88 @ Apr 20 2011, 07:48 PM)
sorry im new here, may i know what specimen of GP is this?
Hahahahahahahaha!
It's Abby type, like Tobby said.
beer8bottles
post Apr 28 2011, 07:41 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Apr 28 2011, 06:53 PM)
hehe hi kaoru san =P. hmm im planning to get another guinea pig , but im really broke now. i bought 4 guinea pig from pets wonderland , all 2 abby 2 normal . named cha siu , siu yok , simba and raigor.

2 more from a pet shop near petaling street, tiny and tiny2.

do u think i am a bad owner? or just unlucky that i bought sick gp's. actually i kept in gp in the toilet , and then the balcony where they cant enter the house but roam there so i dont think they pick up any sheildtox or pesticides scent.. i want to keep a gp but im afraid that it will pass away. I feed my gp bengy hay and bengy pellets which is 24/7 there and carrots and lettuce but i still dont know why do they die.. the last time raigor passed away i cried for a week.. i feel really attached to him

do u think i should get another gp? or just stick with keeping my hamster :c.

I'm sorry for your loss. I know how it feels to lose something you care dearly about. sad.gif
Pet shops are a bad, bad place to buy guinea pigs. There's a reason why they are cheaper than home bred guinea pigs. It's because they are produced in masses and not many are healthy. If you have visited GP farms, you'd never want to buy and GPs from there. The cages are crammed with so many GPs and babies are born in all that chaos. A lot of inbreeding occurs which usually leads to many diseases and short lives. In the future, perhaps you could get one from home breeders here. And if I'm not mistaken, Bengy Pellets are only for rabbits and not for guinea pigs (though the label says it's okay for both).

beer8bottles
post May 2 2011, 11:04 PM

34 posts

The little babies

beer8bottles
post May 27 2011, 12:42 AM

34 posts

My current setup. biggrin.gif
Penthouse
Bachelor Frat.
Family Quarters.

New babies, born on the 16th of May.
All having red eyes despite both their parents having black eyes. So strange...

Caramel Fuzzy Bunny and Mocha Milo Bunny Crunch have gotten so fat!
That's their mom over there. Babies are 50% abby, but their fur is like...not-abby. =_=

beer8bottles
post May 27 2011, 02:05 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ May 27 2011, 12:37 PM)
Wah! ur piggy so luxurious! May i ask , what is that pellet looking thing in the cage? That is lighter colour.

Why do u put cardboard around the cage? lol
It's Woody Pet Professional Animal Bedding. Comes in pellet form. I tried so many beddings before but this seems to keep the smell away the longest. I have to put cardboard coz before this their droppings would somehow end up on the floor and one GP has a habit of pointing and sparying his pee out of the cage. =_=
beer8bottles
post May 30 2011, 11:48 PM

34 posts

Anyone want want to adopt this fellow? He's a year plus and his cage mate is begining to bully him.

I am out of cages and he needs to be rehomed as soon as possible. For those regulars here PM me. I can trade him with timothy hay or bermuda grass (Sun cured). .
beer8bottles
post Jun 19 2011, 08:51 PM

34 posts

Updates:

Coco Crunch II

The Startled Guinea Pigs tongue.gif

Napping after lunch

Toffee Nut Crunch

Teddy Bear, also known as the Little Peanut, now 7 months old.

PS: Can rolled oats be fed to GPs? My mom gave them some the other day and they seemed to like it a lot. There are a lot of mixed reviews online, some say it's okay, some say "CANNOT!!". So I'm confused to whether it is okay. So far my guinea pigs are doing well.
beer8bottles
post Jun 20 2011, 09:37 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(lan244 @ Jun 20 2011, 08:37 PM)
hi sifus.. wanna ask when can the male and female gp start mating??
5 months old and above.

But you should breed female guinea pigs (first time) when they are too old. At 7-12 month of age the female’s pelvic bones fuse, making natural delivery next to impossible
beer8bottles
post Jun 21 2011, 01:46 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(lan244 @ Jun 20 2011, 10:27 PM)
i should make the female mate when its 7-12 months old??
No, no, no.
When the female gets older, it'll have more difficulties to deliver the baby.
So, when it's around 6 months, it should be okay.
Read up more about it before breeding please.
beer8bottles
post Jul 6 2011, 05:20 PM

34 posts

Hey, can someone tell me where to get fleece for lining the bottom of the cage? Thinking of trying out new material.

beer8bottles
post Jul 17 2011, 10:21 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Jul 17 2011, 03:30 AM)
SUPER CUTE! Love the colouration.

wub.gif

beer8bottles
post Aug 6 2011, 04:46 PM

34 posts

I'm letting go these 3 female babies. They're 2 months old.
Anyone interested, just pm me.

No time to take care of so many anymore. sad.gif

blink.gif no breeding them until they are old enough, ok
beer8bottles
post Aug 14 2011, 09:14 PM

34 posts

Shower time!

Achieving a shot like this ain't easy

Especially when your cat pretends to stretch about innocently

doh.gif

The two adorable almost-twins
wub.gif

This post has been edited by beer8bottles: Aug 14 2011, 09:15 PM
beer8bottles
post Sep 17 2011, 04:04 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(imie_haha @ Sep 17 2011, 04:57 AM)
hi every1.... jz WTA... my female GP jz gave birth to 3 babies and i've been expecting it... weird thing is, the babies is not premature and the babies seems nothing wrong... however, the new mummy cannabalize them... ALL THE 3 BABIES!!! HELP!!! i duno wat is goin on... tis is the 1st delivery for her...i've done research for GP gaving birth... normally, GP will make noise during delivary... but this does not happen to my GP.. by the time i realize she gaved birth, all the babies r dead! WAT SHOULD I DO FOR HER NW??? SHE HAVE BLOODS ON HER BODY... should i bath her? wat can i do so tat it wont happen again...?
Did you touch the babies? Or was the surroundings noisy (stressful)?
Maybe that was the reason. Or perhaps you didn't provide enough food for her.

My GP just gave birth to 3 pups yesterday and all is well. There was blood on the fleece cloth but that was to be expected. Also, there was no sound when she gave birth. I woke up and went to feed my GPs like normal and saw the 3 newborns. I gave the mom a lot of veges and hay to eat. The pups are all running around now.

0.0488sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:48 PM