Jul 2 2011, 04:34 PM
80 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jul 2 2011, 12:24 PM) thanks xavi.. this thread need more pictures to brighten up the thread..you also long time never post ur gp pics already..kimmi's abscess is healing well =) just went for follow up recently..lol decided to change diego's name to Donut..diego dun really suite him |
Jul 2 2011, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(ryozoemiko @ Jul 2 2011, 05:23 PM) They are coronet? Veryyy adorableee yup both coronet..the tri colour one his hair supposingly longer but i guess other gp previous cage mates chomp it off so looks like short hair now with a rosetteAdded on July 2, 2011, 5:25 pmMy 3 months Mocha weighed 400g now, i think quite fat lah haha. She almost eat non-stop > < But one prob with her, is her skin is a bit dry altho with fresh veges and plenty of water suppliedt her everyday. May I know if there any oil that I can apply on her to make her skin smoother? I heard olive oil is useable. But any brand will do? dry skin?as in flaky skin?or dry hair texture? This post has been edited by yueyi5730: Jul 2 2011, 06:06 PM |
Jul 2 2011, 09:08 PM
hey emino is tat the mummy of your previous coronet little babies?
yea they look like those old sifu that teach kungfu..lol..but it seemed that it is less poppular in malaysia compared to peruvian and sheltie Added on July 2, 2011, 9:10 pm QUOTE(ryozoemiko @ Jul 2 2011, 07:19 PM) Coronet has special look, like thick eyebrow-like hehe..i like it.. did u bathe ur gp b4?using wat shampoo etc?Hmm..like flip open the fur, can feel d skin texture a bit rough. Sometimes there are dandruff, but like once / two flakes..no bald spot , no reddness, no inflmmation. This post has been edited by yueyi5730: Jul 2 2011, 09:10 PM |
Jul 2 2011, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(emino @ Jul 2 2011, 10:12 PM) It's not because its not popular. Its because its rarer, thus often priced higher than the rest. And you know us Malaysians, we like cheap cheap stuffs! true also..and yea they are WAY MORE expansive than other breeds..yea i saw those lovely babies but tat time i was not ready to take in gp yet.My gp sleep with me in my room everynight..LOL..air conditioning privilegesAnd yeah, thats the mum of my previous batch. I missed them dearly. I hope thier new owner treat them well. |
Jul 3 2011, 02:14 AM
QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Jul 2 2011, 11:56 PM) my friend better - - wow spoilt gp..aiyo if my gp become like tat habis lahis aircond spoil , and the guinea pig super super pampered. will wheek if no aircond!! so my friend had to open the fridge and let it sleep inside lol!! QUOTE(ryozoemiko @ Jul 3 2011, 02:11 AM) Yeap, i bathed my gp before with baby johnson shampoo. hmm..do u think the vinegar might be the cause?Last week i bathed once with vinegar too coz getting rid of some black dots on the fur. So according to the steps, once a week vinegar bath, so i bathed today again. black dots maybe is the seeds/residue from alfafa sumtimes stuck at the fur..last time also i saw in my rabbit, i tot my rabbit got mites but luckily is just the alfafa residues/seeds |
Jul 3 2011, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(ryozoemiko @ Jul 3 2011, 02:41 AM) Yea..diluted d vinegar. 1:10 ratio right? I juz put a few drop, then dilute with warm + cool water. After bathing, i used baby johnson's powder then groom the fur too. yea bathing frequently causes dry skin..think it's ok to rub a little olive oilOhhh..i tot shud tapper down d frequency after few weeks tim > < Aiyakkk... Olive oil cant use oh? Added on July 3, 2011, 2:43 am Dun think so is residues/ seeds le..coz after a week, is still there...but lesser in quantity i think. If condition still persists, maybe i will get ivermectin from vet then... dont simply ask for ivermectin injection..ivermectin is for parasites oni..not for skin problem..if skin problem cause by parasites then yes oni use ivermectin..actually ivermectin injection if take frequently can cause liver damage to any animals so dont simply take oni when it's needed err..i dun think u shouldn't use johnson baby powder..coz it's talc..u wanna use powder i suggest u go for Pureen corn starch powder..the label is light blu(normal pureen is dark blue which is also talc)..can be found in pharmacies,sumtimes i see in tesco,carrefour..if not u buy the rabbit pawder lor from plc |
Jul 3 2011, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(ryozoemiko @ Jul 3 2011, 11:24 AM) Oh icic! Thanks for the detailed informaton! ivermectin is the drug..no matter is u use topical cream or injection it's effect is the same just different route of administration and probably diff dossage in the medicationIs there any topical application for ivermectin instead of injection? It said to be the only way to cure mites. Next week i will b going to kl, i will go look out for powder suitable for my gp. Btw, how often cn we use d non-talc powder on gp? after bathing i suppose u can use a little after u blow dry the gp just so tat it's not damp..i just saw it selling in guardian just now |
Jul 3 2011, 07:25 PM
Jul 19 2011, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(ryozoemiko @ Jul 17 2011, 10:06 PM) well unless the shopkeeper breed themselves they oni will know the true age..sumtimes i go pet shops every week the age of the dogs or cats is 7 weeks old..LOL..unless they really look older they change and oni give estimate like 3-4 motnhs..so i dun really trust the age they claim to be |
Jul 24 2011, 07:42 PM
Jul 26 2011, 12:07 AM
2nd picture is really cute
Jul 26 2011, 11:07 PM
Oo their fur looks very nice..cute gp pictures make my day =)
Aug 4 2011, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(Huey_nee @ Aug 4 2011, 04:29 PM) severe poison from this thread!! first of all both are diff type of animals..Have been thinking to keep GPs for a long time but couldn't make it for so many reasons. Now I have set my mind to own a pair, even clear up room space for the big cage to come, but I find another 'competitor attraction: hedgehog. Can someone please justify the difference between owning these two different pets? (eg in terms of cage, food etc) the difference I know is only hedgehog is a loner and GPs is not. hedgehog is a omnivore(more towards carnivore)..u need to feed them insects once a while and it has spines and will curl up to a ball when it's afraid/shy/defensive,it requires a wheel for excercise..toilet training not as easy as they use to pee and poo when running on the wheel which need frequent cleaning gp are pure herbivore and need fresh fruits and vegy and also the vit C in their diet..they can be toilet trained and need space to run around and not a wheel..gp when new they are timid and takes time to warm up to u which to me is similar to all pets and even human beings.. both needs bath and clean environment.this is just a brief summary the rest u have to read urself..i had hedgehog once but i i prefer gps as i like more social animals where they interact with me more |
Aug 6 2011, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(grhunter @ Aug 5 2011, 12:24 AM) hi guys, smart little fella u got there..adorably cute.. I am a first time guinea pig owner, good to see so many GP lovers on lowyat forum. Here is Henry the vietnamese guinea pig, I bought him from a street seller in Vietnam for only RM 14 » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Aug 15 2011, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(lum_yu_wat @ Aug 15 2011, 07:42 PM) heres something that hit me after a couple of days.. since a forumer sold me a mistakenly-sexed gp(sold to me as male, but now already gave birth) how bad is the possibility of in-breeding?(with the father) i have 2 abbys (the other one is supposed to be female), but gave birth to an abby and a shorthair, as per pic posted earlier.. the in breed lines will have lower immunity compare to the widely breed lines..tat is the main thing..and may cause deformability.. so better to seperate ur male and female gps.. once they mature should be very easy to distinguish watretardation? early death? this has suddenly become scary.. im still keeping the "father" separated, in case of a possible double mixup.. will have to try to check their genitalia again.. |
Aug 22 2011, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(iloveteddybear @ Aug 22 2011, 09:03 PM) Is it normal for my guinea pig to eat a lot of hay? = = i feed my gp pellets in the morning..then hay is available all the time..lunch fresh leafy vegy and nite i give capcicum/carrot/broccoli/some fruits/tomatoand my guinea pig doesn't eat carrots... do i put the pallet there every morning for the whole day or just put them there during feeding time? gp tend not to over eat so dun worry..hay is very good for them just in case..maybe u should check their incisors see if its ok crack/broken so they tend not to chew on hard vegy/fruits coz their tooth cause them to feel pain.. |
Aug 23 2011, 08:08 PM
QUOTE(iloveteddybear @ Aug 23 2011, 01:25 AM) oo...thanks...another question here >< pls dont use other shampoo beside no tear baby shampoo..reccomemded to use johnsons or either buy rabbit shampoo from pet shop..it can hurt their delicate eyes..moreover dandruff shampoo has medication in it to fight off danruff(human dandruff) not suitable for animals..it's not expansive so please compromise with ur petscan i use normal human shampoo on my guinea pig? like head n shoulders, dove..etc? |
Aug 29 2011, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(mima @ Aug 29 2011, 07:46 PM) i want to put pictures but i dont have camera maybe later i will put pictures of my cavies hehe are they biting the cage wires?also, HELP! my gp's upper front tooth patah. like only patah sebelah. the whole tooth sebelah. so it looks like she's struggling to eat, so i cut the veggies and fruit into very small cubes and she could easily eat it then. after few days i can see the gigi starts to tumbuh. then the other gp pula broke her whole upper tooth sebelah. and just now i checked both upper teeth gone! so i cut each pellet into smaller pieces to enable her to eat them. i think its the pellets that cause this. what do you think? pellet? lack calcium? |
Sep 3 2011, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(PrinceKhai @ Sep 2 2011, 05:39 PM) will upload picture soon ! =D when u go down to Ipoh u just buy from ABC petshop..i saw got a lot of oxbow products there..Added on September 2, 2011, 6:33 pmas wat i saw inside Petshack, Hay Alfalfa and Botanica got wat diff? Is it same? Going to order for oxbow carvies performance 5lbs Anyone know how much they charge for postage? Im from Kampar perak ~ |
| Change to: | 0.0318sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:13 PM |