QUOTE(Chubbyagel @ Nov 22 2011, 03:38 PM)
Added on November 23, 2011, 11:20 amMorning, I would like to ask what should we do if the guinea pig is choosy on their fresh food?Now one of my ill GP is very choosy on its food...all fresh vege reject by it, it only nibble a bit only...and then it suddenly likes to eat apple.I am kinda confuse on their diet now...What type of liquid vitamin C that you feed to your GP when they are scurvy?
I don't have any ill piggies yet but they ARE choosy on their food

So I only provide veggies that they usually will finish up to avoid food waste. Anyway, I was once told that their staple food should be hay and veggies + pellet are their alternative food. Do they eat the hay a lot?
QUOTE(grhunter @ Nov 24 2011, 02:52 PM)
The bathroom mat you are using seems like a good idea, I might just give that a try and see.
If fleece is used then it means no bedding is needed? Makes me wonder about how well it could cover up the smell. And I am guessing it needs to be washed daily?I am using a variety of bottles. Some were my hamsters' living world bottles - they don't leak at all but it's too small for my guinea pig. And for some reason he doesn't want to drink from it even after I have washed it many times. Now he is drinking from a metal tip that can be screwed onto soda bottles. Leaks like crazy. I need to go look for guinea pig sized living world bottle when i am back to malaysia...
That's what I am wondering too. I left my piggies to my housemates for three days as I balik kampung, and when I'm back, my room filled with the smell of the soaked recycle paper bedding (the cage is in my room). It's not uneasy smelly, but it has a kind of smell. I lay a piece of old T-shirt in one of the corner as a trial, the absorption is good as it's less wet than only newspaper, but can't really determine the level of smell since it is like all the same as before. Despite all the smell smell thingy, I can still sleep like a log
Maybe for the time being you can lay out a thick layer of cloth under the bottle to absorb the water? Or maybe put a small bowl or something to catch the dripping water. It might be a bad idea though
QUOTE(yvonnelow.ml @ Nov 24 2011, 05:55 PM)
Hey, guys.
I plan to bring my 2 babies with me on a bus back to my home town.
The journey will take approximately 4 hours. I'll be travelling on Dec 8th.
Any travelling tips?
Thanks!

Hi. You travelling back with the piggies this time?
Well the last time when I talked about travelling long distance with the piggies, it was an idea that I don't actually do myself. I find it quite troublesome if I'm travelling by bus because not only my piggies are getting bigger now (which means they need bigger box to tag along), I need to carry their food and stuff. Not to forget my balik kampung journey takes 8 hours if the driver doesn't go merayau!!

So I just leave them to my housemates if it's a short leave... unless I go back by my car
Added on November 29, 2011, 4:01 pmQUOTE(skypeach @ Nov 24 2011, 11:42 PM)
i also have male GP to adopt...if GP lover want it...please pm me...my location is ipoh...
btw, is `living world' food for GP is go0d or not? and what is the different between living world fo0d extrusion and classic? someone, please tell me...really need to know...i want to change my GP diet...
The first pellet I gave my piggies was the living world one, but once oxbow and hagen were introduced, they never touch living world ever again...
QUOTE(Min-ty @ Nov 25 2011, 01:56 PM)
Added on November 25, 2011, 2:01 pmIm just started the same type of bathroom mat and it's good coz the poop goes through the holes, however the newspaper i put under the mat doesnt absorb the pee fast enough so my pigs have dirty bums. im contemplating if i should put a layer of fleece under the mat and over the newspaper.
my pen is now 2/3 fleece with newspaper under and 1/3 toilet mat. i change the fleece 2 x a week coz they now rarely poop or pee on the fleece area. the newspaper under the mat, i change once every 1-2 days.
Hi. I am currently doing that (put a layer of fleece under the mat and over the newspaper) on one corner of their cage, but using old baju instead of fleece. It even out the wetness of the urine on the newspaper, and it is less wet than only newspaper alone.
QUOTE(fattchoi @ Nov 25 2011, 11:15 PM)
Sound like adopt a guinea pig is not easy, need to get many accessories and cares.. Planing to adopt 1 or 2..
Hmm.. How big can a guinea pig grow?? What you guys use to feed them? and will them pee and poo in a specific area or simply over the cage?
All info is on page 1, where I get my info too when starting to keep my GP.
It is a BIG responsibility no matter what kind of pet you want keep. I successfully 'scare' my housemate into giving up her wish to have a dog as a pet when she sees what and how my routines are every day in taking care my piggies.
This post has been edited by Huey_nee: Nov 29 2011, 04:01 PM