❤~((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER v8 )))~❤, gathering people of a 1st gathering

Huey_nee
post Aug 4 2011, 04:29 PM

460 posts

severe poison from this thread!! biggrin.gif

Have been thinking to keep GPs for a long time but couldn't make it for so many reasons. Now I have set my mind to own a pair, even clear up room space for the big cage to come, but I find another 'competitor attraction: hedgehog.

Can someone please justify the difference between owning these two different pets? (eg in terms of cage, food etc) the difference I know is only hedgehog is a loner and GPs is not.
Huey_nee
post Aug 4 2011, 08:51 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(yueyi5730 @ Aug 4 2011, 06:06 PM)
first of all both are diff type of animals..

hedgehog is a omnivore(more towards carnivore)..u need to feed them insects once a while and it has spines and will curl up to a ball when it's afraid/shy/defensive,it requires a wheel for excercise..toilet training not as easy as they use to pee and poo when running on the wheel which need frequent cleaning

gp are pure herbivore and need fresh fruits and vegy and also the vit C in their diet..they can be toilet trained and need space to run around and not a wheel..gp when new they are timid and takes time to warm up to u which to me is similar to all pets and even human beings..

both needs bath and clean environment.this is just a brief summary the rest u have to read urself..i had hedgehog once but i i prefer gps as i like more social animals where they interact with me more
Thanks for the clarification! notworthy.gif I think I know what I want liao biggrin.gif
Huey_nee
post Aug 7 2011, 02:57 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ Aug 6 2011, 04:46 PM)

I'm letting go these 3 female babies. They're 2 months old.
Anyone interested, just pm me.

No time to take care of so many anymore.  sad.gif

blink.gif no breeding them until they are old enough, ok
adorable!! But I haven't settle down the cage and stuffs yet icon_question.gif
Huey_nee
post Aug 8 2011, 04:41 PM

460 posts

While shopping at PLC Ikano, I saw one skinny pig is in the same cage together with two giant (comparing to the piggie) rabbits unsure.gif That poor thing seems like tersepit between the rabbit and the cage doh.gif

The chinchillas don't seem in good shape too unsure.gif
Huey_nee
post Aug 22 2011, 03:43 PM

460 posts

New owner reporting in.

Finally got my piggies from jenshen418, travelling all the way to-fro Perlis and Seberang Jaya Penang to get them. I must say, worth it.
^M&M biggrin.gif Mozzie and Manny

They are very nervous and cautious, but I'm so glad after settling down for few hours, Mozzie (the smaller one) got out from their hide house to eat hay and carrot. It's so cute!!

Anyway, they don't seem to pee again after they had their first pee when they got home. The water bottle also doesn't show any less water level. Worried they don't know how to drink water from the bottle...
Huey_nee
post Aug 24 2011, 01:56 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Iddy @ Aug 24 2011, 12:27 PM)
A friend's pair gave birth. Now she said too many so she gave to me two girls. I took out the dome edy, I read in the thread some GP owners said it will help the GPs become more familiar with me.

Now another question, they're very skittish. 4 months & I suspect they haven't been held much by their previous owner. It's very hard to groom them as they won't let me pick them up at all. What should I do? Today is their 3rd day with me.
It's my third day with my M&Ms too. I don't think taking away the dome will help, since they need a hiding place to hide and feel secure. I put a box tunnel in the cage, they hide in there most of the time but now wont run away when my hands are approaching them in the tunnel.

I always pick them up with both hands grabbing firm (but not tight) at their abdominal part, then slowly lift up while holding their legs to prevent them struggling and falling down. Always works.
Huey_nee
post Aug 25 2011, 10:18 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Aug 24 2011, 05:29 PM)
remove the dome... thumbup.gif  whistling.gif dome jus instill timidness in them.. so in order to build confidence.. left them at the open.. lol... tat wat i do.. provide shade but not hiding place.. jus make 1 part of the cage abit dark.. it is easier for u to toilet train them anyway.. becos they tend to pee and poo at dark places..
I tried doing that last night, when they realised their hiding tunnel is missing, they wheeked the loudest that I ever heard, and hide in the dark corner all cuddled up with their chin down (seems like the sign of unhappy and frightened)... unsure.gif
'tortured' them for one hour without tunnel, then return the tunnel back...
Huey_nee
post Aug 25 2011, 01:56 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Iddy @ Aug 25 2011, 12:19 PM)
How to lift my GPs as they are very skittish and jumped whenever I tried to lift them? Help! Very scared they might bite me or hurt themselves!
I find this guide very helpful icon_rolleyes.gif

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qi...30082159AAtYmjQ
Huey_nee
post Sep 5 2011, 01:20 PM

460 posts

I kept my GP in room too. Housemate says my room smells like grass and hay lol... and also change new floor layout in their cage, so their pee wouldn't smell so bad (since they pee a lot now =.=)

Huey_nee
post Sep 5 2011, 01:59 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(PrinceKhai @ Sep 5 2011, 01:47 PM)
I stat bedroom ma,

nampak kotor ma clean lo, took my around few mnt oli..still ok la hahax

But the toilet need change everyday, veli smelly @@''

Added on September 5, 2011, 1:48 pm

Hahax, wat new floor u changed? can reduce the smell @@?
I do sandwich-style : 3-4 newspaper sheets -> bedding -> another layer of newspaper (2-3 sheets) -> toilet mat.
Last time I put newspaper and bedding on top, since they pee a lot now, the soaking bedding+newspaper's smell really beh tahan, I have to replace everything after 2 days doh.gif
I notice that using this new flooring, my piggies mostly pee on the exposed newspaper place (place I put hay and their toilet) and their feeding area, and I can replace the newspaper easily too now.
Huey_nee
post Sep 5 2011, 02:35 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(PrinceKhai @ Sep 5 2011, 02:15 PM)
I put newspapers in the bottom later, den towels den fleece,

so far still ok and he only pee inside toilet sometimes at the eating area,

but for eating area i got put toilet mat, so far still ok

but the toilet really smelly..

need buy vinegar to clean it..
wow your piggy so good boy, pee inside toilet.
the toilet seems to be useless for my boys, in 20 shots, maybe only 2-3 shots in the toilet, then they just pee whenever they like doh.gif But now better la, they focus on one area only biggrin.gif easier to clean after them
Huey_nee
post Sep 5 2011, 02:58 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Sep 5 2011, 02:40 PM)
provide shade for the intended toilet area.. they will do their business there naturally.. pick up their poo and place where u wan to do their business.. but b4 u do all this.. u need to spring clean the whole place.. vinegar spray the whole cage to remove the smell..  thumbup.gif
applied the shade-on-top-of-toilet method since they first arrive, but they still pee all over the place, most of the time in broad daylight too blink.gif glad enough that they now mostly pee on their dining area and the toilet thumbup.gif
Huey_nee
post Sep 5 2011, 03:33 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(PrinceKhai @ Sep 5 2011, 03:05 PM)
you try to put toilet and food at near?so that it wont spread too far? blush.gif

Btw,

My gpig still new and he less to run around the cage,

always hiding inside the shade  doh.gif
the toilet is just beside their hay rack, water bottle and food bowl blink.gif
give them some time, when they hungry they will come out to eat...
My boys now will wheek on time for their meal and wheek louder when I open the fridge happy.gif But still afraid of me all of the time
Huey_nee
post Sep 5 2011, 03:56 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(PrinceKhai @ Sep 5 2011, 03:36 PM)
My xiao huang dun eat hay and dun drink water

I dunno why

He oli eat vege and pellets,

I edi hold him and put the bottle into his mouth also he dun wan to drink  doh.gif
i also have same situation s u are now.
be patient and give him some time to familiar with the new surrounding and u.
It takes my boys two days to finally eat hay and drink water. At first I thought they gonna thirst to death liao coz they didn't drink any water for two days, not even from bowl.
two weeks later (now), they drink almost half the bottle a day.
i think there's one good and big advantage if you have two piggies, they can learn from each other. I saw the smaller one was learning how to drink water when he saw his big brother drink it biggrin.gif
Huey_nee
post Sep 6 2011, 11:27 AM

460 posts

ventilation fan lol rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

OMG I beh tahan jor... my boys don't seem to bother doing their business in the middle of the cage without any roof on top of them...
Huey_nee
post Sep 6 2011, 02:08 PM

460 posts

wah xavi, can the S hook withstand the box fan's weight?

I let my room's door and window open all the time (window 24 hours except raining, door open during daytime, night must close bcoz of the insects), fan switch on 24 hours (ceiling fan or stand fan). Fortunately my house's air circulation very good, so no smelly scent in the room and house unless i close the door...
Huey_nee
post Sep 8 2011, 09:55 AM

460 posts

Wh...What are YOU looking at?
Huey_nee
post Sep 19 2011, 09:37 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(yahiko @ Sep 19 2011, 08:03 AM)

cute!!!!

btw~ is already been 1 week since my P with me.. but not a single Wheeking!! sad.gif

the only sound he made so far is purring, Teeth Chattering and cage bitting
be patient... It took my boys 2 weeks to start wheeking for food, and now very high pitch wheek when I wake up (for their breakfast) and when I came back from uni (for their dinner) laugh.gif although they still scare of me to death sleep.gif
Huey_nee
post Sep 22 2011, 11:57 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(PrinceKhai @ Sep 21 2011, 03:18 PM)
Im using 2 layers..so far is ok also,

but if 1 layer also can be use,

then I think I will take off another layer..jimat kerja when wash..hahax
Maybe I should try to use fleece hmm.gif
QUOTE(yahiko @ Sep 21 2011, 04:15 PM)
^ yeap~~ kena liau biggrin.gif twice in a week .. i put the fruit in hand to feed,, he finish liau sniff sniff then bite ><"
Same here biggrin.gif I think my fingers look and smell like carrot

QUOTE(yvonnelow.ml @ Sep 22 2011, 12:30 AM)
Yup, they are 2 months and 2 weeks old! biggrin.gif

I'd like to ask a question here.
Anyone has any experience where they had to leave their guinea pigs for about a week or so?

I'm currently in Selangor, and need to travel back to my hometown Penang during the nearing Deepavali holiday. I'll be gone for about close to 10 days. All boarding services that I've enquired about are asking for a bomb for their rate per day!

I really have no heart to leave my babies with those boarding centres, some are just not trustworthy. I'm so so so bonded with these two.

Any ideas? Desperate here! :'(
cute boys you have there!! My two boys are like yours too, one dominant and one shy, yet two of them dislike to be held sad.gif

This is my experience I can share. I took my boys back to my hometown with me last week by car, and although I put them in a rather large box, they would just hide underneath the shade and stayed there quietly throughout the 7 hours journey, wouldn't even come out for their favourite food! Not even a sound!
If you are to travel by bus, I think you can put them in a box (not too big so you can put it on your lap), put some fruits and vege and voile! Put layers of newspaper and cloth to make them feel comfy. I want to try that method since I'm going back again next week for a week +, but since my housemate volunteered to take care of them, I am worry free.

p/s: this is the last resort though, if the boarding fee is too high and you would prefer to bring them back. Anyhow, taking a small furkid onto a bus is easier than by flight. If they stay quiet (in a frightened mode most probably), it would keep the driver and passengers in peace.

This post has been edited by Huey_nee: Sep 22 2011, 12:14 PM
Huey_nee
post Sep 22 2011, 02:45 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(yvonnelow.ml @ Sep 22 2011, 02:16 PM)
Oh, why do they dislike to be held?  sad.gif

I do intend to bring them back by car during the year-end holidays as I'd be away for 3 months, but right now I'm just looking for more temporary solutions. For the rest of this year I only need to board them during Deepavali for 10 days. I'll be going back home in November and will bring them back with me.

Also, do you have a specific item that you use to contain them during travel? Like a pet carrier? Or do you just use as simple box? Which would be better? Do you leave their food inside or how often do you stop to feed them? What about water and hay? For bedding would it be okay if I use towel and fleece? Do you keep them in the back seat or front seat?
They still runs away from me sad.gif except food time sleep.gif

I use whatever I have or I can find. I use a box with tall sides so that I can pin cloth on top of it as a shade. Before depart, I let them eat some hay and pellet first. I put some apples, carrot and capsium in the box with them to keep them hydrated and full, although they stopped eating once the car started. Didn't put hay and water coz sure will make the box very messy, and they didn't eat anyway. Bedding is up to you, I just use newspaper and cloth to make them comfy, they hardly pee during the journey, but still poo. I put them in the front seat when going back, but I got distracted too much, it's hard for me to concentrate on the road. On the way back, I put them in the back seat. They don't seem to feel secured and relieved by looking at me I think sad.gif

QUOTE(yahiko @ Sep 22 2011, 02:31 PM)
wow 7 hours? my boy freeze like batu for 1 hour trip biggrin.gif

we just left him at home during weekend ( back on saturday noon come back on sunday night every weekend )
my boys freeze like batu for 7 hours loh biggrin.gif

0.0537sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:24 AM