post Jan 25 2011, 06:44 PM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

Go for Sager meh... thumbup.gif
Riddhy
post Jan 25 2011, 08:59 PM

1,956 posts

if 8k then definately sager there is a user here called princej he offers 1 yr local wrty on sager

just get a x7200 with these specs the price is usd 2600 around rm 8k contact prince j he will give you a cheaper rate. This is a GTX 470m sli laptop.

Sager NP7280 / Clevo X7200
- 5% Student / Military / International Cash Discount + Accessory Bundles for Students - Up to 50% OFF!
- 17.3" FHD 16:9 "Glare Type" Super Clear Ultra Bright LED Glossy Screen (1920x1080)-
- Standard Dead Pixel Policy
- Intel® Core™ i7-950 (3.06-3.33GHz) 8MB L3 Cache, 4.8 GT/sec QPI, LGA 1366
- -Stock OEM Thermal Compound
- SLi ENABLED DUAL (2) 1536MB PCI-Express nVIDIA GTX 470M's (3072MB Total) w/GDDR5 DX11 Video Cards (User Upgradeable) + Extra AC Adapter & Power Converter
- No Video Adapter
- ~ 6,144MB DDR3 1066MHz Memory (3 SODIMMS)
- Standard Finish
- ~Combo 8x8x6x4x Dual Layer DVD +/-R/RW 5x DVD-RAM 24x CD-R/RW Drive w/Softwares
- ~ 320GB 7200RPM (Serial-ATA II 300 - 16MB Cache) - Default
- None Standard -
- No Additional Hard Drive in ODD Bay (When adding Hard Drive, Optical Drive Is Not Included/Removed)
- HDD Raid Settings - OFF
- No Additional Hard Drive in ODD Bay - When Selecting, The Hard Drive is sent in Optical Bay Caddy that will need Bezel Replaced from Optical Drive (When in use Optical Drive Must be Removed)
- No Back Up Hard Drive
- NO External USB Optical Drive
- No Back Up Software
- No Floppy Drive
- Internal 3-in-1 Card Reader (SD/MMC/MS)
- Internal Bluetooth + EDR
- Built-in 802.11 Wireless B/G/N - Stock Wireless Card
- No Network Accessory
- Integrated Digital Video Camera
- No TV Tuner
- Sound Blaster Compatible 3D Audio - Included
- Basic Black Business Case - Included
- Primary Smart Li-ION Battery Pack - Included
- No Car Adapter
- None Standard*
- No Dock/Hub/Adapter
- Integrated Fingerprint Reader
- No External Keyboard or Mouse
- No Notebook Cooler
- No Thanks, Please do not Overclock my system (Overclocking will add 3-6 business days to build time)
- No Operating System Standard - Drivers & Utility Software Only
- No Office Software
- No Software Bundle
- 3 Year Labor* 1 Year Parts Warranty Lifetime -24/7 DOMESTIC Based-

Added on January 25, 2011, 9:46 pmor save some by getting this its usd 2050 around 6.2k with i7 2820qm+gtx 485m mind you gtx 460m sli = 1 gtx 485m

Sager NP8170 / Clevo P170HM
- 17.3" FHD LED Backlit 16:9 "Glare Type" Super Clear Ultra Bright Glossy Screen (1920x1080)
- -2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-2720QM, 2.2-3.3GHz, (32nm, 6MB L3 cache)
- nVidia GeForce GTX 485M 2,048MB PCI-Express GDDR5 DX11 (User Upgradeable)
- No Video Adapter
- ~ 6,144MB DDR3 1333MHz Dual Channel Memory (2 SODIMMS)
- Standard Finish
- ~Combo 8x8x6x4x Dual Layer DVD +/-R/RW 5x DVD-RAM 24x CD-R/RW Drive w/Softwares
- None Standard -
- No Additional Hard Drive in ODD Bay - When Selecting, The Hard Drive is sent in Optical Bay Caddy that will need Bezel Replaced from Optical Drive (When in use Optical Drive Must be Removed)
- No Back Up Hard Drive
- No Back Up Software
- No Floppy Drive
- Internal 7-in-1 Card Reader (MS/MS Pro/MS Duo/MS Pro Duo/SD/Mini-SD/MMC/RS)
- None Standard--
- Built-in 802.11 Wireless B/G/N - Stock Wireless Card + Bluetooth
- No Network Accessory
- Built in 2.0 Megapixel Camera
- No TV Tuner
- Smart Li-ion Battery (8-Cell)
- No Car Adapter
- None Standard*
- No Dock/Hub/Adapter
- No Notebook Cooler
- No Thanks, Please do not Overclock my system (Overclocking will add 3-6 business days to build time)
- No Office Software
- No Software Bundle
- 3 Year Labor* 1 Year Parts Warranty Lifetime -24/7 DOMESTIC Based- Toll Free Telephone Tech Support

if you are really planning to spend 6k to 8k dont blow it on asus msi or alienware , sager has better build and best cooling plus sager is upgradable besides others use gtx 460m which will not be enuf a year later but with 470m sli or a single gtx 485m you can game 2yrs+ more

This post has been edited by Riddhy: Jan 25 2011, 09:46 PM
astria
post Jan 25 2011, 09:54 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

yeah, and 2 yrs later we re probably looking at DX13 already...

anyway, agree that Sager is one of the best, if not the best, when comes to quality, but Dell will smoke it in terms of warranty service as well...

my own choice would be Asus G53Sw... GTX 460M is good enuf for Full HD gaming for the next 1.5yr at least, and it's 15" which makes it smaller, while having 2 HDD bays for u to config...
viruz019
post Jan 26 2011, 12:02 AM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

MSI is good..

been using the GX660r since september/august till now no problem at all biggrin.gif

anyway, regarding service centre, there's a few..one of it is MediaForte at LYP. Anyway, MSI Malaysia had also join this forum and we got support frm them, any issue regarding MSI products especially the laptop, can pm them. their lyn nick is, MSI-MY. biggrin.gif
TSLappieToppie16
post Jan 26 2011, 12:39 AM

22 posts

omg every brand has their own pros i still cant decide. sigh looks like i just have to make a decision and stick with it.
QUOTE(Riddhy @ Jan 25 2011, 08:59 PM)
if 8k then definately sager there is a user here called princej he offers 1 yr local wrty on sager

Added on January 25, 2011, 9:46 pmor save some by getting this its usd 2050 around 6.2k with i7 2820qm+gtx 485m mind you gtx 460m sli = 1 gtx 485m

Sager NP8170 / Clevo P170HM
- 17.3" FHD LED Backlit 16:9 "Glare Type" Super Clear Ultra Bright Glossy Screen (1920x1080)
- -2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-2720QM, 2.2-3.3GHz, (32nm, 6MB L3 cache)
- nVidia GeForce GTX 485M 2,048MB PCI-Express GDDR5 DX11 (User Upgradeable)
- No Video Adapter
- ~ 6,144MB DDR3 1333MHz Dual Channel Memory (2 SODIMMS)
- Standard Finish
- None Standard -
- No Back Up Hard Drive
- No Back Up Software
- No Floppy Drive
- Internal 7-in-1 Card Reader (MS/MS Pro/MS Duo/MS Pro Duo/SD/Mini-SD/MMC/RS)
- None Standard--
- Built-in 802.11 Wireless B/G/N - Stock Wireless Card + Bluetooth
- No Network Accessory
- Built in 2.0 Megapixel Camera
- No TV Tuner
- Smart Li-ion Battery (8-Cell)
- No Car Adapter
- None Standard*
- No Dock/Hub/Adapter
- No Notebook Cooler
- No Office Software
- No Software Bundle
- 3 Year Labor* 1 Year Parts Warranty Lifetime -24/7 DOMESTIC Based- Toll Free Telephone Tech Support

if you are really planning to spend 6k to 8k dont blow it on asus msi or alienware , sager has better build and best cooling plus sager is upgradable besides others use gtx 460m which will not be enuf a year later but with 470m sli or a single gtx 485m you can game  2yrs+ more
this one looks good.. i dont understand the hard drive spec. one hdd in with an empty space for one more?

and im going to australia for 4 years and only will be coming back once a year,what if i want anything replaced? would it be a problem?
astria
post Jan 26 2011, 12:48 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(LappieToppie16 @ Jan 26 2011, 12:39 AM)
omg every brand has their own pros i still cant decide. sigh looks like i just have to make a decision and stick with it.
this one looks good.. i dont understand the hard drive spec. one hdd in with an empty space for one more?

and im going to australia for 4 years and only will be coming back once a year,what if i want anything replaced? would it be a problem?
that means u'll need to ship the laptop back...

my friend has a Sager NP8690, 720QM + GTX 285M... similar case as u... bought the laptop in Singapore, and then fly to Aus to study... the finger print reader went hay wire a few mths back, and called Mucro Asia (the importer) wat needs to be done... the reply: get the laptop back to them in Singapore so that they can replace it... he would be laptop-less for 3 weeks if he does that, and he would need to bear the shipping fees...

end up he dumped it to his brother when he's back in Singapore and got himself a Asus G73Jh instead...

Added on January 26, 2011, 12:54 amanyway, if warranty is wat u re concerned abt, stick to Asus... they ve 2yrs int'l warranty by default, with the option of extending to 3yrs...

This post has been edited by astria: Jan 26 2011, 12:54 AM
Riddhy
post Jan 26 2011, 02:42 AM

1,956 posts

depends on you bro sager also has service center in aus i am sure

for the spec you chose it has dual hdd bays plus you can add another hdd if you remove the optical drive i choose 320gb because hdd is cheap and always gets cheaper every month you can add a 750 gb hdd as well just add rm 100~150 more
This is a Lamp
post Jan 26 2011, 08:24 AM

189 posts

Yes Sager has service centers in Australia. I am based in Australia as well and *had* a Sager (that I sold for a better one). Bought mine from the USA though, but I asked around in Australia (resellers), and they told me that it's possible to send them the laptop if needed, even if I did not buy the laptop from them.

This post has been edited by This is a Lamp: Jan 26 2011, 08:29 AM
TSLappieToppie16
post Jan 26 2011, 01:48 PM

22 posts

so how would i go about getting a sager? i've only got about 14 days left here
This is a Lamp
post Jan 26 2011, 02:14 PM

189 posts

14 days I don't think that's enough time if you're ordering from the States. Takes about half a week to assemble the parts, and probably another week to get to MY. Considering the insane amount of orders for all 3 new models of Sagers, the stock gets depleted and orders are delayed.

If you order from Mucro Asia (SG Sager reseller) quick enough, you might be able to get it in time, though.

I think most Sager resellers have a "Rush order" options but you have to pay more though.

This post has been edited by This is a Lamp: Jan 26 2011, 02:17 PM
TSLappieToppie16
post Jan 26 2011, 03:17 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(This is a Lamp @ Jan 26 2011, 08:24 AM)
Yes Sager has service centers in Australia. I am based in Australia as well and *had* a Sager (that I sold for a better one). Bought mine from the USA though, but I asked around in Australia (resellers), and they told me that it's possible to send them the laptop if needed, even if I did not buy the laptop from them.
Hows the battery life on your sager when not gaming? i think i've finally decided on the sager. hopefully i can get it fast enough.

is the IC diamond thermal compund advisable?

This post has been edited by LappieToppie16: Jan 26 2011, 03:21 PM
This is a Lamp
post Jan 26 2011, 03:27 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(LappieToppie16 @ Jan 26 2011, 03:17 PM)
Hows the battery life on your sager when not gaming? i think i've finally decided on the sager. hopefully i can get it fast enough.

is the IC diamond thermal compund advisable?
My previous Sager that I sold (NP8690) has only 1 hour without gaming. But the newer models, like on my sig on order (NP8150) and some of the ones suggested in this topic, sports at least 2-3 hours not gaming.

The IC Diamond is a good choice yes because its a pretty decent thermal compound.

This post has been edited by This is a Lamp: Jan 26 2011, 03:29 PM
astria
post Jan 26 2011, 04:13 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(LappieToppie16 @ Jan 26 2011, 01:48 PM)
so how would i go about getting a sager? i've only got about 14 days left here
if it's Mucro Asia that u re dealing with, u can try negotiate with them to send the laptop to Australia instead of Malaysia...

of course the cost of shipping is going to be higher if u do that... that's wat my friend did when he ordered the NP8690...
This is a Lamp
post Jan 26 2011, 04:35 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jan 26 2011, 04:13 PM)
if it's Mucro Asia that u re dealing with, u can try negotiate with them to send the laptop to Australia instead of Malaysia...

of course the cost of shipping is going to be higher if u do that... that's wat my friend did when he ordered the NP8690...
Oh no no no, don't do this. I mean, it's not a bad thing but...Malaysia is known for no tax on electronics, therefore you only pay for laptop and shipping, while to Australia you will have to pay the electronic tax + shipping + laptop.

Well I suggest you obtain it in MY, then bring the laptop as your personal item, so no tax in Australia. If you're unable to get it within 14 days then, maybe what Astria said can also be an option.
Riddhy
post Jan 26 2011, 04:51 PM

1,956 posts

@this is a lamp how did you order from lpc digital?

i want to get a p170hm with 2720qm+gtx 470m with everything as base unit otherwise
astria
post Jan 26 2011, 05:01 PM

22,158 posts

well, there are always loopholes to avoid that...

declaring as RMA items is one of the most popular way... laugh.gif
This is a Lamp
post Jan 26 2011, 05:21 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Jan 26 2011, 04:51 PM)
@this is a lamp how did you order from lpc digital?

i want to get a p170hm with 2720qm+gtx 470m with everything as base unit otherwise
Hmm, I had a talk with a user who is a sales representative of LPC Digital in notebookreview.com (find user called babyhemi). He put me through every step and answered my questions happily.

So, from him, he just did my order, then he mailed me the quotes along with their bank details. I did a foreign telegraphic transfer from online Maybank to them then voila! It was the same with XoticPC as well, except XoticPC was more organised and cleaner procedures.

QUOTE(astria @ Jan 26 2011, 05:01 PM)
well, there are always loopholes to avoid that...

declaring as RMA items is one of the most popular way... laugh.gif
Oh...didn't think about that ! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by This is a Lamp: Jan 26 2011, 05:22 PM
astria
post Jan 26 2011, 05:52 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(This is a Lamp @ Jan 26 2011, 05:21 PM)
Oh...didn't think about that !  thumbup.gif
anyway, if TS really want to do that, and the AU custom dun buy the RMA story, take note that goods above the value of AU$1000 is taxable, even if it's personal stuff...
Riddhy
post Jan 26 2011, 07:13 PM

1,956 posts

well i can do foreign telegraphic transfer to him how much will maybank charge me for ftt for usd 1700 any idea?

how much shipping cost did he charge you from USA to MSIA/AU??
This is a Lamp
post Jan 26 2011, 07:20 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Jan 26 2011, 07:13 PM)
well i can do foreign telegraphic transfer to him how much will maybank charge me for ftt for usd 1700 any idea?

how much shipping cost did he charge you from USA to MSIA/AU??
Maybank charge only RM10 or something, not much, just do a conversion of $1700 to RM.

And shipping was $149.50

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0241sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:45 PM