Can we do it?, Is it possible for malaysian guilds?

Quazacolt
post Jan 25 2011, 11:57 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Jan 25 2011, 12:20 AM)
No sacrifice needed. Hardcore guilds do not raid as much as you think. They only put their feet to the pedal when new content is released. Other days, they raid like any normal guild.

From what I have seen, most guilds are too dependant on boss guides, preferring to wait for boss guides and strategies to be posted on mmo sites rather than wipe countlessly on the first few days of new content.  tongue.gif
>top world contender

you best be jokin nigga

Added on January 25, 2011, 11:58 am
QUOTE(Sup @ Jan 25 2011, 08:27 AM)
It's silly to attempt to be a top guild regardless of who you are.  It's like getting Realm Firsts while leveling.  At 3:00 AM you click "PLAY" as fast as you can, blaze through all the levels and get beat by the 10 other players who got SSDs, a better processor, and a better internet connection than you.  Raiding is the same - it's all about efficiency, coordination, and even where you live is an advantage.

Since you're in Malaysia, I'll point out some things about your location:

You live in the GMT+8 time zone in Malaysia, the same time zone as Western Australia.

So, let's say Europe and America get Patch 4.1 at the same time one day apart (US first, then EU) (this is assuming you plan to form the guild on an Oceanic server).  Server time in Oceania is (I assume) the same, or probably GMT+9 (assuming the servers are set to Darwin time) or GMT+10 (assuming servers are set to Sydney time).  Assuming maintenance starts at 10:00 AM EST (which means 11:00 PM Malay time) and ends at approximately 7:00 PM EST (because Blizzard is infamous for procrastinating server availability during major content patches) (meaning 8:00 AM Malay time), you're actually at a slight advantage provided you park your character outside or near the new instance (also assuming that your work day starts somewhere around 9:00 AM, which is probably doesn't.  Of course, that could be negated by the fact that you're unemployed if that is truly the case).  You wake up refreshed and ready to kick bubble gum and chew ass (pun intended)(yes, the original IS the other way around).

If something seems obscenely inaccurate, please let me know.
^

Your tears fuel me.

i rest my case.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jan 25 2011, 11:58 AM
Quazacolt
post Jan 25 2011, 03:32 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Jan 25 2011, 02:44 PM)
This is pve. And latency do affect pve. Period.
^

true. but so long you're getting anything below 400-500 (which is highly possible even WITHOUT tunneling/vpn services) it doesn't.

and the TS post is implying, and assuming that you should be at least able to do at least that.
Quazacolt
post Jan 25 2011, 05:41 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(ChcGamer @ Jan 25 2011, 05:28 PM)
How much ping are those top guilds facing?

Sometimes missing an interrupt by 1 second could means a wipe or near wipe

In BC, i know a lot of fights whether fail or success is determined by your latency and pc spec
you probably did not raided vanilla WoW contents.

almost an hour long fights, wipe at the last 10% because one f***er didnt feel like not failing. 39 others /rage
oh hey lets not forget some encounters (lol nefarion. i bought counterstrike for 9.99 usd because of that) have lockout periods too.

and while i never personally raided c'thun. the videos should be enough to show how retarded that shit can be compared to say, yogg saron perhaps

good shit.

lets just say, BC is much more forgiving, and even further on WOTLK and then cata.
and while 1 person may fail, the other person could've cover. considering how almost everyone now have interrupts. lol @ streamlining classes. then there are dual specs.
Quazacolt
post Jan 25 2011, 06:11 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Jan 25 2011, 05:53 PM)
Make sense, but not for this thread. U may explain on why it is easier nowadays to raid as compare to last time, which i decline to further comment. This still doesn't showcase or minimize the important of latency in PVE.

If 1 person fail while interrupting, your argument is where, other ppl can cover,

What about, if a person fail at stacking or fail at  moving away from fire due to lag or that little latency inefficiency?

Who to cover?

Pls do not try to tell or explain latency not important for PVE any more. Maybe the TS want to ammend the original post a little bit, to say that assuming very good latency.

Can Malaysian gamer's skill par / outskill those in US or Europe?
my above post have nothing to do with this thread. its just to reply to you. though technically, its related to latency somewhat.

stacking/fail to move away wont be affected by ping under 400-500. which again, i have pointed before, and also mentioned that it is possible even without tunneling/vpn services.
if they still fail, then it is their own failure, nothing to do with latency.

Please do not try to place blames on latency for one mistake. instead of placing blames and b**** and whine, why not try to work around said latency. who knows if you're actually able to be a world top raider? i know for sure blaming latency wont bring you anywhere.

Added on January 25, 2011, 6:14 pm
QUOTE(ChcGamer @ Jan 25 2011, 06:11 PM)
Fail interrupt+PC lag = 90% wipe on 10man Nefarian in Cata (Blase Wave+late jump due to latency)

Last time 40man if 1 man AFK also it wont make a big difference. I admit i didnt raid much of the 40man content because i'm in a US server where the active raiders are asleep when i'm awake but i did raid for the 25man in Vanilla

I'm not saying latency is the main factor but it does play a part in how successful a raid can be. Certain classes need good timing which requires good latency to maximize DPS
here is the thing. you kept trying to blame on technicalities, where the purpose of this thread isnt even about that.

PC lag? what, you want to blame WoW or whatever/whoever else for your own problems of not able to purchase a PC that is able to play WoW smoothly? come on.

PS: unless you're on farming contents, it actually takes all 40 man to make things work. did i mention those near 1 hour fights? yea 1 man dps (or mana to heal, LOL HEALING ROTATIONS!) sure as hell didnt matter.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jan 25 2011, 06:14 PM
Quazacolt
post Jan 25 2011, 06:28 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Jan 25 2011, 06:20 PM)
stacking/fail to move away wont be affected by ping under 400-500?

Serious? Not slightly delay?

I've never blames on latency on wipe, i am merely saying latency gives different between competitive raiding.

If skill is equal, then latency will be one of the differentiator.

The TS is talking about competitive raiding. Not about normal raiding. I knew it is possible to move away from fire if ping 400 - 500, but how optimise is the movement, are u taking extra damage and hence giving extra pressure to the healer, due to the split second delay?

So? How can latency not important in competitive raiding.

If u want to argue, pls argue within the context of this thread.
Some members of Stars TW actually play from the US. So 200-350ms give or take, which is pretty optimal while not perfect.
Blizzard did not design encounters that require superhuman reflexes. All encounters give you ample time to interrupt or react.

In the case of optimal latency, honestly, it's rare to see people failing to interrupt cause of latency, but I see a lot of people failing to interrupt just because it gimps their dps

^

this.

skill is a subjective variable. you can have the BEST SKILLED players of the WORLD place together. however if they have zero co-ordination and they cant work together at all, they can be as noob as a 3rd rate non-factor scrub guild trying to break low tier raiding content.

my point? there are many things that affects an outcome of a PVE content raid. and i for one, strongly disagrees that so long latency is under 400-500, you will not be affected by said latency. one can always try to move ahead. sure you may gimp probably a few % of your dps, however you not dying/giving pressure to healers was your concern right?

again, WoW was not designed to require superhuman reflexes. it is designed for people to work together in unison the correct way (aka learning your damn encounter, and beating it. and by learning i dont mean reading up wow wiki or guides as you are contending for WORLD RAIDER, aka being damn fast at content where guides arent even out yet)

again, latency is important. if you lag over 1k ms ping, you have no reason to be in the guild/raid. however, if you are serious about raiding, especially competing for server/world first, i believe it is safe to assume that one should at least put in dedication, such as getting a better connection (if screamyx doesnt work, try jaring, try unify for example, or even move house/place of residence), if pc lag, buy new pc. etc etc.

you may think its overboard, that is YOUR OPINION. the rest of those elitist sure as hell dont think so. and most of them are even SPONSORED for being at the top of the world.

Added on January 25, 2011, 6:32 pm
QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Jan 25 2011, 06:28 PM)
Come mon, be realistic, technicalities is one of the main reasons why Malaysian online Gaming suffer.

Period. If we assume, our line top notch, pc, superb, time, no problem, money, not an issue, can we be competitive?

Boleh!

No one is trying to blame on latency as culprit, ppl just implying that latency is one of the major issue / barrier to Malaysian competitive raiding.
PC:
can you buy a decent PC that can support WoW at full graphic settings and no lag?

yes

connection:
can a malaysian get under 200-300 ms (even lower than 400-500 whoo!) with or without tunneling/vpn?

yes

i know there are MANY MANY Malaysians can say yes to the above to. even in THIS VERY LOWYAT.NET WOW FORUM
if you cannot at least put in the effort/dedication to make the above "no's" into "yes's", then i believe you do not have a place within competitive raiding.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jan 25 2011, 06:32 PM
Quazacolt
post Jan 26 2011, 07:52 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Jan 26 2011, 07:15 PM)
TL;DR on every post here. long story short

AZN PPL cant unite to raid.
^

0.0230sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:19 PM