Cooking Recipe, Share yours...

DarkNite
post Feb 5 2011, 07:40 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(qarezma @ Feb 1 2011, 01:58 PM)
.. my main ingredients are carrot, pumpkin, brocoli and potato.. easy to buy and easy to store for a long time, cos babies intake is very small mah...
I always keep an eye out for Frozen veg like those you have mentioned whenever I visit Tesco. These are not your regular frozen stuff but imported Tesco UK label. These frozen veg can be kept in the freezer for up to 3 month but do check out the expiry dates. And as you've mention we only need small quantities so a bag usually last me a month or 2. It is very convenient as I only need to rinse, cut into smaller pieces and pop it into the nearly cooked broth. Very little waste and easy to portion control.

And good Frozen veg is Watties baby peas. Not many outlet carries this Aussie product but do grab one and try for yourself. This is the smaller size green peas, so they are much tender (especially the skin) and sweeter. If you toddler is able to bite you can try these half smash to start off his chew training, if not you can blend them skin and all.
DarkNite
post Feb 19 2011, 08:51 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(nicKit @ Feb 19 2011, 04:06 PM)
how abt plain water? when do u give them? if u're bf then when to give plain water?
Best after 6 months but better seek medical advice before offering water to your infant as too much water can stop your baby's body from absorbing the nutrients it needs from b-milk which can also lead to an imbalance of electrolytes.
DarkNite
post Feb 21 2011, 08:01 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Storage of meat.
Here is a tip for busy mum whose kid can take meat. Try keeping your mince meat in a zip lock bag. Flatten evenly through out the whole bag with the thickness about half cm think only. This will help you take out(break off) the correct small portion for use without waste or over thawing.
Do mark the date on a sticky tape and use within 3 weeks. Do ensure it is always air tight.
DarkNite
post Mar 1 2011, 05:23 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(qarezma @ Mar 1 2011, 02:10 PM)
You need to look out for heinz rice cereal.
Below are the among baby food that i bought. Heinz rice cereal comes in a blue box
I used to buy Heinz baby cereals from TESCO cos theirs the cheapest price. About a ringgit less per box! Dunno if this is still true today. hmm.gif
DarkNite
post Mar 3 2011, 04:17 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(qarezma @ Mar 3 2011, 10:07 AM)
My advice, if possible start with no added salt and sugar, to build good foundation.
Yup, once they are hooked on salt & sugar, very hard to undo.
DarkNite
post Apr 9 2011, 02:19 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(nicKit @ Apr 9 2011, 01:23 PM)
y use watties instead of normal mixed vege? do i need to wait until at least he learns how to sit properly? u guys use blender or masher to make the food?
Normal local mix veg I dun trust. Their green pea is bigger and not tender, looks like it has been dye and doesn't change color no matter how long you cook it. Their corn is tough and 'old'. Carrot looks like from China, some times the orange color comes out. sweat.gif

I use fork and blender. Now I use blender less to encourage the chewing habit and improve the jaw muscle.

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Apr 16 2011, 10:37 AM

0.0158sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:19 PM