Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V4, Anticipating D700 replacement !

shinjun
post Jan 25 2011, 09:59 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(C.P.U @ Jan 25 2011, 09:56 AM)
Ohh Thank..  smile.gif ... This lens sharp? Dealer don't have stock for it so I unable test on it yet.. I test Tamron 17-50 not sharp enough for me..  sad.gif
You should go for prime lenses all the way if you are so concern about sharpness.
Otherwise, Nikkor 24-70 f2.8 might feed your need. smile.gif
shinjun
post Jan 25 2011, 10:15 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(C.P.U @ Jan 25 2011, 10:08 AM)
I am using 2 prime 150mm sigma and 35mm nikkor.. Both is sharp lens however there is time we need a standard zoom lens.. =D
I thinking 24-70 nikkor as well but the price costly.. I am looking alternative way first..

Added on January 25, 2011, 10:09 amKTCY
Sigma 24-70 HSM - under my list too.. but price double up right? 3k right?
2nd hand Nikkor 17-55 maybe? Pricey but it's a Nikkor ! laugh.gif
shinjun
post Jan 25 2011, 10:24 AM

2,247 posts

Bite the bullet and go for a Nikkor 24-70. Don't look back, enjoy the lens. laugh.gif
shinjun
post Jan 25 2011, 11:01 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 25 2011, 10:52 AM)
I find 35mm more suitable for my use. Wedding, portraiture, dining etc.
50mm too tight. If I need some background separation, my 70200 is there.
So, in the end, i sold my 50mm. Is the range, not the aperture.
Might get 24/1.4 and 50m/1.2 once i'm on FF
35mm probably on selling list after this wink.gif
50mm perspective is very nice. thumbup.gif
shinjun
post Jan 25 2011, 11:05 AM

2,247 posts

I mean 50mm on FF and 35mm on DX biggrin.gif
shinjun
post Jan 25 2011, 09:31 PM

2,247 posts

3.3k seems to be the price for a bad condition 17-55 nikkor to me. A good condition one probably go around 3.8k-4k. smile.gif

shinjun
post Jan 26 2011, 02:01 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 26 2011, 02:00 PM)
I don't know how much your hood, mine goes for RM128 at SSK.com

Told my friend to order for me, but apparently Nikon no stock >_<
Didn't know you drop your d700. laugh.gif
shinjun
post Jan 27 2011, 11:26 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 27 2011, 11:24 AM)
AF module is the one that is interesting. Wonder what new system will Nikon introduce for their FX line up.
51 point cross type sensor. laugh.gif
shinjun
post Jan 27 2011, 02:01 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 27 2011, 02:00 PM)
Usually when I ask someone else to take photo for me I bump ISO + shutter speed up. LOL, focusing point also enable all 51 ._.
Play safe. laugh.gif I the same like u except I lock the focus point to middle only.
shinjun
post Jan 27 2011, 02:33 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 27 2011, 02:11 PM)
Use center a few times they compose put the group at the side, but focus onto background zomg :S. Then kena shoot say why camera cannot detect -.- So usually enable all AF points. Sometimes I keep switching until sian lol, even me myself using 51AF haha. Scared my switch spoil :S.
Next time I must enable all AF points too. tongue.gif

Some people even ask me is my camera switched off? The screen shows nothing. biggrin.gif
shinjun
post Jan 27 2011, 03:24 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(our_team89 @ Jan 27 2011, 03:22 PM)
hi guys,i'm still newbie with dslr.got some questions
1. does d3100 good enough for beginner like me?coz some of my fren give bad review bout it..i dont know if that the truth or the still judge d3100 based on d3000.
2.if d3100 does not good enough,can u guys recommend one below rm2500
With your budget, it is good for you to go for D3100 and then get another budget flash like the nissin di-622.

Then you are good to go. smile.gif
shinjun
post Jan 27 2011, 03:36 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(our_team89 @ Jan 27 2011, 03:30 PM)
thx 4 da reply..so,is this camera has a lot of improvement in term of pics quality compared to d3000?i have read the review,but still cannot understand it.. sweat.gif
A lot as in which area. If for the ISO performance, yes. biggrin.gif Enough to justify for the price pay for the camera.
shinjun
post Jan 29 2011, 01:51 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Jan 29 2011, 01:24 PM)
guys ... what to do if ur lens got slight back or front focusing issue ???
Send it in to hospital for operation. laugh.gif
shinjun
post Jan 31 2011, 02:49 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jan 31 2011, 02:46 PM)
but i said dun have enough power slot... in my room got 1 only. then i had to get split to 3... let's say A,B,C...the A slot i also had to split to 3 again for my monitor, speaker,and CPU... other one for my sis laptop...left one for charging my phone, my sis phone, and mosquito mat..... and iron.

and digital dry box must on 24/7 right? what if i unplug for 1 day?  unsure.gif

how much digital dry box cost? aipo brand is it popular? rm 100-200? since i got 1 body 2 lens only. unsure.gif
What if you go out travel for 3 days? laugh.gif Will your camera grow fungus in that period?
shinjun
post Jan 31 2011, 03:50 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jan 31 2011, 02:52 PM)
i scare that only... some electric stuff scare once off then inside spoil fast like fridge  laugh.gif

by the way can i put biscuit with camera in dry box?  whistling.gif (experiment lol)

i maybe consider dry box also...but i think i will get it in 2012 after house complete built. unsure.gif
You can even store your cash in the drybox. smile.gif
shinjun
post Jan 31 2011, 04:11 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jan 31 2011, 04:10 PM)
OMG! this is amazing  shocking.gif
i mean eletronic silica gel....where got this sell ? garage sales got? or normal shopping complex got?  unsure.gif
shashinki.com smile.gif
shinjun
post Feb 1 2011, 06:01 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 1 2011, 05:45 PM)
That's a GND and not a ND right?
Yeap, Graduated Neutral Density filter. biggrin.gif
shinjun
post Feb 1 2011, 10:32 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(g_pentium @ Feb 1 2011, 07:29 PM)
simply one half of such a filter (grad) is darker than the other, while the other half - in most cases - is completely clear.so basically it can be used to darken a bright sky so that both the sky and subject can be properly exposed.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/jojo2fast/5160188581/
to produce this shot is it wise able to use filters?
UV Filter. laugh.gif
shinjun
post Feb 5 2011, 07:20 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Feb 5 2011, 07:19 PM)
this eh?
B+W 52mm XS-Pro Digital Ultraviolet (UV) Multi-Resistant (MRC) Coated 010M Glass Filter
Yes, lovely filter. wub.gif
shinjun
post Feb 8 2011, 09:14 PM

2,247 posts

Sometimes high ISO is good but still couldn't replace the existence of a flash gun as there are still areas left with shadows all around.

High ISO plus the help of a flash gun is yummy. biggrin.gif

0.0209sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:55 AM