Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V4, Anticipating D700 replacement !

jchue73
post Feb 5 2011, 05:37 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 5 2011, 05:21 PM)
^
Hey tony thanks for replying. I threw that question few months back.
the possibility of using Nikon lens on canon body and vice versa.
I thought the answer from forumer was impossible.
so.. does adapter actually working?
I mean. does it mean Nikon can use Canon lens and vice versa?
Using Nikon lens with the adapter on the Canon body only gives manual focusing and metering.

It is not possible to use Canon lens on Nikon body because the Canon mount is physically bigger.

Having said this, the funny thing is when it comes to wide angles, there is no Canon equivalent to Nikon's 14-24. More often than not, you'll find serious Canon landscape photographers using Nikon wideangle lenses with the adaptor on their FF 1Ds bodies. I guess that says a lot why Nikon lenses are more expensive than Canon's.

Added on February 5, 2011, 5:41 pm
QUOTE(skycrawler @ Feb 5 2011, 05:28 PM)
Wow..adapter is exist ka..any picture? drool.gif
Not my pic.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Feb 5 2011, 05:41 PM
jchue73
post Feb 6 2011, 12:42 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Feb 6 2011, 12:19 PM)
as for me i think the D700 wins but 5D2 got the bigger resolution  notworthy.gif
I think if you resize the 5D Mark II crop to D700 resolution, you'd find them equal or better than the D700. Just like the D3X would be equal or better when compared at D700 resolution.
jchue73
post Feb 6 2011, 06:04 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Feb 6 2011, 03:38 PM)
Guys. I need an opinion. I am planning to upgrade to D700 or 5Dmk2. I dont own a lot of nikon lenses so I'm not inclined or forced to choose a certain brand.

I'm getting this for mostly wedding & event shoots.

1. Should I wait for D800/5Dmk3 or is it okay to buy either of the above cameras now?
2. For weddings & events, which camera is best suited for those occasions?
1. Just my 2 sen. There's always better cameras coming out. You can play the waiting game and forever be camera-less. When the new bodies come out, it'll probably be too expensive. rolleyes.gif You'd probably have missed several great opportunities too.

2. Depends on what lenses you have and if you were to change system, how much losses you would incur... Basically, the D700 is nice but the advantage of the 5D Mark II is the video. Is that important for your style of photography? What you can do is get a D700 and use your D90 as your backup. If you're serious about wedding / event photography, you'd want two bodies at least. As a spare or as a body fixed with a different focal length.

Added on February 6, 2011, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 6 2011, 04:33 PM)
Thank for the comment bro. biggrin.gif
I am using Auto focus.
here is my EXIF file.
Hopefully it can be helpful.

Just curious... What white balance are you using? Maybe I need to recalibrate my screen but it seems that there's a tinge of purplish hue on most of the pics you posted.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Feb 6 2011, 06:06 PM
jchue73
post Feb 6 2011, 07:04 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 6 2011, 06:39 PM)
550D @ISO12800
Where's the EXIF? Didn't see any. Also, what's the lighting condition?

Shooting in broad daylight and pushing the ISO to ISO 12800 just for the sake of shooting in high ISO would not yield undesirable noise when the exposure is correct. Hope the photo posted is not what I have mentioned. You can still create undesirable noise in the picture by using ISO 100 or even ISO 50 by not getting the exposure correct.

Best is to shoot at night and blow up the picture 100% in the shadows.

Added on February 6, 2011, 7:04 pm
QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 6 2011, 06:23 PM)
Ohh I am using AUTO (B5,M2) for that picture tongue.gif
Usually I am using B2,M2/B2,M1.
Sometimes I go for Red instead. totally depends. hahaha tongue.gif
but these days I like blue color.
Really? purplish? I don't realize that.
Maybe it's because I push it too much on Blue. 'B5'  rclxub.gif  hahaha..
how about this one then?

Actually my monitor is not re-calibrated as well. tongue.gif
Wah? Why make it so difficult? hmm.gif

Yeah, the pic posted looks perfect.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Feb 6 2011, 07:04 PM
jchue73
post Feb 7 2011, 11:09 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 7 2011, 10:16 AM)
is there is anyway having my D3100 to enjoy the beauty of underwater? if there is please do give me link. Thanks.
I don't think you want to go in that direction... shocking.gif Besides the casing itself, you need strobes and different lens ports for each different lens you want to use.
jchue73
post Feb 9 2011, 08:24 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Feb 8 2011, 09:08 PM)
In most occasions I rather pump ISO than using flashgun one. Still hard to maintain flash-less look in the photo for me when using flash.
That's where good ISO performance camera comes in handy, or spend money for 2.8 and 1.4 lo. tongue.gif
No direct flash. Always with diffuser or at an angle and bounce the flash if you can. Flash with a little bit of high ISO yields very nice effects. A f/2.8 or f/1.4 (while nice to have) does not give enough DoF when you want everybody in the group photo to be in focus.

Don't forget to balance the colour temp of the flash lighting with the ambient lighting.

QUOTE(ButanicaBanzai @ Feb 8 2011, 09:14 PM)
Sifus how to actually prevent the skin colours from going off tone?? everytime I shoot sure skin colour not matching with the real life. Is Auto WB the cause or because of some settings that i tweaked wrongly? It usually happens in indoor, sometimes outdoor.
The skin tones usually get really brownish till look like alien lol laugh.gif
BTW im using D5k
Indoors under tungsten / mixed lighting can be very obvious. Don't know about the D5000 setting but I think it's got something to do with Vivid settings. Try and use a neutral curve. Tweak the WB by picking something on the pic that resembles white / off white under that lighting.

QUOTE(shinjun @ Feb 8 2011, 09:14 PM)
Sometimes high ISO is good but still couldn't replace the existence of a flash gun as there are still areas left with shadows all around.

High ISO plus the help of a flash gun is yummy. biggrin.gif
That's correct. There are instances when I want to shoot subjects / potraits with heavy backlighting from the sky. The flash would be useful.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 8 2011, 10:55 PM)
Budget constraint different story loh; For the 50mm f/1.4G price, can also get 85mm f/1.8D and quality  brows.gif
Agreed ! The 85mm f/1.8 is better if one is into portraiture and if one cannot afford the 85mm f/1.4.

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Feb 8 2011, 10:40 PM)
1.4G and 1.8D difference is earth and sky.
What focal length suitable for food? Own preferences. I personally prefer 35mm more than 50mm on DX. If FX then both is fine with me.
Are you sure f/1.4 and f/1.8 is earth and sky in terms of quality?

For close subjects (i.e. food photography), I find the AF-S 24-70 f/2.8 quite nice. Very good MFD even at 70mm.

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Feb 8 2011, 11:07 PM)
Hope you learn something now and stop giving misleading informations.
On the contrary, I believe Andy214 KNOWS what he's talking about. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Feb 8 2011, 11:30 PM)
doh.gif D90 is useless above 1600. so like compact camera. D300 way better
You sure D300 is better at above ISO 1600 than D90? I thought they were both the same...

QUOTE(kaizenng90 @ Feb 8 2011, 11:39 PM)
guys, wanna ask. how to know our shutter count?
On the Nikon, check the EXIF of the last shot from the camera.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 8 2011, 11:43 PM)
Before the G, people get nice quality photos with the D, you call that crap? I wouldn't say crap, plus, not everyone is PROFESSIONAL photographer or so particular or go into the fine details; even 50mm f/1.8D is good for many people, especially for the price.
As I said, it depends on individual preferences what a person want to use for.  I'm suggesting based on the person's budget and I don't said get this and don't get that, in the end, it's up to the person to decide.
Spot on.

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Feb 8 2011, 11:58 PM)
got mah. above 1600 start noticeable that D90 are more softer. lotsa detail blend togather ed. makes picture are damn soft
If like that, same like D300 lor...

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 9 2011, 12:15 AM)
Before 1.4D, there is 1.8D; Before D, there is also older lens; Of course, if you compare and based on your preference, then different story, but not everyone have same thoughts; there're people who prefer the 85mm over 50mm, as well as people who prefer 50mm over 35mm, etc. You read other forum, some people suggest 85mm instead as they prefer it for their needs; It all boils down to the person.
+1

QUOTE(fubs @ Feb 9 2011, 07:31 AM)
i posted this in the d300 thread wayyy back when i first got my camera tongue.gif taken with 50mm 1.4 AI-s. found the lens in the house storeroom during cleaning.
Thanks for the repost. Never thought lemang cutting can look so sexy ! biggrin.gif

jchue73
post Feb 9 2011, 10:30 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 9 2011, 10:09 AM)
hmm.gif Okay I guess I will save up money to go to SB-900 directly then. no need Sb-700 or SB-800 1st. After I upgrade my body of course  tongue.gif
Just curious... Can still get a new SB800 in the shops? wink.gif
jchue73
post Feb 9 2011, 05:13 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(mint87 @ Feb 9 2011, 05:07 PM)
do u shoot in RAW, and edit in RAW first then convert it to jpeg?
Yup.

Best RAW converter for the Nikon NEF is still Nikon Capture NX2.
jchue73
post Feb 10 2011, 02:20 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Feb 10 2011, 12:52 PM)
Ya. Better grab a normal UV filter like hoya or kenko for protection at least. You don't want to scratch you lens's front element lol.
Becareful when you put filters in front of your lens...

The B+W filter somehow broke on impact in the bag and scratched the front lens element.
jchue73
post Feb 10 2011, 05:45 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 10 2011, 02:27 PM)
Dropped your bag or something?
Not my pic.

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Feb 10 2011, 02:46 PM)
Guys, what is a good lens for taking whole building and interior of it ?
Tilt and shift is recommended.

PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED

PC-E Micro NIKKOR 45mm f/2.8D ED

The 14-24mm f/2.8 is good but not ideal.

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Feb 10 2011, 02:59 PM)
i think fisheye lens is very nice to take interiors drool.gif

if not a normal uwa will get the job done thumbup.gif
If it's just for fun, yeah you can use normal UWA or fisheye. But usually if for architecture, taking pics of interior and outside of the building requires you to have straight lines. Fisheye is out of the question. Normal UWA will give odd parallax. You need good ones like 14-24mm f/2.8.

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Feb 10 2011, 03:17 PM)
I can't appreciate UWA yet.  doh.gif
UWA are hardest to shoot and get good photos. Telephoto is relatively very easy.

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Feb 10 2011, 04:15 PM)
Wow, mind taking a photo of the front element without the filter? I wanna see how bad is the scratch shocking.gif
It's not my lens and not my photo. The broken glass from the filter made it worse and scratched the front element of the lens.

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Feb 10 2011, 04:15 PM)
And without the filter, I think your front element will be worse than just merely scratches, no? sweat.gif
Without the filter, a pro grade lens such as the 70-200 f/2.8 would have survived. Perhaps it might have just dented the barrel but would not have broken or scratched the lens element. The front glass element of the 70-200 f/2.8 is very thick.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 10 2011, 05:14 PM)
Didn't break completely, actually if never see properly won't notice. Just I want a new hood biggrin.gif.
The 85mm f/1.4D's hood is metal. The G is not correct?
jchue73
post Feb 10 2011, 06:11 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 10 2011, 05:50 PM)
Correct, its plastic. The hood didn't break/crack. Its the part near the mount.
You mean the plastic tab that latches onto the lens barrel?

I took a look at Shashinki and it's damn bloody expensive. rclxub.gif
jchue73
post Feb 10 2011, 06:15 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 10 2011, 05:50 PM)
Camera slipped off my shoulder :S.
Consider yourself lucky. I dropped my D700 in Tokyo when it was less than 1 month old. The camera refused to work. rclxub.gif
jchue73
post Feb 10 2011, 06:55 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Feb 10 2011, 06:17 PM)
ur D700 is a bad copy then tongue.gif the camera should survive good knocks laugh.gif
QUOTE(daze @ Feb 10 2011, 06:19 PM)
thought pro body are built tough.
i drop my d300. and it kill my GPS mounted on hotshoe...break the PCB into 1/2. sleep.gif"
lucky camera survive.
QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Feb 10 2011, 06:28 PM)
wonder what level mr jchue73 dropped his D700 from. until it refuses to work hmm.gif
Depends on how the camera drops. Had my camera slung on my should with the camera around my waist and it slipped off my shoulders when I took out my camera bag. It dropped and landed on the corner of the MB-D10 battery grip attached to the D700 body.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Feb 10 2011, 06:56 PM
jchue73
post Feb 10 2011, 07:05 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Feb 10 2011, 07:00 PM)
Hmm, thanks. Been saving money for this 14-24mm lens. Guess i'm on the right track and another 5 months to go! biggrin.gif
I admire your discipline. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Feb 10 2011, 07:00 PM)
So to all d700 new owner.... pls leave ur camera at home for awhile once it reach 1 month old. tongue.gif
LOL biggrin.gif Else, get insurance.
jchue73
post Feb 11 2011, 08:17 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Feb 10 2011, 11:03 PM)
if say Nikon colour is nicer, WRONG
if say Nikon n Canon each produce different colour, CORRECT

Nikon produce more saturated colours, while Canon produce softer colours
so it depends on user preference, most ppl like Canon colour cos it gives nicer skin tone when snapping portraits
Actually you got it terbalik. Canon is worst when it comes to skin tones.

Added on February 11, 2011, 8:17 pm
QUOTE(fubs @ Feb 11 2011, 04:08 PM)
a friend of mine bought a lens in japan and its warranty is not covered in malaysia. as i know it, only local warranties are acknowledged.
Was that a Nikon lens? If it is, it should be covered under the 1 year international warranty.

Added on February 11, 2011, 8:19 pm
QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 11 2011, 04:12 PM)
that one all i know la...only applies for certain countries like US.
so if u buy a lens in say UK, go back to US, US nikon will honor the warranty.
but malaysia is a different story.
Nikon USA will only honour Nikon lenses and bodies bought in US. They would not even touch non US Nikon items even if you pay them. That is why you can never sell them our 2nd hand lenses / bodies to US.

With Nikon Malaysia, you do get warranty for lenses under the 1 year international warranty if you buy the lens from elsewhere. For bodies, warranty is only covered for if bought from Malaysia. Unlike Nikon USA, Nikon Malaysia will still service it if you want for a cost. I know Canon Malaysia is very strict and would not touch grey lenses / bodies.

Added on February 11, 2011, 8:19 pm
QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 11 2011, 04:21 PM)
maybe if buy in malaysia  local nikon set can claim in other countries...but looks like nikon malaysia wont entertain other countries...seems warranty card must state nikon malaysia on it.
Don't think it's correct for lenses. The sales guy BS you. If the statement was made in reference of Nikon bodies, then it's correct.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Feb 11 2011, 08:19 PM
jchue73
post Feb 12 2011, 02:37 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 12 2011, 10:31 AM)
I'm thinking if I should send my 70200 for servicing before the warranty ends? Hmm... got particles inside -.- damn the VR2's infamous issue back then.

How much are the charges for servicing anyone knows before I ask Nikon (at least got rough idea haha).
I may be wrong but if they do not need to replace any parts, it should be FOC. Two years back, I got my AF-S 80-200mm f/2.8 serviced by Nikon Malaysia FOC. There was a slight sweaking sound when focusing and they did a lubrication service on the motor. They may have changed policy now since they also charge for sensor cleaning.

I think you need to leave the lens at the Nikon hospital for a few days.

Added on February 12, 2011, 2:37 pm
QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Feb 12 2011, 02:20 PM)
just got back my Siggy 50mm yesterday after sending it for focus calibration ... focus is spot on now ...    rclxm9.gif
Looks good. Where did you get the lens calibrated?

This post has been edited by jchue73: Feb 12 2011, 02:37 PM
jchue73
post Feb 12 2011, 02:48 PM

2,496 posts

Do they need the camera body there or just leave the lens?
jchue73
post Feb 12 2011, 02:58 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Feb 12 2011, 02:50 PM)
camera body with fully charged battery & the lens as well ... dont worry bout them opening up ur body or lens cos the calibration is done by software tuning ...
Thanks for the quick reply. Was it a quick job or did you have to leave the camera + lens overnight?
jchue73
post Feb 12 2011, 07:48 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Feb 12 2011, 07:05 PM)
200f2 for u then, my dream lens  shakehead.gif ... then u got no lens to buy anymore haha
A friend who is coming down from UK is looking for the 200mm f/2. Has anybody seen the old / new one anywhere in the shops around KL? Does BTS have it ex-stock? I think it's about 15k.
jchue73
post Feb 13 2011, 03:03 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(tun @ Feb 12 2011, 11:02 PM)
BTW  biggrin.gif

i am owning D60 with tamrom 17-50 f2.8

i am planning to get another lens

should i get 35mm f1.8 or 50mm f1.4

act i tend to get 50mm,but the framing is quite limited for me
Curious. Why do you want another 50mm f/1.4 when you already have the 50mm f/1.8? hmm.gif What are you using it for and what do you expect to achieve?

What do you mean by with the 50mm, framing is limited? Too tele or still too wide?

If still too wide, you may want to go tighter head and shoulder type of crop and use the 85mm f/1.8. If your style includes environmental portraiture, the 35mm f/1.8 is nice on the DX sensor. Depends on your style.

0.0273sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:05 AM