American Express® Cards v3, Treatpoints & Membership Rewards™

cute_boboi
post Feb 7 2011, 11:23 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Just to share, around 21st Jan, I called in the CS tel number provided by a forummer here (hye/gen-X/or another, forgot, sorry). tongue.gif to apply for MBB-2-CC , as I'm lazy to submit/fax docs again, since I hold both Amex Gold credit card and Petronas Visa.

The lady is nice, I explain and she says will check and call back. Within <10 minutes, she calls back and says alright, can submit into system (yeahoo! rclxms.gif )

As usual, no response or in M2u online, and from the forums here, some who applied later than me, already got their cards approved. So last week 31/1, I called again and the same lady picked up. I asked the status and she says nothing yet, so I ask her to expedite, she says will raise it up.

Last week during CNY, both cards are listed in M2u online thumbup.gif Now waiting delivery.

Therefore, conclusion is, apply through phone without submit docs works (for existing MBB CC), but it takes longer time and may need you to follow up.

cute_boboi
post Feb 7 2011, 12:28 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(donpapachino @ Feb 7 2011, 12:08 PM)
so did u cancel the other 2 cards? gst can waive? unsure.gif
Both cards not cancelled yet. I need to get the new cards first, then move all the auto-debit. Also transfer the TP points and redeem the MR 200 = RM1.
Also need to check if existing 0% EPP can transfer or incur fees/penalties. Otherwise, will retain one of the existing card until EPP finish.

I did not ask for GST waiver though, as I believe it will follow my CC expiry date, instead of application date. Same with the Amex CC I applied previously, the GST is not charged immediate, but on the anniversary of the expiry date. Will try later.

cute_boboi
post Feb 25 2011, 12:13 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 24 2011, 08:44 PM)
I made another call again to CS and they said that it cannot be done through the phone. I need to do it at the branch to bring my IC and ATM card for some verification.

So I made a trip to the Maybank Queensbay to do so since it operates beyond usual banking hours. What is so frustrating about this trip is that the branch staff said the linkage can only be performed before 5pm. I was totally pawned and stunted!

Waste my time to call CS several times. Also a wasteful trip to the branch without achieving anything and even have to pay for the car park fee!

Dam Maybank!
Long time ago, to link up, I need to fill in form and put down all the accounts and CC number. It won't be immediate, but takes about 1-7 days.

As long as you fill up the form and pass to them, ask them to submit in next working day for processing. Form need to request from the CS.

Added on February 25, 2011, 12:16 pm
QUOTE(sidanos @ Feb 25 2011, 10:47 AM)
I tried to use my Amex Maybank 2 card to pruchase petrol, but it was declined. Used it 1 day after I got the card. Do I have to call the CS to activate the card?
Same with me. Used two times for the new MBB-2-Amex at Esso no problem. Third time use (I always go back to same petrol station and same pump, using my previous Amex-Gold-CC), declined after try 3 times. So I try the other pump (lucky 2 pumps in a lane), it works ! and I quickly reverse my car tongue.gif

Also swipe Smiles point.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Feb 25 2011, 12:16 PM
cute_boboi
post Apr 7 2011, 01:36 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Apr 7 2011, 01:30 PM)
@ronnie,
It's actually a Buy 1 Free 1.
Any weblink for this promo ? Coz I owe a friend 1 cup on a bet tongue.gif

Added on April 7, 2011, 1:37 pmBTW, so far I received 2x cash rebate dated:
28-Feb
31-Mar

I guess is for the month of Jan and Feb ? Or Dec, Jan ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Apr 7 2011, 01:37 PM
cute_boboi
post Apr 7 2011, 02:24 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Apr 7 2011, 01:42 PM)
@cute_boboi,
Someone posted the link just 2 days ago; unfortunately i can't seem to find it anymore - will try to do a search and see if I can find it sad.gif

-Added-
Here U go : http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/Starbucks_04042011.pdf
Alas the one at Pusat Bandar Damansara takde promo sad.gif
Thanks, looks very interesting. I not yet cancel the Amex Gold Credit Card (no MBB logo)

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 7 2011, 01:56 PM)
Nice promo indeed.... I wonder if the Maybankard 2 AMEX is valid for such promotion........It's like 50% + 2.5% rebate + 5% rebate (if on weekends)
Yes, I'm wondering if applicable for MBB-2-Amex or not hmm.gif Tomorrow will ask at KLCC

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Apr 7 2011, 02:22 PM)
of course i read it already. just wan to confirm only. going to starbucks now for 2 cups of coffee  rclxms.gif
Can help ask as long as it is MBB Amex card, then is applicable ? Thanks

cute_boboi
post Apr 8 2011, 11:57 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(iloveusms @ Apr 7 2011, 11:07 PM)
hi all,i plan to renew my car insurance online at motortakaful,but i am not sure the additional coverage,can anybody here have experience share with me,which one should add,and which one can just ignore it..mostly what you all add? thank you!

A bit late response, but as stated, it is all extra coverage (optional)
(a) in case your passengers sue you. e.g. accident, they lose their limbs
(b) same as (a), but due to negligence. e.g. you driving and talking on h/p, then bang and turn turtle. Your passenger lose limbs and want to sue.
© strike, riot... e.g. if they throw stones/molotov cocktail at your car park at roadside, you can't claim, unless you bought this extra item.
(d) flood - If you didn't buy this extra item, if your car flooded half/full, cannot claim from the general car insurance.
I think there is another add-on, called natural disaster, like earthquake, volcano, act-of-God, etc. Same applies to landslide or fallen trees. You can't claim from insurance, unless you buy extra. Otherwise, sue and claim from DBKL.
Another lesson on not to park under old trees, flood prone area and possible land slide area. Just to add, if park under coconut tree and coconut fall, cannot claim also, unless you can make it look like car accident.
(e) Windscreen - quite useful, if you travel frequent and long distance.
(f) radio/cassette - unless you have several thousand RM player, get it insured. Check if it covers the amp & speakers or not.
(g) Number of drivers - i.e. named drivers. If you don't name a driver, e.g. you husband/wife/son/daughter who use your car frequently, if accident and claim, there is loading charges (around RM400-2000, depending on car model). E.g. if you son drive your car (not named driver) and bang the fender, workshop quote RM1000 to fix and paint, minus the loading charges of let's say RM400, insurance will only pay you RM600 for the RM1000 bill.

cute_boboi
post Apr 8 2011, 03:51 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Update on Amex buy 1 free 1 at starbucks :

I went to KLCC Starbucks (3rd floor) and asked for Amex promo. The more senior staff says available, and I use my MBB-2-Amex to purchase a dark mocha (grande) RM12.50 and mocha (grande 11.50). Include tax is RM15+ only.
thumbup.gif

cute_boboi
post Apr 8 2011, 04:34 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(iloveusms @ Apr 8 2011, 03:57 PM)
thanks a million cute_boboi,very clear..already submit the insurance and din add any additional coverage...  smile.gif  pay online really save alot not only 10%...cheers!  rclxms.gif so i just need print out the E cover note only and waiting road tax come right?(already renew also roadtax at myeg after insurance renew)
Correct. e-Cover note is linked to JPJ. If you can renew road tax, means no JPJ summon outstanding. If can't renew or JPJ only give you 6 months, it means you have some summons (PDRM?) outstanding.

Actually you don't need to print out the e-Cover note. Insurance will snail-mail to you the scheduled cover note later. JPJ will have the insurance you paid in their computer system, all linked up.

cute_boboi
post Apr 10 2011, 10:30 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(donpapachino @ Apr 10 2011, 07:04 AM)
so the 'pure amex gold' cannot be used for this promotion. confused already. blink.gif

anyway, will give it a try today & see how it goes. if not; after queing up & ordered, sure malu if cannot be used & had to use cash at the end. laugh.gif
Before queue up to order, you may ask them first. Better ask than 'malu' later. tongue.gif
I ask first before place order.

cute_boboi
post Apr 10 2011, 08:08 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 10 2011, 04:48 PM)
At Midvalley Starbucks,

I used my MBB 2 Amex to get two cups of brew coffee for RM7.95.
My wife used her MBB 2 AMEX to get two chocholate cream chip for RM14.30

Then at Famous Amos got 20% extra cookies when I used Maybankard 2 AMEX too, I'm not sure if the girl knew, but the advertisement/offer was for cards with the MAYBANK yellow logo.

Above transactions all entitled to 5% cashback and 5XTP.
Famous Amos got 20% extra cookies drool.gif I'm getting fat...

Just to update, today at 1U 1st floor starbucks, there's a small sign at cashier and I drink my 2nd buy-1-free-1 promo. 1st was at KLCC last Fri.

cute_boboi
post Aug 2 2011, 11:16 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ Aug 2 2011, 10:55 AM)
Actually Plat credit cards, even those from AMEX (for instance MBB2 & generic) are not really difficult to get. I dare to say the majority of the holders are not even that rich to begin with.
Plat is like gold CC 10 years ago. Nowadays, having a plat is nothing to shout about.

Visa Signature is the replacement for plat.

For those who aim high, should aim for Visa Infinite / World Mastercard.
No need think about black centurion, etc. for now.

I remember classic cards used to require 24k-36 p.a. and gold cards 60-80k+ p.a.
Plat was like 120-150k+ p.a.

cute_boboi
post Oct 28 2011, 03:23 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Trippin' Homie @ Oct 28 2011, 02:53 PM)
Just used AMEX to get 30% off Pizza Hut just now. Ala carte 7 cheese.
Yeah, I was having pizza hut for lunch and notice that promo also.

Do you order the pizza only or set-meal ?
If set, the 2pax RM36+ and 4pax RM56+ , does it discount another 30% or already discounted ?
hmm.gif

cute_boboi
post Dec 15 2011, 11:10 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Dec 15 2011, 09:24 AM)
How are you able to spend RM30k a month and not earn <RM190,000 ???  rclxub.gif  shocking.gif
(1) Maybe he is doing business with high volume but small profit margin. rclxms.gif

(2) Maybe he did not declare his income tax. rolleyes.gif

(3) Maybe he under-declare his income tax. rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Dec 15 2011, 02:40 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(bertdeen30 @ Dec 15 2011, 02:10 PM)
FYI , Im on family business .
i do not have bank statement of salary bank in , i can just easily fake all salary slip.
i dont use bank facilities like atm , banking . only credit card.
because all my usage on credit card will get paid by the company .
i declare EA form .
but i DECLARE without paying single cent wink.gif.

do we have other way to get plat charge?
maybe i need to swipe more on amex plat cc ? mbb2amex ? or charge card ?
or i just FD with 200k with maybank same like the other bank citi/Sc/hsbc with FD?? any ppl or insder know what the easiest way to get?
(1) Get business plat card using company, instead of personal plat card.

(2) Pledge deposit, as suggested above.

(3) Fake your salary slip whistling.gif but I don't suggest it. Later LHDN may come audit you.

cute_boboi
post Dec 23 2011, 12:32 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Dec 23 2011, 12:44 AM)
You sure have alot of MR points to redeem such nice goodies
Metrojaya RM50 = 9000 TP

RM1,750 = 315,000 TP brows.gif

cute_boboi
post Apr 5 2012, 12:19 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 5 2012, 07:46 AM)
Logically thinking you get the FREE same ticket value (show, price, date, time) as your purchase lah  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Logically, of course the buy-1-free-1 must be same date & time and take effective together.

Else, for other CC promo like Starbucks (ex-Amex), Coffee Bean (Citibank Clear) and San Francisco (current CIMB) coffee buy-1-free-1, can I request buy 1 drink today and get the free drink tomorrow ? laugh.gif

Or buy 1 drink here at Mid-valley, and get the free drink at another outlet in Sunway Pyramid ? tongue.gif

cute_boboi
post May 22 2012, 07:06 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(a-ei-a @ May 22 2012, 06:51 PM)
If I redeem the MR to pay off my credit card bill, will the amount redeem goes to my CC account or Maybank account? How long does the process will take?
Goes to settle that CC bill.
It takes about 1-3 working days to reflect in my online MBB2u previously.

cute_boboi
post May 22 2012, 07:24 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(a-ei-a @ May 22 2012, 07:11 PM)
Ic, if my CC statemnt due date is on tomorrow does that mean I will get late charges then? 1-3 working days...
Hard to say, it depends on their backend processing system. You may try call in CS to ask how long it takes, if ok, to redeem and later if got late charges, to TRY ask them to waive it.

In my case, once got statement (20 days period), within first week I call to redeem. Then I know how much balance I need to pay. All settled before the due date.

My suggestion, is to redeem it next month to avoid possible trouble (manual work to follow up, frust, angry, waste time, waste tel money). Mark it down in calendar/outlook/appointment/handphone reminder.

cute_boboi
post Dec 7 2012, 03:47 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Grappa's restaurant at Avenue K, next to KLCC, buy one free one type of promo for 2 choices of meal.
RM100 or RM160 set.
Must use Amex Platinum card only. MBB-2-Amex platinum is accepted.

cute_boboi
post Mar 27 2013, 06:52 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

3M cashback - I got RM50+ icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0727sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:42 PM