8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Asus G-Series Notebooks Thread V3, G74's Pics at Post #483 :)

TSJeffrey1987
post Jul 20 2011, 08:36 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(Kaizoku @ Jul 19 2011, 10:33 PM)
yaa..a looooooooong time ago..heheh like i said, i didn't had the time, patience and motivation to do it until recently..heheheh....

hmm...how loud? i can't really say...but an annoying grinding sound, and it's usually when the cpu usage is higher..(cpu fan is the culprit)...gpu fans is still ohk..even when i'm playing games on full settings...

but is there a choice of changing the fans?? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Never heard before that we can change the fans. smile.gif Perhaps you can ask Asus Malaysia?

Added on July 20, 2011, 8:38 pm
QUOTE(Irzani @ Jul 20 2011, 02:37 AM)
Asus G74SX-A1 got no rebate or discount from Gentech PC?  hmm.gif
Just email to Ken Lee of GenTechPC and ask him. Try to mention my name too (Jeffrey) from Malaysia. smile.gif

His email: ken@gentechpc.com

This post has been edited by Jeffrey1987: Jul 20 2011, 08:38 PM
TSJeffrey1987
post Jul 21 2011, 02:59 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(Axe93 @ Jul 21 2011, 09:19 AM)
Hi,everyone.Forgive my long absent.I just wanted to know if there is space for the owner of G53SW-A1 since May?  smile.gif
Are you an owner of G53SW-A1? Haven't add your name into the owner list hmm.gif

My newest unboxing vid smile.gif Enjoy!

This post has been edited by Jeffrey1987: Jul 21 2011, 03:01 PM
TSJeffrey1987
post Jul 21 2011, 10:48 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Jul 21 2011, 09:50 PM)
Will e-mail him once I confirmed the spec and know how to deal with wire transfer (including shipping and such  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif ) . Now need to look some spec before I finalized my spec:
If got extra money, should I go for Intel Ultimate-N 6300 or Bigfoot networks Killerâ„¢ Wireless-N 1102?

hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Just don't take the default (standard) one . . . very poor range sad.gif Intel should be good enough for normal consumer smile.gif

Added on July 21, 2011, 10:48 pm
QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Jul 21 2011, 09:25 PM)
bloddy naga... haha im more interested on the ASUS beast behind it haha
LOL! Mine was the ancestor of all the G73 thingy . . . laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Jeffrey1987: Jul 21 2011, 10:48 PM
TSJeffrey1987
post Jul 22 2011, 12:29 AM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Jul 22 2011, 12:11 AM)
lol who are we without great3 grandfather hahaha notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Agree! laugh.gif How was your new beast?
TSJeffrey1987
post Jul 22 2011, 04:04 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(ariff02 @ Jul 22 2011, 03:09 PM)
hey guys, need some suggestions , not sure which lappy to pick , asus g53sw or AW m14x or Msi ??? thanks
I'm an Asus fan boy! G53Sw FTW . . . brows.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Jul 22 2011, 05:06 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 22 2011, 05:01 PM)
You need to go to the CS, but recently it said now they use onsite pick up..
Malaysia got this service already?
In Germany, I have tried this service before. Not bad biggrin.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Jul 22 2011, 06:23 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(ariff02 @ Jul 22 2011, 05:32 PM)
i7 core in asus g53 gives heat problems? is it advisable to get i5 processors?
Don't worry too much on CPU as most of the gaming will bump up the GPU temp. For me, my GPU's overheating problem occurred more often than CPU. The temp of my CPU will rise when only I render my Sony Vegas editing software. smile.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Jul 25 2011, 12:52 AM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ Jul 24 2011, 10:25 PM)
Asus is just lazy when it comes to their re-designs/new designs. And their current approach seems to be targeting the lower spectrum of high end gaming machines. They don't offer 6970s or even 485/580s and not to mention optimus/manual switching. That's why i jumped ship, but i really hope they can up their game, ASUS has good price value ratio for their products.
Sorry to hear that you gonna jump ship sad.gif Wish you all the best . . . laugh.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Jul 26 2011, 12:22 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 25 2011, 09:24 PM)
I think its more like Asus still could not make a decent gaming level laptop yet, where they are not confident enough to go to the high end spectrum. Remember the infamous heating issues in G72, or even the early batch of G73 have heating issues. G53SW, heard some batches have CPU heating issue. Not to forget about the G73 vBIOS problem, keys dropping issue. G53 is already a huge step of improvement, IMO.

RoG needs to get their QC right first before heading to the high end spectrum.

If they cant get these things straight, how can you expect them to come out with a 585TX laptop? Asus definitely dont have the capability to do so for now.

I think, just give the mobile RoG department time to learn how to make decent gaming laptops. Look at how good is their RoG desktop parts, especially the mobo in overclocking. Just give them time, and they will catch up to Sager or AW.

I would want to change if i have the money. BF3 seem to be too demanding for a G73. Probably need a Sandy Bridge i7 and a 585M GTX to enjoy this game at high. On the other hand, G73 isnt that bad, compared to other laptops. We are already quite far ahead of the rest.
Agree. The quality control of Asus is kinda sucks! I have disassemble it once in order to repaste my GPU and the paste job by Asus is really horrible fi I compared it to my GF's Lenovo notebook. sweat.gif

Added on July 26, 2011, 12:22 pm
QUOTE(xk2 @ Jul 26 2011, 10:03 AM)
G51 user passing by  biggrin.gif
Hi there! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Jeffrey1987: Jul 26 2011, 12:22 PM
TSJeffrey1987
post Jul 28 2011, 08:14 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Jul 27 2011, 01:26 PM)
1 time purchase liao ... I heard that usually got warranty stickers where if you remove it just to upgrade RAM, the warranty is void ... sweat.gif

Thanks for HDD tips ..  notworthy.gif
Usually, the void sticker is located on the top of the CPU. For GPU, it will not have any void stickers on it smile.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Jul 29 2011, 09:14 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(J23 @ Jul 29 2011, 03:37 PM)
Just received my g74sx-a1 from XoticPC courtesy of their sales rep Hutsady. Took about 10 days delivered to my doorstep from payment confirmed date. Looks brilliant, can't wait to start working on it.

Upgrades on it;
HD Matte display
CPU i7-2720QM
RAM 16GB DDR3 1600mhz
240GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD (Primary)
drool.gif My dream notebook. Mind to post some unboxing pics to poison us brows.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Jul 31 2011, 02:02 AM

1,661 posts

Seems to be very silent here lately . . . smile.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 2 2011, 04:48 AM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(teamloks @ Jul 31 2011, 05:50 PM)
why u go k/ so many troll there lul
LOL! Recently, I'm active at Kopitiam and Canon thread (just got myself a Canon DSLR) biggrin.gif

Added on August 2, 2011, 4:50 am
QUOTE(J23 @ Aug 1 2011, 09:20 PM)
Hey guys,

Sorry been busy with work. About the unboxing pics, there is already plenty online videos and pics. Its really no different.

Personal comments I've got;

Pros;
Its big, heavy and feels bloody solid. Just the way I like it biggrin.gif (5-6 kg including the power cable, battery and mouse)
The matte screen is so worth the upgrade and zero pixel upgrade I chose with XoticPC. No glare, colours and detail are flipping awesome. Never was a 3D fan so didn't opt for 3D.
Performance wise its silky smooth for the work I do, juggling multiple screen displays, streaming data, charts, word processing, email crunching, web-based apps etc.
Stays quiet and comfortably cool under heavy load.
Aesthetically eye-candy in terms of build.

Cons;
Keyboard response could be better, at times doesn't register if you tap it too light during fast typing.
No numlock present. Big issue I understand for gamers who like to hotkey things to numpad. It simply works as a calculator pad, still great for me though never used numpad for gaming.
Took a fair bit of time to setup the various power mode options because of the SSD that required window 7 tweaks.

SSD;
Brilliant so far quiet and speedy, although I do not know how it would react over time as its the first time I've got one.

All in all, I'm happy with it. All around work and play machine that will likely last me a fair bit smile.gif

Heres to hoping Asus continue to build on their strengths and better the weaknesses.

cheers.gif

J
I'm wondering whether the panel under the keybooard is made of aluminium? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Jeffrey1987: Aug 2 2011, 04:50 AM
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 3 2011, 12:45 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Aug 2 2011, 09:09 PM)
Worth to upgrade if got extra money?  hmm.gif
See whether you wallet go the extra bucks or not. biggrin.gif If got, then no harm of upgrading brows.gif

Added on August 3, 2011, 12:46 pm
QUOTE(silverchain @ Aug 2 2011, 10:45 PM)
which model of asus rog series that got Full HD + 3D screen ah? kinda interested with G53SW but only comes with HD+3D :/
any recomendation?
Have a look at here: http://www.gentechpc.com/system_dept.asp?dept_id=SD-001 smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jeffrey1987: Aug 3 2011, 12:46 PM
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 3 2011, 08:34 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Aug 3 2011, 02:16 PM)
But why there is no

16:9
at the default selection ...  hmm.gif
Don't worry, It is 16:9 ratio. If not sure enough, just ask the vendor. In this case, Ken Lee of GenTechPC.

His email: ken@gentechpc.com smile.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 9 2011, 02:41 PM

1,661 posts

Guys, out of topic for a while. My review vid of Razer Naga Epic. smile.gif

TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 9 2011, 07:35 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(JaWeKuSuDoKu @ Aug 9 2011, 05:18 PM)
Damn.. I didn't know that.. blush.gif 

what to do.. buy edi..  smile.gif
Your current buy now is not bad what sweat.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 11 2011, 04:30 AM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(devkamal @ Aug 11 2011, 12:47 AM)
nah, i need the laptop onboard... im under training,i need to clock 12 months seatime, so 6 months away from shore 1 or 2 weeks holiday then 6 months again.. i have roughly 11 months left.
What kin of problems you have encountered till the Asus wanna replace you with a Lambo?

This is my 1st time hearing that Asus Malaysia will offer another new notebook for their users. I have tried to ask them before but they said that exchanging notebook is not in their policy hmm.gif
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 11 2011, 07:47 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(teamloks @ Aug 11 2011, 04:45 AM)

I want if Asus want to . . . drool.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 9:17 pm
QUOTE(juststayreal @ Aug 11 2011, 12:30 PM)
what does this mean?  will it be much worse than the IX042V one?  hmm.gif
I'm confused too? Crippled in terms of? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Jeffrey1987: Aug 11 2011, 09:17 PM
TSJeffrey1987
post Aug 12 2011, 04:48 AM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(AlexLai @ Aug 12 2011, 12:40 AM)
They basically reduced the memory bandwidth in the GTX560M from the original 192-bit to a measly 128-bit.
How bad this 128-bit will go?

For example, comparing it to the NVidia 540M. hmm.gif

Added on August 12, 2011, 4:49 am
QUOTE(devkamal @ Aug 12 2011, 12:39 AM)

Sad to hear that my friend sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Jeffrey1987: Aug 12 2011, 04:49 AM

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0408sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:19 PM