The Watch Thread v3, Affordable or not depends on individual

nando
post Jan 17 2011, 10:12 PM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Jan 15 2011, 11:57 AM)
Hey bro, just sharing information, that's beauty of the forum, doesn't it  biggrin.gif
My collection? Can't compare to the Seiko fans in Seiko thread.
Quote from somewhere,
"A collection of 4 exceptional watches is better than a collection of 10 mediocre ones."
Haha, easier say than done. Currently 3 Swiss, 1 German, 1 Chinese, 2 Japs. Can see some of it in MWF  laugh.gif
heheheeh..ck77 very careful person..but once he buys...sure beauty one..hahaha
nando
post Jan 17 2011, 10:14 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(Dreamworks @ Jan 17 2011, 07:57 AM)

Can somebody recommend me a decent watch shop in Penang? I'm interested with G-Shocks in particular, most shops I visited in my area have very limited selections shakehead.gif I actually found one in Pacific/Prai Megamall with reasonable selling price plus the boss there is friendly, but sadly the models I want are all out of stock... Tough luck doh.gif

Added on January 17, 2011, 7:59 am
Confirmed replica la, but it was written as "simulate" instead of the usual "replica" laugh.gif
Tong Eng is good....

Added on January 17, 2011, 10:15 pm
QUOTE(shaun90 @ Jan 15 2011, 10:08 PM)
btw.. anyone knows where can i get good discounts on Ball watches?.. i do not mind grey warranty..

i am still deciding between EPOS Passion Ref 3369OH and ball engineer diver master series.
if you're from KL, can PM me. will let you know the shop. i recommended to few fellas...so far not so bad.

Added on January 17, 2011, 10:19 pm
QUOTE(hanz079 @ Jan 17 2011, 04:19 PM)
I just bought frm Ashford last week... 15th Jan.
They ship by UPS and you can track by their website.
My shipment is due to arrive on the 24th Jan.
So it's like 9 days.... if it arrives on time.
Service is pretty good. Can do livechat if you have any enquiries.
If my 1st deal goes well... might be buying more.
Some deals are too good to ignore... hahaha  rclxms.gif
Oh yeah, watches should be tax free. Unless u meet a kopi-o kastam fellow.
sorry, miss your earlier posts...which piece you went for?

This post has been edited by nando: Jan 17 2011, 10:19 PM
nando
post Jan 21 2011, 08:09 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(hitokai @ Jan 21 2011, 05:07 PM)
so no AD on Laco?
google for watch lume and you'll learn more...

if you realy want nice lasting lume and also a decent watch..go for Ball Fireman Racer

http://forums.watchuseek.com/f239/ball-fir...ent-483138.html

This post has been edited by nando: Jan 21 2011, 08:11 PM
nando
post Feb 28 2011, 04:08 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(ykl @ Feb 26 2011, 10:16 PM)
hi, all the sifu here, need you all help here, am new here and interested in BALL watch, is for casual use and do not have any specific model target, as long as is automatic and look nice then will be good.
Is any one knw any AD in malaysia here give good discount? and also any other place to look for great bargain?  and what is the price range like? possible to get it below 3k or 5k?
know a shop in KL..quite reasonable discount..pm a few fellas here and they are quite happy.

3-5 k, can get several of their entry models...check out entry for Aviator, Diver, Night Train, Fireman.

Added on February 28, 2011, 4:14 pm
QUOTE(ck77 @ Feb 17 2011, 10:01 PM)
Off course dude! Only genuine and homage can be discuss here and MWF!
hahah! sorry i missed that gathering...Penang right?

This post has been edited by nando: Feb 28 2011, 04:14 PM
nando
post Mar 1 2011, 10:44 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Feb 28 2011, 11:10 PM)
No la bro, was in KL.
oh, ok. i thought you were planning one in Penang.. blush.gif
nando
post Mar 1 2011, 08:53 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Mar 1 2011, 11:16 AM)
Longines 50% off?!  shocking.gif  I knew I should have followed this thread a little more closely.... would have made a good gift for the wife instead of Oris @ 30% off only.. sigh.
50% off is always on slow, unpopular models. Not everyone comes out from the shop grabbing the 50% bargain. In watch, personal taste rules...

If you got a nice Oris at 30% for the missus and she likes it, i think its a good buy.
nando
post Mar 4 2011, 08:42 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 2 2011, 12:56 AM)
or it maybe from surplus! Swatch may have over estimated and need to get rid of them. or it maybe discontinuing the model. another source maybe due to returns! I know Asia don't have returns but some countries do.

there are lots of reason how they are getting the stock. the above may not be the only reason
hence, that is what i meant when i said `slow and unpopular models'. if its popular, there shouldnt be problem of over estimation or need to get rid of them or even returns.

not saying watches with huge percentage of discounts are bad..i myself am always on look out for sales...but its good not to buy just because its discounted heavily and yet the heart has fallen in love with a particular model with lesser discount..

Added on March 4, 2011, 8:45 am
QUOTE(6@9 @ Mar 3 2011, 10:44 PM)
any high tech simple watches? like the formula one watch?
lower-mid range formula 1 watches arent really high tech but more of a concept/style. to watch lover, its usually about movement.

not a tech junkie when it comes to watches but i heard the T Touch from Tissot and all those huge Casio Trekkers are popular with those who like some technology in their watches

This post has been edited by nando: Mar 4 2011, 09:25 AM
nando
post Mar 4 2011, 09:39 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 4 2011, 08:30 PM)
now that U bought from there, from time to time they will email U coupon code. the last code I get was additional 10% off.
good tip!

Added on March 4, 2011, 10:16 pm
QUOTE(Ethan07 @ Mar 2 2011, 04:28 PM)
hi guys, any idea about a watch as a gift for a 25-year-old graduate? budget ~1k, male. Steel bracelet is preferred.
any suggestion is welcomed... =)
with that budget, Seiko/Casio/Quartz Tissot should be okay. unless you friend is into designer watches..Fossil, Kenneth Cole, etc, etc... then not much difference, it a matter of style.

This post has been edited by nando: Mar 4 2011, 10:16 PM
nando
post Mar 21 2011, 01:02 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(hanz079 @ Mar 16 2011, 11:09 AM)
You attended the WWII opening right?
Can you recall what are the prices like?
Out of curiosity. What attracts you to a damasko? You got a sinn right? biggrin.gif

nando
post Mar 21 2011, 07:52 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(hanz079 @ Mar 21 2011, 02:30 AM)
Sinn U1 is a good and tough watch yeah... but it also builts like a tank with the 44mm case and 15-17mm height... not really subtle.
Damasko on the other hand have smaller watches measuring 40-42mm... the design is simple and highly legible, can wear beneath shirt sleeves...
Different watch for different occasion maybe?
Ahhhh... tell u the truth, when we want something, we can come up with a million reasons... bottom line is... I want it?  cool2.gif
spoken like a true Watch infected patient..hehehehe

i was once obsessed with the yellow second hands of the 37....managed to cure it....so now very careful....hahahaha!

you'll never know..these viruses can stay latent and suddenly appear!

Always loved the IWC Pilot Chronograph....almost went for the Steinhart homage..but managed to cure it......i think if Stowa were to come up with a similar design, then no cure for me...hahahaha!

This post has been edited by nando: Mar 21 2011, 07:57 PM
nando
post Mar 21 2011, 09:12 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(wshoh @ Mar 21 2011, 08:59 PM)
Hi folks. Am new to this thread and have been lapping up all the info here apart from those posted on WUS. My eyes are set on these:

1. Mido Commander - Gent - 37 mm M8419.4.51.8 (ETA 2836-2)

2. Mido Baroncelli Power Reserve (ETA 2897)

Beginning to see 'watches' spinning around after sifting through v1 & v2 of the watches thread...plus the luxury watches thread!

@nando Still obsessed with power reserve models? Which AD was it that you recommended to llk, here?

Will have to pick either one of the above watches as I have other commitments. Still saving up for it...no great hurry, unless the price is going to skyrocket tomorrow!

I do like the Power Reserve model a lot more, it was love at first sight and I am pretty sure I won't get tired of it - but the Commander is equally nice and with a much lower price tag! Improved ETA 2824 (ETA 2836) vs ETA 2892 with power reserve display (ETA 2897) as per patryn33's post below?

patryn33's post is here.
Interesting thread here.

BTW, watch is intended for daily wear - have not worn a watch since 2002 when I was robbed off my Seiko 5! Please feel free to air your comments on the 2 models above.
hi mate...you've gone through a long journey browsing through all those pages havent you? dont worries....super experts like patryn and ck77 will provide excellent tips for you...

no..i came out of my PR display craze..... i think I will get bored with it pretty soon, especially the type where the dial is plain and then you have a PR display. Just like the Mido you showed (no offense, just me). Longines also have something similar. so i concluded that it was an impulse thing....
Having said that, PR display looks good in higher end complications but i guess not many people can afford those...

speaking of Mido, i now fancy something like this...
http://www.mido.my/en/node/2113

more complications, more interesting i guess..hahahahaha but havent really check out the pricing yet....

This post has been edited by nando: Mar 21 2011, 09:15 PM
nando
post Mar 22 2011, 10:05 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 22 2011, 07:27 AM)
Mido used alot of Top grade movements.
Any idea what is the price of the above watches locally?

Here is a Msia online store prices
http://www.orolus.com/cgi-bin/ShoppingCart...celli+Gent+Hand
rose gold, my guess is around US$3K. The all dial steel complication is already selling at US$2.4k in grey.
get a UHR (posted a page or 2 eariler) on same movement maybe 1 grade lower the cost is at EUR$710 or ~US$1K.
thanks..the UHr is value for money indeed....

Added on March 22, 2011, 10:06 pm
QUOTE(wshoh @ Mar 22 2011, 10:49 AM)
@nando Thanks for the PM. Yeah, sure was a long read. ck77 and patryn33 are indeed the experts here - very grateful for the many insights over the posts.

Have seen the Mido Moonphase (1321 base ETA Valjoux 7751) and agree that it is a very nice watch. In fact, stumbled upon this which was posted in the forum here earlier which convinced me that a Mido is probably most suitable as a beginner piece, for me. As they say, taste is subjective and we are all really only limited by monetary considerations! Needless to say, more complications, more moolah. Hmm...currently still steadfast with my inclination over plain dial with PR. This thread is 'poisonous'  biggrin.gif

I guess I am the type who would rather have one quality timepiece than a dozen like-but-don't-like-it-enough-to-buy pieces. Not ready yet for Rolex-grade watches and definitely won't go for a Lo-Lex  tongue.gif
@patryn33 Thanks for the link to the online store. Indeed mostly top grade movements for Mido and all reviews/comments confirm the same. Was first introduced to the Mido brand by an 82 year old gentleman who got it (the solid gold classical looking type) as a gift over 30 years ago - it was still running after all those years, although how well I can't tell!

The last I checked, the Mido Commander was going for RM1,999.00 before discount. Standard 20% discount (I wonder if it could be stretched to >30% for cash) was offered at an AD at Mid Valley sometime in December 2010 and it can also be found here.

As for the Mido Baroncelli Power Reserve, the stainless steel bezel with white dial and brown leather strap which I'm interested in is going for RM4,250/4,400? before discount.  RM4,600.00? for the Rose Gold version - same 20% discount offered by the Mid Valley AD. The online price can be found here and also here.

Orolus.com's prices seem to be higher than Superbuy.my but it looks like Bodying.my's prices which include free shipping to Malaysia by PosLaju is the most competitive.
thanks for those online sites..never seen them before......

Regarding plain dial PR display, i used to think about saving up a bit more and go for the NOMOS...that's really a beauty. ..but a bit too small sized it seems..
http://en.item.rakuten.com/jackroad/nm012/
http://www.glashuette.com/index.php?id=50&L=1

This post has been edited by nando: Mar 22 2011, 10:48 PM
nando
post Mar 26 2011, 07:48 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(skccks @ Mar 26 2011, 05:49 PM)
GLYCINE AIRMAN by alvinskc1, on Flickr
MY NEW PURCHASE.....OTW
that's one watch that says `dont mess with me..'

Added on March 26, 2011, 7:49 pm
QUOTE(hanz079 @ Mar 26 2011, 11:16 AM)
Sinn U1 can get locally at Hour Glass.
Online can get at sinnwatches.com... can get VAT discount sumore... just e-mail Eric 1st.

yep .... sinnwatches is quite alright.

Added on March 26, 2011, 9:49 pm
QUOTE(wshoh @ Mar 21 2011, 08:59 PM)
Hi folks.

@nando Still obsessed with power reserve models? Which AD was it that you recommended to llk, here?

Will have to pick either one of the above watches as I have other commitments. Still saving up for it...no great hurry, unless the price is going to skyrocket tomorrow!

I do like the Power Reserve model a lot more, it was love at first sight and I am pretty sure I won't get tired of it - but the Commander is equally nice and with a much lower price tag! Improved ETA 2824 (ETA 2836) vs ETA 2892 with power reserve display (ETA 2897) as per patryn33's post below?

have you seen the Tissot Sculpture line? they have some nice PRDs...
http://www.tissot.ch/?mod_collections/acti...5_627_76_057_00

This post has been edited by nando: Mar 26 2011, 09:51 PM
nando
post Mar 27 2011, 08:54 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(wshoh @ Mar 27 2011, 02:06 PM)
@nando Thank you for your suggestion  biggrin.gif  Hope I haven't been guilty of reviving your PR bug! I think you mean this:

Added on March 27, 2011, 2:15 pm

no worries...if i am interested i would go for the one with moonphase...hahahaa

This post has been edited by nando: Mar 27 2011, 08:54 PM
nando
post Apr 3 2011, 09:20 PM

1,650 posts

some new Tissot models ....shared this in Malaysian watch forum also..

nando
post Apr 16 2011, 09:05 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Apr 15 2011, 10:22 PM)
Spotted at Red Army Pavillion, RM16,320 with 20% discount, serious buyer can nego bit more.

Added on April 15, 2011, 11:00 pm
+1 their vintage series are very nice.
B&R Vintage Series recent launching event,
http://www.malaysiawatchforum.com/index.ph...pic,2472.0.html
yep, saw it on display at KLIA...never thought B&R could pull it off with a round dial but there you go...it looks nice...

This post has been edited by nando: Apr 16 2011, 09:05 AM
nando
post Apr 18 2011, 03:13 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 16 2011, 11:42 AM)
I thought B&R had been doing a great job at round dial too.
eg
http://www.chronomaster.co.uk/bell_&_ross.htm
a round dial that i like.....the models you showed doesnt really cry out to me.....

This post has been edited by nando: Apr 18 2011, 03:15 PM
nando
post Apr 18 2011, 10:08 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 18 2011, 07:16 PM)
well, not all design have to appeal to everyone.
true. hence i was surprised to see the BR Vintage...normally i only like the square pilots..

if anyone looking for a pre-owned...here's a B&R...with GMT... below 9k...but its over-hauled....

http://www.jwwatch.com/showpro_details.asp?id=27&cat=23

This post has been edited by nando: Apr 18 2011, 10:09 PM
nando
post Apr 19 2011, 10:28 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 19 2011, 01:47 AM)
I though U would be happy that it has been service by B&R service centre. over haul just means it has been clean, oil and regulated.
thanks for the explanation.
no, nothing for me to be happy about. i am not looking for BR....just posting for others, in case anyone interested. isnt that what we do in this thread?

This post has been edited by nando: Apr 19 2011, 10:29 AM
nando
post Apr 19 2011, 10:40 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 19 2011, 10:28 AM)
depends for a rolex it cost US$600 in USA for a datejust, in Singapore ~$700-800 depending on models.
if U are on a vintage rolex the cost may range ~SG$2K!
an oris cost ~US$150
found that brand that offer value for money watches like Tissot. They do not any AD in Asia.
http://www.atlanticwatch-usa.com/automatic1.html

nice PR display there!

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0453sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:56 AM