Starcraft 2 Gaming Peripheral Talk, Razer Marauder, Banshee and Spectre
evofantasy
Jan 17 2011, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Jan 17 2011, 09:48 AM) whats the biggest advantage of using mechanical keyboard? i am using the RM20 keyboard, and i like the feel. mostly the durability, response time (actuation point) where u dun have to bottom up and feedback (u can feel the key presses)... the NKRO helps when u are pressing keys in rapid succession that they overlaps more than 2 keys as most keyboard is on 2-KRO
ROTiJOHN
Jan 17 2011, 03:13 PM
means if i spam APM, press 5 keys together, it counted 5 times? i know my currect keyboard, if i spam too much, the mobo will scream DUTTT..
evofantasy
Jan 17 2011, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Jan 17 2011, 03:13 PM) means if i spam APM, press 5 keys together, it counted 5 times? i know my currect keyboard, if i spam too much, the mobo will scream DUTTT.. yup... u can press all the keys together and it would be count as u press all keys... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rollover_(key)when u reach a certain typing speed, it would be a problem (even for gaming like FPS where u starve + crouch while reloading etc)...
rockccf
Jan 17 2011, 04:21 PM

Now in a dilemma whether should get 6GV2 or any brown switches keyboard (Filco etc).
Wonder where got display units can test. Want to know how it feels and how different between black and brown switches.
This post has been edited by rockccf: Jan 17 2011, 04:23 PM
evofantasy
Jan 17 2011, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(rockccf @ Jan 17 2011, 04:21 PM) Now in a dilemma whether should get 6GV2 or any brown switches keyboard (Filco etc). Wonder where got display units can test. usually depends on ur preferences, no better one its all about which switches u like to type/ game on
Nandeska
Jan 17 2011, 04:26 PM

QUOTE(rockccf @ Jan 17 2011, 04:21 PM) Now in a dilemma whether should get 6GV2 or any brown switches keyboard (Filco etc). Wonder where got display units can test. Want to know how it feels and how different between black and brown switches. wait for pc fair, i remember last time they let u "test drive" their product. Dont worry too much on keyboards, what is important is your skill.
rockccf
Jan 17 2011, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jan 17 2011, 04:23 PM) usually depends on ur preferences, no better one its all about which switches u like to type/ game on The problem is I got no idea where can I test those switches LOL since this is my first time getting a mechanical keyboard.
evofantasy
Jan 17 2011, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(rockccf @ Jan 17 2011, 04:28 PM) The problem is I got no idea where can I test those switches LOL since this is my first time getting a mechanical keyboard. pc fair i guess, but filco is nt there though rumors of them being imported is there... QUOTE(Nandeska @ Jan 17 2011, 04:26 PM) wait for pc fair, i remember last time they let u "test drive" their product. Dont worry too much on keyboards, what is important is your skill. yup when ur hardware is limiting ur improvement then it matters... else its skill sitll >.<
quest_5692
Jan 17 2011, 04:35 PM
true, still laugh out load when i saw newbs using mamba, razer mouse, mechanical keyboard, lycosa, starcraft gears, starcraft mousepad, even razer easrphones and still......performing subpar...to be polite, subpar...
This post has been edited by quest_5692: Jan 17 2011, 04:36 PM
rockccf
Jan 17 2011, 04:36 PM

QUOTE(Nandeska @ Jan 17 2011, 04:26 PM) wait for pc fair, i remember last time they let u "test drive" their product. Dont worry too much on keyboards, what is important is your skill. Indeed, skill is important. But actually i am getting the keyboard for 50% gaming 50% typing. I heard that typing for a long time on black switches keyboard gets tired easily.
evofantasy
Jan 17 2011, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(rockccf @ Jan 17 2011, 04:36 PM) Indeed, skill is important. But actually i am getting the keyboard for 50% gaming 50% typing. I heard that typing for a long time on black switches keyboard gets tired easily. yup due to the higher actuation point needed...
ROTiJOHN
Jan 17 2011, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Jan 17 2011, 04:35 PM) true, still laugh out load when i saw newbs using mamba, razer mouse, mechanical keyboard, lycosa, starcraft gears, starcraft mousepad, even razer easrphones and still......performing subpar...to be polite, subpar... u racistttt. they looks real good with the equipment ok. hahahaha, btw from my point of view, those who use cheap peripheral and can pawn gosus, are the real gosu for me.
evofantasy
Jan 17 2011, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Jan 17 2011, 05:15 PM) u racistttt. they looks real good with the equipment ok. hahahaha, btw from my point of view, those who use cheap peripheral and can pawn gosus, are the real gosu for me. of course u can buy u want comfort etc as well... for some1 like me who sit in front of the pc for 10 hrs per day, its a good investment...
Nandeska
Jan 17 2011, 05:18 PM

Use normal keyboard and mouse till you reached to a point where you cant improve anymore. From there, decide whether it is yourself or your equipment is limiting your "true potential".
Something Else
Jan 17 2011, 06:49 PM

I lol at those people who go to cyber and change everything except the monitor and cpu. Own mouse, keyboard, mousepad, headphones. Might as well play at home right?
Actually, if you're pro its ok, but if you suck, then i feel sorry for you..since alot of people will be drawn to watch you play.
ROTiJOHN
Jan 17 2011, 06:52 PM
but there's no wrong also rite, its for his own comfort. i wont bring my own mouse and keyboard to cc unless its tournament.
Something Else
Jan 17 2011, 07:02 PM

Nothing wrong la. If you don't mind everyone peering over your shoulder
evofantasy
Jan 17 2011, 07:03 PM
same i rarely bring my own mouse but i am comfortable wit my mouse as the mouse in CCs are usually bad thanks to dotards hammering them and eating while playing (same as keyboards)
Sky.Live
Jan 18 2011, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Jan 17 2011, 04:35 PM) true, still laugh out load when i saw newbs using mamba, razer mouse, mechanical keyboard, lycosa, starcraft gears, starcraft mousepad, even razer easrphones and still......performing subpar...to be polite, subpar... I use a mech keyboard doesn't mean I have to be good, same vise versa when you have bad equipment doesn't mean you are bad either..
aLertz
Jan 18 2011, 02:52 PM
well usually only in tournament tat ppl will bring their own gears... when playin for fun...da most would be mouse and maybe mousepad... since every mouse has different dpi...u may not get used to the cc mouse due to dpi difference...and also size