Starcraft 2 Gaming Peripheral Talk, Razer Marauder, Banshee and Spectre

evofantasy
post Jan 14 2011, 02:13 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

nt worth it...
keyboard is not mechanical which is one of the most important piece for sc2...
jz marketing gimmick wit flashy lights...
evofantasy
post Jan 14 2011, 02:54 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(sayming @ Jan 14 2011, 02:43 PM)
How do I know if a keyboard is mechanical or not?
Example of mechanical models?
mechanical switches, full NKRO...
they improve ur APM a lot...
the easy to get are: SS 6g v2, 7g and razer BW...
the harder to get are the better ones: filco (fruitdealer and other pro gamers in KR using), ducky etc

ps: they cost 300++
evofantasy
post Jan 14 2011, 03:32 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jan 14 2011, 03:03 PM)
I don't remember better keyboard can improves your APM - -
The korean are just using membrane keyboard like DT-35 and their APM could achieve 300+
its due to the actuation point when u dun have to bottom up...
unless u are used to bottoming up thanks to membrane keyboards, then mechanical keyboard is nt needed...
ppl who touch type have around 100wpm on mechanical keyboards due to this...
evofantasy
post Jan 14 2011, 03:42 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(sayming @ Jan 14 2011, 03:41 PM)
So Razer BlackWidow>Razer Marauder?
despite using blue switches, yes it is still better...
BW is mechanical bt nt fully since it does nt have NKRO but more than enuff for sc2...
evofantasy
post Jan 14 2011, 08:58 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Jan 14 2011, 06:08 PM)
i'm not so emphasize in peripheral, but using a good mouse la, razer deathadder. hahaha am using logitech RM20 keyboard lolz
well i dun last time (i used to ask ppl to get mousepad > mouse > keyboard)...
but when u reached a certain extend u would be frustrated with ur gears...
i'm using a cheapo keyboard and i getting very very annoyed with it...
let it be typing for my work, WoW or sc2...
some keys jz dun register unless u bottom down fully which is not helping when i now touch type alot (u will reach that stage when u type a lot especially if u do coding etc)...
and the lack of NKRO further made it worst when u press keys in such rapid succession...

waiting for filco brown to be in msia and would be picking it up ASAP...
that's how frustrated i am...

PS: blackwidow is generally nt recommended for gaming due to it using blue switches which is meant more for typing and harder to double tab keys...

oh ya in wow when i maximize my dps making use of every GCD i tend to press lots of keys very fast especially on mobile fights... those are the moments when u will feel the need for NKRO etc...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jan 14 2011, 09:00 PM
evofantasy
post Jan 14 2011, 11:18 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jan 14 2011, 09:01 PM)
I have 150wpm+ when i'm in primary school... and i believe the primary school's keyboard aren't mechanical...and yes its proven by the softwares used by my Microsoft Office teachers and i got the Microsoft certs as well for typing fast, which is useless for my future purpose.

But i believe with the result of typing fast, i'm able to achieve this in the video below, sorry for the blury capture tho.

sorry as much as i wanna believe u having 150wpm, its nt something possible unless u are typing short ez words...
professional typist float at around 100-120...
the record is 216wpm...

btw o2jam is more to spamming and reaction rather than accuracy at all...
had frens with low wpm that did so well in o2jam (my sis included lol)
evofantasy
post Jan 15 2011, 12:32 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Jan 14 2011, 11:30 PM)
actually, i would put o2jam more to reaction + MEMORY...if u memorized the song, u can play it with your eyes closed, lol...

02 jam is a keyboard killer though, so...XD...i wonder does a g7 dies to it too, lol
well mechanical keyboards are known to be 10x more durable compared to membranes...

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jan 15 2011, 01:41 AM)
I don't know about it then, the teacher just ask me to key in a paragraph with more than 500 words infront of some guy, and i thought that these guy must be some higher level teacher that wanted to see how's the student's standard over there after 5-6 months, end up the teacher told me they are some guy from Microsoft after i finished key'ing in, and i see something like 15x ish number on the software when the guy took over the computer, few days later i got a cert from Microsoft noted that i'm one of the fastest typist in the younger generation, my teacher explained everything after that because they are amazed to see such fast typist in the younger generation, and so they make an appointment with the Microsoft fella, then got took photo by the media and stuffs, and of course shwoing their huge company name at the back, probably they wan more students to enroll to their class, marketting stuffs.

Funny stuffs is i did even brought this cert to my first interview for a job, but sadly my SPM results turned the interviewer down. sad.gif And the interviewer seems to not believe that i have such a cert and even asked me "did i made them my self?" lol, maybe i look too lala that time sad.gif malaysia is such a "realistic" place.
not that i doubt you but 150wpm is a little hard to believe as i've said as it is very very fast even for professional typist to reach that speed...
and ya sadly in our country results > all and they rarely take other merits like skills etc...
part of the reason why i did pushed myself very hard back then but i would say its worth it...
still studying now?

ps: dress formal and no spiky hair etc during interview >.<
evofantasy
post Jan 16 2011, 05:33 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Jan 16 2011, 05:28 PM)
steel series 6gv2 is the better option to get if u wan a value for money keyboard, ain't it?XD

price range rm400 there is it?
6gv2 is around rm 350-400...
black switches is pretty good for double tabs...
evofantasy
post Jan 16 2011, 06:03 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Jan 16 2011, 05:55 PM)
oo, thanks evo...was thinking of getting a SS keyboard...was wondering between the 7G or the 6gv2...done some homework and many said that it's pretty much the same, except that the 6g doesn't have wrist wrest and some earphone usb port...thus, makes it cheaper

cool, will try to get it some time in the future, haha
i know scrubbie is using 6gv2 as well =p
i'm still waiting for filco brown...
evofantasy
post Jan 16 2011, 06:37 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

its personal preferences actually...
i prefer the feel of brown compared to blacks haha...

Buckling Springs:
- Tactile and clicky
- 65g to actuate

Blue Cherry MX:
- Tactile and clicky
- 50g to actuate

Black Cherry MX:
- Non-tactile(linear) and non-clicky
- 60g to actuate

Brown Cherry MX:
- Tactile and non-clicky
- 45g to actuate

Topre:
- Tactile and non-clicky (spring and rubber dome combined)
- Available @ 30g, 45g and 55g variation

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jan 16 2011, 06:42 PM
evofantasy
post Jan 16 2011, 06:43 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jan 16 2011, 06:39 PM)
I think you need to relink your image, can't click on it, can't see anything.
fixed
evofantasy
post Jan 16 2011, 06:48 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jan 16 2011, 06:45 PM)
Ok what's with that finger... never seen that before.
finger strength as black are more stiff...
evofantasy
post Jan 16 2011, 11:11 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(gnomemaster @ Jan 16 2011, 09:15 PM)
evo wats the difference of the weight to actuate?? does it mean thats the amount of pressure u need to apply to press the keyboard?? sry ar noob here =) wanna learn lol
the force needed to register the key
evofantasy
post Jan 17 2011, 01:51 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Something Else @ Jan 17 2011, 01:44 AM)
is a mechanical keyboard really necessary?
its not...
but if u are spending 300bucks for a keyboard, u might as well get it over other crap like marauder
evofantasy
post Jan 17 2011, 01:54 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jan 17 2011, 12:09 PM)
Then macro isn't for you i guess, macro is banned in SC2 fyi.
i doubt there's anything u need to use the macro button for in sc2 lol...

and imho being a wow player and an officer back in wotlk, macro is nt really needed in wow as u would be using their in game macro more...
the extra macro keys are pretty useless >.<
evofantasy
post Jan 17 2011, 02:57 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Jan 17 2011, 09:48 AM)
whats the biggest advantage of using mechanical keyboard? i am using the RM20 keyboard, and i like the feel.
mostly the durability, response time (actuation point) where u dun have to bottom up and feedback (u can feel the key presses)...
the NKRO helps when u are pressing keys in rapid succession that they overlaps more than 2 keys as most keyboard is on 2-KRO
evofantasy
post Jan 17 2011, 03:16 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Jan 17 2011, 03:13 PM)
means if i spam APM, press 5 keys together, it counted 5 times? i know my currect keyboard, if i spam too much, the mobo will scream DUTTT..
yup...
u can press all the keys together and it would be count as u press all keys...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rollover_(key)
when u reach a certain typing speed, it would be a problem (even for gaming like FPS where u starve + crouch while reloading etc)...
evofantasy
post Jan 17 2011, 04:23 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(rockccf @ Jan 17 2011, 04:21 PM)
Now in a dilemma whether should get 6GV2 or any brown switches keyboard (Filco etc).

Wonder where got display units can test.
usually depends on ur preferences, no better one its all about which switches u like to type/ game on
evofantasy
post Jan 17 2011, 04:30 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(rockccf @ Jan 17 2011, 04:28 PM)
The problem is I got no idea where can I test those switches LOL since this is my first time getting a mechanical keyboard.
pc fair i guess, but filco is nt there though rumors of them being imported is there...

QUOTE(Nandeska @ Jan 17 2011, 04:26 PM)
wait for pc fair, i remember last time they let u "test drive" their product. Dont worry too much on keyboards, what is important is your skill.
yup when ur hardware is limiting ur improvement then it matters...
else its skill sitll >.<
evofantasy
post Jan 17 2011, 05:12 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(rockccf @ Jan 17 2011, 04:36 PM)
Indeed, skill is important.

But actually i am getting the keyboard for 50% gaming 50% typing.
I heard that typing for a long time on black switches keyboard gets tired easily.
yup due to the higher actuation point needed...

0.0248sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:52 AM